Hostelworld.com

The Old Swan Barracks

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.4
The Old Swan Barracks Located at 6 Francis St, Northbridge, Perth.
The Old Swan Barracks
Australia
Perth Western Australia West Australia 6 Francis St, Northbridge
71% 953
-31.9489532 115.8622080
The Old Swan Barracks
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
5.1

Beds felt like they would fall apart at any moment. The room was in need of a proper clear out and the lockers replaced. Bar was very cheap but what's the use of a cheap bar if you have to leave your drink inside to have a cigarette? Some of the staff were great, others seemed to just do the bare minimum in terms of service.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.6

Walls between rooms doesn't reduce noise much. Overall met a lot of overseas travellers, staff very nice and the food specials ie Pizza and Burger nights are excellent. I will be staying here again. Toilets were cleaned regularly. Value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Hostel is okay, have seen worse and have seen better. The only thing I really consider us the hostel seems huge, so why would you give somebody who had have a 24hour flight? a room beside to the street/place where all the youngsters drinkin and celebrating? I don't mind it usually and I know i can't expect much for a hostel but it wasn't busy acutally so it was possible to get another room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
7.4

Perfectly adequate but weird vibe in my room as I was only staying a night and everyone else was living at the hostel. Would be totally fine if you were travelling in your own group or got a single room. If you're working in Perth for a spell, then it would probably be great. Not super clean, but not unmanageable. Pretty much what I expected for $25 in the centre of Perth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments and taking the time to review our hostel. You must have slipped into a longtermer room. Yes there is a few people here who enjoy staying with us I guess :) Most travelers come to Perth and do a longer 'stopover' to work and than continue their travels over east or elsewhere. We always do our best to keep this huge place as clean as possible. Our housekeeping staff works mornings, afternoons and nights. We hope to see you here again someday. All the best!

  • peter_wallis1018946
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.9

Great Hostel, I stayed here in December and liked it enough to return in March. The best things are the location and the friendly staff. It's also a bit different with the huge common room like an aircraft hanger. People I met who were staying here, were also really cool and Nostalgia Box computer game museum is just round the corner: awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.0

The facilities were clean and in good order, the reception staff were friendly. In the room, not all the windows could be opened and those that could be opened were not only a struggle to but were held by a wedge of wood. The breakfast was simple, however no milk was provided? Also I was only staying for 10hrs and there were no basic crockery for breakfast which was simply a pain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We truly value the opinions of our customers. We have checked the room you were in, the window situation has been addressed and the maintenance manager will ease it up. Our breakfast consists of cereal, bread, spreads, coffee and tea. Milk and juice can be purchased from reception. All kitchen utensils can be picked up from reception, it does ensure that guests clean up after themselves in the kitchens and return our belongings in a timely manner for other guests to use. We find this system works quite well ensuring guests have access to clean kitchens and equipment. Good luck with your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.0

Great location and quite cheap! But always found it a bit weird going to the communal area, no one seems to be too chatty in there so a fairly flat atmosphere. Also bunk beds have no ladders - not ideal!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for your comments. What a shame though you didn't get to meet some awesome chatty people. We've got lots going on here...with Quiz nights, pool competitions, ping pong comps, pizza and BBQ nights every week, cheap cocktails and beers every night, our 'Great Hall' is super busy most nights. There is a lot happening. We hope we see you here again soon so we can show you how awesome it can be. We have addressed the ladder issue. Save travels and enjoy Australia!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2016
9.7

Big spacious private room with TV and a comfy bed. Showers were nice, plenty of bathrooms so they were never full. Huge communal area with pool/ping pong and a bar that had daily cheap drink offers. $3 burger / pizza nights. Big kitchen area to cook your own food and outside areas. Great location, good hostel. Staff were super friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us an awesome review! Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you here again one day! All the best. Cheers, the Barracks Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2016
8.6

Venue is very unique and the location is awesome. Staff are friendly, there is a great atmosphere in the main hall with a bar, pool tables, table tennis tables and t.v room. Cheap drinks and food specials every night. The only negative is that the Hostel could be cleaner. Apart from that, it is awesome and I have stayed there several times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate any feedback's. We hope to see you here again soon. All the best. Cheers, the Barracks Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
6.6

terrible bd, hot hot hot, small fan with 40 + C outside, no proper window, so very noisy outside and because of lack of proper window: difficult to sleep. Great location, but that s about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. Looks like you got to experience Perth's heatwave? We don't usually get temperatures like that, its usually a lovely 35 degrees here in summer. The noise was from the Fringe Festival across the road from us - it happens for a few weeks every year . Its both a blessing and a curse being this close to one of their venues. But it finishes this weekend, so noise levels will be back to normal. We do have windows in all the rooms, granted they are an older style as we are a heritage listed building, but they are 'proper' windows and they do open. Enjoy your travels.. :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.