Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Northern Greenhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Good hostel! They do make you strip your bed regardless what time you leave though which sucks, I don't mind but it's hard to do it in the dark without waking your room mates up... Or using a torch and then trying not to wake them! But you have no choice as you're held to ransom over your $10 key deposit for the plastic key card they can deactivate...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

It's shocking to me that the hostel will not allow you to touch the air-conditioning (in this case, increasing the fan speed or decreasing the temperature) especially when the weather is incredibly hot and humid. Sleeping in the summer temperatures with air-conditioning that practically doesn't exist is incredibly difficult. Although the facilities overall were generally nice, it's beyond me how this works.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Good hostel! They do make you strip your bed regardless what time you leave though which sucks, I don't mind but it's hard to do it in the dark without waking your room mates up... Or using a torch and then trying not to wake them! But you have no choice as you're held to ransom over your $10 key deposit for the plastic key card they can deactivate...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a great stay at the Northern Greenhouse! Location and facilities (fridge and sink in rooms, balcony and large bathroom) were fantastic! An extra star for the free BBQ :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.0

The room was a good size, clean with large lockers and air con. The hostel is within easy walking distance of all the shops and bars etc but has quite a chilled out atmosphere which I liked. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.3

It was a great place in general, very close to the port and to the local stores. It's nice and clean and the people that I've met over there are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
8.3

Good hostel but no real atmosphere, was there over Christmas and was hoping for it to be a bit more social than what it was. Location perfect, rooms sweet and spacious, pool good, chill out area good, no complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
8.0

A pipe burst in the bathroom and flooded everything. They turned off our water and I had to walk in my towel down to the reception and ask to use someone else's shower down the hall. Kinda wish they would have told me they were going to turn off the water (after I thought they fixed the pipe). Would have been cool if a discount was offered for the inconvenience. Other than that the wifi is absolutely terrible (so frustrating) but the place is really clean and has a pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
8.9

I used this as a hub for a liveaboard on the GBR, and it was perfect. It's a converted apartment complex, so not the best place to meet others, but I just need a couple decent nights' sleep, and this delivered. Not too far from a Woolworths if you want to pick up some groceries and make some food in the kitchen. WiFi is spotty, especially at night, which can be quite frustrating. It's clean, though, and the rooms are the perfect temperature in the topics.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
9.7

Hostel is wonderful, great common area to chill out in and the wifi is decent. Lovely staff and lovely hostel mates. Wish I could've stayed longer as I only stayed one night, but I was made to feel incredibly welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.