Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,840 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,840 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
84% 1840
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Great location and friendly staff. Dorm room was clean but the airconditioner barely did anything and the wifi was pretty bad most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Advertises luggage storage that is an unlocked room off the hall, virtually useless. The restaurant was very nice and had some beautiful views of the city, the location was excellent for the for the subway and all this for an excellent price. This is our favorite place to stay in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
7.4

Pros: Location: Very near Dashijie station and other major stations. Food: The food served here is good and pretty reasonable. I didn't try their breakfast food so I can't comment on that. Bathrooms: I stayed in an en-suite room and the hot water seemed fine. Cons: Internet: The 2nd floor internet was OK but it's terrible on the 4th floor. Noise: I was placed on the 2nd floor above the kitchen and I had to ask to be moved. On the 4th floor, they stuck me next to the storage room :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
2.9

Very unfriendly staff. At the restaurant they were extremely rude Place was old, dirty and badly kept. Sheets were old and had cigarette marks. THE ROOM HAD FLEAS!! We killed many and spent our days in the city completely bitten. We asked them to change the sheets but it was clearly a deeper problem Elevator had its certification expired since October last year Neither the phone or TV worked (we were told one arrival, insisting that neither tv worked so it was pointless to complain)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.0

I stayed at this hostel for a total of 5 nights during my time in China. The dorm rooms are cleaner than the private rooms. There is a nice atmosphere at the hostel and the location is ideal. Good local food on the same street. I would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location if you don't want to be far from tourist spots. Not far from People's Square, the museum, Yu Garden and the metro's a short walk away. Both the double rooms and the dorm rooms are great. The rooftop is a great place to hang out in the evening or have breakfast and the restaurant downstairs has reasonably priced food. I have stayed there a few times now, and will again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall The Phoenix was a decent hostel to stay it, the location is great with most things in walking distance and the metro was just round the corner. I had to move rooms due to a booking error, the first room was well air conditioned and spacious. The second room was a bit cramped and due to the layout, the air conditioning didn't reach the whole room. But generally a pleasant stay and Dexter the bar man was great, I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
7.7

The best things about the hostel are its prime location, the fact it has a pretty nice and cheap rooftop bar, and it's quite cheap. If you're a couple, make sure you're very comfortable with each other, as the ensuite is basically a transulcent glass screen around the toilet! The room was a little basic, but for the price you can't complain. I would question if it's responsible to keep two very large rabbits in cages in the rooftop bar. It was hard to gauge how happy they were.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at Phoenix hostel. The rooms (including the dorm rooms) were extremely clean (a cleaning lady came every day). The rooftop bar atmosphere was really fun; the hostel seems to have a really good community feel. Affordable laundry services were also a huge plus! I wish the hostel had more of a common area besides the rooftop (which closes), so that we could chill somewhere without disturbing fellow dorm mates. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
8.6

I stayed in the Deluxe room. It´s pretty small but real nice. Tv works like a charm. The bar is cool and there´s a lot of enviroment. Downside the toilet had a weird smell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.