Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rama_elfortin9594
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Great location! And the staff was amazing, thank you girls! The room and bathroom were really clean, breakfast was really good. Highly recommend if you go to Melbourne!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved my stay at the Nunnery, definitely recommend it ! The staff is very nice, beds are comfy, I did not stay in the principal building but next door and the atmosphere was great, bedrooms warm and not over-crowded, good facilities accessible all night. And the breakfast is very good as well !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Jul 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel. The beds are comfy the bathrooms are clean the free breakfast is fab the staff are super helpful great location and you get a free proper towel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.3

was great and really suited my needs If breakfast could be available a little earlier that would be good as I didn't get to eat breakfast on either of the days Also shower still had hair and stuff after cleaning but really positive time there and have already recommended it to heaps of people Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location, great place everything was clean and tidy! It was just the shower!!! It took a scientist to get it to an exceptable temperature that u could use. It was either to hot with just the hot tap on and then when u put the cold on instant freezing water!!!! It was not a quick process!!! Apart from that great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Fun hostel in the middle of Fitzroy and a few minutes walk from city center. Good atmosphere, amazing view over the city at night and a pretty building. Wifi wasn't free that was a bit sad, not really activities that got organized when I was there. It was great tho! Would def stay again. Good quality people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

Great value for money - just 5 min walk outside the CBD. The 4-bed room was relatively spacious and clean. Good atmosphere with a mix of longer-term residents and travellers. Kitchen was a bit tough to use as there's a ton of people trying to make food at the same time and rather limited kitchenware.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
5.7

Would recommend staying elsewhere. Saw multiple drug deals occur on the upstairs smoking area during our short stay here. The hostel doors, and sometimes the dorm doors, are left open so security is a little lacking. On top of this, the kitchen is very small and difficult to cook without people on top of you. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the room was ok although had the squeakiest bunk bed ever. However it is located a short walk from the vibrant Brunswick street.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
8.3

Nice place. People seemed friendly. Wasn't a whole lot in the way of guest interaction but it was busy. Staff seemed nice. Ultimately preferred Urban Central but it was good. Would recommend bigger lockers with electricity sockets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
9.1

Great vibes - eccentric, cozy, humorous. The Nuns were nice, really chilled out and helpful. Quiet, respectful roommates who slept through the night. Rooms were at the right temperature. Warmly lit downstairs corridor at night, stained glass windows, lots of Marian art, free coffee all day! Overall a budget foretaste of heaven.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.