Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Palms Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
The Palms Backpackers Located at 23 Hughes St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Palms Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 23 Hughes St, Kings Cross
77% 284
-33.8715557 151.2239742
The Palms Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
6.6

Great value for a hostel with clean facilities and friendly staff. However, hostel open and anyone could walk into open rooms and staff were all backpackers so weren't always at the desk. Location far away from the cbd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.6

great location close to the centre, friendly & helpful staff, lockers & fridge in room :) bed was very creaky, kitchen was small for the amount of people & there didn't seem to be a lot of kitchen equipment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere in this hostel... relaxed and happy. Staff very helpful. I felt at home here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.0

This hostels charm is all about the people. The facilities and location are decent, but it's the atmosphere that sets it apart. Both the staff and all the hostel guests were welcoming and immediately wanted me to be part of their family. Being included and made to feel welcome made this hostel a temporary home away from home.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.0

Some staff were super nice and helpful. Others were seemingly absent minded. The hostel gave a really bad first impression but it grew on us rather quickly. Also has free coffee/tea and a light breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
8.9

Located just off of peaceful Victoria Street, not too far from Sydney's CBD (a quick metro ride away or about a half hour walk). There were signups on the common room blackboard for Sunday roast dinner signups and people watching movies together - the place has a chill, homey vibe to it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
5.1

Upon arrival I had to wait for the girl working there to finish sweeping the front porch..she could have done this after checking me in rather than making me wait 15 minutes for her to finish (that's called customer service). Upon checking out, the employee showed up after the checkout time. He was in a bad mood and complained of being tired & hungover - so unprofessional!! The only clean place is the kitchen, the rest of the place is falling apart & needs maintenance! Breakfast was only toast..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.6

Nice staff, friendly visitors. Good stuff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
7.1

No one was at reception when I arrived and no one picked when I tried calling each of the 3 different phone numbers multiple times. It was extremely stressful after flying 18 hours to not know whether I would have a place to sleep, even with a reservation. The girl (manager?) who eventually woke up and came down to check me in was very rude. The breakfast was only white bread with jam/pb. The other guests were of questionable character -one loudly admitted to stealing from the grocery store.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
9.4

Very nice Hostal overall, a lot of long-term residents and a nice atmosphere. Kept very clean. A few issues with the wifi while I was there this time unfortunately, but mostly ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.