Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
83% 1887
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Sep 2016
7.4

Not a bad place but i would not recomend it to pepole looking forward to a backpacking experience . Whats more the bathrooms in the rooms where separated only by a very thick wall... I dont have to tell you what it resulted in ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.0

This was a good place to stay, with a few shortcomings such as small room, almost transparent glasses of the bathroom in twin room, and was not a great street for International crowd. Get this one if other good properties are sold out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
9.7

I think that for many places especially hostels, the staff can easily make or break a place. My short time in Shanghai was amazing because this place is near many major sights and the staff happily answer questions. I would emphatically recommend this place to anyone visiting Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
10.0

I have stayed at The Phoenix multiple times now, and will remain my go-to accommodation in Shanghai. It is in the dead center of Shanghai, easy access to a subway hub to get anywhere in the city. There is street food and delicious shabu-shabu available in the area as well. The dorms are cozy, clean, and safe. The beds a little hard, but that is the Chinese style. The rooftop bar has a great, friendly staff that are always happy to see you. They make excellent drinks and breakfasts as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.7

Such friendly and helpful staff - even when they misunderstood and didn't send an airport transfer there was still someone at the desk to talk to at 4am to help get me to the hostel. Really nice and cosy bar area upstairs away from rooms if you don't want to be disturbed again with lovely serving staff. The only thing is that it is a bit of a walk to People's Sq station and Nanjing Rd if the main central area is what you are in Shanghai for but otherwise there is another easy metro stop nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
10.0

I stayed there in a private room, so I don't know how it is in the dorms : It was a really great place to stay! Room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Wifi and AC were working perfectly. The rooftop bar, in which you can have breakfast, was really nice to socialize (service for the breakfast is very slow, however, so you don't need to be in a rush). The location is perfect : nice neighborhood, many restaurants in the street, and the metro station round the corner. Will stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Staff very helpful. Close to subway. Cool rooftop bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.7

It was an okay hostel to stay in. Good area for sightseeing, but not close to the night life. Bathrooms were per dorm and not bad, but the upstairs bar was not great and expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Really nice hostel, rooms are big and clean, and one toilet and shower between 9, but this was never a problem. Amazing location, really close to the Bund and people's square. Rooftop bar is beautiful, but drinks aren't cheap, so it's pretty empty most nights. Gets a little bit busier later, but Dexter is really great, and the events he does look good. Really enjoyed our stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.4

Great place! Location is awesome and you are close to subway. Doesn't look too attractive from the outside but once you get in it's great, the rooms were spacious and clean and every dorm has its own bathroom! Big locker that fits your entire backpack, loved this cause usually you only get a small one. Beds were hard but well it's still China ;). Nice bar upstairs! Also pretty good Chinese restaurant downstairs. Staff is helpful and English is okay. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.