Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Pickled Frog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
The Pickled Frog Located at 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart.
The Pickled Frog
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 281 Liverpool St, Tasmania
89% 943
-42.8858227 147.3218107
The Pickled Frog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Overall, awesome stay. Walking distance to most things you'd want to see in Hobart. Showers are hot and there's plenty of lounge area. Kitchen is big. Any changes I'd recommend would be pretty small--things like a shelf in the upstairs showers for soap or outlets at each bed in the large bunk rooms. Like I said, only minor gripes. Otherwise, thanks for the stay guys--I'd definitely stay here again if I was back in Hobart.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.7

I was a little concerned at the price of the dorms which seemed a little bit high for a 12 bed door that would inevitably include people snoring. However, the price was well worth it for what you get: Great kitchen, open wood fires, a well stocked bar, extremely helpful and friendly staff, a huge amount of space, pool table, big DVD collection, a library area, off street parking, comfortable beds to name a few. I left feeling the price was well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.1

Location is good. The place we got is a private room with shared bathroom. It is an affordable accommodation if you're not particular with the outlook of it, definitely not hotel standard. A bit run-down as the flooring was creaking when you walk on it. Room is pretty small but no complains since it is just a hostel. Room isn't sound-proof at all. I could hear the neighbour's conversation and laughters.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.6

Great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

Geat place to stay. Helpful staff, warm fire place and clean.ill be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
10.0

Sam and Jesse at the front desk are the friendliest, most helpful people I met in Hobart! I spent three days at The Pickled Frog and really just wanted to relax and take in a few sights. They were incredibly helpful with everything; from food to activities to just good company, this is my favorite hostel I've stayed in by far. Also, the showers are the absolute best I've experienced in ANY hostel so far. Thanks for the wonderful experience and I can't wait to come back to Tasmania!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Aug 2016
6.9

Love vibe and it's more "retro" hostel where it's kinda free-for-all do what you want. Lots of long term stay people. The bathrooms upstairs are in desparate need of upgrade. No personal lockers in rooms. Kitchen had everything you need the sofa lounge area was good. Met some cool people here. Prob the busiest hostel in Hobart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
8.9

Great place! Very cozy, nice atmosphere. There's lots of space to hang out, fireplaces (just what you need in the tasmanian winter). The staff is helpful, friendly and creating a nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
6.3

Not receptive with travellers, even if they have already stayed in the place! I've stayed in many hostels all over the world and that is the first one that charged a daily fee when I request to use the shower after check out!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Great Hostel! Jess was the best!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.