Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Northern Greenhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
The Northern Greenhouse Located at 117 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
The Northern Greenhouse
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 117 Grafton Street
88% 417
-16.9223912 145.7738971
The Northern Greenhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Aug 2016
10.0

By far the nicest hostel I stayed in during my travels around Australia! The location is perfect, very central and a quick walk to all point of interest. The wifi works great and was completely free (something I found to be very rare at Aussie hostels). Rooms are large, clean and air conditioned. All of the common areas are well kept and maintained, and there's a large pool. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
9.7

Best hostel in Aus! We moved here after staying in Nomads for one night which was disgusting. Greenhouse is fabulous, so clean and even though it's in the city you're next to Gilligans so can go out but no Loud noise. Free excursions and food all the time. Free wifi. Amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

Couldn't recommend this hostel more! Spacious rooms, great bathrooms and facilities. They offer loads of free stuff (breakfast, wifi, day trips, free Sunday BBQ). Tthe stuff they put on makes it easy to meet people, especially if travelling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Nice place with easy access to the centre of Cairns. Decent rooms with lockers and personal luggage baskets which is a nice touch. Cool deck area although the kitchen is a little small and not very well equipped. Good place to stay though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.7

The best hostel I've been so far. Super clean (it even smell clean ^^). The kitchen is nice and big, the common area is nice and encourage to talk with other backpackers. My room (probably all rooms) had a fridge and a small kitchenette and a bathroom. I think the room was properly cleaned every day. No excessive noise. The staff is very friendly, I really felt at home. The free activities are really worth doing, especially Crystal cascade on Wednesday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
4.6

Dirty bathroom. No place to hang anything like a towel. Internet connection is terrible. Kept cutting out. Just not clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
10.0

The price is a bit above average, but you do get what you pay for. Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, there are awesome free trips, movie nights and barbecue, it was easy to meet people, and the location is very good. It was also clean and the were lockers - a luxury which is rare is Oz for some reason. Fantastic hostel! Best one I've stayed in in Australia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Enjoyed my stay here, breakfast and wifi included. Staff were helpful & friendly. Everywhere was clean and tidy or was once cleaned up after lazy hostel stayers. Surprised by the amount of kids staying with school groups, but were mainly well behaved. Overall I would have stayed longer, but no room for me :-(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

This was my second hostel in Cairns, and it was by far the best hostel I have stayed in yet. It is only a few meters from ProDive, which is great if you're doing liveaboard diving as I did. The people were super friendly, and the staff was super helpful. Their resident travel agent, Jasmine, was very knowledgable about Cairns attractions and tours. The rooms were large, and the pool was quite nice. Laundry was a tad expensive. The free tour was great. Overall, I would most definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kccfeatherston750
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel. We had a decent sized room with 6 beds, a medium sized en-suite and a small kitchenette with cupboards, fridge and sink which were all kept very clean. The hostel runs free activities including weekly movie nights and free dinners/barbeques. The kitchen and dining/sitting area are spacious and open. The staff on the travel desk were nice but the people on the hostel reception were a bit stand off-ish and not very forth coming with info.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.