X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Palms Backpackers Reviews

23 Hughes St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
157 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

i have stayed 5 hostels in sydney and this is the best ever. really enjoyed. very friendly helpful staffs. they clean well everyday. ppl there are kind, comfortable room, nice fully equipped kichen, and clean as well. i strongly recommend this hostel to other fellows and definately come again. thank you


80%

very friendly staff, a lot of people working for accomodation. kitchen was nice and clean. room was cleaned every day. we stayed in a four bed dorm and had our own bathrooom with a shower and our own small fridge. a little hard to find because there was no light on the sign, some nice cafes, bars, restaurants and markets in the area but a bit of a walk to the city centre. all in all pretty good. I would stay there again.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Don't stay here


83%

I had a comfortable time at The Palms. I was surprised to get a good service, comfortable & clean accommodation & fairly normal disturbances at night and weekends for a great rate. Highlight was that the ensuite bathroom at my 4 bed dorm was always clean and the hot water was very stable!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very possibly one of the nicest places in Kings Cross. Clean and comfortable rooms and each room has it's own bathroom. Very well equipped kitchen also. Close to Kings Cross railway station.


80%

Good hostel, calm, nice staff and people. Very close to the city center. Cheap

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is okay as its budgeted but I like specially the receptionist very pretty and helpful! but got disappointment when I didn't get full day internet, security lock and milk for coffee. I had to buy new security lock, milk for coffee and had to go McDonald outside to use internet. There were some couples who are making love and noises all night but that I did not care as they came for enjoyment. It would be better if they could have provided what is written on the website.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Reviews need updating!! This is no longer a party hostel! No noise after 10pm! Apparently there was a huge complaints procedure by local residents, and now the place is quiet to the point of almost boring! This factor actually suited us, however pretty much everything else was a bit painful :( I guess the biggest let down was the fact that EVERYONE is a long-termer working in Oz, so they are miserable and unfriendly, very hard to integrate with them! It's more a grubby house-share than hostel

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you didn't fit in, but it's not true to say everyone is working, or that they are miserable and unfriendly... Out hostel is very friendly, and most people who stay with us are very happy people :)

20%

It is a workers hostel in a dodgy neighbourhood. It is really dirty, I had bed bugs. Also it is really old, holes in the wall etc. People are only partying


86%

Great stay at the palms! Nice staff and great price for the 10 beds room (12$ per night!) light breakfast and limited wifi available every day, very good deal!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

No 24 hour staff so sometimes no one around to help. No screens on windows so mossies fly in and bite. Many working holidayers that make a mess and don't clean up. Free wifi which is nice, but dorm prices are very high. Good place to stay for a few nights. Big kitchen and fridge to use.


74%

Very comfy beds, spacious dorm, friendly staff




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback