Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2017
8.6

Great and cozy place to stay in Christchurch!!! Loved the layout of the lodge and atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, we are glad you enjoyed the lay our of our facilities and the atmosphere here! Safe travels The Old Countryhouse team

20th May 2017
8.0

Beds were uncomfortable and the thin walls meant you could here virtually everything but the staff were helpful and Kiwi Ex pick up from outside. Kitchen was clean and having a safe in the room was also great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review, we are glad to hear that you had some chats with our reception team and enjoyed our in room safes. We are sorry you found the bed uncomfortable, we have just recently replaced all of our matresses and have recieved mainly positive feedback! Enjoy your kiwi experience, and safe travels. OCH team

11th May 2017
9.1

Love this hostel, staff is amazing, very clean, lounge with tv, hot tube, huge and good equipment kitchen, outdoorsittingarea, very social, good for solo travellers, lot a streetparkingspace, 15/20 minutes walk to the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing us, we are glad your experience with us was great! It is good to hear you enjoyed all of our facilities and also liked the location of our hostel. We hope to welcome you back to Christchurch in the future! Kind Regards OCH Team

  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
4th May 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my time here. Only issue is the duration of the hot tubs and saunas, wish they would go on for longer. Otherwise, top establishment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for review us, it is great to hear you had an awesome time with us! We hope to welcome you back here in the future, safe travels! Kind Regards OCH Team

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel with excellent facilities. Nice and large rooms, and the bathrooms are nice and clean. The staff is also very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, it is great to hear you utalised our facilities and enjoyed the clenliness we strive for! We hope to see you again when you return to Christchurch! Kind Regards OCH Team

18th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice homely hostel. Nice staff and a good vibe. Beds really comfy. Just a bit of a walk from town but not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and you had a chat to our team! We hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels. Best Wishes OCH Team

  • efrogs1643
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.4

Good accommodation but noisy party going on outside my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, unfortunately though we advise people to to be considerate of other guests after 10pm in some situations this does not occur. We will consider ways of how to better communicate our policies to all guests. We hope you enjoyed your time in Chirstchurch. Kind Regards OCH team

12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Great facilities. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

11th Feb 2017
9.1

PROS - Great atmosphere if you're looking for a friendly but quieter place. I was in one of the "houses", with 4 or 5 rooms, plus a large lounge/living room, a large kitchen and 2 showers, 2 toilets. 4-bed dorm is decent size. "House" set up and lawns make it cozy/friendly. The basics (grocery store, dairy, etc.) are across the street, so that's convenient, and it's a 25-30 minute walk or short bus ride. CONS - Most rebuilt shops/bars/restaurants are west of downtown (this is east of downtown).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hostel. Thankyou for taking the time to review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand travels. Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

10th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel all around. Atmosphere is good and my bed was comfy. Would be nice if there was a bbq. Only major downside is the location outside of the city centre. About a half hour walk from the major bus stop (Intercity and such). The public transit is alright tho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing us. It is great that you enjoyed the atmosphere of ur hostel and liked the beds! We are sorry to hear you did not get to use our bbq that is free for all guests to use. We hope you will consider us when you return to Christchurch, safe travels! Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.