Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nomad House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
The Nomad House Located at 111/12 Moo 1, Ban Tai, Koh Phangan.
The Nomad House
Thailand
Koh Phangan 84280 111/12 Moo 1, Ban Tai
93% 674
9.7068151 100.0080084
The Nomad House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.1

The nomad house was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint! The staff were fantastic, as were all the people staying there. The atmosphere was wonderful in that the option to party was there but as was a more relaxing environment. Would highly recommend this hostel to any and everyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jan 2017
10.0

this was my third time back at Nomad and it still is the place to party! you really do become part of the Nomad family here - awesome people! Even with so many people here the cleaners do a good job of keeping it up, and the staff are really helpful. the island itself is paradise and with the free day trips every day I think I've managed to see a lot of it. As for the parties, this place kills it!! Every night there's something going on. s/o to the Irish dudes! I'll see you all next time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2016
6.6

Do not look further if you're looking for a place where the collective mindset is to party and drink late into the night. However, those who need quiet and rest, proceed booking here with caution, because the hostel will get a bit noisy and its guests, very rambunctious. The facilities are not the cleanest (bathrooms are outhouses and the indoor ones get dirty by the end of the day - urine gets sprayed everywhere), and the beds are old and uncomfortable. But it's the Koh Phangan party life!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review The Nomad House, we are sorry that your stay here was not what you had expected. As you know, we had a lot of guests here over New Years - the time of your stay, and while the handful of us work 16+ hour days to provide the best service we can and clean up after everyone as frequently as possible, we cannot be all places at all times. I do apologize for any wait you had, but sometimes we have to leave the desk to assist other guests, and sometimes one of us needs to nap (we're only human, and while you sleep after parties, we clean)! If you look, you will see that our top reviews come from people who came to party, not sit out and turn down our invites to join activities or parties. It is unfortunate that you did not experience this 10/10 island the way most of our guests do. As for bunkbeds, we prefer to treat you like adults, not toddlers. Also, had you read the overview of The Nomad House, or used the fantastic 'maps' tool that Hostelworld offers, you would have seen that we are indeed miles away from the full moon beach; 4.5 to be exact. Luckily, it is only a 15 min taxi ride, and we are closer to all the other parties and the pier/market/town in this location! We hope you at least enjoyed our beautiful island during your stay. Take care! - Nomad Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2016
2.9

Worst hostel I've stayed at in Asia. The staff were honestly the biggest bunch of morons I've ever come across. You either have to wake them up from having a nap or walk around looking for them. Cleanliness was shocking. Top bunks have nothing to stop you falling off. There's rumours that they manufacture their reviews as there's no way it should be above a 6. Paid for 6 nights and stayed for three. Oh and it's MILES away from the full moon party. MILES.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review The Nomad House, we are sorry that your stay here was not what you had expected. As you know, we had a lot of guests here over New Years - the time of your stay, and while the handful of us work 16+ hour days to provide the best service we can and clean up after everyone as frequently as possible, we cannot be all places at all times. I do apologize for any wait you had, but sometimes we have to leave the desk to assist other guests, and sometimes one of us needs to nap (we're only human, and while you sleep after parties, we clean)! If you look, you will see that our top reviews come from people who came to party, not sit out and turn down our invites to join activities or parties. It is unfortunate that you did not experience this 10/10 island the way most of our guests do. As for bunkbeds, we prefer to treat you like adults, not toddlers. Also, had you read the overview of The Nomad House, or used the fantastic 'maps' tool that Hostelworld offers, you would have seen that we are indeed miles away from the full moon beach; 4.5 to be exact. Luckily, it is only a 15 min taxi ride, and we are closer to all the other parties and the pier/market/town in this location! We hope you at least enjoyed our beautiful island during your stay. Take care! - Nomad Staff

  • morganhp106154
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Nomad house is great. Good atmosphere, safety, cleanliness etc. Had bikes there to rent! Only issue is you have to buy beer at their bar which can get expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
9.1

Pretty chilled out hostel. The hosts were helpful and considerate. Location is decent with a lot of local restaurants around. I had more fun playing beer pong and talking to other guests than I did at the half moon party. Shout-out to the group from South Africa (Barakkis) and Nick-Hannah from Canada.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • GeoffBaillie
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Dec 2016
7.1

Seemed like a really good party hostel, if people were there. It was empty when we went. Must be much better when it's half moon / full moon. Could do with buying new bedsheets and pillowcases too. They've seen better days and don't smell great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a better hostel. Staff is magnificent, rooms are good with aircon. Very social, great parties. Best thing by far was the staff, really nice people that are extremely friendly and helpful. Book here hands down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
6.9

Went there for Full Moon Party as a solo traveler. I was very disappointed in the commun area that wasn't that great and not much atmosphere even though if everyone was nice. To me, it turns out that the reviews were Overated and didn't get the impression we were all partying together to go to the full moon. People seemed in early 20s

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Our stay here was amazing, the staff are nice and made us feel welcome from the start! Teddy and nelly were especially cool and always played drinking games and pool with us. The two hostel dogs are cute and friendly af. The atmosphere is lively and there's cool artwork on all the walls! Best hostel I stayed in on my travels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.