Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Phoenix

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.1

Friendly staff (that speaks English), nice rooms, great location, if I ever visit Shanghai again I'll definitely stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Great staff! Super helpful. Clean rooms, friendly people. Amazing location!!!!! Would recommend to anyone! Walking distance to metro, touristic spots. Everything was perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
9.4

What I liked the most from the hostal was the staff, they do all their best to make you happy and comfortable, and also their English is excellent, something that is very difficult to find in China, even in hotels. I would really choose this hostal again, a lot of value for money, keep in mind! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

30th Jul 2017
10.0

thanks for this cool hostel very good location, next to subway station and many restaurants... and thanks to Helen for the help to book restaurant, advices, etc!! :-) first exp with hostel world, much apreciated

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

30th Jul 2017
9.7

Excellent Hostel. Was like staying in a hotel with the reception, room, and maids! The rooftop bar was very nice and good atmosphere. The location was excellent as its very central in the city and close to all the major sites! I would highly recommend staying here. Only problem was the cleaning crew would enter the room early in the morning to tidy up...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We will ensure these things are checked and attended to. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

28th Jul 2017
10.0

Perfect location. Literally a few steps from Da Shi Jie subway station. The room was quite large and very comfortable. They had all the amenities and more, providing toothbrushes and shower caps in the room. Helen from the front desk was very helpful and taught me the buttons for the A/C. Fantastic value for the money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.1

Staff is very friendly. I booked a single room in advance and arrived late at night around 11pm. The manager was willing to show me the room before I paid. The room was clean and comfortable and I met a new friend at the terrace bar upstairs. Great location. Close to subway. Lot's of good food close by. San-Bao restaurant open 24hrs is good and cheap and a couple blocks away. My favorite restaurant in shanghai, Nanjing Impressions (Hongkong Plaza, 3F) is also walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AmeenAAJ
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

A really good hostel in Shanghai. In the city centre & near by the famous area called The Bund I guess. I highly recommend it 😉

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

  • philcomerford4831
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Really great hostel overall. Everything is how you expect for any top notch international hostel, with a rooftop bar and a very welcoming restaurant on the ground floor. The only things I had issue with was he smell is he bathroom, the toilet paper bin needs to be changed more often in the ensuite or else the extractor fan in the ceiling wasn't working correctly as the smell was unbearable. The beds are quite hard, they usually are in china but these were the hardest I had!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We will ensure these things are checked and attended to. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels of my 2 month trip. Although I didn't have a great time in Shanghai, the hostel was exceptionally good. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hostel had a great vibe and very modern facilities. Beds not the most comfortable, but overall excellent rooms. Location was perfect. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at The Phoenix. Kind regards, The Phoenix

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.