Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
86% 777
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vocko
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.4

The hostel is quite big with a lot of people but it has quite a few showers and toilets which were overall clean. No significant problems with waiting for a shower. A kitchen reaches boundaries of its capacity in a peak times when everyone goes there for breakfast or dinner. It has nice common areas with a tv and a billiard. It is close to the St. Kilda beach and takes about 15 minutes by tram or 30-40 minutes by walk to reach the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
6.9

There was mold on our ceiling and chipping plaster on some of the walls. The kitchen was large, but people often didn't clean up after themselves. Everyone seemed to be sick. The bathrooms were nice however and were cleaned daily. There was also great hostel-wide events like pasta night and wine/cheese night. The neighborhood (St. Kilda) is nice, near the beach and full of great restaurants. But it does take a 20 minute tram ride to get to the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel to meet people and base your stay in Melbourne. Kitchen and common areas are nice and big.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2016
7.4

In total a good hostel. But it is very expensive for what You get. I booked it because of the free wifi, but it is only 500 mb for a day. Not enough for watching a film or something like this. The staff is so unfriendly and you can hear the beats and music from the bar until 2 am. The breakfast is selfmade pencakes, I liked that. The hostel is very big and I think good if you want to make party. But if you only want a nice place to stay i would recomend to look for another cheaper hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.0

Had lots of fun here. Very social. You can bring in your own alcohol. Some rooms stunk, there was quite a bit of mold in the building, which made my lungs feel awful. There is a bar underneath that plays bass heavy music all of Sunday. Staff were really friendly, except for the manager; it seemed like he hated his job. The "free pancakes" were just batter you had to cook yourself. Had lots of fun here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.9

A little outdated, and never any pancake batter in the morning (guests making 5 or more each means others don't get any), but otherwise a good place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.9

The staff we're super friendly & helpful and location was great - just a short walk to St.Kilda beach & pier. Beds were really comfortable, clean and warm for winter. I was put in an apartment dorm with no lockers and the door was pretty much always open. It was also messy from long-termers and dirty. The apartment bathroom and kitchen had not had a proper clean in a LONG time. Communal showers were ok. Didn't use the communal kitchen but seemed quite busy. Atmosphere ok - a bit clique-y.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.6

Staff very helpful and friendly. Would definately recomnend this hostel, everything you need within a close distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.1

Staff where friendly in arrival, helped with finding car parking as everywhere is metered.. Good location as there is a bar literally underneath with some good bands on easy access to the CBD! The rooms where alright we had a private room but once we went to bed you where unable to lock it from the inside which we found strange. Very loud traffic and the beds very uncomfortable but overall good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Overall it was fine, but if you are the type of traveller who likes to buy groceries and cook for themselves, do not stay here.... It was a huge hostel and only one kitchen for everyone there, it was always crazy busy and lacking enough equipment for everyone. The hostel was cleaned all the time which was nice, however there was mold on our ceiling. Our room was cold but had a heater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.