X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Producers Hotel Reviews

235 Grenfell Street, Adelaide, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 54%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 45%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

this is an absolutely disgusting hostel. I very rarely write reviews, however after making the mistake myself and not reading the reviews on this hostel, i feel it is important to advise NOBODY TO STAY HERE. do not be fooled by the decorated bar down stairs, the rooms/kitchen/bathroom facilities of the hostel is gross. dorms of 4 or 6 are seperated from eachother by BED LINEN, in addition to no lockers, so a complete lack of security of belongings. holes in the floor, mould everywhere.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

It is terrible place,never been in the such place since Soviet times in Russia!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was great, the staff were really friendly and the location was amazing, I would definitely stay here again. The only problem was it got really cold in our room at night time and the kitchen and bathrooms needed a clean. Apart from that though it was great! We really enjoyed our stay


83%

No available car parking was a nuisance.


54%

The best thing about the stay was the manager's personality. The rooms were dirty and the bathrooms worse. There is nowhere to park during the day and the booking system was a mess. The location is pretty good but only if you want to party.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The building itself is lovely with a great balcony and a huge beer garden out the back. However, the upkeep of the building has clearly been lacking since there were massive holes in the floors, sinks hanging off the walls, fire escape map is inaccurate, no window in my room and my dorm of 4 was actually attached to a 6 room dorm resulting in a 10 room dorm. Cheap & cheerful but cheap is the correct word

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

The worst place ever! Booked a private room and was given a key to a discusting dorm! Was then told they don't have private rooms! Dirty beds, plugs hanging off the wall, a sheet dividing from the room! The list goes on! Basically it looked like a crack den! DONT STAY THERE


86%

I had a really good stay at The Producers! Stayed for about a week and the staff was so friendly and nice! Free wifi when you ask for the password, no bedbugs at all and I also got the room for myself the whole time (stayed in a 4 dorm) definitely worth the value of money and would come back again! Very good hostel!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Pros: Friendly staff Great location Cheapest hostel we have found in Oz Cons: Staff disorganised Kitchen filthy and barely cleaned. Washing up left for over a week at a time and kitchen not cleaned for probably a fortnight. One guest we met cleaned the kitchen completely because the staff simply weren't doing it. In the kitchen there is no stove (only a microwave) and no space. Never any clean crockery to use. Bathroom was also dirty. Only one toilet for girls. Very noisy due to bar

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is in a good position, it has a big club inside! The atmosphere is positive and the reception is located in the pub. The biggest problem is that there is no kitchen! There is a room with a fridge and microwave but no stove top, you can not cook! The rooms and bathroom are not very clean and there are only 2 showers, one cold water! The staff is very friendly but disorganized.


34%

Cockroaches, bed bugs, garbage piles on the hallways. No doors between some of the rooms, the kitchen was dirty and the showers were almost as dirty as well. The city council's health inspectors didn't like very much what I told them about the hostel. The only good thing is that I got a refund after showing all the bed bug bites to the staff members.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is the first complaint that we have had of this in the entire time that the Producers Hotel has been running. Having had the Health Inspectors out and the building certified that there is no chance of them ever having been here or are currently here - we are pleased to report that the Producers is bed bug free. I'm sorry if you didn't have the best time here and we hope that you enjoy the remain of your stay in Australia.

60%

Nice Hostel for the price. Rooms are clean and new Bathrooms and common areas need some work or just a good clean. Great location Only issue was hard to find staff the next morning to check out.


29%

Very bad hostel, rooms are dirty, personal is unfriendly, a lot of bed bugs, check out just possible after 8 o´clock, dirty toillets...all in all my worsest experience ever!!


57%

This is a cheap place and you get what you pay for. I actually love the house and its a shame they havent done more to it. For the security, there are no locks any where and no lockers (except in the foom with the sheets). Its a bit dirty but the house is old and hard to clean. I love the balcony. For the money i spent it was okey but i wouldnt stay for a long time.


100%

i stayed here from the 5th-8th feb and it was brilliant, really nice and clean, and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. Wish I could of stayed longer, would definitely go back. Great value for money too!


91%

Excellent hostel with a lot of flair! Nice staff and no problems at all. Relatively new beds with clean sheets and rooms. Nice balcony to hang out and chill. Would totally recommend to go there. Worth the money!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Adelaide Hostels

Please give us your feedback