X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Pickled Frog Reviews

281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
562 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice Hippie Style Hostel not far from the center of the city. Staff was very nice and helpful ;-)


74%

good old fashioned backpackers.


97%

Great communal area to meet other travellers

Owner Comment (Hide)
You gotta love the Welsh! Thanks so much for your kind words - I can only imagine how much better they would've sounded with your lovely accent. We're really very happy you had such a great stay with us. Thanks again - safe travels :)

63%

The staff here are AMAZING and the common lounge/bar areas are comfy. But the kitchen is seriously lacking - not enough cutlery, utensils, dish towels, cloths, scrubbing brushes, taps leaking, dirty microwaves, kitchen feels unclean. The upstairs bathrooms were also seriously lacking - shower cubicles small, with no shelving or bench, only a couple of hooks too high up. No hand-dryer or towels, only one small basin and one mirror for everyone to share.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the AMAZING words about our staff :) The comments on the kitchen and bathroom seem a tad harsh though - I'm not sure if you got it at a bad moment - but the kitchen is cleaned four times a day and we always keep the utensils stocked as they get stolen and thrown away. We would love to have more mirrors and sinks in the girls bathroom - so much so that we have grand plans to put in a separate "powder room" - dedicated to the ladies - complete with hair dryers, sinks, mirrors..

86%

Very welcoming and helpful. Location walking distance to most attractions. Free bus trip to key tourist places.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice place a bit far from the center(15 minutes walk). It has a great feeling like you staying in a pub. Very friendly and knowledgeble staff, good atmosphare. Good and cheap eateries around and the airport shuttle stops at the corner.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Don't listen to all those bad reviews. Ok, so you probably won't have a secure locker in your room (there are smaller lockers in the hallway) and the place is a little shabby but it all adds to the charm! The bathrooms and beds are CLEAN. They offer great free tours and the staff are friendly and helpful. This is probably one of my favorite Hostels so far and it will be hard to beat. As a lone traveler i found this a great place to make friends and be social, i was never on my own. BOOK IT NOW!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We just bloody love this review! I think you sum up the 'charm' of the place really well :) We don't pretend to be modern, shiny or fancy so not everybody 'gets' the place but most people seem really happy here. So stoked to hear you loved your stay here so much. We get a few comments that say the 'facilities' could be better - but we're really not sure what people want in terms of improved facilities? If you care to share we'd love to hear... info@thepickledfrog.com

94%

Brilliant friendly atmosphere :) Staff were great! I arrived late and security on the building was good! Definitely recommend it.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a legend you are! Thanks so much for your honest, accurate and amazing review. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime... safe travels :) Cheers, Jimmy

80%

Free internet, good location, easy place to relax


60%

Hostel had some atmosphere and nice staff on the desk. Big comfy lounge/dining area which was ok to chill out and meet people. However. Dorm I stayed in had too many beds in for the size of the room, could barely take 2 steps in the room, no lockers in the rooms, poorly maintained building inside with flaking wallpaper/paint, bathrooms dirty, kitchen cramped and just generally the whole place needs a makeover. Not the kind of place to stay for more than 1 night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear your stay wasn't as amazing as it could've been. If you were unhappy with your room I'm sure we could've moved you if you'd simply let us know - and fixed the issue for future guests. Did you notice the free lockers in the hallway? The makeover is happening so hopefully you'll be a happier soul next time you come and can stay a few more nights...

97%

Staff was excellent, Emily especially.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are excellent! I will pass on your kind words to Emily - it's good to hear she was looking after you so well. Cheers, Jimmy

83%

great hostel, the way you expect it to be


83%

Very good customer service- we had some problems before we checked in but staff went above and beyond to rectify these issues. Free wifi was intermittent at certain times but when it worked it was excellent and you could receive a wifi signal throughout the hostel. There is a nice bar in the lobby with good value beverages. Kitchen had everything you would need including rice cookers, microwave, toaster, blender and mochas. Lots of power ports both in the 3 bed dorm and in the common areas

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Spacious communal areas, bit scruffy but generally clean


91%

Staff was very friendly, good location. Large common area which is great.


80%

A warm hostel in Hobart, staff were friendly.


77%

Had 2 stays here


89%

The Pickled Frog is conveniently located, with fun wall paintings everywhere. Kitchen is spacious with enough fridges (though someone stole, but that's nice fellow backpackers...), also gets cleaned at least once a day. Showers are spacious and clean. There's plenty of space in common areas and even a TV corner, and the staff is helpful with everything. Some mould at the bathroom walls/ceiling or dust on lamps could do some cleaning though. Wifi is fast enough and available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks very much for taking time to leave us a review! We're glad to hear you had a good stay with us and we'll be sure to get onto the dusting...

80%

NIce hostel. Was unsure why some mattresses were on the floor in some rooms. I guess it may have just been a busy time of year or them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi mate, "nice hostel" cheers - nice review. Yeah, the mattress on the floor was a very temporary thing for a couple of nights to help out some guest who had forgotten to extend their stay when we were full, sorry about that little bit of randomness. I hope everything else was OK...

94%

Good hostel


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Hobart Hostels

Please give us your feedback