Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
8.0

Beds were uncomfortable and the thin walls meant you could here virtually everything but the staff were helpful and Kiwi Ex pick up from outside. Kitchen was clean and having a safe in the room was also great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.1

Love this hostel, staff is amazing, very clean, lounge with tv, hot tube, huge and good equipment kitchen, outdoorsittingarea, very social, good for solo travellers, lot a streetparkingspace, 15/20 minutes walk to the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
4th May 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my time here. Only issue is the duration of the hot tubs and saunas, wish they would go on for longer. Otherwise, top establishment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel with excellent facilities. Nice and large rooms, and the bathrooms are nice and clean. The staff is also very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice homely hostel. Nice staff and a good vibe. Beds really comfy. Just a bit of a walk from town but not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • efrogs1643
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.4

Good accommodation but noisy party going on outside my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, unfortunately though we advise people to to be considerate of other guests after 10pm in some situations this does not occur. We will consider ways of how to better communicate our policies to all guests. We hope you enjoyed your time in Chirstchurch. Kind Regards OCH team

12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Great facilities. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

11th Feb 2017
9.1

PROS - Great atmosphere if you're looking for a friendly but quieter place. I was in one of the "houses", with 4 or 5 rooms, plus a large lounge/living room, a large kitchen and 2 showers, 2 toilets. 4-bed dorm is decent size. "House" set up and lawns make it cozy/friendly. The basics (grocery store, dairy, etc.) are across the street, so that's convenient, and it's a 25-30 minute walk or short bus ride. CONS - Most rebuilt shops/bars/restaurants are west of downtown (this is east of downtown).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hostel. Thankyou for taking the time to review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand travels. Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

10th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel all around. Atmosphere is good and my bed was comfy. Would be nice if there was a bbq. Only major downside is the location outside of the city centre. About a half hour walk from the major bus stop (Intercity and such). The public transit is alright tho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing us. It is great that you enjoyed the atmosphere of ur hostel and liked the beds! We are sorry to hear you did not get to use our bbq that is free for all guests to use. We hope you will consider us when you return to Christchurch, safe travels! Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

It's a great hostel if you've been travelling all day and need a good sleep. The staff are all very lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing us, we are glad you got a good sleep at our hostel and enjoyed your stay! We hope you enjoyed all of your travels in New Zealand! Kind Regards OCH team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.