Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.3

Great location is the most positive thing to say. The rooms were supposedly newly renovated, but the "Deluxe" Double bed room we had was not very good. The worst thing is the bathroom, who would ever want to have glass door into the toilet facing the bed? That is very poor design, and no privacy at all. The bed was super hard and uncomfortable, we could feel the springs in the mattress when sleeping, there were missing a top mattress like any other bed in hostels we stayed at in China.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Can't begin to explain how glad I am that I made the decision to stay at the Pheonix while I was in Shanghai. The staff were great and the hostel is in a location. Met some amazing people in the bar and chatted for hours like old friends. Shout out to Dexter who is the man to talk to if you need a recommendation for anything. Already planning to visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
9.4

The location is very good, close to both a lot of Shanghai top spots and to the metro. The room was clean and the staff nice. When the weather is good, the roof top bar is a nice place to spend some time. I can really recommend staying there. Obviously it is pretty basic, but if you compare to what you pay, it was better than I expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.4

The rooms were more like hotel rooms in cleanliness and standard with ensures. The only thing I would have liked as I was in an 8 bed dorm was another bathroom available that I could use when the ensuite was in use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.0

Great location, easy to walk to main attractions or get there by metro. Nice roof terrace. Unfortunately, the wifi was quite patchy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hanxo
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Great location, 5 minute walk from Peoples Square, 20 minute walk from the Bund. Friendly staff from the receptionists to the bar staff, always willing to answer any questions you have. We tried almost all types of rooms there (8 bed dorm, twin bed and 8 bed deluxe) and all were clean with comfortable beds. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.3

Rooms very nice and clean. Staff very nice about giving us a twin room when the 4-bed wasn't free. Upstairs balcony cute with a view over the inner-city. Location is enviable, so we booked a second stay. This hostel could really impress guests by making changes to the front desk and entrance area. This area could make new arrivals surprised the hostel is the best rated. Guests also walk through a sometimes empty restaurant, and exit past a room of red couches (couldn't figure that out).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
9.1

I had a really nice time at this hostel. The location was great, the rooftop bar was a fun place to hang out and meet other travelers, and the rooms felt safe and clean. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
7.4

Just good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Downtown location, affordable, and has a decent rooftop bar area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.