Hostelworld.com

The Ritz for Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
75% 688
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

This is a really nice hostel with a great atmosphere & really friendly easy-going staff. It's in an amazing location, close to the beach but easy to get to the city centre as well with a tram stop right outside. The rooms are really clean & spacious, everyone has loads of space to put their stuff unlike some other hostels and the common areas are pretty decent. It's a really fun & sociable hostel to stay in :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
10.0

after long time around cent kilda I found the best hostel to stay for long period cheap good stuff like friends makes you feel home very clean ! perfect atmosphere ... :) free pancake !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Great atmosphere! Not the best location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.3

Really good value for money! Free rice and pasta, free wifi and free pancakes in the morning! Less than a 10 minute walk from the beach! Was clean enough but not the cleanest, would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
10.0

I had an awesome time here. Thank you for the free barbecue!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
9.4

Pretty Good Hostel. Good Price, Friendly Staff and Comfortable Bed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
9.4

Good atmosphere, people share between them so you don't feel excluded, good breakfast, the staff working there is very helpful and try to do everything possible to help, they try to make you feel like home. They always try to keep everything clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2016
8.0

Not a party hostel but good for a base in at kilda. Good free pancake breaakfast and the twin room was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2016
5.4

I was disappointed. The hostel was dirty, staff unhelpful, many of the facilities listed were not available. A major issue was no air conditioning. It was the strangest hostel I've ever stayed in as there are so many long term guests, no one speaks to each other. Yes, it's a great location and a fair enough price but if I was going back to the area, I wouldn't stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2016
6.0

Booked for one night but they cancelled at the last moment saying that there had been a bed mix up. I was there long enough to see that its location is good and staff seemed friendly. But I really can't comment on much else :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.