Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location close to the train station with really friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

There are a lot of long stay residents, so the atmosphere wasn't great but the people in the dorm were friendly. The balconies could do with a bit of a clean. The bathrooms were clean just the lock broken on the door. We didn't use the kitchen as the residents seemed to always have it taken over. It was quite from 10pm except the noise from the street but it wasn't too bad to stop you from sleeping. It is located right near the Kings Cross station and Coles supermarket so very easy to get around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
8.0

I'm a mature lady travelling alone so I chose a private room which was expensive but this suited my needs and I was very happy with the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eerojudin962
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.1

We had a good stay in this classic hostel. The staff was amazing and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
4.6

Cockroaches everywhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.9

When I arrived the hostel was so dirty... There were dead woodlouse under my bed and it had blatantly not been cleaned for ages. The staff were really helpful though and moved me to another room (which was still not very clean). Small security lockers for valuables, really good atmosphere and very sociable but please note this is a party hostel! Also fans in the rooms which stopped it being too hot, good location and okay facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Got my own room because nothing else was available. It was actually nice since I only stayed for one night. You have to pay a fee for cutlery&plates etc which was annoying. Over all experience was good I can recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
10.0

It was good... clean... good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
8.9

A friendly hostel. One of the better king,s x hostels.I had the balcony room with a good crew-Yippee!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
5.1

When I arrived, I was told I am not allowed to sleep in the dorm because I am over 40 years old though nothing on Hostelworld states this restriction. They "let" me stay but I not feel welcome. The neighbors seem irritated by backpackers and are not friendly. Kitchen needs a deep cleaning. Half the common areas are not secure and food seems to go missing. Also smoking everywhere and hard to get away from unless you hide in the lounge or your room. The staff did fix a mistake I made.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.