Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1999 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1999 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
9.1

One of my favorite hostels. Nice staff and very patient. They do not mind holding your things the next day as you explore the city. I came alone then my friend decided to join, they were very kind in letting us move to a bigger room and paying the difference. I appreciated all of their help during this stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.9

The facilities are quite nice and it's one of the nicer hostels I've stayed in. Was pleasantly surprised because I know that China is full of scammers, but the staff here are lovely and try to help you out as much as possible. Cheers to Jacky and Mason in particular for being so helpful and providing suggestions about things to do :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Decent hostel overall but it was very quiet when I was there, perhaps just a function of season. Dorm room with ensuite for 4 people was really small and had very little room to put bags or hang any clothes, towel, etc. I ended up upgrading to a small private room with a double bed and an ensuite bathroom which was quite reasonably priced at around 160 rmb/night. Bed was too firm though and I just slept so-so. Location is relatively close to two metro stations and the Bund.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Near everything best location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Cheap and honestly just as good as most hotels. The Phoenix is seriously incredible, it's by far the best hostel in Shanghai. It's got a great location, awesome staff, and good amenities for the price. Check out the rooftop bar if you want somewhere to relax (Dexter, the bartender, is a legend). There's also a lot of good cheap restaurants in the area, including an excellent fried dumpling place just down the street and a 24-hour noodle place one street over.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a better location(better location than the other top rated shanghai hostels), comfy beds, clean, and have a great rooftop bar; really good friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chris10164
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

I stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm and it was great. Super clean, fresh bedding when I arrived, ensuite toilet and shower which are both good and clean. Bed was comfy by Chinese standards (better than the one I live on) and lockers are really big. Staff are super friendly, helpful and speak great english. Rooftop bar is nice too with decent priced beers and nice staff. Location is amazing too, everything is within walking distance, if it isn't then there are loads of metros nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

I've been staying in hostels over the last 2 months and have been to two other hostels in Shanghai before this, and they don't compare. The location is a minute walk from a metro station, the staff are super friendly (Wendy is the best), the rooftop terrace has a great vibe with a view that makes it easy to meet people and hard to leave, and the rooms are neat. I stayed in a mixed dorm and a private room on two seperate occasions - both of which are highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.3

The hostel was so suitable that I extended my initial reservation by 5 days. The front desk staff was really helpful when I wanted to navigate the city. A Metro station is just around the corner. I especially liked the next-day laundry service. The on-site restaurant was reasonable in price, and the food was good. The hostel had planned a whole day and evening of events to bring in the Chinese New Year. My thanks to Maggie, Wendy, Heeya, and Mason on the front desk!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.1

Staff was nice, joyful, and very helpful - I asked them for few recommendations and they were always happy to respond. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was ok. Room are not very big, but enough if you spend most of your days outside visiting the city. The location of the hostel is great, approx. 30 minutes walk from the Bund, 15 minutes walk from Nanjing St., and it is close to many restaurants not too expensive. Also, the rooftop bar is awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.