Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
The Original Backpackers Hostel Located at 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross
83% 912
-33.8727316 151.2226223
The Original Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel! We moved here last minute after we had booked an awful hostel (city central backpackers, don't go there!). The staff was nice and accommodating. The people staying there were mostly long term I think, but superfriendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
8.3

Great place. Wi-fi is fast but limited to half gig per day. I would stay here again. Staff is super nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

This is my first time staying in a backpackers hostel, but i am not an backpacker (staying for other businesses). Overall, as my score indicates, fairly good. You'll like it here if: - you don't mind crowded, small spaced kitchen - you like nightlife Positive - Friendly Staff (still good enough although i waited about half an hour for check-in) - safe deposit box (which is always a plus, either in hotel or wherever) Negative - My bed have got a broken spring - One key to all room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.0

I only stayed here for two days in a four bedroom private room with a shared bathroom. The room was nice and clean and had its own fridge. We didn't have to share our bathroom with too many people which was nice and the staff was excellent and very accommodating. It was a large hostel so it was pretty packed and at night some people would get drunk and rowdy but it wasn't too bad. Overall it was nice and about a 20-30 minute walk from downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
7.1

This was my first hostel in Australia and it was pretty good. Very close to coles in Kings Cross and the train station that can take you anywhere quickly. I would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
8.0

Good backpackers. Have to keep noise down a bit but can still be social. Well located to kings cross and right next to a train stop. 24/7 reception is very handy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.9

All over super nice and cozy place to stay in Sydney if you like it central but not too busy. Really enjoyed my stay which was supposed to be for two nights but ended up there for a week :) Totally recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
6.9

Great neighborhood- very close to kings cross. Kitchen wasn't that clean - but that is because of the residents. A nice terrace next to the kitchen - though with a few cockroaches. The room was a mess and the glass in the window was missing - can only imagine how cold it must be in winter, not mentioning the risk of theft.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • joanne_999_72285
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

The original was a great backpackers to stay at very clean and bed comfy bit squeaky but good. We loved it and great location 100 metres from Kings Cross Train Station. Only complaint would be the WiFi which was terrible and we all gave up on as it just kept dropping out. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed in a private 2 bed ensure which was exactly as expected. Clean and fit for purpose. Staff were good, helpful when booking airport transfers. Noise control was good as we were right next to the courtyard and we're worried, but if was silence from 10pm onwards so sleep was easy. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.