X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Nunnery Reviews

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
919 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I stayed at the Guesthouse and I loved it as it has its own kitchen and dinner table. The 6 bed dorm was comfy and it even had a TV and a fake fire place. The interior was lovely too, just like a traditional B&B. I found the girls at the reception very helpful as well as the maps they provided. One way by which the Nunnery could improve is by offering free internet and maybe fruit with the otherwise yummy breakfast. Moreover, I can also very much recommend the area as a base to explore.


74%

The common room is very nice, but the kitchen is way too small. No lift. The rooms are nice with hangers and safes. I didn't really like the location - it was too far from the CBD. The Carlton Gardens nearby is however very nice and does give a great atmosphere to the location.


91%

Lovely staff

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

I didn't feel comfortable at this hostel. Stayed in a room with 12 to try and get to know people when I first arrived in Oz. Was later told that 10 out of 12 were long term residents. I found a majority to be unfriendly. Second night I was woken at 3 am by drunk idiots screaming in the hallways. Kitchen was tiny and untidy. Wasn't a great first impression of Oz!


91%

Great hostel with plenty of charm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy to catch trams into CBD and short walking distance to Brunswick St. Great place to stay!!


77%

Great place to stay as a solo backpacker. bathrooms are a little all over the place eg. toilet in one room, basin in another room, but thats due to the old building.staff are nice and helpful, rooms are clean enough. right outside the tram line into the city and a beautiful park across the road. kitchen is bad! way to small for the amount of people there.


94%

Go for it, it's the best place to stay at!


89%

Great place to stay! The only negatives are the lack of toilets / showers and the small kitchen. Apart from that can't recomment it enough

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall this is a very nice hostel. The old building is well taken care of and kept very clean. It's also nice that they have a lot of amenities in the rooms (even TVs!) My only couple complaints are that each floor as a little short on bathrooms and that the "free breakfast" is just toast and spread. Oh and if they have enough money to provide cable, it would be a really nice amenity to provide free internet either also or instead. Frankly that's a lot more valuable. Overall it's Solid.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

If you are young and want to be in a nice party enviroment, then this is the place for you, if your looking for a calm place to rest, then you wont like it this Hostel felt more like a constant house party with the parents no where to be seen. The larger dorms are difficult to get some sleep in, but what do you expect from a cheap bed; you sure to make many a good friend and located close to Melbourne City centre you can't go wrong. Great place, it is what it is and nothing more!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The nunnery has a great atmosphere with a lot of common areas to meet new people. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Free breakfast and soup and sausage nights were excellent!

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Not in every room are lockers. like in room 16 were no lockers. The positive side, everybody had a magnietic cardl, so no one else could go in the room.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

We booked a private twin room & opened the door to a cell like bunk bed hideous space! To make matters worse we were at the traffic end of the building with a security light shining into our room. "Inmates" would congregate at the top of the stairs & chat disturbing your sleep, & at 2am on the second night one such person had a Skype conversation in full voice waking us all. My wife had to get out of bed & tell this person to go downstairs as we had to be up at 5am that morning to catch a plane!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our most sincere apologies you did not get the room you thought you booked. At the time it was unclear on Hostelworld that you booked a bunktwin room. This has now been rectified. It is always a good idea to see reception if you are unhappy with your room. We were fully booked that weekend, however we could have moved you to a quieter part of the hostel. We have now put stricter rules in place to stop over excited backpackers disrupting other guests. Thank you for your review

89%

Staff was awesome and extremely helpful.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place. Especially for a hostel. Awesome staff! And they feed you...as in provide meals. If they literally fed you, that would be creepy. ;)

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great stay at the Nunnery. We loved the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was also lots of communal space inside and out which made it friendly. As our room was ready, we really appreciated being able to get our room before check-in time as we had just got off a long flight. Only negative comment would be the loud vacuum cleaning before 9am. This woke us up every morning which wasn't very pleasant considering we were on holiday. Perhaps this could be done a little later in the day?


80%

More expensive than other hostels at 220 a week against 175 for Bernie included etc... Location was great right beside a park. Staff very good and helpful. No bar so you don't need to buy expensive pints to socialise... all round a very nice stay!!


83%

Stayed in the Guesthouse - great room and breakfast included (toast & cornflakes). Not overly great value for money though, more like hotel prices...


77%

It's just a bit out of the city center, but in Fitzroy, wich has a lot of great bars and atmosphere. The hostel is very busy, wich is a challenge during breakfast, since the kitchen is small (but well equipped). At night it can get very noisy when you are next to the coutyard, altough it is asked to keep the noise down after 10 pm, since there is no staff around to keep an eye on what's going on. Clean bathrooms and overall facilities. The staff is well informed, friendly and helpfull.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback