Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
86% 1429
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.6

Best hostel I've stayed in a long while. Beautiful building and outstanding location. Bathrooms were spacious and nice. The kitchen was unusable due to the sinks being full of people's dirty dishes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.7

This place has a really great mix of people and was always clean. It was the first hostel I stayed in that actually had lockers inside your room which I really appreciated. It was a bit annoying that you had to pay for Wi-FI additionally especially since it wasn't a great connection, but that was really my only complaint!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
9.7

So glad I decided to stay at the Nunnery! A unique hostel in a funky area of Melbourne. Lots of cool people staying here. Has some really nice outdoor areas/patios, and yummy freshly baked bread for breakfast. Cool activities everyday of the week and lots of information about the area. Would definitely stay here again if I'm back in Melbourne!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

1) lokasi hostel berdekatan bandar anda boleh naik tram 96 arah ke east brunswich. Hanya jalan dalam 2min terus sampai hostel. 2) dapur bersih cume agak sempit. Jika anda memasak mungkin anda akan berlaga buntut dengan mat salleh yg lalu lalu kat situ. 3) staff sangat membantu dan baik hati. 4) bilik bersih 5) internet kena bayar. Kalau nak internet free boleh poie imax atau melbourne museum kat situ anda boleh bertenet secara percuma 6) hostel ada sediakan transport dari hostel ke airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
4.3

The Nunnery is in a great location and the staff were really nice. Unfortunately, they're just about the only two positive points I can make about the place. The private double was dirty and uncomfortable. Both our fan and curtain rail were broken and bed was actually two singles with a mattress protector across the top. The shared showers were really bad. Honestly, one of the worst showers I've ever taken. Given we were being charged over $100/night for the room, I expected a lot more.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Nov 2016
4.6

Overall I was very disappointed. The room had a Sky window which you couldn't cover so the entire room was bright in the morning and you couldn't sleep. Location is good. Not very clean and only two bathrooms between 3 dorm rooms which means you have to wait ages for a shower in the morning. Minimal atmosphere in the actual Hostel. Does the job as a place to stay but overall very dissapointed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
9.1

Best vibe of any hostel I've been to. Brilliant building. Like living in a big house with lots of friends. Fantastic free BBQ and the toast/breads at breakfast was really good quality- not supermarket loaves! I loved it there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
8.9

It's okay for a short stay to go around Melbourne. They have special events as well throughout the week for tenants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • victorialvernon452
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location, really secure just alittle outdated in the rooms but such a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Stay in the outhouse bit - I was originally in the main building and it's SO noisy as the reception is open till the early hours. Good location though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.