X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Pickled Frog Reviews

281 Liverpool St, Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
598 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Brilliant friendly atmosphere :) Staff were great! I arrived late and security on the building was good! Definitely recommend it.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a legend you are! Thanks so much for your honest, accurate and amazing review. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime... safe travels :) Cheers, Jimmy

80%

Free internet, good location, easy place to relax


60%

Hostel had some atmosphere and nice staff on the desk. Big comfy lounge/dining area which was ok to chill out and meet people. However. Dorm I stayed in had too many beds in for the size of the room, could barely take 2 steps in the room, no lockers in the rooms, poorly maintained building inside with flaking wallpaper/paint, bathrooms dirty, kitchen cramped and just generally the whole place needs a makeover. Not the kind of place to stay for more than 1 night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear your stay wasn't as amazing as it could've been. If you were unhappy with your room I'm sure we could've moved you if you'd simply let us know - and fixed the issue for future guests. Did you notice the free lockers in the hallway? The makeover is happening so hopefully you'll be a happier soul next time you come and can stay a few more nights...

97%

Staff was excellent, Emily especially.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are excellent! I will pass on your kind words to Emily - it's good to hear she was looking after you so well. Cheers, Jimmy

83%

great hostel, the way you expect it to be


83%

Very good customer service- we had some problems before we checked in but staff went above and beyond to rectify these issues. Free wifi was intermittent at certain times but when it worked it was excellent and you could receive a wifi signal throughout the hostel. There is a nice bar in the lobby with good value beverages. Kitchen had everything you would need including rice cookers, microwave, toaster, blender and mochas. Lots of power ports both in the 3 bed dorm and in the common areas

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Spacious communal areas, bit scruffy but generally clean


71%

Good place. The building is a bit shabby. Very dark inside.


91%

Staff was very friendly, good location. Large common area which is great.


80%

A warm hostel in Hobart, staff were friendly.


77%

Had 2 stays here


89%

The Pickled Frog is conveniently located, with fun wall paintings everywhere. Kitchen is spacious with enough fridges (though someone stole, but that's nice fellow backpackers...), also gets cleaned at least once a day. Showers are spacious and clean. There's plenty of space in common areas and even a TV corner, and the staff is helpful with everything. Some mould at the bathroom walls/ceiling or dust on lamps could do some cleaning though. Wifi is fast enough and available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks very much for taking time to leave us a review! We're glad to hear you had a good stay with us and we'll be sure to get onto the dusting...

77%

Great staff and awesome common area that had a pub feel to it. Kitchen could often get rather cramped though and often there wasn't enough plates, forks etc. Room didn't feel particularly clean and it didn't appear to get cleaned regularly. Would stay again as it seemed to be the best value in Hobart.


80%

NIce hostel. Was unsure why some mattresses were on the floor in some rooms. I guess it may have just been a busy time of year or them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi mate, "nice hostel" cheers - nice review. Yeah, the mattress on the floor was a very temporary thing for a couple of nights to help out some guest who had forgotten to extend their stay when we were full, sorry about that little bit of randomness. I hope everything else was OK...

77%

Great staff and awesome common area that had a pub feel to it. Kitchen could often get rather cramped though and often there wasn't enough plates, forks etc. Room didn't feel particularly clean and it didn't appear to get cleaned regularly. Would stay again as it seemed to be the best value in Hobart.


94%

Good hostel


80%

The room was not big enough for 4 people and their gear. The room and bathroom was extremely basic, like the bedroom the bathroom had little room and not shelving and few hooks to put toiletries. The kitchen had exceptionally little cutlery and that's putting it nicely. It was a friendly welcoming place though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your very concise review. We're not sure what you mean by a basic bathroom (it has sinks, toilets, hot showers etc but we'll do our best to make it more exciting and less basic.) You'll also be happy to know we have re-stocked the cutlery :)

83%

Just a good old fashion backpacker. We just loved it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey, thanks for taking time to leave us a review - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here :) "a good old fashion backpacker" - maybe that could be our new motto?

97%

Awesome atmosphere with many friendly travelers hanging around the many lounge/dining rooms, so it's easy to make friends. Clean rooms and bathrooms and very friendly staff. Only downside is limited carpark spaces so makes it hard if you want to sleep in as on-street parking is free only up to 8am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a legend! Thanks so much for the review mate - we're stoked you had such a good stay with us. We hope the travels are going well...

86%

The staff are great at "the pickled frog". Super happy to help with info on local events and walking tours. The best source of info for anything local next to the airport transfer guy!

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks heaps for the great review! It's good to hear our staff are continuing to look after our lovely guests so well :) Thanks again!

(58 results)


View all Hobart Hostels

Please give us your feedback