Hostelworld.com

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
The Original Backpackers Hostel Located at 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross
80% 859
-33.8727316 151.2226223
The Original Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.1

It was perfect, except for our room had an ant problem that ruined a lot of our food... the kitchen had everything we needed, and the staff was very nice. Also it was right next to public transportation, so that was helpful. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
7.7

Pros: great bed & pillow! Clean bathroom, great water pressure in shower, full kitchen facilities. Very helpful, kind manager/staff. Cons: Even though one of the hostel rules is to keep your belongings under your bed or in your locker, the girls in my room had their stuff spread out all over the floor of the room; massive suitcases, shoes, dirty clothes covered about 70% of the floor space so getting to my bed on the other side of the room was like walking through a labyrinth. Annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

There was a very warm reception on arrival. My room was adequately furnished and very clean. i walked down Victoria Street and arrived at Sydney Harbour in less than 5 minutes. There is a great lounge room and wonderful kitchen and courtyard. Looking forward to staying there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

Very clean and quiet with good facilities and close to the train station which made getting there easy. We had a double bed room with private shower and toilet. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
7.7

Comfortable beds, helpful staff, good location. Definitely caters more for the younger crowd. Would not stay again but that's more to do with interest than any fault of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel for Sydney. Very close to King's Cross Station and easy to get everywhere. We had a double room with an ensuite, which was lovely - very clean with towels, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. The only issue with the room was that it backed onto something like a rubbish disposal unit. So we often heard the lorries early in the morning. It did disturb us a bit but we left the windows open because of the heat. So partly our fault! Very friendly staff. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.6

I spent a week at the Original and had a really great time. The location is great, right at the heart of King's cross yet in a quiet street, and only a few metres from the subway station. The hostel is nice, well organised and my dorm even had a nice little balcony attached to it. I would definitely recommend it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.4

Our room was musty as heck from what we feel was mould but we weren't really sure. We only spent the one night though and it suited our purpose which was having somewhere to sleep. Bathrooms were nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This room is never musty- any smell must have come from the guests they were sharing the room with-smelly shoes and socks!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.9

Wifi was not good and you have to pay for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2016
10.0

Great Hostel! One of the best I stayed at in Oz. I was in an 8 bed dorm, stayed there 4 nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.