X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4832 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

First Hostel experience....it was nice and our stay was without incident. I was concerned about sharing a bathroom, but it was not ever a problem. The free breakfast was satisfying. I would stay here again.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

63%

The bathrooms should be cleaned more often than once a day. Close to the subway station, but not much to see or do close near the hostel.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

71%

I had my gold ring stolen while I was packing up and didn't notice until I flew home.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. We hope you found your lost belongings. All the best

94%

We need a simple metal or plastic shelf in each washroom to place our dry clothes and towels, I would consider buying them for the hostels if I would stay longer in there. I wish to also volunteer for cleaning the ventilation fan as some of them don't work efficient as they should be. The lightning system would be better to separated in each room or I had to walk across the room to turn off the light and walk back to my bed without bump into any furniture.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

89%

Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms not very clean. Thank you for the free parking.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

77%

We enjoye our stay .Tried to change the room because of claustroforbia , but they could not help us With that..The last day of the stay we found bed bugs , and the staff were very helpfull.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Conveniently located two blocks away from the Morgan Avenue metro station, this hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. The Customer base is clearly older than in most hostels with families staying there as well as college students. As a result, the atmosphere is not very hostel-like (no guitar player in the backyard, no loud music or crazy parties). For me, this was a pleasant surprise, for others ,it might be a huge turn off, it always depends on what you are looking for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

100%

This is by far one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in (already been here twice). I have recommended it to all my traveling friends, and will continue to do so. Great location, great facilities, great staff, overall just great. Cheers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

89%

Location together with , staff . Neighborhood up and coming has few restaurants , coffee shop grocery stores , etc so not much but still great vibe and atmosphere. Close to metro 15 min to Manhattan , but Brooklyn is where it is at . Staff is friendly kitchen and backyard excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

94%

Really a great place that my wife and I enjoyed staying at. It was our first hostel and a memorable one.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

83%

Very Clean, very lovely hostel. Just about anything you could need is provided. Friendly staff and very comfortable environment. Coffee shops just next door and two all organic health food markets just a block away! The area is generally quite compared to the rest of NY so its a nice place to stay when at the end of the day of hustling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

71%

We liked our stay, the hostel was very nice, nice neighborhood. The bad thing was that there was mold on the walls and curtains.


69%

It is perfectly located at 2min walk from an L station, cheap, very loud (the walls are paper thin). BEWARE : the checkout time is 11:30 but when I arrived there the front desk employee told me that it's okay to check out by noon, and when I did, they told me that it was impossible, and that they would not have said such a thing so they did not give the $5 key deposit back!

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

71%

The rooms are big and confortables. The security box is small and it don't have a padlock, it's price in reception is $5. Very cold in the nigths, the heating is cheap, isnt it??

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. We have extra blankets at the front desk for your comfort. we hope to see you soon. All the best

94%

I had a great time at the hostel, he staff was great, everything was super clean and very well cleaned everyday, the L train is just a minute away and it's pretty fast, and the JMZ are not so far either, a lot of 24 hour stuff near by, and also nice cafes and restaurants, it's a great area! But the service was particularly good, all my needs were answered with a smile on their faces. I'd really recommend it, I absolutely didn't expect a hostel in NYC to be this good, it was a very nice surprise

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

69%

Its not really central in Williamsburg, at least not the part where the most shops and cafes are (Bedford avenue is 5 stops with the train from there). Me and my friend had a twin room, which was ok but the bunk bed was really noisy, couldn't turn around without waking each other up. The cleaners did a really, really good job, never been to a hostel with cleaner bathrooms. The kitchen is really crowdy during breakfast; a couple more tables and chairs wouldn't hurt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

69%

noisy neighbours to the hostel

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the bes

100%

Fantastic hostel. Close to the subway. Meet easy to get into manhattan. Great cafés and supermarkets nearby. Good free bfast and BBQ nights. Clean. Good beds. Easy to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

97%

This hostel was great. I was travelling by myself and it was easy to meet other travellers on the Pub Crawl or at the BBQ's the hostel hosted twice a week. I loved the area and it was close to the subway and had lots of great eating places and bars within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again as I enjoyed the Loft more then other hostels I Have stayed at in New York.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

57%

The Hostel is located in a very hip area. There are some bars, restaurants and a subway station around. There was only one common room which was the kitchen and a TV room together. So it was hard to meet other backpacker in the hostel excepeted for breakfast. The breakfast wasn't that good.The only choice was Toast with butter and jam, Coffe and cerials. No American style like bagels, muffins etc... The shared bathrooms are not so clean an there were no possibilities to put your things somewhe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedback, we appreciate you comments and will take your suggestions under consideration. It was a pleasure having you! Best Regards

(168 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback