Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Sep 2017
8.0

My third stay at the Nunnery, and it may be my last. Not to say it as drastically changed or anything. The staff are still awesome, such a great group of people, and the location is worth staying there for alone. Honestly, its just the beds that really need replacing, most of the under sheets are stained was well as the pillows. In a place that you make your own bed, this is an important issue. Thank you to the staff, and the great people I met over my two days there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
6.0

Nowhere near enough bathrooms Should be cleaned more often Kitchen far too small Comfy beds Nice lounge area bad wifi - even worse that you have to pay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.7

The staff and facilities at this place are fantastic. The rooms were very tidy and well looked after, plus the communal areas and amenities were modern and useful. Would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Aug 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel, excellent location to explore Fitzroy, lots of cheap eats and cool bars, etc. Equally walking distance from the CBD. Hostel is quiet at night if you want to get some sleep, but there is a very socialable atmosphere if you want to go out. Beautiful building and very well maintained, clean. Would have preferred to have had the locker in my 4bed room, but the lockers downstairs were secure and I had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.1

As a solo traveller I loved this place! It has a lot of character and you'll meet great people. Fitzroy is super cool and it's only 2 stops north of the free tram zone - so a perfect location! The lockers didn't quite work but the environment felt safe enough to just leave things around the room. The only downside is you have to pay for wifi and it's quite expensive. It gets cheaper if you get it for multiple days. Definitely stay here! Thanks Nunnery!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere, breakfast included. Can't fault it. Definitely stay there if you are looking for an affordable and friendly environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2017
9.1

Lots of events going on, the staff also wanted to make sure we had a good time in Melbourne by suggesting places to go. The only downfall was switching rooms and having to move out by 11 and not being able to get a new room till 2pm- this seems standard but it would have been more convenient to at least get a bed to put our stuff on/ a bathroom during those hours considering we make the beds with the linen anyways and the beds were empty at those times

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
10.0

Excellent. I am nit a backpacker but actually in business I really enjoyed the stay and would recommend. If you want quiet so you should order the superior rooms which is in Annex next door. Large well equipped room.. very quiet. The licatoon is superb fir Melbourne museum and all CBD or short walk other way to Fitzroy with great bats, cafes and restaurants .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
8.9

Great place, great location, great people! Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eleesuileng5435
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.4

A good location very near to Tram line to City and Southern Cross Railway Station. Value for money with breakfast included. Friendly staff & helpful with direction to nearby eatery places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×