Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Palace Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jimmydemin502
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Overall I enjoyed my stay here. Some of the past bad reviews on here are from a period of different management and the new manager is working hard to improve the experience for guests. The beds are comfy, there are multiple common areas to hang out & meet people, it's kept clean, the staff are friendly, & the location is convenient to the sites worth seeing in San Juan. The neighborhood has tons of amazing street art, grocery stores and inexpensive places to eat, and bus stops are close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.3

New management does such an amazing job making this hostel a cozy and social place. The transformation it underwent in just a week of my stay is indescribable. They still have some issues to work on, but I'm sure that in no time it will be all sorted out. It's kept clean, common areas are perfect for chilling and making friends. It's a very lively place but at night nothing would disturb you. The neighborhood is hipstery/artsy area full of murals and cool places to hang out. I highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Great affordable place to stay at. It's not in the center of the city, but a 10minute walk from Walmart and amazing food trucks, a 20 min walk to the beach. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, though a bit old, but staff took care of it all well. The kitchen facilities were garbage though - it wasn't really working so that's a bummer if you need microwaves, working pans, etc. The staff were kind, though not the most welcoming. Best part= working open space upstairs. It's beautiful and great wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.0

The place could use some work but you get what you pay for. The location is far away from everything, so you will need transportation to get around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
7.1

Friendly staff, but didn't see too much of them. Location was a little out of the way, felt like I was lost trying to find it. Kind of hard to pick out when walking down the street, but once inside, it's a fairly nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.0

Solid hostel, all the basics, cool relaxing common areas including a great balcony overlooking a quiet street. Bathroom was pretty wet/ grimy but that was the only knock. Solid value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Never stayed in a hostel before, didn't know what to expect. I was nervous about staying a room with strangers and I didn't know what I would do with my stuff all day. This hostel though, was excellent. The manager, Ryan, was very friendly and helpful, he gave me some ideas about places to check out while I was staying in Puerto Rico and hooked me up with a free towel when I mentioned I had forgot one. The other employees and guests were friendly and helpful as well! Very safe and will go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

It's a beautiful place, quick walk to the beach and wal-mart/Walgreens. Perfect for backpackers (or surfers to get a single). multi tiered and many rooms. Private Outdoor Garden lounge, fridge, kitchen, hot showers, multi bathrooms, wi-fi. The neighborhood is safe but looks like traditional San Juan with spray paint art and faded houses( this is the beauity of PR tho, many artist on a canvas of older homes!!!);wal-Mart is at the corner and 5-star avenida ashford is a quick walk, on the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Chilling place. Not a lot of Americans so lots of real people to talk to. 10 min walk from beach $2 rum and coke $1.50 beer and good weed guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
6.0

The entire facility was dingy. There were no accessories like hand soap or paper towels in any bathroom or the kitchen. They did not give you a blanket and the air conditioner was blasting away - I woke up freezing in the middle of the night. The neighborhood is sketchy at best. Should not be out at night. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.