Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Pack and Carriage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 55 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 55 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Have stayed here a few times now, and love it every time. Simple rooms but comfy beds, great staff, friendly people (but not a party place). Does everything you need a hostel to do and has some amazing beers down in the bar (which does make me kinda biased). Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
7.4

Good hostel that had what we needed. It was in an old building but we only used it to sleep and shower and that worked for us. No need to purchase a padlock which was nice for the lockers. Great location to Camden and easy enough to walk to Soho area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.7

My stay at the Pack and Carriage was overall a very positive experience. Perfect location, dirt cheap breakfast and patient staff. I couldn't have asked for any more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing pub downstairs especially if you love your beer. Sure, the bathrooms could be a little cleaner but hey, shared bathrooms in a hostel are never spotless. Super helpful staff and easy to get anywhere in London from the hostel. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
4.6

Facility is really cheap they need to invest more money on it! bathroom is not clean at all! Pub downstairs, so life music until really late at night!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.6

We just stayed one night in this hostel. The staff was really nice and showed us everything, which was good. But the facilities were really bad. We had an eight dorm and it was so small we did not really know, where to put our stuff. The beds were so dirty, with hair and dirty stuff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I thought it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aww... thanks!

30th Dec 2016
7.4

Love the staff, bar, location, and security. The upstairs bathroom really need work. I was concerned that the showers were spilling water onto the wooden floor (mold issue?). The bathroom generally reaked of something ungodly (maybe mold?) and the floors in the dorm rooms definitely required socks, if not shoes, to walk around in a sanitary way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We've had to fire our cleaner as a result of their abysmal work over the New Year period, so please accept our apologies for that. There's no mould in the bathrooms and as far as showers leaking onto the floor... that's why we have shower curtains. So long as they're kept within the shower, there's no leakage.

29th Dec 2016
7.7

This was my second time staying here. It's a no frills hostel with a decent atmosphere. Only place to hang out is in the bar area (if busy, there's nowhere quiet). The bathrooms are a little awkward, but not terrible. The beds are fine, but nothing special. Lockers in the rooms (though small) and a lock on the sleeping area and rooms means good security. Staff's very nice and a good place to stay before a train or bus to Stansted from King's Cross.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
5.7

The atmosphere would have been great, but the bar was deserted most of the time making it difficult to meet people. The staff were very nice and helpful. However, the facilities left much to be desired. My bed was hidden behind another one, only accessible through a tiny opening. It was the only personal space available besides a tiny locker (no shelves or cubbies). Instead of keys, you had to punch in a 6-digit code to get into the room. The WC was a disaster. Etc, etc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Unfortunately space is at a serious premium in London. We could offer more space to our guests for their beds but we'd have to massively increase our prices to compensate. We went with pin codes for the doors as this keeps it far more secure than keys - sadly some people do leave without returning them, so we'd have to replace our locks every other week, which isn't ideal for anybody. As mentioned in another reply, we had to sack our cleaner because of their disappointing efforts over the New Year period, so our apologies for that. Things are improving though.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.