X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Nunnery Reviews

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
893 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

We booked a private twin room & opened the door to a cell like bunk bed hideous space! To make matters worse we were at the traffic end of the building with a security light shining into our room. "Inmates" would congregate at the top of the stairs & chat disturbing your sleep, & at 2am on the second night one such person had a Skype conversation in full voice waking us all. My wife had to get out of bed & tell this person to go downstairs as we had to be up at 5am that morning to catch a plane!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place. Especially for a hostel. Awesome staff! And they feed you...as in provide meals. If they literally fed you, that would be creepy. ;)

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great stay at the Nunnery. We loved the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was also lots of communal space inside and out which made it friendly. As our room was ready, we really appreciated being able to get our room before check-in time as we had just got off a long flight. Only negative comment would be the loud vacuum cleaning before 9am. This woke us up every morning which wasn't very pleasant considering we were on holiday. Perhaps this could be done a little later in the day?


80%

More expensive than other hostels at 220 a week against 175 for Bernie included etc... Location was great right beside a park. Staff very good and helpful. No bar so you don't need to buy expensive pints to socialise... all round a very nice stay!!


83%

Stayed in the Guesthouse - great room and breakfast included (toast & cornflakes). Not overly great value for money though, more like hotel prices...


77%

It's just a bit out of the city center, but in Fitzroy, wich has a lot of great bars and atmosphere. The hostel is very busy, wich is a challenge during breakfast, since the kitchen is small (but well equipped). At night it can get very noisy when you are next to the coutyard, altough it is asked to keep the noise down after 10 pm, since there is no staff around to keep an eye on what's going on. Clean bathrooms and overall facilities. The staff is well informed, friendly and helpfull.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The kitchen is very small so can be difficult to find the time or space to cook or eat. A large comfortable communal area. Excellent location in Fitzroy, with cool shops and restaurants and opposite the park and museum. Good tram connection and easy walk to town centre.


86%

Great value for money, as there's a lot included in the price: free brekky, soup on Wednesday, sausage sizzle on Friday, pancakes on Sunday, pub crawl. Building is stunning and the common areas are nice to hang out. Only bummer was they don't do refunds when you decide to leave early.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The mattresses were poor (though I think they are in the process of upgrading), the rooms were a bit small, the kitchen and other areas often a bit dirty....but somehow it works. Proof of this is that virtually everyone stops longer than they intended. It's very social, people are nice and staff are excellent. I would recommend it without doubt.


77%

Quite alright for a stay in Melbourne, close to Melbourne Museum and 10 min to Circle tram. Bathroom facilities are a bit old and could be cleaner, but rooms are very tidy. Can be a little noisy if you have a room towards the road. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


94%

Right across the street from the train and a beautiful park that includes the museum! The staff are super friendly, free towels, and walking distance from the heart of the CBD. My only complaint is that internet costs, but $10 for 3 days isn't bad. There were also limited bathrooms per floor, but I never had to wait. All-in-all I had a great experience!


80%

Really good hostel but the kitchen was so small it was difficult to cook. There also wasn't lockers in all the rooms and you had to have your own padlock to use them! Staff were great though and lots of activities available to meet people. Really good environment and great location.


74%

The room was a bit dirty and the beds were not that comfort but overall it is a nice hostel. The fact that the wifi is paid is really a bummer.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Colonial style building situated 3 km north of Melbourne CBD. Although it was safe and clean the showers hot water was malfunctioning. I did not try the other showers though. Recommended but for only a short stay. However it was advertised the Skybus would would "drop you off at their doorstep" but in fact Skybus does not operate in that area. You would need to walk up Nicolson Street to get to destination.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

It was absolutely lovely, free pancakes for breakfast and you could have seconds and thirds if you liked. Clean showers with hot water, comfy beds, super friendly reception staff and really perfect location for Fitzroy/ Collingwood museums, bars and transport connections to the city centre. Loved it, will stay again.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, love staying here. Nice people and it s clean


94%

Great hostel with great atmosphere. Situated about a slow 10 min walk to the city tram and CBD. In Fitzroy where there are some cool bars and clubs in the area. Nothing pretentious. Private bathrooms. Nice lounge area with a fireplace. Or outdoor patio. One of the better hostels I've stayed in. Only downside is Kitchen is a little small


91%

Would have loved tea making facilities between 2200-0700, otherwise excellent and will stay again


100%

Really cool place to stay! Lots of amenities I would never expect at a hostel (tv in the rooms? Awesome!) and really nifty atmosphere. Love that breakfast is provided (my daily bread) and there was something going on each night of the week. And that nickel & diming wasn't the name of the game there as it is at other hostels that become a PAIN to stay at (ie need an extra blanket? Just ask!). Felt very safe and secure, everything was clean and tidy. Love how comfy and cosy the common room was too

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Will definitely be staying at the Nunnery every time I go to Melbourne. An incredible hidden gem of a hostel

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback