Hostelworld.com

The Ritz for Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 733 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 733 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
84% 733
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

It was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
9.7

Great value for money, we even got money and drinks from a trivia a few blocks (organised by the hostel). Perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

great hostel with great facilities. love the atmosphere there. staff is extremely friendly. would go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
10.0

Overall experience was great. Awesome location overlooking the park with a tram stop into the city right as you step out the door. Staff were friendly and very easy going. Facilities were great along with room conditions in tip top shape. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
8.0

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm. absolutely fantastic. So spacious. Beds were comfy. Staff and guests were friendly. Little on edge about the fact that the door didn't lock, so was worried about my things but luckily nothing was stolen and lockers were available if needed. lots of free food opportunities. Located right next to a tram stop. Great price for what you got. Definitely would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
10.0

The Ritz for Backpackers has made my stay in St Kilda more than amazing! I supposed to stay there just one night but ended up staying 4! Wish I could stay there longer tho! The staff welcomes you from the beginning and they make you feel like home! I enjoyed free activities like BBQ which was totally for free! I met awesome travellers during my stay and I could definitely recommend the Ritz for any other backpackers! See you soon guys :) adios!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel in Australia so far ! Me and my girl friend have been in Australia for 5 months all up the east coast so trust me. I have been at the hostel for a few weeks and it has been awesome ! The staff are super friendly and they provide two free meals per week as well as free pancakes , rice & pasta everyday . Melbourne is coming into winter but the hostel is warm and comfortable with live coverage of sports everyday . Would 100% recommend this place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.6

I love the Ritz! Friendly staff, great people and nice activities. There is always something going on. The location is perfect, too. PLUS FREE PANCAKES :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2016
8.6

Free towels! Clean facilities, but the kitchen is way too small for the amount of people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.7

Casual spot for young backpackers. Near some nice restaurants and bars, and an easy tram ride to the city. Does get noisy on Friday nights because of music from the nearby bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.