Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

this is a great place to-stay just over five minute walk and you are on the harbour. The atmosphere is a wonderful buzz, and I particularly enjoyed the plant wall feature in the courtyard. Bruce was particularly helpful. Looking forward to staying there again. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

You must put a deposit down for the room keys and basically anything else you want to use at the hostel. It's kinda pricey but it is in a good location and has nearby transit. Need passport to check in but it doesn't say anything about that on the site.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
2.0

This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had a hostel Unclean conditions, no security in the dorm. Door left open. My friend was hospitalised the morning of booking and they insisted on charging me his fee 2am there was a party happening in the dorm. No chance of sleeping. Had to leave early of which no refund wa provided upon request. Won't be returning ever again

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kpearson192562
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

Clean and well maintained. Great location. Had a slight issue: got my deposit back in cash instead of it being returned to the card it was charged on. Sent an email about the inconvenience/error and they gave me a discount on the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
10.0

Great stay. The location is unbeatable, the room was quiet and clean and the staff was chill. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review!

22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Sooooo nice! Great atmosphere Perfect place to meet fellow travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review!

22nd Apr 2017
6.9

VERY LOUD. Was only in Sydney for 12 hours. Stayed only because everything else seemed to be booked. Place is very loud. Will no stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review-night managers will make sure the hostel is quieter at night.

22nd Apr 2017
7.4

Good hostel.. Close to station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 55 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location close to the train station with really friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

There are a lot of long stay residents, so the atmosphere wasn't great but the people in the dorm were friendly. The balconies could do with a bit of a clean. The bathrooms were clean just the lock broken on the door. We didn't use the kitchen as the residents seemed to always have it taken over. It was quite from 10pm except the noise from the street but it wasn't too bad to stop you from sleeping. It is located right near the Kings Cross station and Coles supermarket so very easy to get around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.