X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Newark Hotel Reviews

65 St. Michaels Road, West Cliff, Bournemouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
92 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Breakfast set up was a bit odd, no choice, seemed to be cooked in advance & kept warm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
10 different breakfast cereals,orange juice,yoghurt's hot cooked English breakfast or hot cooked vegetarian breakfast, brown or white toast with preserves tea or coffee all complimentary at guest house prices all being cooked fresh as guest eat their cereals. Sorry you found it odd.

100%

We booked for a romantic break to celebrate our anniversary. Haven't been to Bournemouth since I was a child and had forgotten how beautiful it is. Really enjoyed our stay at the Newark hotel and the breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very kind and helpful, they gave us a map of the town on arrival and suggested some lovely places to consider visiting.The room was also very nice, bright and very clean. Cannot wait to visit again. Thank you for a lovely break, cannot wait to visit again!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The overall experience was great! Friendly staff who offered help with places to go by giving you a map with local attractions and places to eat marked on it. The rooms where very clean and spacious with tea/milk/coffee replenished everyday also clean towels provided. Every day there was breakfast starting with cerial or yogurts, then a cooked breakfast served to you, and toast offered with a selection of white or brown and different jams. Its was very quiet and central. Amazing trip! X

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice b

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I will highly recommend Newark Hotel to my friends. If you are looking for a quiet and convenient place to stay in Bournemouth, Newark is the best option! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The room size is good and bright and clean , you can enjoy the sun rise and sunset. Moreover, the location of this hotel is also convenient as you can walk to seaside in 5 min or walk to city center in 5 min. If you prefer to visit other towns, you can find the buses around the hotel!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

lovely hotel the owners certainly take pride in what they do great place to stay very friendly, helpful and caring. hotel is kept very clean, rooms are very clean and plenty of space for your belongings, it is close to all the amenities of the beach and places to eat. Breakfast is very plentiful and a great variety of choice.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for the lovely stay. We enjoyed Bournemouth and the great english breakfast a lot! This is a very lovely Hotel with a very friendly and caring staff.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Enjoyed the stay it was quiet, clean and a pleasure to sleep on comfortable double-bed with a view. My friend and I enjoyed the breakfast and the way we were taken care of with requests for next morning breakfast . It was truly a pleasure to have a chat with the owners /staff of this establishment and can see them as friends down the line. The beach was just a stone walk away. Both my friend and I feel the same: Definitely be happy to return again for another holiday!


100%

If you need a no nonsense place to stay, this is an excellent place to be !

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Unfortunately, it seems the staff (owner?) prefer domestic guests (who got better treatment)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review.We are a little bemused with your comment about domestic guest who get better treatment. Please take a look at previous reviews from guest from all countries we treat every guest the same. The great thing about Hostelworld and its affiliates is the varied guest from around the world who book through them.

71%

Decent rooms, mixed reception from staff. some more helpful then others. Late start for breakfast time which meant I missed out.


100%

The hotel was a great value for money, with very welcoming and helpful staff. Perfect location to enjoy a weekend away!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great bed and breakfast. Excellent staff. Thet went to great length to ensure we were comfortable. We were given a map of the area on our first day even though they didn't have to and we were given tips on good restaurants and landmarks. Breakfast was delicious and well cooked and the rooms were very clean. We will love to stay here again when we return to Bournemouth.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Bournemouth Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback