Hostelworld.com

The Phoenix

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
86% 1792
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Extremely clean, great staff, close to subway line (approx. 1.5 minute walk)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Really really good place, people, location, and vibe. Will definitely stay again if I'm back in Shanghai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.4

Lovely spot. People helpful. Roof top food lady the nicest. A quality hotel with a hostel vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
6.0

Stay started off with a little bit of trouble as, despite me inputting that I was arriving at 8am, the room wasn't ready until 11am (possibly a problem with HostelWorld, but after an international flight, it's nice to jump in a shower. Room was spacious enough but quite cold, and the bed was very stiff. Wifi was slow and dropped out a lot, but that is something of a China-wide problem. Bar at the top had a nice vibe but was quite expensive. Could hear several arguments in the corridor from room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
8.3

Overall great place to stay. Clean, friendly staff. However would expect the following: 1) breakfast included within bed cost. 2) English speaking and informative staff - felt most of the time the staff did not understand my requests and were unable to help. 3) City map in english is a MUST. Was told maps were expensive hence not available. 4) Fast and reliable wi-fi. This was missing during my stay. Very frustrating. Internet was very slow across the hostel - lobby, room and bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice place, very good located, friendly staff, but not too much helpfull (no maps on reception!). Good rooms and bar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Mar 2016
9.1

Very modern, clean rooms, great location and enjoyed the restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2016
10.0

We stayed in a modern double room for 40usd, best value for money in town. Furthermore in a street full of local restaurants (try chili shredded beef just opposite) cheap as chips. People square & old town are walking distance and the area is local and charming-if you like the chinese experience definately stay here. The roof top bar is cool but "high" prices, beer downstairs in restaurant 10yuan but 15 upstairs in the bar. Breakfast is 40 while you can get pancakes for 2 yuan in the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
6.6

PROS - clean, good location (walking distance 20 minutes or less to The Bund, East Nanjing Rd., Yuyuan), located on a good food street and the dumpling restaurant downstairs is good CONS - lacked atmosphere even though the space was well set for one, lots of local businessmen living in mixed dorm rooms, staff were not super friendly or helpful If I ever go back to Shanghai, I would choose to stay somewhere else next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chrisafentoulis4391
  • Greece, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Mar 2016
8.3

Really helpful staff and in a good location! Near in the central subway station, in a small walking distance from Bund, Yuyuan gardens, Xintiandi and People's Park. Breakfast was amazing, we totally recommend it, it's the best way to start your day!! Only one situation made us worry a bit, when cleaning staff of the hostel entered our room for no reason in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.