Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Swan Barracks

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Mar 2017
7.1

Good location 5 mins walk into CBD. The wifi only works in communal areas and there isn't much atmosphere. Clean, with good sized rooms. Good if you need some downtime or are working but not great for meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately with atmosphere what is great for one person isn't always the same for another. We feel though we have provided a great space to meet and hang out with various things to do from pool, ping pong to watching tv, playing a game or having a drink in the bar. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
5.4

No atmosphere whatsoever, not a single person in sight. Huge recreational room that is completely unused. Breakfast was below par and kitchen was dirty. Very rundown feel to the building and rooms with tattered curtains and outdated décor. Photos on hostel are nothing like the real building.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We do apologise that we didn't meet your expectations and appreciate the feedback. Our breakfast is free consisting of toast, jams, cereal & tea/coffee a little something to start the day. Unfortunately not everyone is as clean as others we do check these areas several times throughout the day to help. Our common area has lots to offer with games, pool, ping pong, bar & projector unfortunately if only a short stay you may have missed this as not all nights are busy with so many exciting things happening around the city. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.0

The Swan Barracks is in a great location. It is 5 minutes from the train station and 10-15 minutes walk into the city. The free breakfast is decent with toast and cereal to choose from. The dorms are good and the bathrooms were mostly clean all of the time. The only downside is the internet which is for an hour each day you are staying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback it is greatly appreciated & lovely to see that our efforts are noticed. We will pass on the feedback in regards to the bathrooms as we do aim to keep these areas as clean as possible & the wifi as its good to know where we need improvement.

3rd Feb 2017
6.0

Good location, cheap hostel although you get what you pay for! Absolutely no atmosphere, wifi is basically non existent you get one free hour per day but not in the rooms and it's rubbish. I was in a 8 bed dorm and it smelt ! Bed sheets didn't smell great. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you was with friends as you won't meet any here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. We are sorry that you felt we lacked atmosphere during your short stay with us. Though what creates a good atmosphere for some is different for others. We think we have a great common area for guests to socialise or just relax in with pool tables, ping pong a bar, games, TV's and other activities. In regards to bed sheets our linen is freshly delivered several times a week and the staff would have happily exchanged them for you along with your room if they are aware as we understand not everyone is as considerate of others.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.3

Overall a nice hostel. Booked because bar area looked really cool and busy but nobody used it! But was a nice area to sit and chill out in. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and reasonably sized. Only an hour of free wifi a day and was only accessible in the downstairs area which was a little annoying

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.3

It's an older building, dated decor but that's no problem. It's generally clean and tidy. Alot of space and lots of bathrooms. It's not a social hostel, but people aren't rude, it's just quiet. If you are looking some quiet time and a break from drinking this is a nice hostel to be. Excellent location. I will be returning here when I return to perth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greatly appreciate your feedback and glad that even though you found it quieter you enjoyed your stay. We do take the cleanliness of our hostel so we are glad this met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back...

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
8.3

Sweet as facilities! Lots to do! People are a little hard to meet because the space is so wide open and cause wifi is only available in the main area people become anti-social. The staff are nice, but the dates I stayed typically it's going to be understaffed... Location is right in the heart of northbridge which is awesome. It's secure enough, lockers in the room, AND THERE'S AIR CON IN THE ROOMS, always a bonus. Cheaper pints than any of the bars in WA so go for it, I would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Dec 2016
9.7

Pretty tops! Free breakfast. Stunning outlook from smoking area. To stand in the barrack proper - with all the history, unforgettable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review free breakfast is always a plus. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay & the hostels history. Old Swan Barracks Staff

  • david-woodhouse
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Dec 2016
6.6

Decent hostel the free breakfast was not great as there was no plates, cups or cutlery supplied. If they put out some mugs, plates and cups it would of been much better. Free wifi would of made it even better too which was available but way over priced. I liked that each person had a locker and the door to your room could be locked too. The bar was not as lively as expected and it was very quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
8.9

The location & staff were excellent. Easy access from airport and close to the waterfront, restaurants, shopping, etc. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I was very impressed. The only improvement I could suggest is replacing some of the very old carpeting and fixing the doors so they shut easier. It was hard to close. Had to slam it shut.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.