Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Northern Greenhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
The Northern Greenhouse Located at 117 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
The Northern Greenhouse
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 117 Grafton Street
88% 408
-16.9223912 145.7738971
The Northern Greenhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2016
4.6

Dirty bathroom. No place to hang anything like a towel. Internet connection is terrible. Kept cutting out. Just not clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
10.0

The price is a bit above average, but you do get what you pay for. Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, there are awesome free trips, movie nights and barbecue, it was easy to meet people, and the location is very good. It was also clean and the were lockers - a luxury which is rare is Oz for some reason. Fantastic hostel! Best one I've stayed in in Australia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Enjoyed my stay here, breakfast and wifi included. Staff were helpful & friendly. Everywhere was clean and tidy or was once cleaned up after lazy hostel stayers. Surprised by the amount of kids staying with school groups, but were mainly well behaved. Overall I would have stayed longer, but no room for me :-(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

This was my second hostel in Cairns, and it was by far the best hostel I have stayed in yet. It is only a few meters from ProDive, which is great if you're doing liveaboard diving as I did. The people were super friendly, and the staff was super helpful. Their resident travel agent, Jasmine, was very knowledgable about Cairns attractions and tours. The rooms were large, and the pool was quite nice. Laundry was a tad expensive. The free tour was great. Overall, I would most definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kccfeatherston750
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel. We had a decent sized room with 6 beds, a medium sized en-suite and a small kitchenette with cupboards, fridge and sink which were all kept very clean. The hostel runs free activities including weekly movie nights and free dinners/barbeques. The kitchen and dining/sitting area are spacious and open. The staff on the travel desk were nice but the people on the hostel reception were a bit stand off-ish and not very forth coming with info.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Cairns. Wonderful environment, quiet, and really comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
8.9

I'm picky, but this place was perfect. Stayed an extra week because I loved it so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Large and well run. Dorms comfy with under bed baskets and lockers with plug sockets in which is a great idea. Fridge and sink in room. Only issues I found were bunks very squeaky so really noisy when anyone moves/gets in or out of bed; plus key cards very temperamental and sometimes took ages to get into room. Nice communal area, good pool and well equipped kitchen. Good free trips daily with a pro kite surfing, ex-bodyguard, ex-special forces martial arts training, neurologist. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
8.0

Great place to stay in central Cairns, easy walk to all major shops, marina, bus/train station etc. Quiet enough for sleep but good atmosphere and plenty of people around for a chat. Free activities were also great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
7.7

If you book the airport shuttle in advance through their site, it's free (I wish I knew that from the HostelWorld description). The WiFi was pretty consistently bad throughout my entire stay. I had issues communicating with one staff member constantly working the front... she was nice, just a lot was lost in translation. But the hostel was clean, brekkie was standard (but free!), it was easy to be social when I wanted, secluded when I didn't, and it was quiet at night. Also, great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.