Hostelworld.com

The Phoenix

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Cheap and honestly just as good as most hotels. The Phoenix is seriously incredible, it's by far the best hostel in Shanghai. It's got a great location, awesome staff, and good amenities for the price. Check out the rooftop bar if you want somewhere to relax (Dexter, the bartender, is a legend). There's also a lot of good cheap restaurants in the area, including an excellent fried dumpling place just down the street and a 24-hour noodle place one street over.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a better location(better location than the other top rated shanghai hostels), comfy beds, clean, and have a great rooftop bar; really good friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chris10164
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

I stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm and it was great. Super clean, fresh bedding when I arrived, ensuite toilet and shower which are both good and clean. Bed was comfy by Chinese standards (better than the one I live on) and lockers are really big. Staff are super friendly, helpful and speak great english. Rooftop bar is nice too with decent priced beers and nice staff. Location is amazing too, everything is within walking distance, if it isn't then there are loads of metros nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

I've been staying in hostels over the last 2 months and have been to two other hostels in Shanghai before this, and they don't compare. The location is a minute walk from a metro station, the staff are super friendly (Wendy is the best), the rooftop terrace has a great vibe with a view that makes it easy to meet people and hard to leave, and the rooms are neat. I stayed in a mixed dorm and a private room on two seperate occasions - both of which are highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.3

The hostel was so suitable that I extended my initial reservation by 5 days. The front desk staff was really helpful when I wanted to navigate the city. A Metro station is just around the corner. I especially liked the next-day laundry service. The on-site restaurant was reasonable in price, and the food was good. The hostel had planned a whole day and evening of events to bring in the Chinese New Year. My thanks to Maggie, Wendy, Heeya, and Mason on the front desk!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.1

Staff was nice, joyful, and very helpful - I asked them for few recommendations and they were always happy to respond. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was ok. Room are not very big, but enough if you spend most of your days outside visiting the city. The location of the hostel is great, approx. 30 minutes walk from the Bund, 15 minutes walk from Nanjing St., and it is close to many restaurants not too expensive. Also, the rooftop bar is awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel! Good location,nice staff,clean room and fair price! It will be perfect if the lock for the locker is stronger.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

I was 'upgraded' to a private for my first night for some reason. This was actually amazing after my 14-hour flight. The private room was small, but had everything. Great water pressure in the shower. Then I was moved to the 8(?) person dorm. The bathroom is within the dorm, which is ok. However, the door to the toilet was very noisy and many people did not care about trying to shut it quietly. If you are a light sleeper, this door issue would surely affect your sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
8.9

Very good location. A bit noisy just because of its location. Great showers. Wifi is pretty spotty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

good location,friendly staff,definitely come back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.