Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
89% 1367
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.1

Most people here are on a working visa, quite young- tend to chill around the hostel all day 'looking for jobs' and go out at night partying on nearby Brunswick street. Most are on a budget, and not going around to see/experience Melbourne. Booked a 4 bed dorm, got 'upgraded' to a 2 bed- made it harder to meet others. Communal area is nice and free breakfast included. If you buy wifi the coverage is good. Close to the tram, and 10min walk to the CBD which is handy. Lots of bathroom facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • latennant8227
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.0

Probably a good place to stay on a longer term bases - myself and a few other backpackers that were traveling alone or were just there for a long weekend agreed that the staff and other guests were very cold and unwelcoming. Also had a very unstable and uncomfortable bunk beds in comparison to the 5 other hostels I stayed at my trip. Awesome part of town, good security, awesome outdoor common area - disappointing community

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

I stayed in the Nunnery for 4 days. The guest house was very nice and familiar, the normal house was a bit more about partying, but both were very good. The free breakfast is so great! Only the kitchen was a bit small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location, great staff. but everything is for money; internat, locks for lockers and other stuff. But in general it was a pretty good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.4

This hostel was such a cool place with an interesting atmosphere and history behind it. It's a big enough building where you can have peace and quiet, but also socialize. My only gripe is that you have to pay for the wi-fi and it's inconvenient that you can only buy 1 hr or 24 hrs at a time. When you buy the 24 hrs and you're out half the day, it's kind of a waste of money. Otherwise, the hostel had some really cool social events planned and the free breakfast is nice. It was a fun experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Weizi26-62
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

在nunnary住了五个晚上,非常漂亮的一栋楼,全实木地板装饰,非常喜欢。交通很方便,门口就是电车站。大楼对面就是一个大公园,我去晨跑了两个早上,很惬意。购物的话旁边要走五分钟才有商店和酒吧。进入大门必须刷卡所以很安全,里面员工很热情,厨房干净用具齐全,花园晚上有彩灯很漂亮,三楼还可以看夜景,超赞。有living room可以看电视电影,大家都在里面聊天交朋友。 唯一不足的就是上铺没有单独的充电插头,只有下铺的位置才有,不是很方便。 总体来说非常满意,很喜欢这里,气氛好,环境好,99分推荐给大家!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.3

Great place! First hostel after arriving and I was very happy!! Good common areas, easy to meet others! Fantastic pancakes on a Sunday and good selection of free breakfast every other day! Within walking distance to CBD and on a main tramline (96) to St Kilda. Great city views from the roof! Someone recommended this place to me and I would definitely recommend again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

Lovely building, great staff and a central location (short walk from free tram zone). My only issue was that the top bunk was squeaky, perfect otherwise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.7

The Nunnery is great. The girls at reception were very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, the free breakfast is simple but nice and filling, the building is beautiful, and I felt very welcome and at home! I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in a cool part of town. Park across the street, which is beautiful as well as the Melbourne Museum. The place has a lot of character and the staff was pleasant, but it could have been cleaner. Would definitely come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.