Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS) Located at 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
Scotland
Edinburgh EH2 4RN 8 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh
83% 487
55.9498462 -3.2089734
The Phoenix West Princes Street (ALL SINGLE BEDS)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
5.7

Bathroom was not working.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.7

AWESOME place. What makes it so good is the sense of community. I am so shy and rarely talk in hostels, but in this one I a made so many friends! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Good location with great high-ceilinged common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Well located and the staff was great, Mixalis was very kind and helpful. Nice atmosphere too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
5.4

I had booked a twin room which had no window and no ventilation at all. There was barely any space to stand and no space to keep luggage apart from the two beds to sleep.The room was so suffocating that we delayed going to it as much as possible. Thankfully the staff gave us air cooler so we could sleep. I wouldn't even keep my dog in that room let alone two humans. All pictures are MISLEADING. Nothing can prepare you for the dark smelly building. Breakfast was ok. Staff friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place, cool people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.4

This place was absolutly amazing for the price paid. Great staff, awesome place & location. Can be a little hard to find, just need to look for the big number 8, next to burrito bar on the left. It's an old building and different to other hostels, I was slightly skeptical but it grew on me in a day and I loved it. It has 24/7 kitchen breakfast access, micheal (mixhail) is a great receptionist & the staff change the beds regularly. Only downsize is shower sizes but still good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
3.4

While a good location, it was very noisy at night. This made it hard to sleep as if it wasn't hard enough due to the extremely uncomfortable bed where the springs drove into my back and the rooms extremely strong odor. This was undoubtably one of the worst smelling rooms I have ever been in. This was completely unacceptable and made going into the room unbearable. There was also no toilet paper in the bathrooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
3.4

The location is in a good area but you can't sleep because it's too loud at night. You hear bottles clashing all night and music bumping from across the street. The staff was very creepy and didn't make me feel comfortable. The place stank and was not that clean. The smell was unbearable. It was not badly priced but the quality was awful. The beds were so uncomfortable and I could feel the springs in my back which made it impossible to sleep. The door to the hostel didn't lock but the room d

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
7.1

I stayed in the annex so things might be different in the main one--the annex had big, beautiful rooms, but felt incomplete. No mirrors in the rooms/bathrooms, no hooks in the shower area, locks on most the shower/bathroom stalls not working and toilet paper often out of stock. (Very friendly) staff told me that the annex is still undergoing renovations, but that doesn't explain the TP or general uncleanliness. Great location though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.