X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Nunnery Reviews

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy 30065, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
875 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Quite alright for a stay in Melbourne, close to Melbourne Museum and 10 min to Circle tram. Bathroom facilities are a bit old and could be cleaner, but rooms are very tidy. Can be a little noisy if you have a room towards the road. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


74%

The room was a bit dirty and the beds were not that comfort but overall it is a nice hostel. The fact that the wifi is paid is really a bummer.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Colonial style building situated 3 km north of Melbourne CBD. Although it was safe and clean the showers hot water was malfunctioning. I did not try the other showers though. Recommended but for only a short stay. However it was advertised the Skybus would would "drop you off at their doorstep" but in fact Skybus does not operate in that area. You would need to walk up Nicolson Street to get to destination.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

It was absolutely lovely, free pancakes for breakfast and you could have seconds and thirds if you liked. Clean showers with hot water, comfy beds, super friendly reception staff and really perfect location for Fitzroy/ Collingwood museums, bars and transport connections to the city centre. Loved it, will stay again.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, love staying here. Nice people and it s clean


94%

Great hostel with great atmosphere. Situated about a slow 10 min walk to the city tram and CBD. In Fitzroy where there are some cool bars and clubs in the area. Nothing pretentious. Private bathrooms. Nice lounge area with a fireplace. Or outdoor patio. One of the better hostels I've stayed in. Only downside is Kitchen is a little small


91%

Would have loved tea making facilities between 2200-0700, otherwise excellent and will stay again


100%

Really cool place to stay! Lots of amenities I would never expect at a hostel (tv in the rooms? Awesome!) and really nifty atmosphere. Love that breakfast is provided (my daily bread) and there was something going on each night of the week. And that nickel & diming wasn't the name of the game there as it is at other hostels that become a PAIN to stay at (ie need an extra blanket? Just ask!). Felt very safe and secure, everything was clean and tidy. Love how comfy and cosy the common room was too

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Will definitely be staying at the Nunnery every time I go to Melbourne. An incredible hidden gem of a hostel

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great Hostel. Charming, clean, good staff and nice people there. Highly recommend it!


100%

I loved my time at the nunnery! It's a great building that brings out a great atmosphere. I was recommended the nunnery and I will too recommend it to friends. Fantastic!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing free breakfast, cozy lounge room (with Xbox!) but could do with free wifi.


77%

had a nice stay at the nunnery hostel in melbourne, the staff and other residents were really friendly and helpful. the free soup was also nice. the facilites were okay, even though paying for wifi is never nice, and the distance/bus connections to the center were alright.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hostel in a nice building very close to Fitzroy. There is a tram to Melbourne CBD in front of the hostel (anyway it's a 10/15 minutes walk). Nice and friendly staff and clean facilities. Wifi is not free but affordable (5$/day, 10$/3 days, 15$/week).

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere and really relaxed vibe. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The fresh baked bread for breakfast, free soup night, and free sausage sizzle night were nice touches that make this hostel stand out a bit. Very clean as well!


89%

Fantastic place to stay.Right on the tram line into the city. Lovely staff had turned the heater on in our room so it was nice and cosy to come back to after a chilly Melbourne winters day. Room had a small fridge and a tv. Bed was comfy and we were very pleased with our night here.


100%

I am from Melbourne, but have stayed here a couple of times as its cheaper than getting a $100 cab home on Saturday at 2am. Its a top hostel, it has the best building and atmosphere of any hostel I've stayed compared to 50 or so that I've stayed at in Europe, friendly staff too.


77%

not what I expected at all and the music was too load and it was noisy and I did not feel welcome in the kitchen when I was making my own food.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great spot to stay in Fitzroy. The rooms were very nice (super high ceilings!) as well as clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful too!


94%

Fantastic place to stay. Very clean, friendly and near to Brunswick street. Easy to get to from cbd

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback