Hostelworld.com

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
The Original Backpackers Hostel Located at 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross
76% 845
-33.8727316 151.2226223
The Original Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Apr 2016
7.7

Comfortable beds, helpful staff, good location. Definitely caters more for the younger crowd. Would not stay again but that's more to do with interest than any fault of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel for Sydney. Very close to King's Cross Station and easy to get everywhere. We had a double room with an ensuite, which was lovely - very clean with towels, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. The only issue with the room was that it backed onto something like a rubbish disposal unit. So we often heard the lorries early in the morning. It did disturb us a bit but we left the windows open because of the heat. So partly our fault! Very friendly staff. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.6

I spent a week at the Original and had a really great time. The location is great, right at the heart of King's cross yet in a quiet street, and only a few metres from the subway station. The hostel is nice, well organised and my dorm even had a nice little balcony attached to it. I would definitely recommend it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.4

Our room was musty as heck from what we feel was mould but we weren't really sure. We only spent the one night though and it suited our purpose which was having somewhere to sleep. Bathrooms were nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This room is never musty- any smell must have come from the guests they were sharing the room with-smelly shoes and socks!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2016
10.0

Great Hostel! One of the best I stayed at in Oz. I was in an 8 bed dorm, stayed there 4 nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
9.7

Good quality and value for money hostel. Would definitely stay again. Great area and right next to a train station so very easy to get around. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • megaz123
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Feb 2016
7.7

Great little hostel out of the main hustle of the city but in a good location nonetheless. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Only criticisms are that the bathroom cleanliness was really inconsistent and the shower heads need to be replaced as they are pretty naff downstairs. The 'free' wifi is just 100mb a day which is not really enough to do anything let alone plan a trip, book hostels and Skype family. More quota needed for the price of hostel I think. Otherwise, good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
7.1

Good walking distance to harbor (20 minutes) and Kings Cross has an active nightlife. Hostel was ok - bathrooms were mostly clean and rooms were fine (no a/c in summer, so its quite hot).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
2.9

i did't stay at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2016
10.0

Everything was very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.