Hostelworld.com

The Phoenix

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
The Phoenix Located at 17 Yunnan (South) road, , Shanghai.
The Phoenix
China
Shanghai 17 Yunnan (South) road
85% 1819
31.2288394 121.4797782
The Phoenix
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
4.3

Unclean, uncomfortable, unfriendly staff, no atmosphere to speak of.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Huangpu, good walking distance I most sights in Shanghai and close to subway lines

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.4

The hostel is pretty nice. It was my first time in a hostel so I'm not sure how the bunk beds usually are, but these beds were not very comfortable at all. The mattress was incredibly thin. That's really the only knock on the place. The rooftop bar is really nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
5.1

The girl on reception was rude to me. As a solo female traveller being put into a dorm room with only one 45 year old man was bizarre, and when I asked to change rooms she made it a massive problem. There wasn't much going on at the hostel, it was really hard to meet people. Also the wifi was TERRIBLE. Overall it was probably the worst hostel of my trip and I'd never go back, nor recommend it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.0

good point Location, bar on the top, Big lockers. Not easy to meet other travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Excellent hostel, 8 bed dorm was clean and secure, but the beds were rather hard. Enjoyed the roof top bar, and the restaurant below serves good food and is cheap too. We found that the majority of residents were there for internships or to study but that might be common across hostels in shanghai. Reception staff had limited english and didn't really show us where everything was. Overall was a good stay and we would go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2016
8.3

Great location, most attractions within walking distance. The rooftop-bar is a great place to meet fellow travelers. I stayed in a 4-person dorm, which is actually a transformed hotel-room, with an ensuite bathroom. The rooms are very clean. Only the mattresses on the beds are very thin, you can feel the wood underneath the mattresses.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
5.7

Room smells bad Plugs and bedlight broken/ not working Very hard mattress on bed Expensive Friendly staff Good location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
7.4

A good hostel with a pretty good location if you're into food. Yunnan Road South is a major food street - lots can be found across the road from the hostel, with lots of street food just 2 blocks up. Most of the rooms are ensuite, the lockers are big, and there are enough power outlets for everyone to plug in their devices at the same time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel and plan on going back. I stayed in a double room, which was very clean and appeared to be renovated recently. I also saw the larger 8 person room which had bunk beds and individual lockers with built in locks. Both the restaurant on the ground floor and the rooftop bar were relaxing and had very large selections for (cheap) food. The hostel is in an ideal location for touring the downtown city and extremely easy to get to from the subway or taxi. Lastly, the staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.