Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Swan Barracks

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jul 2017
5.1

I could see how his place could be great in the summer, but in the winter... not so much. They can't control the weather, but their main lounge area is HUGE, damp, dark and cold (no heating) and it's the only place you can access the wifi from. Further, they only provide 1 hour of free internet per stay. By my last day there, they had a new code that allowed unlimited access, but make sure to verify with them before you book. My bed was out of stuffing, and was bare to the springs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
7.1

Location was great! Easy walk to restaurants, bus stop and train station. Lighting was quite poor in the room and the carpet was old - but if you don't mind that, it's not too bad. You only get a certain amount of Wi-Fi (I stayed 2 nights and got 4 x 1 hour Wi-Fi slots), so just be aware of that. Otherwise, it did the job and was what I needed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback it is really appreciated and helps us see which areas to focus on. We are excited to say we have recently got unlimited free WIFI in our common area YAY! Our cleanliness is important to us and we are always working on improving this also.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.9

4 nights in there& the check in process was smooth and fast bt need to gve $20 deposit and get the bedsheet and all. Room was just nice&mattress wasnt tht thin and quite comfy with the pillow and the quilt. Air conditioner✔ bathroom shared outside is clean. Kitchen is also clean bt dirty at the end of the day after some ppl using it bt it was fine. Weekend night could be noisy bt it would be fine after 11pm. Location wise good:6min to Perth Station, 10min to all the shopping places and food shop

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.3

Aside from the location, I was unimpressed by this hostel. Kitchen full of cockroaches and the toaster was broken. Bunk beds had no ladder to reach top bunk and were difficult to access. Some mattresses were awful! No staff on reception to check us in - he was playing pool -and when we got our room there was no bedding on beds so had to go back and ask. Bathrooms were small and, though fairly clean, were pretty poor. One shower barely worked and doors had huge gaps. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
4.3

The worst bed Iv ever slept in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I do apologise if your bed was uncomfortable and can assure you if our staff are made aware we would have worked to fix this issue.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
6.3

Great location to exlore Perth and its nightlife. Staff were friendly and 24 hour reception. Not much vibe though and definitely issues with cleanliness in the rooms and most particularly the kitchen (cockroaches!!!!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us its really appreciated. Always great to hear that our staff are making everyone feel welcome. The cleanliness issue as this is important to us and have had the entire hostel treated for insects & the kitchen is cleaned several times daily. We feel we have a great social area but as with anywhere the vibe can vary and we hope overall you enjoyed your stay.

8th Apr 2017
7.4

Wifi didnt work and was only valid for 30 min per day anyway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I think there was misunderstanding with the wifi and if we didn't explain it properly I do apologise. We have been giving 2 hrs wifi per day during April/May and this can be used as you please. When you redeem a voucher you do need to activate & use within 24hrs. Hope this helps and that overall you had a great stay with us :)

8th Mar 2017
7.1

Good location 5 mins walk into CBD. The wifi only works in communal areas and there isn't much atmosphere. Clean, with good sized rooms. Good if you need some downtime or are working but not great for meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately with atmosphere what is great for one person isn't always the same for another. We feel though we have provided a great space to meet and hang out with various things to do from pool, ping pong to watching tv, playing a game or having a drink in the bar. Thank you

7th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice place, stayed here before so I knew what I was expecting. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback its lovely to hear that people find out about us from word of mouth & enjoy their stay with us, Hope you are enjoying your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.