X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Old Cottage & Restaurant Reviews

9-11 Lytham Road, Blackpool, Blackpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
17 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Old cottage was wonderful! The atmosphere was wonderful. The rooms were clean and cozy. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


97%

Warm and friendly welcome when we arrived excellent location the only thing missing is a car park xxx

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Karl has a Blackpool B&B so if you're used to a Hilton or a DeVere it won't be for you; what's here is a centrally located little hotel with a homely feel and a front door less than a minute from the sea and the Pleasure Beach not too far. Our room was a good size for a double, and with en-suite. Difficult to judge atmosphere with only us there but the star attraction was the breakfast; great range of products and a fine non-greasy full English that even included onion rings! We'll go again!!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

The hostel was greatly located, with large and well decorated rooms for a very low cost. The atmosphere was homely, and the owner was very helpful and kind.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hosts were extremley friendly and welcoming. The location of the hotel just off the Promenade was ideal and very close to Central Pier, very close to a Tram stop. So the Tower and Pleasure Beach are easily accessable. Lytham Road itself is quite run down though so the immediate surrundings may be of putting. The hotel itself was very clean and tidy. The food was very nice and like I have said the hosts are really friendly and welcoming. I stayed in room 8 which was actually a family room.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a wee gem! Perfectly located a stone throw away from the promenade in between Coral Island and Pleasure Beach which makes it an ideal location to walk everywhere and yet is placed so there's no noise at night. Our host was extremely helpful, accommodating, polite and nice. The room cosy, with everything we needed (tv, kettle etc., wardrobe, good bed, with good duvet and pillows - which is a seldom find! - ensuit and plenty of big, soft towels) and on top of all that: affordable! Excellent!


20%

We arrived at the Hotel to find a sign on the wall saying 'closed until further notice' we had booked this online and there was no one to be found at the hotel. On e-mailing hostel world they said they were sorry for this and would look into it, I have received no reply from them since that to find out what happened and where the refund for my deposit is.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Turned up on the day only to be called and told there was a family emergency and that we would have to find alternative accommodation for the weekend. Obviously this was not ideal and luckily we found somewhere else to stay, but to be told this at the time of check-in was very unprofessional and we should have been told sooner.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I didn't end up staying at the old cottege and that is why I have seent you an e-mail to let you know. I got the the hotel to find it closed and a sign on the door saying it was closed untill further notice. A bit of feedback would be to let the customers know if their was to be a problem like this in the future, expecially if a deposit has already been paid.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

As soon as we arrived we instantly felt welcomed and the pair of us really hit it off with the owners, it almost broke my heart knowing we had to leave such good company and a lovely, homely place. The old cottage is spacious and modern, and is located conveniently. The rooms i found to be comfortable and i didnt want to get out of bed ha! i cant wait to visit again, thanks for a fantastic stay!!

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Wonderful stay here. Very friendly and such wonderful

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely loved this place! I would certainly go back. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we had trouble with the laundromat down the road! The rooms are really nice and clean and it has to be the best place in Blackpool (some of the other hotels/hostels look very seedy and decrepid indeed)! They also had a restaurant attached that served really good, homemade food. If you are staying at Blackpool definitely stay here, you won't regret it.


100%

Great customer service and excellent food for a great price!

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Blackpool Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback