X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Point Mancora Beach Reviews

Right on the beach of playa El Amor, Mancora, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
164 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Great facilities and very clean hostel. Quiet when we was there but has potential to have great atmosphere! Downside is a short walk from main part of town and should use tuk tuk, not safe to walk it! Avoid the food on site was pretty terrible!


91%

I planned on staying in Mancora 2 nights,but after checking into the point it felt like home and I stayed for 2 weeks! Great staff and outside pool bar! One of my highlights of South America! Check it out.


89%

Great hostel with a nice bar and swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and always made sure there was activities going on day and night. It's also right on the beach! A must stay!


37%

Good hostel. Pool, volley ball. Bar. But so far out of town and Mancora is not a safe place especially near the point when there is only one way in and one way out. So if u want to party in town or do anything in town heading back to the point is not safe and almost life threatening.


31%

What ever you do DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!! Stay at Loki or somewhere else central instead, it is much safer and in the instance of Loki, the staff were more helpful and the facilities were better (even though we didn't stay there they still helped us out). When we were mugged just up the road from The Point, we ran back and told them what happened and the staff coundn't have been more indifferent towards the situation. They wouldn't even call the police for us!! STAY AWAY!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very sorry you had such a bad experience while staying at our hostel. Our hostel is very safe, but the roads and beaches in Mancora are not safe after dark. We advise all of our guests to take a mototaxi to town (very cheap, only 3 soles) after sundown. There are an even higher number of police reports of muggings outside of Loki, as many undesirables hang out in front of the downtown hostels to harass guests. We always inform the police of any incidents, but they often do little to help.

66%

We stayed for 5 nights in this time 2 nights people were robbed at knife point within 2 blocks of the hostel!! It is not safe day or night. The staff are too relaxed letting locals in at night, they give you no indication it isnt safe. The food and pool is nice but not worth the risk. Stay at the Loki it has nice facilities, on the beach in the middle of town. Or just skipp Mancora and head north!!!


97%

Really great stay here, definitely recommend to any type of traveller. A chill here is just what we needed after a long stint on buses. Everyone really friendly. Even though it wasn't peak season during our stay, staff got everyone involved in socialising. Food is excellent. Everywhere is constantly being cleaned too. Location isn't that close to town, but tuk tuks are always outside the hostel so you can get there for 3 soles in a couple of minutes or walk along the beach in the day!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The best place to stay in Mancora. The staff is amazing... Becca, Tereza, Isaac, Manu, Florian, Fer ... they go out of their way to be your friend. Great environment to meet other travelers. I wish I could've stayed longer.


69%

When my partner and i arrived the hostel didnt even have our reservation. We Charged more than was advertised. The staff then tried to say that the reservation which was made for 2 only had a discount rate for one person so we ended up having to pay to the deposit fee we already had paid through the hostelworld website.


86%

Loved this place! Really nice pool to laze around, good bar




View all Mancora Hostels

Please give us your feedback