Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
83% 1859
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Most of the staff were really good and helped with anything and everything we asked for. The rooftop bar is way over priced and if t was more affordable would help to create more atmosphere. Also, they don't rotate the duvet covers or pillow cases so if that's important to you make sure you specifically ask. Good however and would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • willrenville2557
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Aug 2016
7.7

Shanghai hasn't got a vast array of options when it comes to budget digs so I would recommend staying here based on the price and functionality. Its not really a hostel its a coverted hotel with dorms and some signatures on the hallway stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Location was nice. Staff were helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only thing missing was cold drinking water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.1

No real complaints or issues, I would stay here again for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
7.7

I only stayed there one night , they rooftop bar is nice idea although it closes too early. The private double room was small but very clean , maybe a little overpriced...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.7

Hostel is in a excellent location for walking to main attractions and security is good. Didn't have much interaction with staff but seemed Good. Beds were pretty hard and the bar was pretty empty every night which was disappointing for me as solo traveller but the location and the size of the hostel meant there were plenty of people to meet, just not at the bar!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
4.6

i find that only good thing of this hostel is it's location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Great location and friendly staff. Dorm room was clean but the airconditioner barely did anything and the wifi was pretty bad most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Advertises luggage storage that is an unlocked room off the hall, virtually useless. The restaurant was very nice and had some beautiful views of the city, the location was excellent for the for the subway and all this for an excellent price. This is our favorite place to stay in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
4.0

We cannot believe how rude and unhelpful the staff were in this hostel. When we arrived the man showing us to our room broke the lock on the door and we waited ages to be moved somewhere else while he tried to fix it. The only positive we can leave is that it is clean and the second dorm room we stayed in was nice but the staff completely ruined our experience. Even with the bar upstairs the hostel lacks any atmosphere!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.