X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Philadelphia House Reviews

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
794 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great stay, shame we only had one night in Phili, May see you guys on the way back!


91%

Nice hostel and great location. Very friendly staff too.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I tend to be a cynical person but all the good reviews are true :) this place is great.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The rooms have no keys... even the dorms are always open. I didn't like that. Location is very good, and staff is very helpfull. Is a good option in a Philly and wi-fi works just fine.


100%

Definitely very good place to stay at. Really enjoyed it. Staff is super nice and cool. Met other cool people there.


100%

Staff were brilliant fun and know a lot about philly, very easy to meet people 2. Had a lotta fun here and its around the corner from the liberty bell. Highly recomend it!


80%

Good stay

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

At the Philadelphia House you enter as a stranger but leave as friends in the city of brotherly love.


100%

Pretty chill hostel with warm and welcoming staff around you

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for the good times guys!


97%

I can't get over how much of a good time I had at The Philadelphia House. The staff were all extremely friendly and fun, and the atmosphere of the whole place was always welcoming and engaging. A great place to chill out and meet people from all over, along with the chance to hang with some locals who really know the area and are happy to help out in any way. Beds were comfy, bathrooms were clean and the location can't be beaten. Don't really know what more you could want from a hostel.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a superb stay at the Philadelphia House. Everyone was welcoming, the beds were comfortable, and the facilities were clean and well kept. 10/10, would absolutely recommend

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We only stayed there shortly, but the very nice and helpful staff made it very enjoyable. It's a small hostel with a homely atmosphere and an excellent location in Philly. There are lots of bars and shops in the neighbourhood. The only thing that isn't that perfect is that there were only three bathrooms for all, which could be very busy in the morning.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

this place is, simply put, amazing. their hospitality, friendliness, amiability are all through the roof. the people staying there were very friendly as well, and i had some great conversations. i'm usually relatively introverted and quiet, but the friendliness was infectious. i just wish i could have stayed longer as i came to philly during a busy weekend. if i come back i'm DEFINITELY staying at philadelphia house. there's no better hostel.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The lovely atmosphere and friendship were unforgettable. I have stayed in may hostels so far, but this one really deserves 100 %. I will definitely use it for the next time. Just to remember one point, maybe the beds and pillows can be improved in terms of comfort, especially pillows. Ömer (Turkey)

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was very helpful and friendly, explaining sites to see, etc. When I arrived we had a booking miscommunication and they were able to resolve it with a situation much to my satisfaction and without anyone getting upset. The only negative was the mattress was so uncomfortable--the springs were poking my back. The only not "excellent" scorings are: security--not enough lockers to go around, and facilities--carpet in the kitchen. Everything else fantastic and I would highly recommend!


100%

Lovely place!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a find! A small hostel and excellent in every way. it almost felt like home! I arrived late at night but was made very welcome and even offered food until I could get to the market the next day!


100%

One of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at! it is a small hostel but with great atmosphere and friendly people. The staff were all extremely helpful and ensured that we had a great stay. The hostel is in a great location in the old city and about a 20-25min walk to the city center.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly ppl and overall really nice place to stay!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(172 results)


View all Philadelphia Hostels

Please give us your feedback