Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Swan Barracks

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.9

4 nights in there& the check in process was smooth and fast bt need to gve $20 deposit and get the bedsheet and all. Room was just nice&mattress wasnt tht thin and quite comfy with the pillow and the quilt. Air conditioner✔ bathroom shared outside is clean. Kitchen is also clean bt dirty at the end of the day after some ppl using it bt it was fine. Weekend night could be noisy bt it would be fine after 11pm. Location wise good:6min to Perth Station, 10min to all the shopping places and food shop

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.3

Aside from the location, I was unimpressed by this hostel. Kitchen full of cockroaches and the toaster was broken. Bunk beds had no ladder to reach top bunk and were difficult to access. Some mattresses were awful! No staff on reception to check us in - he was playing pool -and when we got our room there was no bedding on beds so had to go back and ask. Bathrooms were small and, though fairly clean, were pretty poor. One shower barely worked and doors had huge gaps. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
4.3

The worst bed Iv ever slept in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I do apologise if your bed was uncomfortable and can assure you if our staff are made aware we would have worked to fix this issue.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
6.3

Great location to exlore Perth and its nightlife. Staff were friendly and 24 hour reception. Not much vibe though and definitely issues with cleanliness in the rooms and most particularly the kitchen (cockroaches!!!!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us its really appreciated. Always great to hear that our staff are making everyone feel welcome. The cleanliness issue as this is important to us and have had the entire hostel treated for insects & the kitchen is cleaned several times daily. We feel we have a great social area but as with anywhere the vibe can vary and we hope overall you enjoyed your stay.

8th Apr 2017
7.4

Wifi didnt work and was only valid for 30 min per day anyway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I think there was misunderstanding with the wifi and if we didn't explain it properly I do apologise. We have been giving 2 hrs wifi per day during April/May and this can be used as you please. When you redeem a voucher you do need to activate & use within 24hrs. Hope this helps and that overall you had a great stay with us :)

8th Mar 2017
7.1

Good location 5 mins walk into CBD. The wifi only works in communal areas and there isn't much atmosphere. Clean, with good sized rooms. Good if you need some downtime or are working but not great for meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately with atmosphere what is great for one person isn't always the same for another. We feel though we have provided a great space to meet and hang out with various things to do from pool, ping pong to watching tv, playing a game or having a drink in the bar. Thank you

7th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice place, stayed here before so I knew what I was expecting. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback its lovely to hear that people find out about us from word of mouth & enjoy their stay with us, Hope you are enjoying your travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
5.4

No atmosphere whatsoever, not a single person in sight. Huge recreational room that is completely unused. Breakfast was below par and kitchen was dirty. Very rundown feel to the building and rooms with tattered curtains and outdated décor. Photos on hostel are nothing like the real building.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We do apologise that we didn't meet your expectations and appreciate the feedback. Our breakfast is free consisting of toast, jams, cereal & tea/coffee a little something to start the day. Unfortunately not everyone is as clean as others we do check these areas several times throughout the day to help. Our common area has lots to offer with games, pool, ping pong, bar & projector unfortunately if only a short stay you may have missed this as not all nights are busy with so many exciting things happening around the city. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.0

The Swan Barracks is in a great location. It is 5 minutes from the train station and 10-15 minutes walk into the city. The free breakfast is decent with toast and cereal to choose from. The dorms are good and the bathrooms were mostly clean all of the time. The only downside is the internet which is for an hour each day you are staying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback it is greatly appreciated & lovely to see that our efforts are noticed. We will pass on the feedback in regards to the bathrooms as we do aim to keep these areas as clean as possible & the wifi as its good to know where we need improvement.

3rd Feb 2017
6.0

Good location, cheap hostel although you get what you pay for! Absolutely no atmosphere, wifi is basically non existent you get one free hour per day but not in the rooms and it's rubbish. I was in a 8 bed dorm and it smelt ! Bed sheets didn't smell great. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you was with friends as you won't meet any here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. We are sorry that you felt we lacked atmosphere during your short stay with us. Though what creates a good atmosphere for some is different for others. We think we have a great common area for guests to socialise or just relax in with pool tables, ping pong a bar, games, TV's and other activities. In regards to bed sheets our linen is freshly delivered several times a week and the staff would have happily exchanged them for you along with your room if they are aware as we understand not everyone is as considerate of others.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.