Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • efrogs1643
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.4

Good accommodation but noisy party going on outside my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, unfortunately though we advise people to to be considerate of other guests after 10pm in some situations this does not occur. We will consider ways of how to better communicate our policies to all guests. We hope you enjoyed your time in Chirstchurch. Kind Regards OCH team

12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Great facilities. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

11th Feb 2017
9.1

PROS - Great atmosphere if you're looking for a friendly but quieter place. I was in one of the "houses", with 4 or 5 rooms, plus a large lounge/living room, a large kitchen and 2 showers, 2 toilets. 4-bed dorm is decent size. "House" set up and lawns make it cozy/friendly. The basics (grocery store, dairy, etc.) are across the street, so that's convenient, and it's a 25-30 minute walk or short bus ride. CONS - Most rebuilt shops/bars/restaurants are west of downtown (this is east of downtown).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hostel. Thankyou for taking the time to review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand travels. Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

10th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel all around. Atmosphere is good and my bed was comfy. Would be nice if there was a bbq. Only major downside is the location outside of the city centre. About a half hour walk from the major bus stop (Intercity and such). The public transit is alright tho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing us. It is great that you enjoyed the atmosphere of ur hostel and liked the beds! We are sorry to hear you did not get to use our bbq that is free for all guests to use. We hope you will consider us when you return to Christchurch, safe travels! Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

It's a great hostel if you've been travelling all day and need a good sleep. The staff are all very lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing us, we are glad you got a good sleep at our hostel and enjoyed your stay! We hope you enjoyed all of your travels in New Zealand! Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.7

An excellent first hostel experience. The only complaint was it wasn't right in Christchurch CBD. The walk was nice after a long plane flight though. Staff were super friendly and helpful and atmosphere was very welcoming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review of our hostel. It is great to hear you had some good chats to our team and enjoyed your time with us. We hope you enjoyed New Zealand! Best Wishes OCH Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jan 2017
7.7

Really nice space to come back to after a day exploring Christchurch. The hostel is cleaned properly and regularly (fridges too!). Nice garden.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our high level of cleanliness at our hostel. We hope you enjoyed your time in Christchurch and travels. Kind Regards OCH team

11th Jan 2017
9.1

The staff were very friendly & helpful & the venue was wonderful with old rustic buildings. It was very peaceful and only a 20 minute walk from Christchurch. I had informed the hostel my friend & I would be arriving late & received an email saying payment must be made by 10am next day. We arrived on time & I was told full payment had been taken directly from my account. I was not happy about this as I had not been told this would happen & also had not given permission. It messed up finances.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that there was a miscommunication when making your booking, our general procedure for late arrivals is to take full payment prior to arrival. We have now reiterated this to our team, so they will be clearer when communicating our policies to guests. We hope you had a great time travelling around New Zealand and exploring Christchurch. Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

The staff are amazing, I had some problems over there and they tried to help me the best way they could. I recommend this place to everyone that is travelling in New Zealand and are planing to stop in Christchurch. The rooms are nice, and the kitchen and bathrooms clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing us, it is great we could help you with your trip and you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future! Kind Regards OCH team

6th Jan 2017
7.7

There were some really loud guests up for most of the night and it's a 25 min walk to town. The staff was great and the hostel was kept very clean and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review, we are sorry to hear there were some disruptive guests during your stay. However we are glad you could enjoy your overall stay and took time to chat with us. Safe travels! OCH team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.