X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Newark Hotel Reviews

65 St. Michaels Road, West Cliff, Bournemouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
84 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

lovely hotel the owners certainly take pride in what they do great place to stay very friendly, helpful and caring. hotel is kept very clean, rooms are very clean and plenty of space for your belongings, it is close to all the amenities of the beach and places to eat. Breakfast is very plentiful and a great variety of choice.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for the lovely stay. We enjoyed Bournemouth and the great english breakfast a lot! This is a very lovely Hotel with a very friendly and caring staff.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you need a no nonsense place to stay, this is an excellent place to be !

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Unfortunately, it seems the staff (owner?) prefer domestic guests (who got better treatment)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review.We are a little bemused with your comment about domestic guest who get better treatment. Please take a look at previous reviews from guest from all countries we treat every guest the same. The great thing about Hostelworld and its affiliates is the varied guest from around the world who book through them.

71%

Decent rooms, mixed reception from staff. some more helpful then others. Late start for breakfast time which meant I missed out.


100%

The hotel was a great value for money, with very welcoming and helpful staff. Perfect location to enjoy a weekend away!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great bed and breakfast. Excellent staff. Thet went to great length to ensure we were comfortable. We were given a map of the area on our first day even though they didn't have to and we were given tips on good restaurants and landmarks. Breakfast was delicious and well cooked and the rooms were very clean. We will love to stay here again when we return to Bournemouth.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Enjoyed the time spent in Bournemouth and the Newark Hotel.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Lovely and very traditional english B&B. Less than 5min walk from the beach, nearby supermarkets, restaurants and takeaways. Friendly and welcoming owners. Recommend it for couples, guests on their own and those looking for a quiet, comfortable stay.


100%

We found the hotel to be warm and welcoming and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently situated and just the right size for us, nice and comfortable and everything we needed for 2 night stay. Excellent value for money, breakfast included.There was a good selection of cereals to choose from and a lovely hot full English! . A traditional hotel with traditional values, kept very clean and tidy. We will definitely return if we are in the area. Thanks for great stay.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a lovely stay! The people are really nice, the room was brilliant, every need was answered and I truely recommend to others to stay at the Newark hotel. Two thumbs up!


94%

Extremely helpful, very friendly, spotlessly clean. We thoughely enjoyed our stay

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Excellent location, just a 7 min walk to beach + city centre. The Hotel looks like a typical old fashioned B&B, very nice! But: my sister and I arrived with backpacks, as we hiked quite a bit in SW England. Maybe it was because of the Backpacks in combination with our young age, that the staff felt it neccessary to constantly remind us that this is not a hostel. That we should keep the room clean. He even told us how to use the bed! He made us feel stupid. Facilities not better than a hostel's!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your leaving your review may I just point out you were politely asked to remove your backpacks from your body because every time time you moved you were knocking pictures from the wall and not to tie our curtains in a knot as it damages the fibres,age and back packing as nothing to do with showing a little respect.

97%

We had a wonderful stay. The room was comfortable and very clean. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. The guests staying there during the week we were there were friendly, as we shared a laugh at breakfast each morning, with our host facilitating some of the banter!

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Having just returned from our week's holiday break in Bournemouth, we just had to write a review on The Newark Hotel to let others know how we found it.The gentlemen who run The Newark, David, Andrew & Terry are the most welcoming, friendly people you could meet.Very accommodating, scrupulously clean en-suite bedrooms and superb breakfast/dining facilities, fulfilling our every need.We are due to marry on 5th October and we just needed a well-earned break before the big day. THANKYOU GUYS xxx

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly, helpful and very polite. I would consider and be happy to stay again.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a nice 3 nights stay in hotel Newark, I really enjoyed my time. Location is great, room was good, quite warm during a hot day though. Owners are friendly. Only thing that didn't fit for my holiday "routine" was the early breakfast which was served only for half an hour. Otherwise nothing to complain and I would stay in Hotel Newark another time.


91%

eI was there and it was very very lovely. The staff was absolutely friendly and communicative. The breakfast was traditional english. Unusual for foreign travellers but really good too. If you travel as a couple or in a Team of 2 Persons book a Twin-Room. The double-bed is not very large. I can absolutely recommend this Hostel.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Just Perfect

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We loved the view from our window! It's spotless, very near The Bournemouth Pier and near The Square. We weren't very lucky with our shower, but it was ok! They have the traditional Brritish breakfast!!! They don't have fruits!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Bournemouth Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback