Hostelworld.com

The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS) Located at 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4RN 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
87% 247
55.9498462 -3.2089734
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
5.1

Great spot in the city but you get what you pay for. WiFi very spotty and sleeping in a single room with 5 twin beds has its challenges. The reception dude was friendly buy the manager was totally confused that I asked to rent a towel and harassed me about it before I finally got one

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, brilliant location and the owners are lovely! We really enjoyed our time at the hostel the facilities are really nice and beds very comfy, living room/kitchen area is really good too. We also met some great people in our room from all over the world which was a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
10.0

The couple who ran the place was amazing and I appreciated the food all day. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Really the best hostel my daughter and I stayed in during our 3-week trip around Great Britain..., also the most comfortable beds (no bunks) that forced us to stay an extra night. The easy-going and extremely helpful owner really cares about his guests and their comforts. A great place to plan your trip to other parts of Scotland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location, clean and comfortable for a hostel. If you're looking for a fun, wild hostel, this one isn't for you. Luckily we were fine with the laidback atmosphere. Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed for a long weekend very nice place the owners were really friendly and nice to have single beds not bunk beds! Perfect location close to the castle and a bar street. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
10.0

All round thumbs up :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.9

Really good location, near old town and the waverley. Single beds are abolus and I was ready to pay a little extra. Really good experince , would go again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Mar 2016
5.7

Our room was really cold, there were no soap or hand towels in the toilets. Breakfast was poor and it wasn't clear which bread (the few pieces that were there in the morning) is for all of us and which some of the guests have been bought themselves. There were no staff at the reseption in the morning to check us out so we just had to leave our cards to the table. There is no luggage room either. Wasn't really happy about this hostel althought the location is perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
10.0

This was all around the best hostel I've stayed at in my 15 country journey. All the employees were VERY welcoming, accommodating and overall enjoyable company. The location is about 1 min from the main strip and a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. The 2 common areas / kitchens were VERY clean, modern and new. There was free breakfast everyday / all day. The manager would even come in at 2 am and restock all breakfast foods. Each bed had it's own locker and rooms were vacuumed/cleaned daily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.