Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Pickled Frog

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
The Pickled Frog Located at 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart.
The Pickled Frog
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania
89% 916
-42.8858227 147.3218107
The Pickled Frog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Great place to stay. The staff were brilliant. Lots of great advice on things to do and just generally really friendly people. I went on the free shuttle bus up to Mt Wellington which was great. My only criticism is it would have been better if there had been lights in each bed and more power sockets. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Staff are really friendly. The general atmosphere of the place was really pleasant, though the place itself is a little run down, in my opinion. The floor creaks at certain places, so in some room you can hear people walking about on the floor above you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

A very friendly feel to this Backpackers with very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
6.9

It is a little noisy at night as the building is a little old and the floor starts to creak and the pipes are clanking each other as the wind blows, making it difficult for a good restful night sleep. Overall it was still ok for the price I paid. A nice dining area to have our meals

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Great atmosphere, good facilities and helpful staff! The location is really great with only a 5 minute walk to the town centre. I also loved the free Mt. Wellington trip that the hostel offered. The only negative feedback is that the building is a little run down and could do with a renovation. It was very cold and drafty through the windows and there was only a small heater in my room that didn't make much difference.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Good vibes, good times. Extended my stay four more days because I didn't want to leave

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • abbihowes2010
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.0

Friendly hostel with open fire and husky dogs!! Free shuttle day trips up mount Wellington. Was allowed to swap rooms as the first one was disgusting due to the people sleeping in the room leaving used tissues and old mugs of tea everywhere. The second room was fine but had to ask the cleaner to empty the bin as it went three days full and unemptied.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nick_collins88
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Nice staff. Wifi works in the rooms. Heater in rooms. Easy walk to the city. 1 Free beer/ coffee. Pool/ Darts/ TV available. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.7

Wow!! The pickled frog was so great. Clean, friendly, central, fun, great common area, great kitchen great facilities overall. Two thumbs up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

The staff at The Pickled Frog were really helpful and friendly people, helping us with any queries we had regarding the city. Overall, the place was well-kept and plenty of facilities were provided. The 2 resident malamutes were a great addition! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.