Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Northern Greenhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.3

The hostel is nice and clean but quite big such that it's quite easy to lose track of people you've met the day before. Also, the kitchen is far too small for such a large hostel. I wouldn't recommend the hostel for solo travellers but otherwise it's quite nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Offers on throughout the week like activities and free BBQs. Staff all friendly and helpful. Nice outside pool and seating area. Hostel is also just down the road from Gilligans and other clubs for going out in evenings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
10.0

My stay at the Northern Greenhouse was great! The room was large and the en suite was nice. It was also terrific to have a fridge in the room to daily needs. Location was a short walk to everything that I needed during my stay in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
7.1

Nice spacious rooms with ensuite, fridge and sink. Lovely seating area. Decent location. Free bbq and exertions run by the hostel were a great bonus. However the kitchen was vile. Everything was dirty and food was left out so there were flies everywhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Good hostel! They do make you strip your bed regardless what time you leave though which sucks, I don't mind but it's hard to do it in the dark without waking your room mates up... Or using a torch and then trying not to wake them! But you have no choice as you're held to ransom over your $10 key deposit for the plastic key card they can deactivate...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

It's shocking to me that the hostel will not allow you to touch the air-conditioning (in this case, increasing the fan speed or decreasing the temperature) especially when the weather is incredibly hot and humid. Sleeping in the summer temperatures with air-conditioning that practically doesn't exist is incredibly difficult. Although the facilities overall were generally nice, it's beyond me how this works.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.4

It's located in a great location with a chill atmosphere. Loved that they had a tour desk for bookings and offered free tour options on different days of the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Good hostel! They do make you strip your bed regardless what time you leave though which sucks, I don't mind but it's hard to do it in the dark without waking your room mates up... Or using a torch and then trying not to wake them! But you have no choice as you're held to ransom over your $10 key deposit for the plastic key card they can deactivate...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a great stay at the Northern Greenhouse! Location and facilities (fridge and sink in rooms, balcony and large bathroom) were fantastic! An extra star for the free BBQ :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.0

The room was a good size, clean with large lockers and air con. The hostel is within easy walking distance of all the shops and bars etc but has quite a chilled out atmosphere which I liked. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.