X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS) Reviews

8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, especially if you are looking for a bit quieter place to stay but still of a price of a youth hostel. The location is perfect and very close to all Edinburgh tourist attractions. Nice and friendly staff, clean, comfy beds, nice and clean showers/toilets. It would be handy to add soap in the bathrooms and educate people to close all the doors properly because otherwise they beep. Overall, one of the best hostels I've stayed at.


89%

Overall really good hostel. The check in was only after 2 and there is no sign for the building which was weird. It was an apartment building turned into a hostel which worked fine.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Wasn't too much in terms of atmosphere


89%

Although it is quite far from city centre it is not that much (+/- 20 minutes walk), the place is REALLY cosy. Everything is new, clean, well placed. Staff is really nice and friendly. And for a good price. I would definitely go back there.


100%

i have staied here for one week, everything is perfect that because of the help from the nice manager,he is the most lovely and kind man i have ever see, he can help you anything you want maybe a girl/boy friend; ) really single beds every room,although the 14beds room, kitchen is very good and clean, one tip:the room in 3ed floor will be more quiet enjoy it!

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A bit dofficult to find, but great location and friendly staff. Dorm rooms were great for the price.


91%

This place was great, had great security, good size lockers, and comfortable beds. The fact that breakfast is provided as cheap as it was is incredible. Would recommend this to anyone heading to Edinburgh looking for a cheap place to stay.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you for the comfortable stay at Phoenix. It was a pleasure to have the usage of the Penthouse facilities and a quiet and peaceful sleep. I hope to stay with you again at some point. All the best. D.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hotel key type security, with lockers by each bed for your valuables. Located right on the main high street, only a 15 minute walk from the train station and to the 'Royal Mile'. Very accommodating staff, clean bathroom and facilities. There was no atmosphere while I was there unfortunately but there weren't many people staying there.


94%

really enjoyed our stay at hostel. its at centre of edinburgh


100%

Location is perfect for prince street shopping, not the old town. Staff were friendly and open, I had an issue with checkout date which the manager was happy to work around.


97%

I stayed at the hostel for five nights and I have enjoyed the experience very much. The facilities and location are great and the free breakfast is a nice start to the day. The rooms and showers are very clean and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Ian, the owner, is a great guy to be around and the fact that there is a member of staff in the premises 24/7 is also a plus. Phoenix hostel will definitely be my first choice when I am passing through Edinburgh again. Best wishes, David


94%

Probably one of the best hostel I have ever been.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very close to the castle and princes street (10 min walk from Waverley station). Had to ask to change bed sheets as the pillow case had some foundation marks on it. It was done quickly and flawlessly. The staff offered a cheaper more suitable room at the check in. There was a confusion with the electronic card keys which was sorted by the staff. The hostel building is quite olds hence the squeaky doors and floors didn't let us sleep properly but all in all it's a good place to stay.


91%

Had a great three night stay. Beds as described which was a nice luxury. Common room, kitchen facilities and bathrooms all clean . A perfect location walking distance to all attractions and three supermarkets on the door stop. Staff were friendly and helpful even carried my bag up the stairs. A very clean, tidy modern hostel in the heart of everything.


91%

Fantastic Hostel ! Stayed there for couple of days. Great location, you can walk down to the must-see places in Edinburgh and is right next to a tram-stop. Very clean place, very spacious and no bunk beds ! Has all the basic amenities, I would say one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Will definitely be back


97%

really enjoyed are stay and will defo be staying again 😊👌

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location. The man at the desk was very friendly (sorry, didn't catch his name!). We stayed in a private 3-person dorm, so security was good but the cards made annoying buzzing noises when the doors weren't closed all the way (which our neighbors didn't figure out quickly). Great hot showers. No hand soap in the bathrooms and no trash cans in the room, which I found odd. Divan beds were nice though. "Breakfast included" was a bit of a stretch, there was just some old granola. Fine.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the door buzzing but those are standard issue alarms to prevent doors being left unlocked if they are not closed properly - everyone has cards for all of the doors they need access to so doors should always be secured on leaving a dorm or other area. We have two common areas within the building the downstairs large lounge and kitchen is where the free breakfast is provided always with plenty of cereal, milk, bread and butter for toast aswell as marmalade and jams etc.

100%

A. Nice place to stay .

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent location and helpful staff

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback