Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
86% 1967
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chris10164
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

I stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm and it was great. Super clean, fresh bedding when I arrived, ensuite toilet and shower which are both good and clean. Bed was comfy by Chinese standards (better than the one I live on) and lockers are really big. Staff are super friendly, helpful and speak great english. Rooftop bar is nice too with decent priced beers and nice staff. Location is amazing too, everything is within walking distance, if it isn't then there are loads of metros nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
8.9

Very good location. A bit noisy just because of its location. Great showers. Wifi is pretty spotty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

good location,friendly staff,definitely come back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Excelent location,confortable place,great staff,cheaper restaurant inside,good bar in the roof and beautiful night view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel is really clean and i like it. Staff is good and they help you if you have questions. About atmosphere, personally i Stay in hostels because i like to meet people. so here there is no really an area when you could meet people just your room and the bar upstairs although the bar was empty most of the times. A kitchen would be great so guests can cook something. In general i like it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, very clean, good vibe, helpful staff. Especially wendy who is hot!!! Always great to see her face when you walk through the door. The roof top bar is very cool with nice food. The hostel is in a prime location and is easy to get to, it also offers free Mandarin lessons. P.s we love wendy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Had a really great time at the Phoenix. Private double room was a good size, location was great with good restaurants all around and good access to sight and public transport. I would recommend for budget accommodation in Shanghai.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.6

I went there in December and the room was really cold as there is no heating only air-con, which doesn't help much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

The best thing about the Phoenix is it's prime location less than two blocks from Dashijie metro station. The neighborhood is full of restaurants and is a short walk away from Peoples' Park. The room was adequate, about what you'd expect in terms of comfort and cleanliness for a mid-range hostel in Shanghai. The lack of a common room was a bit of a disappointment but there is a rooftop garden/bar and a ground floor restaurant attached to the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
7.7

Location is nice and convenient for travellers to get around in the town. The single room is clean with all the basic amenities inside! For light sleepers, the door is quite thin and the corridor outside is made of wood. You will definitely wake by the noise made by other residents. There was a night in 2:30am, someone near my room and knocked the door + shouted at the door to get his roommate open the room. I could hear so clearly in my room after it woke me! Not ideal for lighter sleepers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.