X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Phoenix Reviews

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1346 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Bathroom in every dorm not a shared hall bathroom. Very clean. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Booked a train ticket for me. Didn't use the rooftop bar but it is cool if there are many people in the hostel (not full at the time). Good location


60%

Really good location, but it was not clean at all. The staff was just ok, and the facilities too. The "Single Private Ensuite" was definitely too small and the aircon didn't work really well. Would need to be refurbished to achieve an average standard. I will just recommend it to people only interested in being well located to move around Shanghai. If you're looking for a beautiful, all-serviced room, then this is not your place.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Each dorm room has one bathroom... that could be inconvenient in an 8-persom dorm room.


94%

New Wooden bed and simple and convenient interior is very good~! Through the hostelworld, the price is very reasonable~ I have a believed hostel in shanghai!


86%

Fun place to go! Be advised the bunks are Very Firm!! Great Restaurant downstairs and the location can't be beat.


86%

The hostel has due to recent renovations a high standard for China. The location is very close to People's Square, Nanjing Road and the Bund. All of it in walking distance. Within the close neighborhood there are typical Chinese shops and restaurants. The rooftop bar is cozy and offers tasty sandwiches. The only minus are the poorly insulated windows. It gets really warm in the rooms within a couple of minutes with the A/C turned off. Moreover, you can hear every sound from the streets.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

They didn't reserve the type of room we asked for. When asking for an explanation/discount they said we checked in late. We arrived right when planned to. At 1am after our train got in. For this I blame hostel world for they set your deadline automatically to midnight, which is nonsense.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, well located close to town, with clean and tidy rooms. With beer and snacks on the top floor, this is an ideal spot to explore Shanghai from.


94%

Love this place! Will definitely stay again when I return to Shanghai.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is to be really recommanded: everyone working here is very nice and helpful. The location is just great. I had a good time and will surely come back!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I stay very comfortable relax~ the place is very calm and clean the room is so nice . I reserve again!


100%

We were very happy with our accommodations at The Phoenix. Very near the Metro and walking distance from The Bund. Very good dumplings served in the hostel restaurant and uber cool miniature set of the Terra Cotta Warriors beneath the glass floor. Loved it!!!


80%

Lots going on nearby, about a 30 minute walk to the Bund, 20 to the temple and fun touristy shopping there. Cafe downstairs that's open to the public. Rooftop bar is a great way to end the night, and this spot is better for meeting people at the hostel. The rooms were clean, private ones had toilet & shower separated by glass enclosures - not the best if you're not comfortable being nude around your roommate. The dorms had fully enclosed (normal) bathrooms and large lockers for each person.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty straightforward place: decent location within 10 minutes of People's Square station & East Nanking Road, nice rooms, pleasant rooftop bar, generally clean (though there was a pube on our bed when we got into the room, yuk). Front desk staff wasn't rude, but did the bare minimum in terms of customer service. (Although the guy at the bar the one day we went was very friendly.) No serious complaints, no glowing endorsements either.


80%

Take twin room if you are traveling together instead of double. The bed is big enough for two and twin room is much bigger that a double. A lot of place to have breakfast/lunch/dinner nearby, small supermarket next building. 3 minutes from metro Nice but pretty expensive bar upstairs Everything was good Windows didn't lock so it was pretty easy to get into the room from next room. We didn't leave our valuables there

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in 8 bed dorm which was very spacious, clean and had large lockers to store your belongings in. Each of the beds had a powerpoint and light making it very easy to read or plug in. Front desk staff were ok. They weren't too keen to provide advice about Beijing and actually refused to call us a cab when we needed one. On the roof is a really cool cafe/bar/hangout zone with very friendly staff who are very helpful and engaging. Wifi works all over the hostel. Overall a great stay.


91%

Nice hostel, clean and located just next to a metro station. People's square is also less than 10 minutes away. Great value for money.


97%

The location of this hostel is absolutely ideal - about a 2 minute walk (or less) from the subway station on a cute little street with a lot of restaurants. The rooms and the general setup of the hostel is very people friendly and extremely attractive - the rooms are filled with large wooden beds and a beautiful marble bathroom. I was also blown away by the amazing view on the balcony. The staff were curt and polite but didn't strike me as particularly friendly/involved.


57%

The internet in the hostel went down about every 20 minutes. The staff had no idea how to fix it and I probably had to make 20+ calls to the front desk over the course of a few days each time the internet crashed. They don't seem interested in actually helping you fix the problem.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Phoenix just renew the locals it's look like a 5 start hotel ... I suggest u do a cooking course to teach us the secret of Chinese cuisine... Alex


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback