Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
The Nunnery Located at 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
The Nunnery
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy
87% 1344
-37.8023244 144.9742448
The Nunnery
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2016
6.9

I stayed here 7 years ago and nothing has changed. The nuns are still lovely, free brekkie is okay and the victorian style of the building is nice. The next time I will return (seven years later?) I really hope they have restored the bathrooms to a modern standard, redone the kitchen to an equal standard and changed the pillows.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

We stayed for three nights are we're upgraded to the guest suit which was awesome! Staff were super friendly and soup for free on a Wednesday night - BONUS!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • metro84
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place friendly staff and great value for money in the Melbourne CBD and facilities good. Will be staying there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

You couldn't find a hostel more convenient for the museum, and although it's two stops outside the free tram zone, it's an easy walk to the free tram zone (five minutes). The hostel has a really nice atmosphere. The bathroom facilities weren't the best - showers took a long time to get hot - but not a big issue. The staff were friendly, the free sausage sizzler the night I arrived was great, as were the pancakes on Sunday morning. It feels very friendly and comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

Nice place to stay, a little older and run down looking but not too bad. Clean overall. Was a bit cold in winter thou, the little heater in the rooms wasn't sufficient to keep me warm and I had to get a second blanket at 3am to fall asleep. The pancake breakfast was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful building. Very helpful staff, they helped us figure out the top things to do in the little time we had there. My friend and I were upgraded to a private room for no extra charge which was great. We also appreciated the free hotdog night, although there was almost no food left barely 10 minutes after it started.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.7

One of my favourite hostels, I liked it so much I extended my stay! I got upgraded to the guesthouse which was so nice, quiet and clean. The hostel is in a really cool area as well. Only negative was that in the guesthouse there were only 3 bathrooms so sometimes there was a bit of a queue in the morning but other than that it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
6.9

Thought i would get a locker in the room but no. First night lots of door banging. None for next two nights. Bad luck getting top bunk. All too much first in best dressed. Would be great if i was there to party. Where o where is the hostel for grumpy old people. Just the same. Basic needs were met and every one was friendly and helpful. Full marks for staffs care and attentions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

The location is very convenience. Staffs are nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.4

I've been travelling Australia for 8 months and this is the nicest hostel I have stayed in during that time. Great staff and free cups if tea - very important to us English travellers!! Highly recommended :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.