Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
87% 1331
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful building. Very helpful staff, they helped us figure out the top things to do in the little time we had there. My friend and I were upgraded to a private room for no extra charge which was great. We also appreciated the free hotdog night, although there was almost no food left barely 10 minutes after it started.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.7

One of my favourite hostels, I liked it so much I extended my stay! I got upgraded to the guesthouse which was so nice, quiet and clean. The hostel is in a really cool area as well. Only negative was that in the guesthouse there were only 3 bathrooms so sometimes there was a bit of a queue in the morning but other than that it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
6.9

Thought i would get a locker in the room but no. First night lots of door banging. None for next two nights. Bad luck getting top bunk. All too much first in best dressed. Would be great if i was there to party. Where o where is the hostel for grumpy old people. Just the same. Basic needs were met and every one was friendly and helpful. Full marks for staffs care and attentions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

The location is very convenience. Staffs are nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.4

I've been travelling Australia for 8 months and this is the nicest hostel I have stayed in during that time. Great staff and free cups if tea - very important to us English travellers!! Highly recommended :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.1

Awesome for the money. Great location. Pubs, restaurants, cafés etc all around. I had a private double room, which was more than adequate. Shared bathroom was an ensuite setup, so private enough once you locked the door. I don't get to Melb much, but when I do, I'll be staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Only been there for three days (which is not a lot compared to some of the guys that are staying there for months), but it was a good place to stay. They've created an hostel where it's easy to make friends and they do a lot more than just provide a bed (e.g. free pub crawl, barbecue, breakfast etc).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved, loved my stay at the Nunnery. Super quirky, friendly staff, everything is really clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Such a great location, walking distance to so much that Melb has to offer. I loved the chance to stay in a big old terrace house, generous rooms, comfy beds and great staff. Highly recommend! Jess and family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location in cool Fitzroy, a couple blocks from free tram (or stop right next to hostel if you want to pay), across from Museum, walk to most sites or take Tram. Building beautiful, but rooms worn and bunk beds rackety. Must pay WIFI. Decent pillows/sheets, heater in room. Not all rooms have lockers. Shared bathrooms interesting set up but cold and could be cleaner. Breakfast is cereal & bread. Some residents not sociable & some rude talking loudly in hallways @midnight or singing @6am

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.