Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS) Located at 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4RN 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
85% 395
55.9498462 -3.2089734
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
4.0

Stay anywhere in Edinburgh but here! I know that Feinge Festival is on, and accomodation is in short supply, but that doesn't excuse how much the Phoenix are charging for such terrible facilities. The bathrooms weren't clean, and the floor was flooded for the entirety of my three day stay. The shower doors were glass, so you were on show the whole beds were just half mattresses on boxes on the ground, and the common room doubled as a bedroom too, making it quite uncomfortable as a communal space

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

Pricey, but I understand it's fring festival season. Great location and got an upgrade to a private room so very happy with the staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.3

The staffs are friendly and nice. Don't have hanger in the bathroom. There are only two power outlays in a 8 beds room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Positives: Easily the cleanest hostel we have ever stayed in. Great having a keytag to get into the building so very secure. Beds very comfy! Breakfast was amazing, thank you! Really friendly staff. Room for improvement: Bigger lockers and provide locks, more hooks around the bedroom. No negatives, we would happily stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.6

A great location, and given we were up for the weekend where the Fringe Festival was at one of the busiest times, the hostel was incredibly expensive for what we got. The main issue was that the Showers were extremely hot and scalding, so we weren't able to use them. Also, very little toilet paper and no hand soap were available. Essentially, the thing you need most after a day of attending Fringe just wasn't there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • geishaparadise1514
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.0

Not suited for over 50 or 60. We were place very top floors no lifts went up 8 flights of stairs gave us cramps in our legs. No locks in shower room or toilets. Most unisex. Breakfast cheap brands. Terrible all black walls except for lounge living rooms. No locks for lockers bring your own lock. No bins nor kettle/cups in own room. Would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.1

The best bit about my stay was the location of this hostel! It was exactly in the heart of where you want to be! The rooms were nice and spacious too! The only thing I didn't like was the shower situation! Clear glass doors, with no curtain or anything, doesn't give you much privacy when showering!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Central location; comfortable beds; good wifi and excellent, friendly staff. Plus free snacks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Such a great hostel with amazing common areas. Very spacious and comfortable. There were some problems that might bother other people. At times, if a certain door was propped open in the hallway, anyone in the hostel could access our room through a back door day and night. Also the showers were a bit slow to drain, meaning you had to turn the water off every few seconds or it would spill into the rest of the bathroom. Minor things that didn't affect my stay terribly! I'd definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.6

It's in the best location at Edinburgh and the staff people is really friendly, but I think that hostel is really expensive with I comparate price vs service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.