Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
The Original Backpackers Hostel Located at 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross
84% 882
-33.8727316 151.2226223
The Original Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • joanne_999_72285
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

The original was a great backpackers to stay at very clean and bed comfy bit squeaky but good. We loved it and great location 100 metres from Kings Cross Train Station. Only complaint would be the WiFi which was terrible and we all gave up on as it just kept dropping out. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed in a private 2 bed ensure which was exactly as expected. Clean and fit for purpose. Staff were good, helpful when booking airport transfers. Noise control was good as we were right next to the courtyard and we're worried, but if was silence from 10pm onwards so sleep was easy. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Liked the location, very nice looking hostel and something happening every night. Only issues the beds were ridiculously squeaky and the Wi-Fi wasn't the best only 500mb a day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
6.6

More long-term people here not a great environment to meet people. Kitchen is dirty and the bathrooms could use a makeover. Rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff but would not stay here for more than a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.0

Kind, attentive staff and qutie a beautiful old house to boot. The guest atmosphere felt oddly detached and aloof, no real social scene here and it didn't seem like a party hostel at all, which suited me just fine (I'm a 30 year old solo female backpacker who had just landed after a 22 hour flight from the States). I ended up transferring over to Big Hostel in Surrey Hills, which felt cozier and livelier without being party-party, and it was slightly cheaper. This is a good location though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Perfect hostel also for a couple - they can book a double room with own bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
6.6

Stayed in a double private room with ensuite which was a pretty good price. But it was like a shed and the torrential rain on the roof was noisy. I also cut myself on the bed. Wifi was not great and you only got a limited amount. Kitchen not very clean but it does have an oven. However we did get let in early from our overnight flight. It's near Kings Cross station which is handy. Woolworth's is about 5-10mins away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

I could not stayeven I paid frontpayment. Because they do not accept over 35 at doorms ! They claim this is written on hostel page! Somewhere... We are just travellers. In 8 months I stayed maybe 100 hostels. Never came across. Besides we do not read all pages do we? Hostelworld even refused paying frontmoney back though they dis not earn it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.3

The hostel looked nice, the walk to the CBS was not too far but the atmosphere was not that good. woke up 3 nights at 3 am because of noise in the street . I also hate it if you have limited wifi and having to buy extra. the rooms where nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.1

It was perfect, except for our room had an ant problem that ruined a lot of our food... the kitchen had everything we needed, and the staff was very nice. Also it was right next to public transportation, so that was helpful. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.