Hostelworld.com

The Palms Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 260 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 260 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
The Palms Backpackers Located at 23 Hughes St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
The Palms Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 23 Hughes St, Kings Cross
74% 260
-33.8715557 151.2239742
The Palms Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.6

Nice staff, friendly visitors. Good stuff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.4

Very nice Hostal overall, a lot of long-term residents and a nice atmosphere. Kept very clean. A few issues with the wifi while I was there this time unfortunately, but mostly ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th May 2016
8.0

The 10 person room is a bit small! You get breakfast which is nice, although quite basic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice relaxed atmosphere. We had a shared bathroom with two other people and it was pretty dirty, wasn't cleaned the whole two days we were there. Nothing too bad. Overall was a nice place to stay, few friendly travellers, others kept to themselves which is fine :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
4.6

When we arrived, we hast to wait a long time till someone came. We booked a 4 bed room and get a double room. In this was a high sleeper bed and it was unsteady - wobbly. The bathroom couldn't be looked and was really dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2016
9.1

The Palms is the place to be in Sydney! The people make the hostel, everyone is so friendly and chilled out, it is perfect for solo travellers. It is located 5 minutes from the Metro Station in the vibrant King's Cross. I loved my stay at the Palms and would definitely recommend it! I didn't want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Mar 2016
8.0

Was in kings cross area during Mardi Gras so pretty lively! Rooms had lockers for personal belongings. A good place, with free wifi that worked! Also was clean. Be aware that reception is only open limited hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
24th Feb 2016
8.0

Loved my stay here. The rooms are clean and there is a common room where everyone hangs out. Location is right next to kings cross station so its easy to get everywhere. The hostel has mainly long term guest so it might be a bit harder to get to know them first but with a bit of inition ou will shortly feel like you belong to a family. My two days stay ended up with more than two weeks stay as I didnt wanna leave. There are cockroaches though but they will be everywhere in Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2016
9.7

I struck gold with this hostel. Everywhere in Sydney seemed to have mixed reviews so I wasn't sure what to expect but this place is lovely, very friendly people, well run & a very comfortable stay. I was in a 4 bed en suite dorm: the beds were clean & modern, we had our own fridge, clean bathroom, lockers... The main kitchen is also great - quite large, all the pots/pans/utensils etc you could need & hobs, an oven, a massive fridge... Travelling now but will return here when I get back to Sydney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.