Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Old Swan Barracks

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
The Old Swan Barracks Located at 6 Francis St, Northbridge, Perth.
The Old Swan Barracks
Australia
Perth Western Australia West Australia 6 Francis St, Northbridge
76% 1012
-31.9489532 115.8622080
The Old Swan Barracks
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.3

It's an older building, dated decor but that's no problem. It's generally clean and tidy. Alot of space and lots of bathrooms. It's not a social hostel, but people aren't rude, it's just quiet. If you are looking some quiet time and a break from drinking this is a nice hostel to be. Excellent location. I will be returning here when I return to perth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
8.3

Sweet as facilities! Lots to do! People are a little hard to meet because the space is so wide open and cause wifi is only available in the main area people become anti-social. The staff are nice, but the dates I stayed typically it's going to be understaffed... Location is right in the heart of northbridge which is awesome. It's secure enough, lockers in the room, AND THERE'S AIR CON IN THE ROOMS, always a bonus. Cheaper pints than any of the bars in WA so go for it, I would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Dec 2016
9.7

Pretty tops! Free breakfast. Stunning outlook from smoking area. To stand in the barrack proper - with all the history, unforgettable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review free breakfast is always a plus. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay & the hostels history. Old Swan Barracks Staff

  • david-woodhouse
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Dec 2016
6.6

Decent hostel the free breakfast was not great as there was no plates, cups or cutlery supplied. If they put out some mugs, plates and cups it would of been much better. Free wifi would of made it even better too which was available but way over priced. I liked that each person had a locker and the door to your room could be locked too. The bar was not as lively as expected and it was very quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
8.9

The location & staff were excellent. Easy access from airport and close to the waterfront, restaurants, shopping, etc. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I was very impressed. The only improvement I could suggest is replacing some of the very old carpeting and fixing the doors so they shut easier. It was hard to close. Had to slam it shut.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Nov 2016
6.3

The location being just behind the WA museum is fantastic. Rest room is clean. The bed is a little bit hard but bearable. However, free WIFI allotment per day is only ONE HOUR (how frustrating)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Nov 2016
5.7

The Old Swan is far too big. Everybody is just sitting around by themselves. Atmosphere is not good. Nobody speaks to you. The staff was friendly, especially the night manager, but not too helpfully. Cleanliness was ok but not the best. I can recommend it for a night or two, but if you want to stay for longer in Perth and meet new friends you should go to a different hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
4.9

Felt really dirty, springs in the mattress dug in me all over all night very uncomfortable, the shower trickled down and little flies all in it. Not clean and not very friendly. Was told breakfast was included, but wasn't told where and I couldn't find it and no staff around to ask.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.7

It's not amazing but not bad either. The dorms are a bit cramped but with decent beds and lockers. You have to pay a deposit (or leave room key / ID) for a lot of stuff, which can be a bit annoying. Parking is pretty expensive, even if you are a paying guest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
4.3

We stayed on a Saturday night and it was so noisey people were literally screaming and running up and down the hall way! Such a waste of money don't stay here! You have to pay a deposit to use everything even the pool cues! The only good thing was the location! HUGE thumbs down!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. I am the duty manager that was on shift on that Saturday evening that you were here I remember you and your husband really well because we had couple of chats at the bar and before you head off to your game, everything seemed fine around then as you didn't report any issues. I am so sorry that afterwards you didn't quite enjoy the place. For the running around and the noises i wish you came down and let us know, we would have sorted it out straight away, regarding the pool cues i remember very well handling the cues to your husband myself in exchange of the room key, no money was taken from him, we only take a cash deposit from none guest. It's just part of being able to ensure that we have equipment on hand for our guests. . I am glad you've at least enjoy our location. Good luck with your next adventures and travel, i have personally enjoy the little conversations that we had. Kind regards, Old Swan Barracks Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.