X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Newark Hotel Reviews

65 St. Michaels Road, West Cliff, Bournemouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Enjoyed the time spent in Bournemouth and the Newark Hotel.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely and very traditional english B&B. Less than 5min walk from the beach, nearby supermarkets, restaurants and takeaways. Friendly and welcoming owners. Recommend it for couples, guests on their own and those looking for a quiet, comfortable stay.


100%

We found the hotel to be warm and welcoming and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently situated and just the right size for us, nice and comfortable and everything we needed for 2 night stay. Excellent value for money, breakfast included.There was a good selection of cereals to choose from and a lovely hot full English! . A traditional hotel with traditional values, kept very clean and tidy. We will definitely return if we are in the area. Thanks for great stay.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a lovely stay! The people are really nice, the room was brilliant, every need was answered and I truely recommend to others to stay at the Newark hotel. Two thumbs up!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Extremely helpful, very friendly, spotlessly clean. We thoughely enjoyed our stay

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Excellent location, just a 7 min walk to beach + city centre. The Hotel looks like a typical old fashioned B&B, very nice! But: my sister and I arrived with backpacks, as we hiked quite a bit in SW England. Maybe it was because of the Backpacks in combination with our young age, that the staff felt it neccessary to constantly remind us that this is not a hostel. That we should keep the room clean. He even told us how to use the bed! He made us feel stupid. Facilities not better than a hostel's!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your leaving your review may I just point out you were politely asked to remove your backpacks from your body because every time time you moved you were knocking pictures from the wall and not to tie our curtains in a knot as it damages the fibres,age and back packing as nothing to do with showing a little respect.

97%

We had a wonderful stay. The room was comfortable and very clean. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. The guests staying there during the week we were there were friendly, as we shared a laugh at breakfast each morning, with our host facilitating some of the banter!

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Having just returned from our week's holiday break in Bournemouth, we just had to write a review on The Newark Hotel to let others know how we found it.The gentlemen who run The Newark, David, Andrew & Terry are the most welcoming, friendly people you could meet.Very accommodating, scrupulously clean en-suite bedrooms and superb breakfast/dining facilities, fulfilling our every need.We are due to marry on 5th October and we just needed a well-earned break before the big day. THANKYOU GUYS xxx

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly, helpful and very polite. I would consider and be happy to stay again.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a nice 3 nights stay in hotel Newark, I really enjoyed my time. Location is great, room was good, quite warm during a hot day though. Owners are friendly. Only thing that didn't fit for my holiday "routine" was the early breakfast which was served only for half an hour. Otherwise nothing to complain and I would stay in Hotel Newark another time.


91%

eI was there and it was very very lovely. The staff was absolutely friendly and communicative. The breakfast was traditional english. Unusual for foreign travellers but really good too. If you travel as a couple or in a Team of 2 Persons book a Twin-Room. The double-bed is not very large. I can absolutely recommend this Hostel.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Just Perfect

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We loved the view from our window! It's spotless, very near The Bournemouth Pier and near The Square. We weren't very lucky with our shower, but it was ok! They have the traditional Brritish breakfast!!! They don't have fruits!


80%

We had a lovely time staying at The Newark. Very welcoming, clean and friendly!


89%

Good B&B. Check out and breakfast to early after a p'arty night, lol !! But very nice!!


77%

There is nothing to complain about room and security. But the wifi access is terrible. They said it's free, but just from 10am to 10pm. After that, of course, no wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are at a loss to understand how a FREE WiFi service from 6am to 10pm can be terrible

100%

Lovely place! The old man was amazing, plus he've a lot knowledge of bournemouth. Keep going that way I'll come back there for sure. :)


97%

Very neat clean full of charm and attention to detail. Excellent.

  • 27th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I cannot say anything bad about The Newark Hotel. I've been there for 9 nights and I'm so grateful for everything!Who work there are amazing people,the rooms are very good and comfortable, and the breakfasts are amazing! If you are looking for a good place to stay en Bournemouth with good prices, this is your best choice!


89%

A charming B&B, the owner David was very pleasant & helpful, If you get the ensuit room as we did, you have a lovely sunrise view of the bay! If we are ever in Bournemouth again, its where we will stay.

  • 13th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Bournemouth Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback