X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Old Dairy Reviews

39a Kempton Road, Wavertree, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
222 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We really priciate the owners friendly and positve way to take care of us Swedes.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Very friendly owner and staff.


77%

After a frosty start (did not ring to advise arrival time, nothing on paperwork to advise us to do so, although saw on website later) welcome was good, facilities good, but not the best location. All in all if you are looking for reasonable accommodation I would recommend the "Old Dairy", but be aware you need to drive or get public transport to get into Liverpool central. But I did enjoy my stay there!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Our location & distance from the centre is clearly stated in 3rd paragraph of our opening description on HW website, so we are always surprised that guests leave negative comments regarding this on our feedback!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

94%

The only thing you must have in consideration is the distance from the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The distance from the centre is clearly stated in 3rd paragraph of our opening description on HW website, so we are always surprised that guests leave negative comments regarding this on our feedback!! Suggest guests read all of the info available prior to to booking.

100%

it was very nice. very clean, nice people and very easy to get to the city center and back. you could not get any better hostel for that price. thanks to the old dairy and i would love to come back

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review & with such positive points! You mention all of the points that we believe are the most important to our guests: clean, hospitality, distance and travel to city but most of all VALUE FOR MONEY ! We are a guest house in the truer sense but we still give the best value for money that we can. It will be our pleasure to have stay with us on return visit to Liverpool.

89%

The breakfast is amazing, the bathroom facilities very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. Not to say that the hosts are lovely. The only problem is that it is far from the city and it is too far to go on foot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about our place. We are happiest when our guest are happy too ! YOur comment about the distance to city : we Do state that we are not city center located, however there are 6 buses at least that pass by & go to the city which takes only 10 mins ! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us x.

100%

We are a family of 4, our stay was fantastic, made so much better by David and Michelle, they were great, very friendly and accommodating! Although this a B & B, we were told by our hosts we had use of the kitchen and dining room throughout the day and evening, so you are able to cook a meal, enabling you to save a few pennies. The Old Dairy, Liverpool is an affordable place to stay and we would highly recommend, great value for money and great hosts! Donna, Stu and girls

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW! thank you for such a fantastice review ! As, always the pleasure was all ours. We are so glad that you had a fantastic stay with us. thank you once again.

100%

We loved this place.the staff were so friendly and the room was so nice.we were very late getting to Liverpool but the woman who owned it stayed in touch with us as she had a family emergency and went out of her way to help us get there.she left the keys out for us and explained how everything worked and then told us all about the city.we were first timers. In summery,brilliant staff,brilliant hostel, a little hidden away but very worth the find.thanks for having us.Will return. :)

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. So glad we exceeded your expectations! The pleasure was all ours !

94%

The Old Dairy was cozy and quaint and the staff was wonderful! We will definitely be returning in the future

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. So glad that you enjoyed your stay. it waill be a pleasure to have you back in the future.

83%

Great place to stay! Breaky was great and rooms were very comfortable. The old diary is a fair way from the city centre but there is plenty of transport and we liked the walk!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. So glad that you enjoyed it all! Pleasure was all ours!

89%

Self catering, but the kitchen only has microwave ovens and a little electric oven

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Our self catering facility gives use of a mini kitchen, with microwaves, small oven & induction hobs. We are NOT a HOSTEL but Guesthouse where you dont usually get use of the kitchen at all!! We believe that our facilites for guesthouse are excellent!

94%

Everything was perfect.

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for making the time to leave feedback. We are happy that you were happy with your stay ! thank you.

97%

I stayed 4 nights at The Old Dairy with a friend last week, and we were very happy with our choice. Michelle and David are adorable and very welcoming. The room was large and the bed really comfortable. The atmosphere was great, we felt as if we were home. I definitely recommand it and would go back if I ever go back to Liverpool.

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for such a lovely review! Making our guests feel at home is our first priority, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

100%

It was a really nice place comfortable and afordable the facility's was clean and presentable Thanks for a comfortable and easy stay Kate lane

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for such great feedback. The pleasure was all ours !

91%

The Kitchen and bathroom are extremely clean and tidy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you appreciated our services.

97%

It's great value for money – very nice room and place overall (perfect for a couple), one of the best breakfast spreads we've encountered staying in hostels, WiFi works throughout and it's relatively easy to get into central Liverpool by bus. If you're arriving on a Sunday, just be sure to stick to the time you originally planned to arrive so you don't take time away from lovely Michelle and David's well deserved day off :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your really positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

94%

Loved it. It was quite the treck from central Liverpool and on the way there we were a bit skeptical. BUT once we arrived we were mistaken, it was amazing. Michelle and David are hilarious and super accomodating. New beds, very clean and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone interest. Well worth the treck and money.

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the very positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed the new beds !

89%

Very nice and extremely friendly place. Thanks!

  • 16th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback, the pleasure was all ours as always! Michelle & David

97%

THE OLD DAIRY WAS GREAT. VERY CLEAN AND MICHELLE AND BRIAN WERE SOOO HELPFUL AND UNDERSTANDING. BREAKFAST WAS THE BEST YET (AND WE'VE BEEN TRAVELING FOR A MONTH). THE ROOMS AND BATHROOMS WERE CLEAN. I WOULDN'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN LIVERPOOL!

  • 16th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review. As always , the pleasure was all ours! Michelle & David.

97%

This was a great bed and breakfast! the staff was lovely and the room was kept very nicely! we even had a TV!!! as international students we don't get to watch any ever! Breakfast was great as well, a variety to choose from! Would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for taking the time to leave feedback , its very important to us! SO glad you appreciated all we have to offer here!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all Liverpool Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback