Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Pack and Carriage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
6.3

The bed was comfy so the room was okay, but there was no bedside light or charging slot on your bed unless you were on the bottom bunk next to the wall. The bathroom was dodgy, the doors were all DIY and had gaps in them when closed and most of the time there wasn't any toilet paper, an alright stay for 1 or 2 nights if you're not that fussed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Reading some of the other reviews either they've lifted their game or some people have pretty high expectations of hostels. It's a basic hostel, nothing fancy but good place to crash. Bathrooms were small but I stayed for 2 nights and clean the whole time. Each bed has its own power board to charge things. The lockers didn't look the most secure however I put things in a backpack, locked that, then locked it in the locker and no problems Staff great for a chat. Location easy for transport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.0

Good little hostel especially for those needing to use Euston, St Pancras or King's Cross train stations. Security is good though on the border of annoyance. Pub in the lobby is a good environment for hanging out in thought the beers can be seen as expensive. Biggest issue with this one was the bathroom which seemed to be a DIY project by the hostel staff. Everything works fine, but it is very tight and awkward to use. Decent place to stay all around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • clairecarlsonjurich239
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
5.1

Incredibly dirty, and some of our things were stolen and the staff seemed uninterested.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
8.3

It’s a good experience for living in the Pack and Carriage. The staffs are so nice to explain what I need to know. The lobby environment, with beers and beverages, is for those who want to have a chat with others. Good. The bathroom was too small and tight although it was always kept clean. The signal from Wi-Fi could not be smooth for laptop and phone in the bedroom. Location is nearby the British Museum and UCL. It is easy for transports as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Jul 2017
5.1

There were two locks to get up to the rooms and one was almost always unlocked. The toilets were very poor, almost like shacks which had horrible privacy as the doors barely closed. No soap to wash ur hands and no towel to dry them. The beds were really rickety and the rooms over crowded. Also it's a very grungy bar so the atmosphere was very strange and no one talked to each other. The staff were very polite and helpful but that was the only upside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.3

A clean and comfortable hostel with friendly and helpful staff. The bed was comfortable and included individual light and power outlet. Breakfast was only 50p which was great value. There are lockers available in the room but staff recommend that valuables be kept in the office for security.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

The beds were good, can't complain. The noise from the traffic didn't bother me. (plugs) Security lockers we're very cool. But the bathrooms not so much. I felt a bit uncomfortable as it was not very clean. But i had a good night sleep and the staff was very friendly, so i'd stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
5.1

I've stayed at hostels all over Europe and China, and this was by far the worst place I've stayed in and it's not even close. The only good thing is the staff. I had booked to stay here for 7 days but I left after 4 and got a hotel room instead. There are no fans in the 8 person rooms, the shared bathrooms stink, the showers are either hot or lava, and the whole place is in general just dirty and not well kept. Spend a couple extra pounds and stay somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ShellDeon
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
10.0

This was such an amazing place to stay! Great location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.