Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Countryhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
The Old Countryhouse Located at 437 Gloucester Street, , Christchurch.
The Old Countryhouse
New Zealand
Christchurch 437 Gloucester Street
91% 588
-43.5296646 172.6567983
The Old Countryhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved it!! It was a homey, comfortable, realizing place to stay with the kindest staff! And they have a hot tub!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and it is great that you stopped by to have a chat to our team! Safe Travels! OCH team

11th Nov 2016
9.1

Wonderful hostel! Great facilities, clean, and friendly staff. The spa pool and sauna are also quite nice! It's a bit of a walk to most of the worthwhile attractions (on my list at least) and there are only two showers and toilets between 4 or 5 rooms, but it's not a big deal. Good kitchen, great atmosphere, and secure. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback, it is good to hear you enjoyed all of our facilities and had an enjoyable time with us. Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel with friendly staff. Clean and cozy. Nice dog too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review of our hostel, it is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and Max (the dog) enjoyed your company! Best Wishes OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.7

Lovely place, it had everything we needed. Very clean and new facilities. Very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took the time to have a chat to our team. Safe travels! Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2016
10.0

Friendly stuff,clean room,quiet but shower a little bad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for your lovely comments, we are glad you had a great stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand adventure! Kind Regards OCH team

  • rachaelja
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Oct 2016
8.3

Free wifi, comfy beds, atmosphere was lacking a little bit and it was quite a walk with luggage from the city centre but other than that a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, thank-you for your feedback. Safe travels! OCH team

27th Oct 2016
9.1

Staff is some of the friendliest I've encountered, just warm people. It feels very homey and comfortable. I really enjoyed it here. A bit of a walk to the city but it is right by a bus stop that is easy to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for stopping to chat with our team, we love to hear about our guests' New Zealand adventures. It is great you had a good stay with us, thankyou for your review. Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.3

Nice quiet hostel with friendly staff. Bathrooms and toilets clean as was the kitchen. Missed having an oven but kitchen had everything else. Only criticism was their dog had messed a log right under the washing line so I was worried about hanging my clothes above it when I had washed them as it stunk

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, we are pleased to hear you had a great time with us. We are sorry to hear our cleanliness was not up to what it should be. We have now put steps in place to ensure that Max's accidents are deposed of immediately. We wish you all the best in the remainder of your travels! Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Really clean hostel, very helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Kind Regards OCH team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Just here for one night before catching an early morning flight. Veronique, on reception, was helpful in arranging a shuttle bus pick-up to the airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, it is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Veronique is a valuable member of our team, it is great to hear her help and advice was appreciated! Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.