Hostelworld.com

The Nunnery

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
85% 1292
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.0

Stayed here for 6 nights last week - really nice hostel, very homely feel and met some nice people - may recommend it to more to people who are intending to stay a bit longer as there weren't loads of oppurtunities to meet others - especially for a less outgoing traveller .. Altogether really nice stay (make the most of the free brekkie/bbq and soup!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
9.1

All in all a nice hostel. Lots of long term residence, who make the place a little Unwelcoming for short term travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2016
6.0

Squeaky cheap bunk beds, too few showers, full of 'long term residents' who want to keep to themselves, no personal power points, kitchen is too small, hostel is generally an old cramped building, bedding and sheets are cheap. However well located (Fitzroy is nice), good common area, nice staff. I have been to around 100 hostels over 10 years, so I have some experience in what makes a good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Miss_Melvis
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

I love this location - opposite the beautiful Carlton Gardens, a great park to enjoy on a sunny day. I've stayed in cleaner hostels but that can come down to the guests at the time I suppose. It was mainly the bathrooms that could do with a little TLC; some extra hooks or shelves, more frequent cleaning, fixing the dripping taps. I booked a 4 bed dorm and was put in a lovely & cozy 3 bed dorm. The beds are an okay sleep, the mattresses have protective covers which is a nice touch. Great staff!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel,great vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.4

Stayed at a few hostels in Melbourne and this is by far my favorite. Bathrooms are super clean and spacious, and the rooms, including bedding and towel are super awesome. Free breakfast is a plus. Really cool communal area right off the street, with nooks, leather couches, etc. Location can't be beat in Fitzroy! Super chill stay!! Great whether you're low or high maintenance traveller. Would recommend to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Very clean and quiet, staff is very helpful! Tram is in the front door! Generous breakfast in the morning! Amazing hostel I would 100% come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere! Staff and fellow travellers were friendly, and plenty of common areas to congregate in. Rooms are very spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
7.7

Good hostel, but was very uncomfortable to me because I had to wake up early in a Saturday, put my stuff together and change room due to something wrong that the hostel did to my reservation. And that was exactly in the middle of my stay. I don't think I would stay there again after this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
8.6

Staff were very friendly and helpful, we even got a free upgrade that was fantastic! Only downside was that many of the taps were leaking and some of the showers weren't the greatest, but other than that, great atmosphere, lovely people and the beds were comfortable too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.