X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Nunnery Reviews

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy 30065, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
840 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic place to stay. Very clean, friendly and near to Brunswick street. Easy to get to from cbd

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic location - in the middle of Carlton (so near good shopping and lots of cafes), directly in front of the tram 96 line which takes you into the city and all the way through to St Kilda (jncl Luna Park!!!). Beautiful Victorian building with a fantastic vibe and clean facilities - the kitchen was pretty small, admittedly. Staff were cool, friendly and easy going. Happy to store bags if need be. STAY THERE!!!!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Very poor facilities. The kitchen was small, often in a mess and in adequately supplied (there were never any clean cups). The bathrooms were few for the number of people using them and were shared male and female, and very tiny. There was no space to put anything or get changed properly. Wifi was extra charge.


86%

Staff are very helpful, a charming old worlde feel, great facilities a range of accommodation options. I recommend the guest house which is next door to the hostel, where there are individual rooms, ckean and well appointed, lovely gas fires in each room to keep you cosy.


89%

Great atmosphere.....very helpful staff.... quiet location fantastic...loved it....... thanks guys

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed there 2 1/2 months ago, have had some great hostels since then. But when I went back at the end of my trip, I realized it was Still my favorite. Such a great atmosphere, it's hard to leave. Perfect both for people visiting and long-termers.


71%

Good location and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast.


89%

Really liked the quirky style and character of this place. We stayed in a double room and it was very romantic and cosy. The free pancakes on Sunday were a lovely touch too.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome, friendly and helpful staff. Free soup on Wednesdays is super tasty and the free breakfast includes really nice fresh bread. Lots of nice areas to lounge around in the evenings. Only drawbacks would be that the kitchen is a bit small (but well-equipped) and you have to pay for Global Gossip wifi. Otherwise, thumbs up!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We were very impressed with the atmosphere and character of the Nunnery. Breakfast was ample with yummy fresh bread rolls and condiments. Utensils and facilities were sufficient for most needs. With only two shared bathrooms for multiple rooms good timing was of the essence but facilities are spacious and clean. I would highly recommend the Nunnery to anyone visiting Melbourne who is looking for a cheap, central and friendly lodging close to great cafes, places of interest and transport.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel so far!


91%

One of the best hostels that I know so far. Nice staff, no free wifi but still cheap and very fast and always something going on in the evening. I will be back!


91%

It is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The best. Amazing staff. Nicholas is the best.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

On our second night here we discovered there were bedbugs in our room. The staff were accommodating and moved us to the guest house for no extra charge. I ended up with quite a few bed bug bites and it wasn't a pleasant start to our trip. If you're going to stay here, I recommend staying in the much nicer guest house and not the main building. The main building is very noisy at all times of day (walls are very thin) and there are only 2 or 3 toilets per floor and not very private showers.


100%

Love all the hints and tips of places to go that's great and the communal area's are all so great so if you are sick of getting out and about then it provides the perfect place to snuggle down and recuperate. Cudos to the staff so friendly and helpful!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Was a nice stay at the nunnery, loved the pancake breakfest, nice and clean. Good value for money.


100%

The Nunnery is exactly what I want in a hostel, a stunning building, cheap, great staff and stumbling distance from the cbd (but far enough to escape the wasters). Second visit and won't be the last.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have been staying here for a few nights now and I must say I have had a fantastic time ! Everyone here is extremely friendly and welcoming and always up for a good time .The rooms are spacious and very clean and out of all the hostels I have stayed in in Melbourne the beds here are the most comfortable .The kitchen and courtyard is used for drinking games and communal dinners where the large warm living room is set for relaxation .Best of both .highly recommended for all ages and personalities

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great atmosphere, good location right next to Brunswick road where you'll find lots of places to eat, drink and shop and you'll get into the CBD pretty quick as well. Also liked the spacious common area and free breakfast. Unfortunately no secure lockers in the rooms.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback