X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Pirate Haus Inn and Hostel Reviews

32 Treasury Street, St. Augustine Florida, St Augustine, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very good stay. Pancake breakfast was awesome!


77%

One foreigner made me feel very funny akward with making me like her (that's on me), the facility was very clean, bias towards nonforeigners from one non foreign staff person in particular, ranted and raved about how Naui sucks as a dive program, after I explained that I had been certified by them, scoffed slightly at other stuff I said, not a big deal, mild annoyance

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This person made all the other guests feel uneasy. As a result he was asked to move on and has been banned by both hostels in St. Augustine.

97%

I really enjoyed my stay at this wonderful hostel/bed and breakfast! Conrad and the rest of the staff were very lovely and helpful! Conrad even offered his personal pay card to pay for my parking meter (which I declined). The location is great and so was the breakfast! The pirate pancakes go well with and are as entertaining as the overall pirate theme if this place. I would definitively stay here again!!


94%

Very well located right in the historic district of St Augustine. Very nice staff, good atmosphere also. You can meet people easily. Good breakfast with all you can eat pancakes.


20%

We were turned away because my son is 11 yrs. old and went with Father. I totally don't understand it the pictures on the interenet is very misleading. Having kids all over the place. But, We were turned away....very disappointed.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We loved the Pirate Haus; twas a really fun, cosy hostel in a great location. We got a lovely friendly welcome, lots of tips and local knowledge imparted, a nice spacious dorm room and a fab pancake breakfast cooked for us by the lovely Dennis. Only minor concerns: Door on the dorm didn't lock + no lockers but were assured that neighbourhood was very safe and was usually a staff member about so not too worried. A few minor maintainence issues; use a wrench to flush the loo - no big thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We've fixed the loo and the door lock.

83%

Love this place! Awesome location in the middle of the city and bonus: pancakes for breakfast every morning! Short walk to everything fun. Great staff. Cheap. Awesome.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very mellow place with friendly staff. Great spot to stay close to the action.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

The pancake breakfast is delicious and the guys who run this place are so lovely!


91%

The women's dorm was recently renovated and it was clean and attractive and comfortable. The staff is always helpful and customer oriented. The pancakes and coffee are great! My 2 suggestions for what would make this hostel excellent across the board --- a more welcoming sitting room and a happier staff.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Dennis, the pancake chef is a great guy. Conrad the owner was very accommodating. Michael is an excellent office manager and a cool guy. The Pirate crew is a great group of people, and their establishment is family friendly also. That's rare in hostels. They do go above and beyond to be accommodating and they genuinely care about their guests. You will NOT beat their price or service. They treat you like family. I would definitely return for another stay....hands down. Give them a try!!!

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great breakfast!

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

highly recommend this hostel. It's worth staying here to feel the small but cute St Augustine. The staff rock! They know everything and even walk guests around when they are not busy. would be back some day.


80%

The place and the staff are great, no complaints at all, just DO NOT come here if your a young solo traveller, looking to make new friends. when I stayed here, there were 3 other guests, no one of a similar age, and very few places to drink even if I met people. So basically, if your here with family or something it's great, if your like me. AVOID. The deadest place u stayed in America

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah, st. Augustine is not the party disco place that Miami or New york is. But this is a college town, so if you're willing to go out and meet younger folks, they're out there! But they're local, therefore they don't stay at the hostel.

100%

This is my favorite hostel in the world and each time I stay it just gets better!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for that! We try our best!

83%

Wonderful staff, cooks you pancakes with your name on them for breakfast! Only one bathroom which is a little frustrating so if the hostel was actually full it would be more difficult. The person who checked me in was a little strange/rude but everyone else was really great and accommodating. Ideal for single travelers or families.


74%

The hostility amongst the staff was palpable, making for an awkward stay at times. Excellent location and great pancakes for brekky!


89%

The Conrad is the best.


91%

This was my second time staying there. A short visit this time, but it still had all the character and quality I remember from 10 years ago. A must stay in St. Augustine.


97%

The Pirate Haus is everything I think a hostel should be : a homy place that connects people. Dorms are comfy and clean, the location is great and on top of that the staff is excellent : John the manager was really helpful and I enjoyed chatting and spending some time with him, and Denis the man who cooks pancakes with your name on them is the kindest person on earth!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all St Augustine Hostels

Please give us your feedback