X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Pickled Frog Reviews

281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
518 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location in the city. couldn't ask for better. The attached bar was very cheap and great to sit in. would not hesitate to come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That so much for your awesome review - what a legend! Catch you next time...

100%

Dude, so good. Really great atmosphere, chill people; I was there only one night and had a blast! Free trips to Mt Wellington among other places. Highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dude! It's so good to get positive feedback such as this. We're so happy we could help you have a a grand old time in Hobart

89%

Lovely hostel. Log fires, large comfortable communal areas, clean dorms. Cheap beers and wines at reception, plus very nice coffees. Easy reach of just about everything plus some little free tours are a nice touch :)

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great free trips, including one to Mt Wellington. Well equipped kitchen, good, free wifi, lots of comfy space

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're very glad to hear you had such a nice stay at The Frog :)

77%

The hostel was not particularly clean. The kitchen was messy. A lot of utensils were broken or unusable. One of the female bathroom downstairs cannot be locked. The shower hooks were very high. No hooks at the toilet upstairs.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome atmosphere, really nice staff, close to town. Awesome place!! :)

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I absolutely hated this hostel, very cold, no heaters, electricity power points work one time on ten...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjor Pierre. I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have the best time at our lovely hostel. As with most things in life - if you let someone know there is a problem they can more often than not fix it for you. If you had let us know about any of the above issues we could certainly have made your stay a lot more to your liking - we have a a whole room of heaters available whenever people ask for them and if we'd been told about any electrical problems we could've fixed that too; problems solved.

100%

Great atmosphere in the hostel. The free activities that they've got planned on certain days was also really helpful for budget backpackers (like the trip to Mt Wellington etc). The fireplaces in the common rooms were superb, and they even had mulled wine available some nights. A really great, warm and friendly hostel!


86%

It was a really enjoyable stay, met lots of people and everyone was really friendly. Clean, spacious common areas, nice kitchen and nice living room, warm hostel and jimmy the guy at the front desk knew exactly what's the best tips. On the down side, the floor is quite noisy when you walk, maybe bringing problems when someone is sleeping. Other than that the general environment of the room area is very quiet, Great hostel

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Extremely friendly and welcoming staff, location is excellent - just a short walk to the centre of Hobart. Kitchen facilities were respectable and lots of free activities were on offer including day trips to Mount Wellington.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel to be in Hobart. It is an older house, with all the pro's and con's it might mean. The bathroom is not really clean, but it could be because of the renovations they were doing while I was there. The location is great. It is just half a block away from the Red Line bus station and you can walk to downtown, Salamanca or the pier (around 10 min.) I would recommend it.


94%

The location of Prickled frog is really convenient. The staff are really nice and they would like to introduce some restaurants and tourist spots to us so we know how to plan our trip. There are lots of facilities to use and play.


91%

Felt right at home here! Great Hostel, comfortable environment, friendly staff, plenty of social communal areas with couches which makes it a lot easier to meet people. Bathroom facilities were above average, overall a great atmosphere and a very comfortable hostel close to the best parts of Hobart. 4.5/5

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(33 results)


View all Hobart Hostels

Please give us your feedback