Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
86% 769
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Aug 2016
7.4

In total a good hostel. But it is very expensive for what You get. I booked it because of the free wifi, but it is only 500 mb for a day. Not enough for watching a film or something like this. The staff is so unfriendly and you can hear the beats and music from the bar until 2 am. The breakfast is selfmade pencakes, I liked that. The hostel is very big and I think good if you want to make party. But if you only want a nice place to stay i would recomend to look for another cheaper hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.9

A little outdated, and never any pancake batter in the morning (guests making 5 or more each means others don't get any), but otherwise a good place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.9

The staff we're super friendly & helpful and location was great - just a short walk to St.Kilda beach & pier. Beds were really comfortable, clean and warm for winter. I was put in an apartment dorm with no lockers and the door was pretty much always open. It was also messy from long-termers and dirty. The apartment bathroom and kitchen had not had a proper clean in a LONG time. Communal showers were ok. Didn't use the communal kitchen but seemed quite busy. Atmosphere ok - a bit clique-y.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.6

Staff very helpful and friendly. Would definately recomnend this hostel, everything you need within a close distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Overall it was fine, but if you are the type of traveller who likes to buy groceries and cook for themselves, do not stay here.... It was a huge hostel and only one kitchen for everyone there, it was always crazy busy and lacking enough equipment for everyone. The hostel was cleaned all the time which was nice, however there was mold on our ceiling. Our room was cold but had a heater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Amazing place! The staff are lovely and friendly and helpful, and the beds are pretty decent. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.1

This is a great little chilled hostel... Perfect for long termers, easy to sleep and quite safe. Laundry was cheap and it seemed to strike the right balance between party and chilled 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is clean and the facilities are ok. The problem was that we had long term guest living in our room. They were untidy and disrespectful, the room was dirty and there was no space for our stuff. I recommend to ask for a room with only short term roommates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel! Staff are friendly and very helpful, offered to print my cvs. Atmosphere is warm n laid-back. Activities on every night,opp. for free food n beer! People are friendly and v sound! My room is modern, clean, comfy n v spacious. Wardrobe,lockers,shelves,long mirrors,high ceiling and big window. Whole place kept v clean. WiFi works everywhere. Cool smoking area. Great location, beside tram and big shop. Cool neighborhood. Great value for money! :-) only thing is room doesn't lock?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.0

very nice hostel in a good location! Definitely check on 29th Apartment which is a bar down the road, especially on Wednesday's! The staff were very helpful and made our stay here lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.