Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2017
9.7

Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
7.1

Saw some mixed running around. Generally the staffs are helpful, atmosphere is good. Hygiene wise need to improve a little bit.tq

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.7

I love staying at The Nunnery. Such a beautiful building - gorgeous stained glass & other original fittings. I also liked that my small single room was tastefully, minimally decorated. No tizz. Superb location. Friendly helpful staff & the mainly young residents are nice to older people like me. Thanks for another great stay. Next time I will take a water bottle or plastic cup as they were in short supply.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
6.0

It's overpriced and overcrowded! Not much service either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2017
6.3

Surprised this hostel had so many good reviews as it was nowhere near what I expected. The bathrooms were old and smelly, the kitchen was tiny, the dorm was cramped and dark with no storage space so everyone's stuff was all over the floor. Big contrast to all the other (and cheaper) hostels which have at least had modern bathrooms etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place, #1 location in the most lively district of Melbourne!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
6.3

For less money you could definitely stay in a better hostel in a better location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.0

A beautiful building, a great location with good facilities. However, being in a dorm on the ground floor, while convenient, also means noise from the corridor through the night...even with earplugs. A loud guest, not a young person either, spoilt our sleep. Also the kitchen was a bit congested, because of how it was designed. So it's probably better to be upstairs unless the hostel could fit a second door to the dorm opposite the reception. Friendly staff, good common room and lovely courtyard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
5.1

Definitely Over rated. Bad location, old facilities, no privacy at your dorm, no designated socket next to your bed, rocking bed, noise at mid night from common area. Luckily i can always find a place for shower, as no one there bother to shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.6

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Cool outside space, kitchen a bit small so slightly off putting for cooking. Powerful showers - the best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.