Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Palace Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

It's a beautiful place, quick walk to the beach and wal-mart/Walgreens. Perfect for backpackers (or surfers to get a single). multi tiered and many rooms. Private Outdoor Garden lounge, fridge, kitchen, hot showers, multi bathrooms, wi-fi. The neighborhood is safe but looks like traditional San Juan with spray paint art and faded houses( this is the beauity of PR tho, many artist on a canvas of older homes!!!);wal-Mart is at the corner and 5-star avenida ashford is a quick walk, on the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Chilling place. Not a lot of Americans so lots of real people to talk to. 10 min walk from beach $2 rum and coke $1.50 beer and good weed guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
6.0

The entire facility was dingy. There were no accessories like hand soap or paper towels in any bathroom or the kitchen. They did not give you a blanket and the air conditioner was blasting away - I woke up freezing in the middle of the night. The neighborhood is sketchy at best. Should not be out at night. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jan 2017
2.3

Just a big nightmare the hostel it's in a really bad location you won't walk there by yourself at night. The stuff is just mad and rude I feeld not welcoming at all no hello nothing also the kitchen small and not enough facilities. I wouldn't go there again rather I pay more and stay in a nice one.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • e_alvarado003836
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
5.4

The place is well located and has and nice decorations, just the Front desk guy was super grumpy, not welcoming at all, he didn't even shake hands or say hello at any moment, he let me standing with my hand on the air.... He did not provided wifi password and the security code he gave for main door me was wrong! had to guess it by myself since two numbers were switched in order! Definitely they need to motivate their staff. That's not the face we wanna see when we arrive to the Island of Joy :(

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
2.0

Mike is a horrible employee and person. When I checked in, Mike was on multiple drugs and was very aggressive and confrontational. This was definitely the worst display of customer service skills I have ever experienced. He was also being a pervert and grabbing girls. A guest confronted Mike about the perverted acts and Mike physically threatened the guest. He was threatening to throw everyone out for no reason just to be intimidating to the clients. Mike is a power tripping wierdo!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jocelynebrisson77170
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Dec 2016
4.9

I did not feel welcome here by the owner, he was almost hostile. The bathrooms were not kept up and smelled and looked gross. There is a kitchen to cook food in which is great and the little alley to sit and relax under the stars is a bonus. It's also a very far walk to any sites but the walmart is a 15 min walk away. I wouldn't recommend staying here but for a quick stopover it would be okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

We thank you all for a peaceful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wrldtrvlr
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Dec 2016
4.3

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at, and I've hostelled throughout 15 different countries. The staff are absolutely terrible (the one that checked us in refused to even talk and was like upset with us the entire time). The location is pretty ghetto, definitely not a place you can go out at night. The price is very comparable to what you'd pay at a nice hostel. I highly advise against staying here unless it's your only option.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
7.7

There's no ladder to the upper bunker, so if you are short, like me, around 5 feet ish, it's a big struggle to get up and down. Other than that, this is a party hostel, didn't get much sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.