X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4970 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The sheets were not always clean.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We appreciate your input and will take your critique to help better our services for the future. We hope to see you back soon.

63%

Expected a lot more for the price & reviews. The hostel is quiet a distance form Manhattan, and 5 stops from Williamsburg. It offers a lot in the description on Hostelworld, but you have to pay additional fees for nearly everything (eg, gym, washing machine, to use the computers, etc etc). The atmosphere is pretty poor too - difficult to get to know people due to the layout of the hostel. Would also be good if breakfast went a bit later.


97%

It was one of - if not the - best hostels I've been! Really nice and helpful staff, very clean, nice rooms with a nice layout and the common areas are really awesome! Spent a lot of my time at the Hostel in the kitchen/ lounge area and made a lot of friends. They offer a pretty reasonable breakfast (bread for toast, cereal, milk, apple, orange, tea or chocolate milk, butter, cream cheese, peanut butter, jelly and, if I'm not mistaken, there's also eggs). Loved it and will def do it again!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you soon :)

66%

Hostel was recommended in my travel guide as outstanding for the low budget, but was a standard one. Staff at reception wasn't very friendly, rooms are ok concerning size and cleanliness, but walls seem like paper-could understand every word from the people next door. Is ok for a short visit and if you spend most of the time in town though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We appreciate your business and will take into account your critiques to better our Hostel for the future. We hope to see you soon.

86%

Good deal for the price in the NYC area. Neighborhood is industrialesque but more amenities are popping up every day thanks to the growing hipster population (coffee, bagels, groceries, natural foods etc.). Very clse to the "L" train for easy access to Manhatten.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

63%

A security person had a conversation and a cigarette outside our open window late at night. We asked them to be quite and not to smoke as my partner has a heart condition. They laughed and only left after we slammed our window closed on a warm night. Our shared washroom was not cleaned one of two days we stayed. A dirty towel stayed on the floor (not ours) for over 24 hours until I removed it and complained. The room stank due to the exposed brick shower. The desk staff and BBQ was nice.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We appreciate your business and will take into account your critiques to better our Hostel for the future. We hope to see you soon.

80%

Very close to a subway station so you can get to Manhattan to do typical tourist things. The area around felt a tiny bit sketchy, but I suppose that's the typical atmosphere of Brooklyn. The shower closest to us only had cold water, but we could easily walk to a different bathroom a little further away and that shower had nice, hot water. So that wasn't actually a terrible problem. Our room also had ants, but we told the front desk man and he said they would do something about it. Overall, great

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon!

94%

An amazing hostel! Perfectly located. Very clean, amazing terrace and really friendly staff. Would reccomend to anyone traveling to brooklyn. Only downside was that the wifi was really sketchy and especially hard to connect to if using apple products.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we have since been working with our tech management team to better improve our internet access! we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

89%

The area is fantastic, so much going on. Great restaurants and cafés all around, and v good connection to Manhattan.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great loved it


49%

Great location and decent comon rooms but the total lack of participation of the staff in the day to day of the hostel makes the place feel like a crappiy hotel. Wifi, showers and elevator dont work properly and some common bathrooms are to small to even be used. If you can live will all these then i guess its a good option cause its in a really great location near a lot of pubs, restaurants and other fun places.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel. We take customer service very seriously and will take your critiques to better accommodate our guests. We have made it an effort to improve our internet connection, water piping and elevator so we hope to see you back soon to see these changes in affect!

74%

No wi-fi; was very problematic for all visitors.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out and reviewing our Hostel. We have made it a priority to fix our internet connection to better accommodate our customers. We hope to see you soon!

86%

It was a pleasan stay. The only problem I had was ants. The room was full of ants.


86%

It's a very well-managed, well-run hostel. I can't imagine there's a better place in NYC for the price, but I have some criticisms: - there were too few bathrooms, Separated toilets and showers would be better. - breakfast ended at 9:30 AM - We're in NYC, we want to stay up late! - staff at reception was someone different every time I went and none were particularly helpful or cheerful


86%

Excellent hostel, highly recommend. Vibrant area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

83%

Very nice and helpful staff. Great atmosphere in the hostel due to a nice alrge backyard and acticities organizesed by the staff. The hostel is located in an that is more and more ovetaken by young and creative people. It is also located just 5 minutes from a subway station, so you can get to manhattan in 20 minutes.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

100%

This is possibly one of the best hostels I have been to so far. Great massive room with 3 separate beds (not bunks) and our own bathroom. It was clean and warm and a good looking hostel with cool art and an all around cool set up. It's in a nice area close to the subway and near an organic foodstore and food trucks. I was really happy and would 100% go back there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you back soon! :)

86%

The atmosphere at the hostel is great and the common areas are very cozy. It seems like the staff don't care much for the guests but they are willing and able to help if necessary.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip. Our biggest focus is to constantly improve our customer service! we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

66%

Room doesn't match the pictures at web: pics show a room with no bunk beds, but the real room was very different. Poor mattress. Bed makes lots of noise with every little movement. Impossible to get a warm shower: turning the tap provides boiling or freezing water, nothing inbetween. About location, they say "the Hottest Neighborhood at the Moment!", but you have to take the subway and walk five stations to find where the things are actually going on. Breakfast is the only highlight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out to review us. We will take into account your suggestions and try to improve our hostel. We hope to have you back so you can see the changes put into action!

89%

The included breakfast was great, but just one suggestion: whole-wheat bread as well as white?

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! We will make a note to purchase whole wheat bread too! Best Wishes!

(212 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback