X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The New York Loft Hostel Reviews

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4838 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Hipster paradise. Great rooms, excellent amenities, and really intriguing guests.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, So happy that you loved our place, come back soon!! Best wishes!

94%

Booked in a group of 17 for one night in New York and it went seamlessly! Everyone was very helpful and professional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so glad that you guys decided to stay with us while in New York, it was our pleasure to accommodate!! Best Wishes

51%

Bad value for money, unless you're staying there for several days (where you can take advantage of the various rooms and atmosphere with the other lodgers) Wifi extremely slow Should be cleaned better Very bad sound insulation

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience here, it is rare that we have someone feel so negatively about their stay. We realize the WiFi situation was frustrating and while you were here we were really do everything we could to resolve the situation. We are known for our superb cleanliness but if you want your room cleaned everyday you must request that at the front desk. We wish that we could have made your experience better and thank you for your business. Best Regards

77%

Internet was catastrophic

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We are so sorry that you were here while we were dealing with the WIFI being down. It is up and running again and we would love to have you back. Best Regards

97%

Fantastic place. Could not have been more pleased.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This was my first time staying at a Hostel and visiting New York City. Very close to the subway, "L train to Brooklyn" for those who may need that. The staff was very nice and provided excellent ideas on what to visit during my stay in NY. I was there for Free Fondue night, awesome. Location seemed "Grungy" but apparently that is how the neighborhood of Williamsburg is. I had no problems going to and from the hostel but I also didn't go out very late.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We appreciate you taking the time to sit down and write us a review, we love hearing about our guests experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed fondue night and that the staff was able to point you in the right direction for things to do! We hope to have you back!

83%

3:00 check-in time is way too late! Why do I have to pay for a whole first day if I only get to use less than half of it!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, While we understand it can be frustrating to not be able to get into your room until 3 we hope that you can realize our reasoning's for having this policy. In order to keep our hostel the cleanest hostel in New York we need the time to thoroughly clean the rooms after every resident before permitting the next guest to step foot in the room. You will not find a hostel in NYC that has a check in time that is before 2pm. Best, NYLH

63%

The toilet didn't work properly neither did the Wifi. The staff(especially one woman) was not very friendly and all in all it seemed like they where overwhelmed.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We sincerely apologize that there was an issue in your room, we appreciate your business and hope that the rest of your travels were safe! Best Regards

97%

Had a great time in New York staying here. Staff were very courteous and were happy to provide information about places to eat and things to do. Very convenient location, being a short walk away from the Morgan Avenue subway station for the L line taking you directly to downtown Manhattan. The room was nice and warm with an air conditioner in case it got too hot. Beds were made for us before arrival, and all linen was clean. Showering facilities were plentiful and clean. Overall great!

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for this wonderful review of our hostel, it was our pleasure to help you out with directions and suggestions on places to go. We would love to have you return Safe travels!

94%

Great hostel! Cheap, clean, friendly! Perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thanks for staying with us! We hope to have you back soon! Best wishes :)

100%

This hostel is excellent! I recomend it for other people because all the staffs (reception and people cleaners) always helped me when I needed something. My trip was great and I say thanks everyone for all. Hugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thanks for choosing to stay at our place and for writing us a great review. It was our pleasure to assist you whenever you needed something and we look forward to your return. All the Best, NYLH

100%

I absolutely adored my time spent at the NY Loft Hostel. It was a wonderful value for the money, the events were very entertaining, and the neighborhood was really lovely! All in all, it made my trip to New York feel more authentic, because I could do my tourist stuff in the city during the day, but come back to a small community at night. It was great!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks so much for this wonderful review of our hostel! We are so happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the surrounding neighborhood. We would love to have you back next time you are visiting New York :) Best Regards

89%

The room was great (stayed in a three bed private room with shared bathroom) and the shared bathrooms and showers were also nice. Friendly staff. The area was somewhat bohemian with a lot of small cafés and bars, and 2nd hand stores. Roberta's (the pizza restaurant in the area) was amazing. Really liked the area. Definately recommend this hostel especially if you like Brooklyn and Williamsburg in particular.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, we are so happy that you enjoyed the hostel. We love our neighborhood too and we would love to have you back next time you visit our wonderful city! All the Best

94%

The location is very good. Just take the Subway and it will take you to union square which is pretty much downtown. Meet some People in the hostel and went out to drink in the neigbourhood and there was two good bars With locals and good Music. The hostel is very clean and the breakfast is funny - the real american breakfast. I will stay here NeXT time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving us your comments, we look forward to having you return! Best Regards

97%

I loved it


83%

The hostel is very nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only but big problem is the location. It's in the middle of nowhere surrounded by factories. Although the subway is 3 blocks away, during my stay the L line did't work the entire weekend and it was impossible to get anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, While we are in an industrial area of Brooklyn there are tons of hidden gems throughout the neighborhood, ask the staff and they can point you in the right direction. As for the subway we unfortunately can't control when they do construction but there is an alternative train (J train) a couple blocks further that is available for times like this.

97%

One of the best hostel I've been to. I got the private room with a friend and it was great. Very safe and clean. Even though the bathrooms were shared, there was no problem. The location is pretty good. Very close to the subway station, which is great. The neighbourhood is made up of a younger crowd. It seems a little sketchy at first but it really isn't. Its great that there is free breakfast too. Its not a gourmet breakfast or anything but its good enough seeing as it is free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate your business and it was our absolute pleasure to accommodate you, come back soon! Best Wishes

54%

I suppose satisfaction with any hostel sometimes depends more on the other guests' behavior than the actual hostel facilities. Some of the other guests staying in a different room were super rowdy from 2-4 AM and none of the staff or security did anything. I was unable to get any sleep and ended up checking after only one night even though I paid for two.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are so sorry that your experience at our Hostel was not the best. We do our absolute best to control the numerous guests every night and we usually have people rave about how good our security is. We invite you to write us an email giving us the details of the situation so that we can improve our team and not let an incident such as what you described happen. Thank you for writing a review, we hope to have you back for a better experience! Best Wishes

86%

My experience at the New York Loft Hostel was amazing. The staff there are so friendly and accommodating and are always ready to point you in the right direction if you are new to the city. I stayed i n a twin private room with a friend and we felt very safe leaving our belongings in our room for the day while we were out. It was also so wonderful to have free breakfast (toast, cereal, tea, ) every morning and have a communal fridge in the kitchen to store your own food!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your trip, it makes us happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, come back soon! Best Regards

100%

I enjoyed my stay at the New York Loft Hostel. The facilities were comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. I felt at home and was able to rest.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, It was our pleasure to accommodate you! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your comment! Best Wishes

(172 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback