Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
81% 802
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Couldn't rate this place higher, felt so at home straight away even with long stay guests. Great location, right next to the tram line and a short walk to the beach and park. The hostel was constantly being cleaned and felt so comfortable. Good kitchen facilities, never an issue trying to cook. Free pasta, rice and food/activity nights were a great bonus topped off by friendly staff! Would definitely go back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.3

It`s a nice hostel but the "free" wifi is limited, the loud house keeping starts sometimes before 9 am right in front of your door and the offered specials are only available if you are early, but it`s not enough for everyone. Pasta Night started half an hour earlier, but no one told you this. "Breakfast", which means pancake dough, ends earlier sometimes too. The atmosphere is nice and it`s really close to the city, but it`s still too expensive and I would say not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
5.4

The duvet and the pillow had never ever been washed, they were yellow and smelt terible. Clean linen just does not cover that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
7.1

My boyfriend and I were put in seperate rooms which was a bit annoying. Mine was okay but my boyfriends room stank and it was really messy. It's a friendly hostel, most people are working rather than travelling but they all are open to having conversations etc. The kitchen is tiny but it didn't get too busy. Good location, right on a tram stop. Overall good for the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my time at the Ritz, on a back packer budget things like the free pancakes and pasta really helped. The wifi isn't amazing as you have a really small daily allowance, one Skype home and it's gone! But I made friends easily here, and it's a good location, only a 15 min walk to st Kilda beach or a half an hour tram into central Melbourne. Overall enjoyed it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.4

Hi there, I stayed two times for two night at the ritz. I choose the ritz a second time because of the perfect location St. Kilda. Tram station, Woolworth and bikes for rent are close to the hostel. The staff does everything to help you! I wrote them a lot of mails with different requires. They were answering anytime within 30 minutes!!!! Fantastic!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Oct 2016
6.0

The location was good, easy walk to st kilda pier and shops, and opposite tram stop into CBD. The 5 bed room felt abit cramped. The bathrooms were okay but sometimes only cold water. It was annoying that some bathrooms were closed for cleaning in busy periods ie morning. The kitchen and living area were again okay but quite small for the number of people staying there. Good clothes washing facilities and a nice pub underneath.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
5.1

Floors in room had not been cleaned in some time. A little bit dusty. Staff quite friendly and helpful. Seemed to be a lot of people living in the hostel rather than travelling. Bit cliquey. TV blaring til 1am both nights. Ask not to be put near smoking terrace. People jump down from it and it makes the loudest noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
9.7

One line. Q) Would I book again if needed. A) YES. Amazingly courteous and helpful staff. Area of improvement: Less shelf space in the kitchen. Guests need to cooperate to maintain the kitchen better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel is really nice. But I would change the pancakes for something more healthy. Everything was very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.