Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Swan Barracks

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 973 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 973 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
The Old Swan Barracks Located at 6 Francis St, Northbridge, Perth.
The Old Swan Barracks
Australia
Perth Western Australia West Australia 6 Francis St, Northbridge
75% 973
-31.9489532 115.8622080
The Old Swan Barracks
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic hostel!! I stayed there the first time. It was an absolutly amazing stay. The Staff have been very friendly and helpfull. The Rooms are very clean. Fantastic location right in the city center just a minute from a street of restaurants, bars, clubs,shops and coffee houses. It is nice, staying in a heritage building with an perfect atmosphere. All in all a great place to stay. Clean, great atmosphere, top location, safe and secure. I will definitely be staying again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks you for your fantastic review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to tell your friends. Happy travels, Old Swan Barracks Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
5.1

Where do I start, there was two good things about this hostel the woman at the front desk was nice and there was a parrot who was very friendly. Bad points the walls were like paper could hear the person in the next room breathing heavily from walking up the stairs, the cover on the bed might as well not of been there, one of the fans in our room was near the roof with no where to even plug it in, couldn't go toilet in peace anyone over 6ft can just see straight in. can't even finish my review.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
5.1

Overrated hostel. They hyped about being the best hostel in 2012, but 2012 was years ago. Wifi is not unlimited. Wifi signal is only good in the common area. Room smells. Walls are flimsy. Good luck if you have noisy neighbors. Even if they're not noisy, you can hear conversations next door, and toilets flushing. Location however is great. As close as you can get to the cultural centre and the Northbridge area. Train station and city centre (read: shopping) are walking distances too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review, we welcome all feedback. We're sorry you felt the wall's were a bit thin. Unfortunately, our beautiful old building was built in a quieter time, so the walls can seem a little thin. But if you stay with us again, please don't hesitate to speak to the staff about your room. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service, our beautiful building and our location. We're so glad you enjoyed these things. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, Old Swan Barracks Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel in a great location. There's great facilities with multiple tv rooms, kitchens and a brilliant common room area with a bar, pool tables, ping pong and a little cinema style seating area. The only downsides really are you only get an hour's wifi a day, available only on the ground floor, and the bar isn't discounted from the other pubs around but otherwise it's a cracking hostel. Very sociable and easy to meet a lot of new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and give such wonderful feedback. We're happy you enjoyed our social atmosphere and our facilities. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, Old Swan Barracks Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
6.6

I stayed in a private room with my boyfriend and we thought the room was quite messy. It hadn't been vacuumed, there were still bits everywhere on the floor when we arrived- which made me think why did it take them so long to 'clean' it. The showers were luke warm- the girls toilets were always busy with only three showers. It was very noisy outside during the night to. Northbridge area on the other hand, was actually quite pleasant. Elizabeth quay being a ten minute walk away was beautiful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We truly value the opinions of our customers. Our apologies for the room situation, we have addressed this issue to the housekeeping guest so it doesn't happen again. As for the showers we have plenty more showers around the hostel, so unfortunate we didn't get the chance to allocate where the rest was. Yes it can be quite noisy and busy at night as we allocated in Northbridge, where all the fun is.. we hope to see you here again in the future so you can see our improvements. Save travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
5.1

Beds felt like they would fall apart at any moment. The room was in need of a proper clear out and the lockers replaced. Bar was very cheap but what's the use of a cheap bar if you have to leave your drink inside to have a cigarette? Some of the staff were great, others seemed to just do the bare minimum in terms of service.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We truly value the opinions of our customers. We have checked the room you were in, the locker&beds situation has been addressed and our lovely long-termer guests have done their part to make more room for all new arrivals :) Unfortunately due to liquor licensing restrictions and house policies there's only certain areas where drinking/smoking is permitted. Our 'Great Hall' with own public bar inside offers a variety of very affordable beverages. We've got big outside areas e.g. the backyard and front of hostel seating for all the 'smokers' out there :) or just to enjoy a nice chat with fellow travelers in the sunshine. We hope to see you here again in the future so you can see our improvements. Save travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.6

Walls between rooms doesn't reduce noise much. Overall met a lot of overseas travellers, staff very nice and the food specials ie Pizza and Burger nights are excellent. I will be staying here again. Toilets were cleaned regularly. Value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thanks a lot for taking the time and leaving us a great review. I've checked your booking and noticed you've been back already since your last review :) which is great. We love seeing happy customers return. All the best, The Barracks Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Hostel is okay, have seen worse and have seen better. The only thing I really consider us the hostel seems huge, so why would you give somebody who had have a 24hour flight? a room beside to the street/place where all the youngsters drinkin and celebrating? I don't mind it usually and I know i can't expect much for a hostel but it wasn't busy acutally so it was possible to get another room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. Our great location makes it possible to be right in the middle of everything awesome that Perth City got to offer e.g. the busy Northbridge night life scene with several bars, restaurants, clubs, the entertainment arena etc. I am guessing you were the lucky one to enjoy that side of the hostel on a busy weekend day?! :) Happy to hear you got to have a good nights sleep with the room change. Most people here get right into the busy Northbridge life. Good luck with your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
7.4

Perfectly adequate but weird vibe in my room as I was only staying a night and everyone else was living at the hostel. Would be totally fine if you were travelling in your own group or got a single room. If you're working in Perth for a spell, then it would probably be great. Not super clean, but not unmanageable. Pretty much what I expected for $25 in the centre of Perth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments and taking the time to review our hostel. You must have slipped into a longtermer room. Yes there is a few people here who enjoy staying with us I guess :) Most travelers come to Perth and do a longer 'stopover' to work and than continue their travels over east or elsewhere. We always do our best to keep this huge place as clean as possible. Our housekeeping staff works mornings, afternoons and nights. We hope to see you here again someday. All the best!

  • peter_wallis1018946
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.9

Great Hostel, I stayed here in December and liked it enough to return in March. The best things are the location and the friendly staff. It's also a bit different with the huge common room like an aircraft hanger. People I met who were staying here, were also really cool and Nostalgia Box computer game museum is just round the corner: awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thanks a lot for the great comments. We like our location and staff too ;) We hope we will see you as a great customer here again soon so you can enjoy yourself in the 'aircraft hanger' :) Enjoy your travels!! Best regards, The Barracks Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.