X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Pickled Frog Reviews

281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
629 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

This hostel was great! The staff were super friendly and it was the perfect environment for meeting fellow travellers :-) There was lots of space to hang out, either with a book, in front of the tv, next to the fire or even with a game of pool or foosball. While the security was a bit limited, I never felt that it was a concern. I would highly recommend staying at the Pickled Frog!!


91%

Staff is AWESOME! Very nice and helpful. Gave great suggestions to tourist on things to do. The hostel's atmosphere is really fun, most guests were social and keen to hang out.


97%

Awesome place! All of Staff are very kind! and helpful:)

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel but just needed to be warmer as it was pretty cold throughout!


74%

We stayed in one of the private apartments. Although the staff was kind the suite was dusty and full of spiders. The heater in the room was not enough to keep us comfortable during the night. The positive aspect of the hostel was the free rides to Mt. Wellington and MONA that were pretty useful for us.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Firstly we have to say a big thanks to Jim, Emma and Sam and of course the resident wolves. We actually extended our stay here twice, the atmosphere is something we haven't quite found in other hostels we have stayed in it feels more like an extended family. All the guests were friendly and chatty, the log fires were a warm welcome, we arrived as Tas was heading in to winter so bonus! The trip to Mt Wellington is a must do and its free! PS. Emma's mum makes the best raspberry brownies! =)


83%

Staff really friendly, the free bus trips is a big plus. Nice hostel


91%

Had a great time, free shuttle up Mt Wellington was an added bonus. The driver, Tod is very informative & clearly loves the area he lives in, and shared his passion very well.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Enjoyed the open fires - helped create a good atmosphere. Big kitchen, lots of sitting areas - a very spacious hostel. Thought hostel was a little grubby - my dorm wasn't cleaned for several days. And the long term guests are a messy lot. Showers are very basic. Dripping/running taps everywhere - not a good message for water conservation. The owner was very friendly: & the more permanent staff were helpful. Courtesy bus up to summit of Mount Wellington, the Mona Museum & a wildlife park.


83%

Great place. Love the atmosphere. Well run hostel. Thanks

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Safe travel now....

86%

The Pickled Frog was great! So were the staff and location. Everything was easy to walk to. Staff was super friendly. I will definitely be staying there again when I visit Tassie.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, reliable fast wifi, good kitchen facilities, loads of comfy sofas! Free Mt Wellington trip was nice too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a beautiful review - thanks so much for your kind words and your honesty ;) We're very very happy you had such a good stay with us. Cheers, Team Frog

100%

Great place to have a drink and unwind

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice words! We're glad you enjoyed our brews.... Cheers mate.

77%

Cool hostel with really friendly staff and a great communal area. Room was a little dark / cold with not many plug sockets but other than that no complaints!


97%

I was impressed by how kind, helpful and friendly the staff were. And good looking of course. They also make the best (and cheapest) coffee to be found in the city. And its organic. Seriously I don't work there.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Hostel. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, and the couches and funny paintings everywhere makes you feel at home.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci! We're happy to hear you felt at home - that is pretty much for what we are trying to do here so it's nice to hear it is working at least sometimes. Safe travels. Cheers, Team Frog

91%

Great job! Lockers in rooms would be a great addition though. Good kitchen, clean bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! Great job! For next time, there ARE free lockers to use here in the hallways o you'll be all sweet and secure then ;)

89%

Liked almost everything of the hostel - except that there isn't very much going on in the neighbourhood in the evening.


94%

Really great hostel, staff are the best! Beds really comfy, rooms are clean and everything well maintained. Common rooms are great, very chilled and the bar/coffee is cheap! Only improvement would be the bathrooms, otherwise it's a fantastic hostel and I would definitely recommend it! Baloo and Nala (resident huskies!) are beautiful!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The Atmosphere was fantastic, great stuff, nice people - that's plus. :-) Not so good was that everybody might be able to get in the luggage store, which is actually a bit of a mess. The rooms are small and beds a bit movey, but therefore the lounge area is awesome - a lot of place and good vibes. Kitchen is ok.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Hobart Hostels

Please give us your feedback