X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4838 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Good and affordable hostel, nice upcoming neighborhood, only 15-20 minute underground ride to Manhatten. It has a great garden and rooftop terrace but lacks a bar with beer's or whatsoever. Despite that, the hostel looks nice, is clean and a good place to start discovering NYC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

83%

Breakfast ends at 9am, too early for people on holidays !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

83%

I stayed during low season, but can highly recommend this hostel. I had a room fo three all to myself. Room was warm despite the large size and the weather being very bad. Everything was Clean, hostel in a quiet area , very helpful staff, subway was close. The hostel was also very quiet this time of year, and no lines to bathroom etc., but can imagine there being too few bathrooms if fully occupied

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing us a positive review, come back soon! Best Regards

94%

Really nice and tidy place in faaar-east Williamsburg. The area is a bit dodgy, but with personality. Nice restaurants and cafés nearby and liteally 2 minutes from the subway. Good deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, So happy that you ended up loving the area and that you approved of the cleanliness in the hostel! Come back soon

83%

Nice place. First time at a hostel. It went nicely.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello There, Thank you! We are so happy you liked the Hostel, we hope to have you back. Best Wishes!

94%

Provision of a Friday night BBQ was excellent! And breakfast was a nice touch.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate it! Best Wishes

94%

It would be wonderful if breakfast extends until 10 am, Because 6-9 is too short time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks so much for writing us a review and giving us your feedback, we will take your suggestion under consideration! Best Regards

100%

Because it's clean, the staff are great (24-hour reception is really useful) and it's in a really interesting neighbourhood.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

77%

Staff super friendly and helpfull!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for staying with us! We love hearing that the front desk was helpful with directions and suggestions on things to do in New York, it's important to us that our guests feel comfortable and prepared when heading out to the city. Come back soon!

83%

One of the cleanest hostels I've ever been to. The atmosphere was ok, that could just be the lame guests that we. Not much going on, not very communal. But the facilities we great. Free brekki was toast, jam, butter, coffee. Location was great. There's a subway station about 2 blocks away, and a couple of really great places to eat around the corner. Socially, not much happening here in Bushwick, but it's easy to get to everything in NYC.


97%

A really nice hostel

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We really appreciate you writing this comment and your business. Come back soon!

77%

The staff were all very helpful. The facilities were fantastic and i loved the 3 bed dorm rooms. Some music in the main common area would an easy way to add to the atmosphere. The only thing that could be improved on would be the bathroom ventilation. The bathroom floors were always very damp. Other than that though i have nothing negative to say.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, we hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes!

91%

Hello, My staying in TNYLH was just a one-night-sleep. So, I don´t have much to say. But for the time I spent there, everything worked really fine. I arrived at the hostel at 12 o'clock, but I was supposed to be there only by 03h00. No problem, they kept my luggage at their storage room at no charge. So, we got time to get around NY and come back later for check-in. I totally recomend the TNYLH and hope to get back there soon. Marcelo

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We love seeing reviews like this and that you appreciated the staff and luggage room! Come back another time and stay for more than one night, our BBQ's movie nights and pub crawls are all very fun! Best!

94%

This place is the dogs bo***cks. Great location and within easy reach of the metro @ Hudson Ave. Superb bar round the corner called 'Tutu's', coffeshop 2 doors down 'not to be missed' amazing food and reasonable, gym and health shop across the road which was handy. Over all I preferred Brooklyn than Manhattan and walked many miles and must admit felt much safer than in London.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Breakfast ends at 9am, too early for people on holidays !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

74%

I would have rated it higher on some things, the overall cleanliness was excellent, but our room wasn't cleaned at all when we checked in. Also our room was hotter than hell, it was hard to sleep. Our A/C unit wasn't cutting it, when the heater was on in the building, it was hot!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel is very comfortable place with lovely staff. you can find small shops and a club nearby, but my biggest pleasure was from the health food shop (Organica). I can really recommend this hostel in NY. If I travel to NY in my future I´ll stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing us a review, we appreciate the feedback!! The health Food shop is a popular place among our guests, so delicious and nearby! See you when you return!

83%

This hostel way too much overrated. Okay, the location is really awesome - just in the middle of the Hipster capital Williamsburg, the rooms are huge very clean as well. Breakfast is alright as well, and the regular events (movie night, BBQ) are a nice bonus. However, somehow the atmosphere just wasn't right... Maybe, it was the ridiculous rules (check-out on time or pay a fee, fees for luggage room), or the size of the place, or the staff, or it was just bad luck.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

77%

Small but quiet room. Good facilities.

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we use these reviews to better our services and amenities for future guests. All the best

89%

Loved it. Especially the fact that it was easily accessible from the subway ("L" train), there were cool shops right outside, the staff were very friendly, and it was awesome meeting all those people!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We hope that you had an amazing time during your trip and that we were able to make things easier when it came to directions and being comfortable. We especially love hearing that you made some new friends from around the world, that's the best part about hostels! It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to having you back. Best Regards, NYLH

(172 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback