X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Nunnery Reviews

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1040 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Loved this hostel, best one I stayed at in Melbourne. Such a nice friendly atmosphere, and great breakfast and freebies during the week for example ice cream, bbq and soup. Only criticism would be having lights above each bunk would be great, and more places to hang your stuff whilst you're in the shower.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel. All the staff and guests were very welcoming and friendly. There is a lot of long term guests but they are all friendly and include you in activities etc. The evening activities are good. Location is good, 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fitzroy then a 15/20 minute walk to Melbourne city centre or it's a 5 minute tram ride. The dorm rooms are very dark, but that's my only criticism. Would definitely recommend staying there and would stay there again myself.


86%

Beautiful gardens and courtyards.


89%

The Nunnery is excellent value for money, the staff was very friendly and although we were not the typical hostel clientele (mum with 12year old daughter) we had a great time and would stay there again.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed at the Guesthouse and I loved it as it has its own kitchen and dinner table. The 6 bed dorm was comfy and it even had a TV and a fake fire place. The interior was lovely too, just like a traditional B&B. I found the girls at the reception very helpful as well as the maps they provided. One way by which the Nunnery could improve is by offering free internet and maybe fruit with the otherwise yummy breakfast. Moreover, I can also very much recommend the area as a base to explore.


74%

The common room is very nice, but the kitchen is way too small. No lift. The rooms are nice with hangers and safes. I didn't really like the location - it was too far from the CBD. The Carlton Gardens nearby is however very nice and does give a great atmosphere to the location.


91%

Lovely staff

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

I didn't feel comfortable at this hostel. Stayed in a room with 12 to try and get to know people when I first arrived in Oz. Was later told that 10 out of 12 were long term residents. I found a majority to be unfriendly. Second night I was woken at 3 am by drunk idiots screaming in the hallways. Kitchen was tiny and untidy. Wasn't a great first impression of Oz!


91%

Great hostel with plenty of charm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy to catch trams into CBD and short walking distance to Brunswick St. Great place to stay!!


77%

Great place to stay as a solo backpacker. bathrooms are a little all over the place eg. toilet in one room, basin in another room, but thats due to the old building.staff are nice and helpful, rooms are clean enough. right outside the tram line into the city and a beautiful park across the road. kitchen is bad! way to small for the amount of people there.


94%

Go for it, it's the best place to stay at!


89%

Great place to stay! The only negatives are the lack of toilets / showers and the small kitchen. Apart from that can't recomment it enough

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall this is a very nice hostel. The old building is well taken care of and kept very clean. It's also nice that they have a lot of amenities in the rooms (even TVs!) My only couple complaints are that each floor as a little short on bathrooms and that the "free breakfast" is just toast and spread. Oh and if they have enough money to provide cable, it would be a really nice amenity to provide free internet either also or instead. Frankly that's a lot more valuable. Overall it's Solid.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

If you are young and want to be in a nice party enviroment, then this is the place for you, if your looking for a calm place to rest, then you wont like it this Hostel felt more like a constant house party with the parents no where to be seen. The larger dorms are difficult to get some sleep in, but what do you expect from a cheap bed; you sure to make many a good friend and located close to Melbourne City centre you can't go wrong. Great place, it is what it is and nothing more!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The nunnery has a great atmosphere with a lot of common areas to meet new people. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Liked this hostel a lot. Free BBQ was amazing! Security was good in the hostel and they also had a bath downstairs which was great! Room was quite cramped, but you get what you pay for in Australia. Loved the location - near to the Museum, Brunswick and Carlton. A pleasant surprise :)


97%

Free breakfast and soup and sausage nights were excellent!


89%

Not in every room are lockers. like in room 16 were no lockers. The positive side, everybody had a magnietic cardl, so no one else could go in the room.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(78 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback