Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Everything was ok. The breakfast is a bit lame (toast and cereal). The most annoying part is that you have to for Wi-Fi. Why can't just they include it in the price?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
7.4

Great location, walkable to either downtown or the bohemian Fitzroy district. Seemed like a great social hostel for the younger set. My room had no lockers, a bunk so rickety that the upstairs guest woke me with every move, and was right by the window over the courtyard to catch all the noise of the stoned drunk kids when they got home from the pub crawl...until 4 am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Quirky, pleasant, eclectic. I stopped there at the beginning of my holiday and then again at the end. Other people were returners too. I enjoyed free pancakes (sun) bbq (fri) and bike ride(wed). Little touches like sunscreen on the reception were part ot the thought out consideration with whimsical "Nuns"reminders softening the necessary notices to aid smooth running of the hostel. Thanks X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.0

I really liked this hostel. It was a cool building and not too big which I prefer. Although the kitchen was maybe a little on the small side. The common areas and bathrooms were clean and the room I stayed in was spacious with lockers provided. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my time at the Nunnery. It's a beautiful building and the room I stayed in on the 2nd floor was really clean with wardrobes, in room lockers and a sink. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel has its own guides for what to do whilst in Melbourne which were really useful. The location is perfect. It's not a far walk from the free tram zone. My only criticism is that the kitchen is small and it can get crowded in there, but it's near so many nice places to eat. Free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deahnelisae
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

BEST HOSTEL IN MELBOURNE!!! Amazing beautiful (can't beat those stained glass windows), incredible staff, friendly travellers, great security but the best thing about this place... the herb bread rolls at the free breakfast every morning mmmmmm! Always love staying here and can't wait to stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
8.6

The Nunnery was about a 5-10 minute walk to the main bar/restaurant area of Fitzroy. Good breakfast with a variety of breads, fruits, and pancakes on Sunday.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
4.3

the room was like a prison cell.the tv did not work.the kitchen area was a complete mess and the toilet and bathrooms which should be checked hourly and cleaned when and if needed where very ordinary..i did not shower.for approx. $10 to $ 20 extra you can stay in far superior comfort and surroundings.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Mar 2017
7.4

Good atmosphere and activities but poor with basic room maintenance. Main room light was out when I arrived on Friday night, I asked the lady at main reception to take a look at it on Friday night and still wasn't fixed on Sunday when I left. Dormitory room had to be lit by 1 bedside lamp.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.3

The dorm we slept in was good, there was a portable air con unit which was nice. The bathrooms and showers were clean most of the time. The kitchen area was well equipped but not that clean, not at the fault of the hostel but other residents not cleaning up after themselves. We felt sorry for the staff constantly cleaning up after people! Great location and the staff were all really nice. Very much for long term residents which changed the atmosphere, they weren't as willing to socialise or chat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.