Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Purple House International Backpackers' Hostel Reviews

Avenida Sexta Oesta y Calle C Sur, atras de la Camara de Comercio, David City, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained


62 Total Reviews
  • 47%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Well i cant say that a cosy feeling came up when we arrived to purple hostel... It appears a bit dirty and messed up. It was the most expensive hostel on this trip and the worst :/ at least the staff is really friendly and breakfast (sweeeeeet porridge) is included. Would be okay for less money

Owner Comment (Hide)
These guests showed up 7 hours after their requested check-in time, so they lost their original dorm reservation. They took the only room that we had available which was our most expensive private room, and they weren't happy that they had to pay the difference It was a perfectly clean room as always. We assume their negative comments are due to hard feelings since they had to pay more. Purple House is one of the best values in Panama and we are clean! Special low walk in prices too!

View all David City Hostels

Please give us your feedback