Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Palace Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.4

The place is nice and well maintained. There are a lot of common areas that are good for chilling and interacting with other guests; generally home-y vibe. Bathrooms are okay, although the water pressure isn't good sometimes. You can also do your laundry which is really convenient. The people who run the place are very nice and will help you out with anything as much as they can. The location is ideal if you want to experience local, authentic Puerto Rico; there are murals everywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
10.0

Great hostel altogether, lovely people, great location. If i'm ever in Puerto Rico again i'll be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
7.1

Great price. Great staff. OK conditions. OK location - close to the beach, a great experience of the real San Juan, but a distance away from the center of things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
9.4

Place was great. Nice quiet and relaxing stay, very hospitable. Wish there was warmer water in the shower, but it's so hot outside it was alright. Always around to answer your questions. I would most definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

It is located in a great neighborhood. Bus stop is right around the corner, great atmosphere, great people that run the Place. Great place to stay if you visiting Puerto Rico and on a budget. My place to stay next time I'm traveling to Puerto Rico. Amazing people. ❤️😀🙌🏽👍👍👍👍👍💋

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

More than I could’ve ever expected and great value. New management has made a lot of changes. I was at several hostels in San Juan and The Palace was by far my favorite. I felt right at home. The hostel has several large communal areas and patios so it easy to socialize. It has a fun, laid back vibe. The beds were super comfy and the rooms were larger than I expected. I loved the central location. I felt like I had more of an authentic San Juan experience staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
9.7

The location is amazing, especially for the price. The surrounding neighborhood has some noteworthy graffiti and the hostel is walking distance from Condado beach. Old San Juan is a short bus ride away, as well as the train station. There's also a Wal-Mart and a 24/7 convenience store walking distance. The staff were all very accomodating and warm, especially the Manager Michelle who made me feel at home. The common areas were comfortable and the atmosphere was overall very relaxed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Overall I enjoyed my stay here. Some of the past bad reviews on here are from a period of different management and the new manager is working hard to improve the experience for guests. The beds are comfy, there are multiple common areas to hang out & meet people, it's kept clean, the staff are friendly, & the location is convenient to the sites worth seeing in San Juan. The neighborhood has tons of amazing street art, grocery stores and inexpensive places to eat, and bus stops are close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.3

New management does such an amazing job making this hostel a cozy and social place. The transformation it underwent in just a week of my stay is indescribable. They still have some issues to work on, but I'm sure that in no time it will be all sorted out. It's kept clean, common areas are perfect for chilling and making friends. It's a very lively place but at night nothing would disturb you. The neighborhood is hipstery/artsy area full of murals and cool places to hang out. I highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Great affordable place to stay at. It's not in the center of the city, but a 10minute walk from Walmart and amazing food trucks, a 20 min walk to the beach. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, though a bit old, but staff took care of it all well. The kitchen facilities were garbage though - it wasn't really working so that's a bummer if you need microwaves, working pans, etc. The staff were kind, though not the most welcoming. Best part= working open space upstairs. It's beautiful and great wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.