Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Pickled Frog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
The Pickled Frog Located at 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart.
The Pickled Frog
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania
88% 987
-42.8858227 147.3218107
The Pickled Frog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.0

Lovely little hostel. Very homey and nice atmosphere. There are comfy armchairs and sofas so you can chill properly and the bar in the reception sells local beers, ciders, etc, which is a nice touch. Free WiFi is a bit hit and miss due to so many people using it. Kitchen is small and not so great due to people not cleaning up after themselves. The rooms and bathrooms need updating but I had a good bed and hot shower. Staff are very helpful and the dogs are so cute!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
10.0

Very friendly! Clean! Good drinks deals!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Really good location and staff. I think the free shuttle busses we're brilliant as they really helped out. Love the dogs and the common area is also really good. I would definitely come again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Best hostel ive been in australia!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.4

Very chilled place, great amenities, helpful staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
5.1

I stayed in a single room for 3 nights and the trash was never picked up. Kitchen was not always lean and located far drop the habour.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
5.7

I was disappointed by this property. It was not very clean, common furniture was falling apart, and there were holes in the walls. Walls were also paper thin; my room was right next to kitchen and there was no hope of sleeping on a Thursday night as everyone was quite loud. Common bathroom was not very clean, random water spots on floor, etc. It did seem like they had a large selection of organized activities over the weekend so that is a good thing!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
8.6

Very friendly people, staff and guests. Made my short stay in Hobart a great one. Lots of things to do at hostel, from games to movie rentals to Mt. Wellington trip, a great hostel, perfect for backpackers on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
9.7

LOVED THIS PLACE!!! This place had an amazing atmosphere!!! It was very homey and there was a strong community feel. We ended up staying in to hang out in the hostel because we enjoyed it so much. The staff is super helpful and kind! The place was quiet at night and there was plenty of space to be in or out of your room. 11/10 recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
7.4

Good location, in easy walking distance to most things in Hobart. The staff were great and the free shuttles were perfect! Loads of areas to chill out, fireplace, hot showers and nice coffee. However, there were no lockers in the bedroom and it was quite cold in the room as no central heating. Also quite small for a 12 bed and needs more power sockets. Overall a nice stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.