Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
87% 1468
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Definitely the best hostel in whole Melbourne Especially the staff is very kind

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location, awesome atmosphere, helpful staff, free breakfast and other free events organized by the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elliotmoore
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Had a solid introduction from staff from the moment I stepped foot in the building, with them continuing to make an effort to help during my stay. Has a great atmosphere to the place with decent beds and general facilities. It's a little expensive but no more of a rip off than those hostels found in Sydney. For a place that is chill, in a cool part of Melbourne, and has reliable staff, you can't go too far wrong here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Good spot. Social and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.1

An amazing location in one of the best areas of Melbourne. The hostel felt like a home and I could of stayed for a couple months. Great vibe. Sick facilities. In my top 3 best hostels I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've stayed at to date. Amazing layout. Plenty of bathrooms never really had to wait. Lots of places to hang out. Very secure facility need keys for everywhere. Amazing staff, extremely helpful and happy. Quite a mix of people from young to old and everything in between. Would definitely recommend and will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robfrank92
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
6.6

Was pretty average. Mainly long term people in my room who slothed around in bed all day making limited effort to speak. Location was decent and the BBQ on a Friday was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.1

This hostel is genuinely the best hostel I've stayed in in my life. It is like a home, with a giant family staying in it. It's clean and nice. I left my laptop on my bed with the Dorm door open and didn't feel worried. The location is fantastic, staff are kind but slow. Wifi is not free and is very slow which is a big downfall. The long-termers are actually very friendly despite it being a bit intimidating - just say hi! Would recommend, I will be back!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
9.1

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very helpful in finding the times of trams, rides to airport and the like. The only regret was that the upper bunk was difficult to climb into for a 74 yr old lady, a small step stool was provided in the room, but a two step would have been better.. I know, you don't have many ladies in their 70s stay often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Great hostel although was a bit of a cliquey feel when you arrive because there was a lot of people staying long-term (although that is the case all over Australia). Very clean bathrooms and kitchen. WiFi isn't free which was a bit annoying but it wasn't too badly priced and worked very well. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.