Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
6.9

This is a cheap, party hostel - if thats what you're after, its great. Decent facilities, its regularly cleaned but a bit shabby. Free pasta and pancakes every day and lots of fun events on every evening. Very loud in the evenings, especially weekend, as its above a busy pub with live music every night. However above all else, its CHEAP. Location a bit of a pain unless what you want to do is in St. Kilda, 20 min tram to the city which can get tiresome if you're doing it multiple times a day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Room lovely and great atmosphere. Long term crowd staying so always a friendly vibe. Bathrooms/toilets a bit run down could really have done with some TLC. Main issue was the kitchen - dreaded having to cook. Surfaces and tables and floor always dirty, about 3 cups in the whole place, SO MANY dirty dishes in the sink. Know it's not hostels responsibility but does reflect badly on them and it was horrendous. Pots left all day, sinks blocked up etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.0

not a bad hostel a little dirty but not terrible. lot of people looking for work so not a really good place to meet people. not unhappy but not happy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.1

With so much free stuff included the Ritz is a great value for your money. There are pancakes in the morning, rice and pasta whenever you want, and a themed night every day of the week (we were there for wine and cheese night and BBQ night). The staff are super nice and helpful. Our room had an inward facing window that didn't open but there were two fans included which kept us cool. See if there are any myki cards left behind by others before you buy your own like we did. Overall a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

Awesome place, people were great and friendly would stay there anytime

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
5.1

The guy who was on reception was particularly rude. When we arrived he showed us our room, but nothing else didn't give us a tour or check out time or even offer us any help as to where to go or anything. When we asked the girl on reception later on where the kitchen was she was lovely and told us everything we needed to know. When it came to check out the guy behind reception was very rude, again didn't offer us any help or say thankyou or anything. Could be a good hostel 1 person let it down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Very happy. Great staff and a very good atmosphere in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

This is a nice hostel. It is a bit of a party hostel, one night the music was incredibly loud until around midnight, but the atmosphere is nice. I did not socialize since I had friends in the area, but it looks like lots of guests were hanging by the common room and the pub downstairs. The location is a good 10 min walk from the beach and the walk at night is not great, lots of homeless people. The tram stops by the hostel and it's great, takes you in 15 minutes to Federation Square.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Nice stay at the Ritz. Stayed in a 4-bed dorm, was basic but could have been a bit cleaner. Security lockers not great- only 1 out of 4 lockers in my room worked. Room was on first floor but was quiet, didn't hear pub below and I stayed over NYE. Kitchen small and crowded, but plenty of showers/toilets which were clean. Lots of people who work staying the hostel. Good location, really close to tram stop an 15 min walk to beach. Staff great. Would probably stay here again if on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

Couldn't of asked for a better Xmas , everyone such good fun and on the same wave length including the staff. Had the best times there and would say to stay here over anywhere else going .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.