X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Old Swan Barracks Reviews

6 Francis St, Northbridge, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
926 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Yellow stains on bed Hair in bed Bed sheets havent been changed for god knows how long Door not porperly lockable Dirty carpet Door to next door, could hear every breath

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us, although I am quite surprised by your comments. I hope you didn't climb into someone else's bed?.. We give guests fresh professionally laundered sheets on check in, so that you can make your own bed and be sure you have clean sheets. If you mentioned the door lock problem, our staff would have shown you the little button on the back of the door lock that needs to be moved to the lock position. Good luck with your travels. :)

71%

Only here for one night. No real complaints. So big not much atmosphere but friendly staff and clean and a little walk to the heart of northbridge. Wifi only limited to 200mb a day.


100%

Very nice place to stay we will definitely stay again thank you

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us, We are glad you enjoyed your stay! :)

74%

Hostel had a great bar area with ping pong and pool games. However, the hostel was quite empty maybe due to the season so the atmosphere wasn't that good but I can imagine it gets better during busy seasons. We had to move rooms due a incident happening in our room but staff put us into a different room for ourselves. Hostel is not far from the CBD, bus stops or train station. Hostel was cleaned everyday. We liked the Swanny a bird in a cage, located at the reception. The hostel had a iron.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We know the hostel has been a little quiet, so we hope you had a chance to relax. The atmosphere definitely picks up in the busy summer months, and the beautiful sunny weather is already happening. We hope you get a chance to come back! :)

89%

It was a really clean hostel but I felt like the social aspect was a bit lacking. However that was more of a fellow backpacker problem than the hostel itself.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Our staff try hard to keep the hostel clean, we are glad you found this to be the case. This time of year the hostel can be a bit quiet, we hope this meant you had a good chance to relax and recover from your travels. See you next time! :)

1 2 Next » last »
(25 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback