Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel. Clean and quiet yet right in the centre. Big lockers provided with key for suitcases which was great! A minute walk to the subway. Would come here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I been while traveling solo. Great bar area, laundry services and room facilities. Staff are very friendly and helpful! Met other travellers switching hostels but ultimately coming back to phoenix.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.4

The phoenix was a really nice hostel. The plus are the staff, always smiling and helpful 24/7, the restaurant downstairs cheap and good food, the aircon, and the rooftop bar and lounge for socialising with great people while still being isolated from the rooms just in case of the noise, although it closes at midnight which is great. Atmosphere is 10/10. I couldnt hope for a better stay in Shanghai, top 10/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

I stayed in the all male dorm, travelling solo. Great place to be in Shanghai: perfect location, usually people at the rooftop patio wanting to meet other travellers, clean facilities/dorm room and friendly and helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that my locker didn't actually lock, but nothing was stolen and this particular case seemed to be the exception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
8.6

Great atmosphere and staff ! Had a great stay at the Phoenix hostel. I met some great people from all over that made the stay that much better. The bar at the rooftop definetely sets the tone each day. Wifi is spotty. Beds are hard but reading other reviews around China this appears to be the norm. Cleanliness is ok but can be better. There's a restaurant downstairs too which makes getting any meal better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • leahwicks298955
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

I absolutely LOVED staying here. It was only for one night but it was perfect for my friend and I to rest and rejuvenate before heading out to enjoy Shanghai. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.3

Nice and clean place with extra security - a card needs to be used to get up the lift and in to the room as well. Large long lockers are provided and have plenty of space in them. Bathroom is quite basic, but clean and tidy! Beds have the small, thin sort of mattress - I prefer a firm bed so this was all good for me. About a 20-30 minute walk to the Bund, or super close to the subway (which is really simple to use). Would stay here again if I needed someone close to the main tourist spots again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rgaldamez91
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2017
8.3

Very convenient location, literally close to all the main attractions, rooms were very clean. Great customer service, thank you helen! Answered all of my questions and spoke very good english!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2017
9.4

Close to subway Line 8 DaShiJie. Spacious room with individual lockers (key provided) for personal belongings. Big enough to store a small luggage. Towels available for purchase (not rent) for ¥20 if you require one. Nice rooftop bar where it gets happening later in the night. Nice way to meet people when you play some (drinking) games at the large common table. Table tennis/ping pong table is there as well. Ensuite toilet per room. Gets crowded for 8 people. Checkout at 12nn. Free WiFi too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

This hostel is awesome! We stayed here for a few days while we explored Shanghai. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was super nice, helpful and always smiling. The location is within walking distance to major tourist sights and right next to the subway. The bar upstairs is really nice to grab a drink after a long day or before going out. Overall great experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.