Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Purple Pig

  • 84001 Ios - Mylopotas, Cyclades, Ios, Greece

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
The Purple Pig Located at 84001 Ios - Mylopotas, Cyclades, Ios.
The Purple Pig
Greece
Ios 84001 Ios - Mylopotas, Cyclades
82% 182
36.7157698 25.2928662
The Purple Pig
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

George is the best!! Had such a good time here and definitely recommend to anyone! Good location and good food and good drinks !! Do it !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
8.6

Welcomed with shots of raki which was great, everyone was super friendly. Awesome location (staggering distance to the beach and a short 1.80€ bus ride into town), Rooms and bathrooms were clean but had to have a cold shower. A little loud at night but that probably had more to do with iOS being a party island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
6.6

A great location, and if you're looking for a place to base yourself and little more it works well. The rooms are very basic, with very little security, and the toilet smelt strange for most of our stay. The staff are friendly, but very hard to find, meaning we had to try and find them to check both in and out. I'd recommend if you're planning on doing little more than crashing somewhere, but not if you plan on spending time there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
7.1

Not too bad overall. Would recommend staying closer to city centre if you want the night life but only across the road from the beach. No kitchen facilities food on the island isn't overly cheap to afford eating our for the duration of your stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
6.6

Awesome location right on The main beach. Really good food at the bar, just never more than a couple of people there so hard to meet others if travelling alone. Beds were spacious and comfy and we had a huge balcony which was great, except the room was literally crawling with ants. The toilet didn't work when we first arrived and then twice more but the staff fixed it. Wifi didn't reach to the rooms, just outside the main reception area, even then it wasn't great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2016
7.4

Everything at this hostel was great besides from the atmosphere. As I was a solo traveller I kind of rely on common areas and people in my dorm to make friends however I was placed in a four person dorm room by myself for nearly my entire stay. The place was very tidy and George the bartender was awesome! I would go back with friends but wouldn't recommend staying here if you're travelling alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Great location! Far out beach club just down the road and all the watersports and sun beds on the beach just a few minutes around the corner. Busses going into town regularly and the walk home while pissed isn't too bad either. George (I think his name was) is such a great guy. Very helpful and fun to chat to. Affordable breaky and drinks. Clean pool and Sunbeds. The rooms and very basic and the bathrooms could use a bit of work but overall my stay was great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Staff such great people and so helpful with everything that happened while we were there. Went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. Thank you for everything guys 😊. Plus super convientant location 😍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
6.9

Wifi was non existent during 9am till 12 at midnight as it could handle about 1 person on it at a time. Staff were great and the bar and food was both cheap and delicious. Location PERFECT No vibe whatsoever even though the space was available, the common area was mostly filled with old drunk campers it seemed. Shower had 0 water coming out of it, when it did it was cold. One of the lights didn't work. The door didn't lock when we got there, but this was fixed in 30min of notification

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.1

George and Maria are the best! They are constantly going out of their way to help everyone and are so lovely to sit and have a chat with. You will be facebook buddies by the end of your stay :) The location is great, right by the beach and the rooms are far enough away from the bar so you can get a good nights sleep if you wish! I will definitely be coming back next year :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.