Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
81% 821
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

This is a nice hostel. It is a bit of a party hostel, one night the music was incredibly loud until around midnight, but the atmosphere is nice. I did not socialize since I had friends in the area, but it looks like lots of guests were hanging by the common room and the pub downstairs. The location is a good 10 min walk from the beach and the walk at night is not great, lots of homeless people. The tram stops by the hostel and it's great, takes you in 15 minutes to Federation Square.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Nice stay at the Ritz. Stayed in a 4-bed dorm, was basic but could have been a bit cleaner. Security lockers not great- only 1 out of 4 lockers in my room worked. Room was on first floor but was quiet, didn't hear pub below and I stayed over NYE. Kitchen small and crowded, but plenty of showers/toilets which were clean. Lots of people who work staying the hostel. Good location, really close to tram stop an 15 min walk to beach. Staff great. Would probably stay here again if on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

Couldn't of asked for a better Xmas , everyone such good fun and on the same wave length including the staff. Had the best times there and would say to stay here over anywhere else going .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.1

Great location and friendly staff who worked hard to keep the place nice and tidy. Merry Christmas 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.4

love this place great atmosphere, sofas and a pool table in the lobby and nights on every night (wine and cheese, beer pong etc). Great kitchen with free pancakes for breakfast. Helpful staff. Right outside a tram stop and near the train station. Can walk to the beach and loads of bars/restaurants. Near Luna park and the pier as well. Room was never locked and no lockers but not really an issue

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Couldn't rate this place higher, felt so at home straight away even with long stay guests. Great location, right next to the tram line and a short walk to the beach and park. The hostel was constantly being cleaned and felt so comfortable. Good kitchen facilities, never an issue trying to cook. Free pasta, rice and food/activity nights were a great bonus topped off by friendly staff! Would definitely go back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.3

It`s a nice hostel but the "free" wifi is limited, the loud house keeping starts sometimes before 9 am right in front of your door and the offered specials are only available if you are early, but it`s not enough for everyone. Pasta Night started half an hour earlier, but no one told you this. "Breakfast", which means pancake dough, ends earlier sometimes too. The atmosphere is nice and it`s really close to the city, but it`s still too expensive and I would say not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
5.4

The duvet and the pillow had never ever been washed, they were yellow and smelt terible. Clean linen just does not cover that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Nov 2016
7.1

My boyfriend and I were put in seperate rooms which was a bit annoying. Mine was okay but my boyfriends room stank and it was really messy. It's a friendly hostel, most people are working rather than travelling but they all are open to having conversations etc. The kitchen is tiny but it didn't get too busy. Good location, right on a tram stop. Overall good for the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my time at the Ritz, on a back packer budget things like the free pancakes and pasta really helped. The wifi isn't amazing as you have a really small daily allowance, one Skype home and it's gone! But I made friends easily here, and it's a good location, only a 15 min walk to st Kilda beach or a half an hour tram into central Melbourne. Overall enjoyed it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.