X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Ritz for Backpackers Reviews

169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
592 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Amazing hostel! If it was a little cheaper, I would have probably rated higher- I think Australia in a whole is to blame. I will definitely come back and recommend to anyone hesitant

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

To stay at Ritz Hostel was a very good decision. It was the best way to start in Melbourne here, I got in touch with lots of people, probably 90 % was german :) It is a very safe place and everyone in very friendly and helps you. And its really not to loud there.. I enjoyed the free pancake breakfast and also the free wine and cheese night and it was perfect.. so try it out by your own :) you will love it

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Most of the other guests were 19-21 and acted accordingly.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

If you are looking for fun and party, here you go, especially on weekend. A bit noisy if u are a person who will sleep early, party normally stop at mid night~ Very easy to go st kilda beach. Pub or bar are all near around. Everything is clean ~


57%

Sooooo noisy! First night house party until 5 a.m. (Friday) second night we felt like sleeping on the subwoofer of the pub in the ground floor. Music did not stop until 5 a.m. as well. The third night we could finally get some sleep in the uncomfortable bed where you could feel every spring of the mattress. To make the short night complete, the staff started vacuuming at 8 a.m. in the morning - every day!! WHY???? Pancakes for breakfast were tasty but could not make up for three bad nights. :-(

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location but bed mattress was old and uncomfortable. Could feel every spring. Pancake breakfast was appreciated and a nice touch.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I have stayed in many hostels

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The Ritz would have to be the best backpackers accommodation that I have stayed in around Melbourne. It was conveniently close to nightlife including some great bars, lounges, cafes and restaurants. The rooms were clean and the staff were great. The bathrooms were also kept clean during our stay and I enjoyed the privacy! Staff were also great. There was a lot of noise coming from the pub downstairs but this was not an issue for us!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Very social, staff are great, free breky (pancakes) tea and coffee, security code needed of an evening to get back into the building so felt safe! We want to come back!!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Such a nice hostel! And definitely the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. It felt so safe in there, unfortunately this backfired a bit. People felt so safe that they were leaving their doors open and someone walked in off the street and stole an iPad and some money, but the staff are working on extra security. So much free stuff as well. Free wifi, free pancake breakfast every day! Free wine and cheese night, free BBQ night! And alcohol is allowed!


86%

This place is excellent, apart from the fact that the internet hardly works, and if it does, it takes 2 years to open a web page. THIS IS A SERIOUS DEAL BREAKER CONSIDERING WE LIVE IN 2014!!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

NOISY! Party hostel. Short walk to the beach and restaurants/bars. Recommend you stay out until 2-3am because you won't be able to sleep anyways.


74%

Great hostel, although quite clicky as a lot of people were long-termers!


77%

Found most travellers stayed here long term. Some staff members working at night weren't too helpful on the other hand some staff members were helpful. Overall was ok place to stay, easy access to the beach.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback