Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
5.4

very cold in general, needs heating for the winter time. Atmosphere not the best as most of the people staying there have been staying there for many weeks and are very cliquey so not ideal for people wanting to stay for a few nights, as not a nice surrounding for us. Staff are pretty vague and don't really care that much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

The Ritz was a great first place to stop on my East Coast trip. Staff were super friendly, beds pretty comfy, showers good, close walking distance to everything in St Kilda and tram to CBD on your doorstep! Free pancakes are a nice touch too :) would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for this perfect score! It was a pleasure having you here and our staff really appreciates your kind words. We wish you the best on your trip around Australia and we can't wait to see you again. Kind Regards from the Ritz Backpackers family :)

  • blythmuir
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
7.1

We found The Ritz to have a strange atmosphere, it seemed as if alot of the people there were long termers, not many people interacted. We stayed in a 3 bed room which was ok, noisy due to the smoking area outside but this stopped just after 10pm. The upstairs toilets/showers were set up weird, the toilets had no sink, so if someone was in the shower you could not wash your hands. Overall it was ok. Great location for St Kilda. Right on the tram stop which was a huge bonus. Free pancakes too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. We are surprised to hear you did not interact that much with the other guests. People in here are like a big family and everyone is more than welcome, the group grows more and more every week with new people. Sometimes when travelling like you in little groups people tend to get more comfortable with themselves and not interacting that much with the others. Otherwise it's nice to see you enjoyed the location and the place in general. Let us know if you are coming back, we'll make sure this time you get to know everybody! Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

15th Jun 2017
8.3

Bathrooms are alright. Beds are alright, some are a bit squeaky. Kitchen can be a bit crowded around meal times. There is a wifi limit, 500mbs/day/device. Atmosphere is good, people are friendly. Close to St. Kilda beach, St. Kilda junction tram station, close to Albert Park if you like working out, and not too far from Southern Cross. The long termers usually work at Chapel st., So they might be able to help you find work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment. We do have super high speed internet and 500mbs is usually enough for the daily running of checking emails and so on, although a 24 hours free internet computer is located on the second floor for those who need a bit extra. Our location is a plus as well and we are glad you got to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the area and the great vibe of the hostel. Safe travels and see you soon! Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

31st May 2017
9.7

Rooms are nice - space heater works well and nice to have table/dresser/drawer space. Bathrooms are clean - only thing that didn't seem as clean were the kitchen floors, but probably was just sticky from syrup getting mopped up on the floor ... because there are free pancakes every morning between 8-10 am! And they have a special every day of the week (practically), including a free BBQ on Friday nights. Parking is sort of hard to find nearby - about a 10 minute walk for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thanks for the lovely review. We are very happy to see you had such a positive experience in here. Our cleaning team works very hard to keep the place tidy and clean although the kitchen is one of the busiest most sociable areas in the hostel, they do their best. Nice to know you got to enjoy most of our freebies: pasta night, wine and cheese, bbq... We hope your next visit is around the corner! Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2017
6.9

Too noisy. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Cleaners staff are a bit rude

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time and give us some info about your stay. We are truly sorry to read that statement about our cleaning staff were not very friendly, they work very hard people have to follow the house rules so they can do their job properly. Regarding the noise we do clear all of the common areas at 23.00h although the streets can be noisy in the weekend since we are located on a main road. However we are delighted to know you have some nice feedback about the front desk staff. Hope you give us another chance during your next time in Melbourne. Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

27th May 2017
8.9

You gotta love those late nights parties and those drunk people ! Don't go there if you have a light sleep !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment. We are you enjoyed the social atmosphere of the place and carry good memories about the hostel. However this is a place for everyone and sleep is guarantee since our common areas are closed at 11pm. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Cheers from Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th May 2017
6.6

Stayed here for 3 nights. I booked into a 4 bed room but was upgraded to a 3 bed dorm where there were no other guests so it wasn't a very social occasion. The room hadn't been cleaned since the previous guests had checked out though thankfully there was one bed that hadn't been slept in. The facilities were okay with a decent sized kitchen.Plenty of people lingering around on the weekend so easy to meet people. Overall an okay stay but I wouldn't rush back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time and leave us some feedback about your stay. We checked your reservation and during your stay the room has constantly host other guests, that's why you just find a clean bed at your arrival, yours. Regarding your roommates, maybe you were unlucky not to see them, but the whole hostel experience is always found outside the rooms :) Regarding the cleaning, we are truly sorry to hear you did not find everything in place in your room, next time let reception know so we can fix it straight away. Kind Regards from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
5.4

There was a very strange atmosphere here. Hardly anyone was friendly -so not the best start for our first hostel in Australia. There was a huge divide between smokers and non smokers non smokers sitting outside all night in a tiny space so it was difficult to either get outside to meet people. Was not shown around by the male staff member upon check in however other groups were shown around on others days by female staff member. I wouldn't recommend this hostel for meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not clicked so well with the fantastic atmosphere of the place. We have a fantastic family vibe that we hope you will get to enjoy if you come back :) Kind Regards from Ritz Backpackers

11th May 2017
9.1

I had a ton of fun at The Ritz in St Kilda. I'm 70 years old and everyone there was way young....I do wish there had been a few other backpackers my age....but still, it didn't matter that much as everyone was super nice to me. The Ritz isn't a place to stay if you're looking for peace and quiet....it can get plenty loud at times. The kitchen is large and pretty good and they have free pancakes every morning, and free rice and pasta all the time (cook it yourself). A fun, interesting hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely review! It was such a pleasure having you here with us, we do miss you and hope you can place us a visit sooner than later. Hugs from The Ritz Backpackers :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.