X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4599 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

very good location if you want to be a little off from the crowd of the city yet still very close-just a couple blocks from L train, spacious rooms and a cool area to hang out; many bars and places to eat around. 2 negative things i would add though, the room was cold since there was just a tiny heater and not enough for a shared room obviously.and the 2nd thing you have to pay $3 for leaving your stuff in the storage room on the day of your checkout.i think it was unnecessary.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff is great, very friendly and willing to help. The price was a bit high -180 $ a night is too high for a hostel

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkmenistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest! Thank you for your comments we hope that you enjoyed your New Years celebration in New York City!

83%

Nice staff. Decent room with private shower & toilet. Free safe parking. Easy access to Manhattan. Nice free fondue and free coffee! Highly recommended!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your positive review, we really appreciate it! We hope to have you return during your next visit to NYC!

86%

Great set out, and well maintained. Breakfast was pretty unhealthy, but who's gonna pass up free breakfast?! Location was ok. Not real close to Williamsburg, but metro is not far.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hostel! We will look into getting some healthier options on the breakfast menu and hope to have you return!

97%

I only would add more options for breakfast.... The rest was perfect!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to inform us about the breakfast. We will look into this right away about what more we can provide for our guests! Best Regards

83%

The neighborhood looks kind of creepy at first sight, but it turned out ok. It has a nice common area, met some great people there, but the room was a bit cold.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Glad you warmed up to the area, we really do love our location and we are happy you did too! Best Regards!

89%

Only stayed one night and got in late but everything was fine, and I was VERY happy to find they had radiant heating in the floor of the kitchen/dining room, which was a big help because it was a cold, wet, winter night and my feet were thankful! Everything seemed clean, people were friendly and other than the nightclub across the street thumping until very late (it is what it is, its New York!) there's not much I'd change. Nice touch with a heated winter tent to allow some "outdoors seating!"

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review online! We really appreciate your comments and feedback about what you enjoyed in the hostel! We hope you get a chance to come stay with us again for a bit longer so that you can see everything else that we have to offer!! Best Wishes!

40%

The location is ok, it is 3 blocks from a subway station, but the rooms don't have a proper heater, so they are ridiculous cold for the winter season. The staff is not friendly at all, and not helpful either. Beds are more than basic and not really comfortable. Wi-fi barely works. It is definitely not a good deal, look at airbnb.com to get a better experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay while with us. We welcome you to write us an email letting us know of your experience so that we can continue to better our services. Best Wishes!

91%

amazing :-)

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest! Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel! We hope you get a chance to come back and experience New York again! All the best!

89%

My only complaint is that the kitchen is locked at midnight. I think it's important to have access to your own food around the clock-- especially if you've gone out and need some munchies before bed!

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

LOVED IT. • This is a really nice hostel in Brooklyn. • It is a little bit expensive, but it really worths it. • It is located in a super cool area and the subway is three blocks away (you can get to Manhattan in less than 20 minutes). • The staff is super friendly and they have cheap cabs to take you to the airport. • Take your own towels, they won't give any. I'd definitively stay there again.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay & thank you for writing this wonderful review of our hostel, please hurry back!! Safe Travels.

94%

The only thing that kills me is the distance to Manhattan and the JFK airport, but everything else is a dream hostel for me. Great job with it guys! Think of opening another one closer to uptown please.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We thank you for giving us a great review! We work hard to always improve and we are glad that you enjoyed our place. We would love to see you return, Safe travels!

91%

Although it's not right in the thick of the city, it is in a real up and coming area and right near a subway station that will take you right into town. There is heaps around in terms of bars and food, and the hostel itself has lots to offer. The rooms are huge and most are single beds not bunk beds, and the common room is warm and friendly. I had an awesome time at this hostel and made friends that I am on my way to visit now :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip! Thank you for your feedback, we love hearing about how people make friends from other countries in the dorms, that is absolutely one of the perks to staying in a hostel! Come back soon!

100%

5 stars hostel, one of the best I ever stayed. The building in itself is really great, incredibly spacious, well designed, super cool common room and kitchen, generous breakfast and free food twice evenings a week to make people meet each other. The all thing is perfectly clean and the staff very helpful. Cool bars and restaurants nearby, supermarket and metro station at 5mn walk, center of the city easily reachable with the L line. Honestly, what more could you want? :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest! WOW! Thank you very much for your feedback and positive review! It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to have you return! Best Wishes!

94%

Great: staff, guests, location, atmosphere. I plan to stay here again.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it was our pleasure to provide you with a comfortable place to stay! We look forward to having you return! Come back soon!

74%

First night it was cold, and I told the staff then they gave me a heat, It was really helpful. Location is a little bit far away from Manhaton, but the you could take the subway which is easy but 30mins to Manhanton. Breakfast was not bad. Totally, It was a nice stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We apologize for the room getting cold, but we are happy that you came down to the desk where we were able to provide you with that heater. Thank you for your other positive comments! Safe travels!

86%

Secure parking outside de hostel, kosher food across the street,metro station three blocks away, nice atmosphere and good breakfast (great oranges by the way!). The only thing I have to complain about is the mattres, they need to be changed soon. Everthing else went great. Nice girls on the front desk!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are already in the process of replacing the mattresses but thank you for giving your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future if you are ever back in New York!!!

80%

Good place and cheaper than manhattan. Close to metro station. Just for staying not the place to make friends or do activities


97%

The dorm room was very spacious and clean. The staff was excellent and so was the atmosphere. The only problem was that the water in our bathroom did not get hot enough for a comfortable shower. We had to shower in the bathroom outside of our room for a hot shower.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel all around. 5 stars across the board. Big, spacious, clean, free breakfast and fun. The lobby/hang-out area is amazing. I met some great friends and I'm thankful to the hostel for the opportunity to meet such dynamic and incredible people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, It brings us much pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your time and our hostel while staying with us. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to have you stay with us again very soon! Best Wishes from our staff to you!

(115 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback