Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
84% 1931
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Nov 2016
9.4

Booked a single room with private bathroom. Clean, somewhat hard but comfortable bed. Most of the rooms are hotel style rooms as opposed to dorms. Rooftop bar was a great spot, but it is the only hangout spot so that was not good for atmosphere. Drinks were fairly expensive as well. First floor is also a restaurant. Location is great. Close to metro. People's square. 15 minute walk to the bund. Main negative is it felt more like a hotel. If you're travelling solo, maybe look elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, very close to subway and very clean! Would definitely stay here again! 非常好!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

This was a great place. Alex at the front desk was very helpful she gave tips on things to do and accommodated us when we arrived earlier than planned. They have a great restaurant and happy hour bar on the 5th floor and the room was excellent. Thank Alex for assisting us and making our trip pleasurable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

We stayed here in November 2016, the location is awesome, rooms are clean and spacious. We didn't actually drink in the rooftop bar but sounded fairly busy during our stay. The reception were helpful whenever we needed any help and they quickly sorted us out a cheap lift to the airport. Would definitely recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Nov 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed staying here. I had visited shanghai for one day. Even though my stay was short, staff was very kind and took care of me very well facility and everything was very nice for me. I will stay here again, if I visit Shanghai again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nataschawulff972
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
4.3

Our toothbrushes were stolen! And we had a double bed room where the toilet and the shower were right INSIDE THE BEDROOM! Only one meter away from the bed was the toilet. No walls, no curtain between. And the doors of the "bathroom" were made out of glass. So while one person is lying on the bed he can see, hear and smell everything the other person is doing in the toilet. Also the shower/drain smelled really disgusting especially over night. Moreover the staff can't speak any English at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Very comfortable double private room with ensuite. Shower is excellent. Room was clean and modern. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - booked us taxis, gave directions, recommended nights out, even helped with guest-lists. Rooftop bar is very relaxing. Location is great to get to the Bund, east and west sides of the French concession, people's square, and the old town are all in walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.0

Private twin room was really nice but I wasn't a big fan of the dorm mattress was really thin and there where no curtains for privacy I had a decent amount of drinks and I was still uncomfortable on the extremely thin mattress the bar up too is also and run by a really nice guy named dexter that was always up for a chat and gave us a free welcome and goodbye drink

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel is a fantastic place to stay in Shanghai. I can't imagine finding much better. The only criticism at all is that there is no real lounge area. However there is a great rooftop bar which is super nice, informal and a great place to meet other travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
5.7

Very dirty, moldy private room. Visible on all walls, crumbling plaster with mold exposed, constantly leaking running water in bathroom, front desk staff friendly, but when asked for recommendations of simple things like where to go to eat at 11pm they had nothing to offer as a suggestion. Would not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.