Hostelworld.com

The Phoenix

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
87% 1802
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel and plan on going back. I stayed in a double room, which was very clean and appeared to be renovated recently. I also saw the larger 8 person room which had bunk beds and individual lockers with built in locks. Both the restaurant on the ground floor and the rooftop bar were relaxing and had very large selections for (cheap) food. The hostel is in an ideal location for touring the downtown city and extremely easy to get to from the subway or taxi. Lastly, the staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

Stayed here at the beginning and again at the end of our Shanghai area trip. Double and twin rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Staff was fantastic at making checking in/out quick and easy, and at giving us some great advice on how to get where we wanted to go. Espresso in the 5th floor bar even really exceeded my expectations. All of the staff were incredibly warm and helpful. You cannot find a better location. We will definitely stay here on any return trips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.1

We stayed in the private twin room. A cleaning lady came every day to clean our room and leave new towels. The room has recently been renovated as well, so it's modern and clean. The terrace was awesome for breakfast. The guy working there, Felix, is really nice and has some interesting info on Shanghai. The location of the hostel is awesome. The Bund is a 10-15 min walk away and the nearest subway station is around the corner. I would definitely stay here again when I go back to Shanghai :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Extremely clean, great staff, close to subway line (approx. 1.5 minute walk)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel as a whole ( room, bathroom, lobbies) all VERY clean. Fitting if you are just looking for a place to sleep for the night. Be sure to have 100yuan as part of your deposit that is returned to you when you check out(I wasn't aware of this luckily I took out extra cash).Staff speaks little to no English and was not able to assist me in getting directions to certain areas when I checked in or the next day when I left. Not a social atmosphere, rooftop bar was the only reason I enjoyed stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Really really good place, people, location, and vibe. Will definitely stay again if I'm back in Shanghai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.4

Lovely spot. People helpful. Roof top food lady the nicest. A quality hotel with a hostel vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
6.0

Stay started off with a little bit of trouble as, despite me inputting that I was arriving at 8am, the room wasn't ready until 11am (possibly a problem with HostelWorld, but after an international flight, it's nice to jump in a shower. Room was spacious enough but quite cold, and the bed was very stiff. Wifi was slow and dropped out a lot, but that is something of a China-wide problem. Bar at the top had a nice vibe but was quite expensive. Could hear several arguments in the corridor from room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
8.3

Overall great place to stay. Clean, friendly staff. However would expect the following: 1) breakfast included within bed cost. 2) English speaking and informative staff - felt most of the time the staff did not understand my requests and were unable to help. 3) City map in english is a MUST. Was told maps were expensive hence not available. 4) Fast and reliable wi-fi. This was missing during my stay. Very frustrating. Internet was very slow across the hostel - lobby, room and bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice place, very good located, friendly staff, but not too much helpfull (no maps on reception!). Good rooms and bar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.