X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Old Swan Barracks Reviews

6 Francis St, Northbridge, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
847 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Good hostel for a bed and a quick shower, not a place to spend time in or to meet anyone

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome Hostel! Massive Common area with pool & ping pong tables, loads of seating and a great bar! the TV rooms are great! Amazing location right next to train station, CBD and all the bars in Northbridge. Everyone's really friendly and I would definitely come back!! :D

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent Location as it is only a few minutes walk from the CBD and train station. Great social area which makes it easy to meet people. The bathrooms and kitchens are a bit small but clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful in providing info to the local area. Most of the guests are backpackers here which makes it easier to make friends, some of the other hostels Ive stayed at are full of older Australians and it makes it harder to meet people.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The venue has improved a great deal over the past year or so. Much cleaner and the staff now friendly and helpful.


71%

In the internet is written that there is an aircondition, but in the room there is only a fen and the temperatur is like 33 degree. It's impossible to sleep well... it's too hot!!

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hostel was very noisy, rather filthy, no AC, has not enough showers and toilets and the Wifi is NOT free (you get 1h of Wifi for free per day, but that Wifi is very slow or does not work at all. Proper Wifi is 3AUD/h)

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Excellent location! Unfortunately this place needs a good top-to-bottom clean. It's very run-down and has a creepy atmosphere. The beds, carpets, furniture, etc are all decades old. The wifi is only free for the first hour and security is poor. A place like this would go out of business almost instantly Europe.


83%

The establishment has improved a lot in the last two years. The staff seem friendlier.My only real concernis that it is often difficult to get a drink at the bar, You often have to wait there for an inordinate time before a bar person shows up,


63%

My 6 bed dorm room was ridiculously hot. Seems to be a lot of people living there who work in Perth. I spent the majority of my few days in Perth out and about so I luckily never had to put up with it too much. There is no free WiFi, you only get 1 hour per day with your stay. For $30 I did not find this value for money. Having travelled the East Coast, I expected a lot more for $30.


34%

This Hostel does not deserve this name. It's far away from the standards of any European hostel. Very dirty, smelly, unconfortable, old and disgusting. Free wifi only one hour a day and really bad. Paid wifi with insanely high price. Maybe it was good 15 years ago... but not now. Some investment needed urgently.


54%

Hi,i did stay only one night at old swan,and the room,a 6beds dorm female only was soooo small that i couldnt even open my backpack proprely. The lockers are way to small for a traveller's backpack! The bathroom! Waaaaw....super dirty,when you take a shower you put water on your towel and clothes,again too small! Really not pratical. The girl (pretty small,long hair,blond ish) was really nice. Anyway,i wont stay at this Backpackers again. And you have to rent everything you for cooking!!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was advertised that there was nightly entertainment but that wasn't the case. The reception staff didn't no the answer to many of my questions (mainly about the local area). Overall I didn't believe the advertisement matched up to the hostle itself.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Security - poor, anyone can easily enter whole facility. Room doors are fragile Location - great, near CAT bus stop, near to the City Staff - easy goin & helpfull Atmosphere - like on the party Cleanliness - despite the announced daily vacuuming of rooms, there was none. Sofas in common area hides under pillows a lot of rubbish Facilities - nothing exceptional, guaranteed breakfast is more than poor

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Location can't be beaten. Staff are good


63%

They advertise free wifi but you only get 1 hours worth per day which is very inconvenient when your wanting to search for jobs online!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Only stayed here for three nights and didn' venture around the city a lot, but for us the location was alright. Be aware that if you're travelling with a car, the hostel's parking spots are not for free! We weren't told about that when making the booking and had to find this out as we arrived. The bathrooms were alright, but the showerheads could have been fixed a little higher for the taller ones among us. The staff were nice, but not very helpful when asked about local recommendations.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No byo alcohol or outside drinking, so no atmosphere whatsoever.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location, clean room, helpful staff. Really don't have anything to complain about. Of course it was very noisy at night, being in Northbridge so I didn't get much sleep but I survived.


60%

The Old Swan Barracks is a clean place with good staff and a very good location. There is absolutely no atmosphere, you need to give deposits for every single thing you need and the bathrooms are not convenient. The bedrooms are very basic and rather narrow for the average hostel but very clean and taken care of. I paid 30 dollars for a night in the weekdays and I think it was not worth it.


63%

Although we were aware you were not allowed to bring alcohol in the hostels we had a bottle of vodka in our room. One of the reception staff came in the room, saw the vodka took it and poured it down the sink. When asked if we could have it back she was very rude and smug in telling us what she had done with it. Clean sheets provided but matress protecter not cleaned in months, bed bug bites all over my body :/


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback