Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
The Ritz for Backpackers Located at 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne.
The Ritz for Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach
87% 746
-37.8580323 144.9806284
The Ritz for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Overall it was fine, but if you are the type of traveller who likes to buy groceries and cook for themselves, do not stay here.... It was a huge hostel and only one kitchen for everyone there, it was always crazy busy and lacking enough equipment for everyone. The hostel was cleaned all the time which was nice, however there was mold on our ceiling. Our room was cold but had a heater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is clean and the facilities are ok. The problem was that we had long term guest living in our room. They were untidy and disrespectful, the room was dirty and there was no space for our stuff. I recommend to ask for a room with only short term roommates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel! Staff are friendly and very helpful, offered to print my cvs. Atmosphere is warm n laid-back. Activities on every night,opp. for free food n beer! People are friendly and v sound! My room is modern, clean, comfy n v spacious. Wardrobe,lockers,shelves,long mirrors,high ceiling and big window. Whole place kept v clean. WiFi works everywhere. Cool smoking area. Great location, beside tram and big shop. Cool neighborhood. Great value for money! :-) only thing is room doesn't lock?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.0

very nice hostel in a good location! Definitely check on 29th Apartment which is a bar down the road, especially on Wednesday's! The staff were very helpful and made our stay here lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
8.0

Pros: clean, cheap, good wifi that is free and works all the time, lots of bathrooms and toilets, social activities, easy place to meet other travellers. Cons, not lots of cooking facilities so do have to wait to cook, noisy outside, no lock on the door Overall it's a good stay where you can meet nice people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Lived in a few hostels after this but Ritz was the best by a long shot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

Was excited to stay here based on all the positive reviews, but was very disappointed on the cleanliness front. Perhaps it was because of all the long-term folks staying there, but the place was filthy and poorly maintained (walls flaking, wads of hair and dirt all over the bathroom, etc.). Public spaces were cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

It was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
9.7

Great value for money, we even got money and drinks from a trivia a few blocks (organised by the hostel). Perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

great hostel with great facilities. love the atmosphere there. staff is extremely friendly. would go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.