X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4905 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Room doesn't match the pictures at web: pics show a room with no bunk beds, but the real room was very different. Poor mattress. Bed makes lots of noise with every little movement. Impossible to get a warm shower: turning the tap provides boiling or freezing water, nothing inbetween. About location, they say "the Hottest Neighborhood at the Moment!", but you have to take the subway and walk five stations to find where the things are actually going on. Breakfast is the only highlight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review us. We will take into account your suggestions and try to improve our hostel. We hope to have you back so you can see the changes put into action!

89%

The included breakfast was great, but just one suggestion: whole-wheat bread as well as white?

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! We will make a note to purchase whole wheat bread too! Best Wishes!

80%

Nice place


57%

No new towells each day. No ventilation at rooms. Neither shampoo nor gel apart from first day. A lot of noise in the corridors. No new blankets each day. Beautiful design, I agree, but poor quality after all. Disapointing someway.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a very good hostel, however my experience was average because of the room I was given. After paying for a private room with bathroom I experienced the following issues: - room was very dirty - shower was extremely weak - basin was the smallest I have ever seen - toilet seat wasn't affixed - no windows or fresh air ventilation in the room - room was extremely small I would recommend anyone who is given room 424 to request another room.


71%

This hostel was wonderful... but you have to pay for EVERYTHING. Locks, renting towels, everything you have to pay extra for, not much included in the initial cost.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

86%

Nice place. I'd go there again.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

63%

I stayed here a few years ago and was raving about it, but this place has declined in the past few years.. The bathrooms aren't particularly clean, the rooms to the street/courtyard are really noisy, it got hot and there was no cooling, wifi was intermittent. For the price... Most importantly, the staff were terrible. They looked down when you came in, were unhelpful with questions and seemed like they didn't want to be there. Disappointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as pleasant as your first. We have since improved our room temperature maintenance and have upgraded our wifi system. We are also always improving our approach to customer service and good staff/customer relationships is very important to us. We hope you can visit us again and see all of these great things first hand. All the very best, NYLH.

100%

Fantastic stay!! :)

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Recommended. Not very soundproof at our floor, otherwise awesome. Super clean. Great cab deal to JFK (40 $ in a nice car). Close to the subway L-train. Supermarket and good restaurants close by. BBQ, movie night and breakfast included (although only tried breakfast. A bit simple, but totally ok).

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel, friendly & very helpful staff! Definitely recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

89%

The breakfast was good, even compared to hotels.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

91%

Fantastic hostel; lovely place, great service, incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

91%

The Hostel is delightful. Youthful, upbeat, modern - very 'New York'. Staff are friendly and helpful. One multilingual member of staff was worth her weight in gold! I found the hostel easily from the Subway System, ( the L train ). The atmosphere of the surrounding area is good. There is a fantastic Deli nearby ( Brooklyn Natural ). Loft hostel is clean, light and open with air conditioning, comfy beds, free breakfast included and free wifi. Loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

71%

The hostel is located near a subway station. That's perfect for all sightseeing as well as relaxing activities you've planned. Twice a week there is a BBQ everybody can join. Since there are less backpackers the people staying in the hostel are not interessted to get in touch with each other. The staff is ok, but not really helpful if you ask them for affordable shopping opportunities. All in all I need to say the hostel is quite expensive compared to other locations, but for NY pricewise ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

97%

Stayed here for three nights with my mother. The hostel itself has a youthful and modern personality with clean bathrooms, baggage room, computers, outdoor space, ect. Staff was friendly and invited us to a movie night the moment we checked in, making conversation and asking about where we were coming from-- I love that! The room was a little cold at night, could have used another blanket, but all in all I enjoyed my stay and would be happy to return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

80%

Clean bathrooms, good location close to the busier areas of Williamsburg and close to the subway which is about 20 minutes from manhattan. Decent free breakfast too!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

First Hostel experience....it was nice and our stay was without incident. I was concerned about sharing a bathroom, but it was not ever a problem. The free breakfast was satisfying. I would stay here again.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

63%

The bathrooms should be cleaned more often than once a day. Close to the subway station, but not much to see or do close near the hostel.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

71%

I had my gold ring stolen while I was packing up and didn't notice until I flew home.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. We hope you found your lost belongings. All the best

(188 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback