Hostelworld.com

The Nunnery

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff were great, helpful. Probably the only down side was 12people in one room it is difficult to have lights out and get to sleep when you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
7.1

This hostel is in an awesome location. The building itself was really nice and the staff were helpful enough. Our room was one of the 12-person dorms and even though it was relatively mild for summer in Melbourne, the room was stifling at night even with fans on. Many people also seemed to be living permanently in the room, and were treating it like their home - lots of stuff on the floor which made it hard to climb onto my top bunk at night. Nice place but could do with more day to day cleaning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Really easy to meet people because it's small. Nice chilled vibe. Very clean! Not really party vibe but Probably the best hostel I have ever stayed and if I was to stay in Melbourne longer I would happily stay here long term!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • xpherhughes3877
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Great place. Highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bfrondall
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

Great location, great staff (the one lady at the front is an absolute babe), fun place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.0

The staff is scared of resetting the router to improve dying wifi signal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.9

Good place. Staff make it even better friendly, full of information about Melbourne and really helpfull. Only minor negatives I'd say 8 berths are actually 6, Beds seamed packed tight also Room 1 downstairs bit noisy as near to reception and kitchen although it didn't go on late or start to early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved my stay at The Nunnery. Great hostel, really clean with helpful staff. Great atmosphere, feels like your staying at someone's house. Lots of bathrooms. We booked a 12 bed dorm and ended up in a three bed dorm with just us in it. Only fault was the lack of free wifi. Best hostel I've ever stayed in, I would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great location. Friendly staff and a great mix of travellers all with smiles on their faces!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel. Easy to meet people as a solo traveler as they have daily activities and several different lounge areas. Good breakfast, clean bathrooms and I never had to wait to shower. If I return to melbourne I will definitely stay at the nunnery again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.