Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • efrogs1643
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.4

Good accommodation but noisy party going on outside my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Great facilities. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
9.1

PROS - Great atmosphere if you're looking for a friendly but quieter place. I was in one of the "houses", with 4 or 5 rooms, plus a large lounge/living room, a large kitchen and 2 showers, 2 toilets. 4-bed dorm is decent size. "House" set up and lawns make it cozy/friendly. The basics (grocery store, dairy, etc.) are across the street, so that's convenient, and it's a 25-30 minute walk or short bus ride. CONS - Most rebuilt shops/bars/restaurants are west of downtown (this is east of downtown).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel all around. Atmosphere is good and my bed was comfy. Would be nice if there was a bbq. Only major downside is the location outside of the city centre. About a half hour walk from the major bus stop (Intercity and such). The public transit is alright tho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

It's a great hostel if you've been travelling all day and need a good sleep. The staff are all very lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.7

An excellent first hostel experience. The only complaint was it wasn't right in Christchurch CBD. The walk was nice after a long plane flight though. Staff were super friendly and helpful and atmosphere was very welcoming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jan 2017
7.7

Really nice space to come back to after a day exploring Christchurch. The hostel is cleaned properly and regularly (fridges too!). Nice garden.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

The staff were very friendly & helpful & the venue was wonderful with old rustic buildings. It was very peaceful and only a 20 minute walk from Christchurch. I had informed the hostel my friend & I would be arriving late & received an email saying payment must be made by 10am next day. We arrived on time & I was told full payment had been taken directly from my account. I was not happy about this as I had not been told this would happen & also had not given permission. It messed up finances.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

The staff are amazing, I had some problems over there and they tried to help me the best way they could. I recommend this place to everyone that is travelling in New Zealand and are planing to stop in Christchurch. The rooms are nice, and the kitchen and bathrooms clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.7

There were some really loud guests up for most of the night and it's a 25 min walk to town. The staff was great and the hostel was kept very clean and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.