X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Only Backpacker's Inn Reviews

968 Danforth Ave, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
511 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great staff downstairs in the bar and cafe. Wonderful selection of craft beers and really nice coffee for cheap! Hostel dorm was cramped but for the price you can't complain. Pretty clean, very comfortable and funky place to chill in, pity that the living/chilling areas close so early. Raccoons on the roof were a plus, quintessentially Canadian!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • stacewun
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

the hostel and breakfast are clean, nicely located and the staff is friendly and enjoy what they do. The rooms are somewhat small to fit 10p and their luggage, but the atmosphere in the hostel makes up for that

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice place to stay while in Toronto, friendly staff, very chilled out bar with 24 beers on tap. I really loved the place, one of the best ones I've ever stayed in. God area a bit out of the very city center but less than a minute away from the subway. locals go to the bar as well to hang out and have a great time.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really funky, unique hostel. Only downside was the small size of the dorms and the kitchen. Great waffle breakfast!


97%

it was really great to stay. however, if there were elevator to carry suit cases, it would be better. except that, everything was really great

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

breakfast is the best part


97%

Location might be a few stops away from the city center, but the free breakfast here is the bomb!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was an amazing experience to stay here. It isn't exactly in the "heart" of the city, however, the subway is 10 meters away, and it is a cheap, 10 minute ride away from downtown. The people were incredible (travelers and staff). It was unique to be able to get drunk in a bar at night and then be able to come back down the next morning for delicious waffles w/ whipped cream and fresh berries. I LOVED my stay here and would recommend this Hostel to anyone


97%

The waffle breakfast is just awesome. The atmosphere is really sweet, I let my iphone plugged the whole day beside my bed while I was out side, nobody touched it. They have this "free food" bank that is full of food people left there; there's enough stuff in it to cook a meal without buying anything. the owner is really sweet and patient, always there to help you if she can, really aware of her clients needs. I just don't get how they can offer such a good service for such a low price.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place, small and quaint. Too bad the place isn't soundproofed because you can hear the music from the bar in the dorm. Not bad though, and they do say they are on top of a bar.... regardless, i'd stay there again. Just bring earplugs.


91%

Overall exactly what you pay for and some. Beds were not the greatest but did the job perfectly for what we were looking for!

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Decent location near a subway stop along a funky street with lots of ethnic eateries. Stayed in two different rooms, two different nights..both rooms felt really cramped. I almost wish they took out one set of bunks per room then charged more for each bed to make space sufficient.They should add a mirror to each dorm and a towel hook in each bathroom. Beds due for new sheets. They're building a new extension, that might have better rooms. Slow paced check-in process, awesome waffle breakfast.


100%

The only backpackers inn was great. located close to the subway, with local food places close by. the staff were friendly and helpful. the atmosphere is great. cant wait to come back and stay again.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A great place to stay in Toronto, amazing value for money. Breakfasts are unreal. Train station about 20m away. Only thing to keep in mind is that it is above a bar and you can quite clearly hear the music downstairs, so if you plan on hitting the hay early bring some earplugs. Having said that I'd happily recommend it.


100%

This place was so wonderful! The environment is so welcoming and the staff is so friendly and helpful, we felt like we were at home! Such a great place to meet fellow travelers. I would definitely come back anytime I'm in the Toronto area!!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent Place to Hop by if you happened to be in Toronto,,,Just go don't look Anywhere el,se, truly for backpackers

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The waffle breakfast along with the free coffee and tea anytime was a wonderful bonus.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about this hostel was great. It was clean, the staff was great, the people were nice, and the location was ideal.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Best Hostel in Canada that I have been to. The only negative I would say is that the dorms are a little cramped. This is a great hostel for solo travelers. It has a laid back atmosphere. I gave it an excellent rating in all categories ie security, location, value for money etc.


74%

The hostel was pretty far out of the city center, but was next to a subway stop. We bought day passes so we could ride unlimited for the days we were there. Longer stays this would have been expensive. The rooms were very small and the bathrooms were not very clean. They had a great included breakfast. It was a nice place to sleep, but I doubt I would stay again.


(286 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback