Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
The Old Countryhouse Located at 437 Gloucester Street, , Christchurch.
The Old Countryhouse
New Zealand
Christchurch 437 Gloucester Street
87% 572
-43.5296646 172.6567983
The Old Countryhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Just here for one night before catching an early morning flight. Veronique, on reception, was helpful in arranging a shuttle bus pick-up to the airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.4

OCH was a great hostel for us, we used a private room. The staff were lovely and it had great facilities. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed there twice as we toured the South Island. My only recommendation would be for them to either have an extension cable in the rooms or have more plug sockets. I say this as trying to coordinate with my partner as to what to charge was a little annoying as we had only one plug socket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
10.0

I absolutely love this place. It was lovely, clean, and cozy. The staff were lovely, the facilities were immaculate. I will make a point to return before I leave Christchurch!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great time with us and used all of our great facilities. Enjoy the rest of your travels, we look forward to welcomming you back here! Best Wishes The Old Coutryhouse team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2016
9.7

One night stay turned into four nights at this lovely hostel! The staff are awesome, super friendly and make you feel at home straight away. The place is spotless and the showers are way above your normal hostel standard. A chilled vibe and with free wifi it's a good place to make travel plans! It's a little walk from the 'city centre' but being out all day you know you are coming back to a warm, cosy hostel :D Best place in Chch! Don't even think twice, book now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, it is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took some time to have a chat with our team. We have a high level of housekeeping hear and it is great to hear this helped to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcomming you back here in the future. Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay at the Old Countryhouse. The staff were friendly and helpful, beds were comfy and facilities were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a chat to our friendly reception team. We hope this helped to make your time in Christchurch a relaxing one! Best Wishes, OCH Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.9

We stayed for 1 night in a double room with own bathroom. The room and facilities were good. There is a nice terrace and garden. The location is good, small shops nearby and close enough to walk into Christchurch but there is a bus nearby too. The staff were very helpful. The only point for improvement given this was one of the higher priced hostels we stayed in was that was the towels provided smelt musty as if they had been either not washed hot enough or stored damp.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thankyou for your taking the time to review our hostel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of all our facilities. We hope that you had a great time in Christchurch, and that we will see you here again in the future! Kind Regards, OCH Team.

  • claudia_wollmann1821
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

Nice little place to chill for a few days. Four blocks from the greyhound stop and 2 blocks from whoolies. Very calm and relaxing atmosphere. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. We are please you enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hostel. We hope that we helped to make your experience of Christchurch a great one! Kind Regards, OCH Team.

30th Mar 2016
8.0

I only got to stay less than 24 hours so I didn't get the full experience - would have loved to have tried the spa and sauna! Unfortunately I arrived after hours so I couldn't get the staff to change my sheets and bedding which were dirty. The beds were comfortable despite the stained sheets. Warning - the hostel is a 25 minute walk from the inter city bus station and is not really near anything. Seems like a nice place with charm and character but I'd rather be closer to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback on our hostel. Although your time with us was short we are glad you enjoyed the character of our hostel. It is disappointing to hear that your bedding was not up to the standard we expect. We change and wash all of our used bedding, daily, and have a high expectation for our Hostel's cleanliness. However we will definitely talk to our team, and put methods in place to ensure no bed or bedroom is left unchecked, or uncleaned. Best Wishes, OCH Team.

  • jolie_lawrence2207
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Mar 2016
9.7

Lovely hostel a by out of town in the suburbs. Friendly staff. Multiple good communal kitchens. I stayed in a double room with ensuite which was lovely and spacious. Very secure with electronic keys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us and using all of our facilities. We hope your stay with us was a memorable one, and that we might see you again when you return to Christchurch. Best Wishes, OCH Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.