Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th May 2017
9.1

I had a ton of fun at The Ritz in St Kilda. I'm 70 years old and everyone there was way young....I do wish there had been a few other backpackers my age....but still, it didn't matter that much as everyone was super nice to me. The Ritz isn't a place to stay if you're looking for peace and quiet....it can get plenty loud at times. The kitchen is large and pretty good and they have free pancakes every morning, and free rice and pasta all the time (cook it yourself). A fun, interesting hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
10.0

This is a great place to stay! They clean numerous times a day, it's a 10 minute walk from the beach, there's a tram stop right out front that goes into the city, and the staff is super nice and helpful! I highly recommend staying here 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the input.We appreciate you realize the effort of the cleaning and front desk staff in order to keep the place clean and tidy and provide the best experience ever. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.7

Para ser el primer lugar al que llegamos en Australia, vale la pena después de semanas acampando y recorriendo otros países. Cómodo, limpio, y las actividades de la tarde-noche muy entretenidas. Gracias por las pastas y arroz gratis!!! To be the first place we arrived in Australia, it's worth it after weeks camping and touring another countries. Comfortable, clean, and afternoon-evening activities very entertaining. Thanks for the pasta and rice for free !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Glad to know you felt at home after a long trip. We put a big effort in creating a sociable atmosphere and our kitchen is def one of those places were meeting people is easy, specially in our free BBQ and our daily pancakes. We know how is to travel on a budget so we offer freebies like pasta, rice, coffee or tea. Can't wait for your next visit! Safe travel from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

So far so good! nice free pancakes every morning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely review! We are happy to know you got a bite of our delicious free pancakes :) Hope you enjoyed your stay here and you'll come to visit us soon. Regards from The Ritz Backpakcers

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

Such a great place to stay, the staff keep everything clean daily and is located just a few minutes from the beach, I really enjoy it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved my stay here! The staff is awesome, always smiling and super helpful. The vibe in the hostel is friendly and is very easy to meet people. Free pancakes, bbq are great way to meet people and they are so yummy!! Definitely will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Happy to know your stay was perfect :) Looking forward to seeing you soon, cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.6

I like St. Kilda, but if you haven't been to Melbourne yet you should be aware of how far it is from the city centre. Anyway, the hostel in total was okay. There are many longterms around so it feels like everybody knows each other. My room was a complete mess. I can't blame the hostel for messy guests, but it didn't make me feel welcome. The staff were helpful enough and the kitchen was well-equipped. I never got any of the pancakes since I'm not working and thus get up late.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write us some comments about your stay. We are sorry you did not feel welcome that is sad to hear. As you said is out of our hands to have 100% control of how tidy our guests are however in these cases let reception know cause we can act on the spot about it. Despite of it we hope to have you another time around, St Kilda is a very nice area to explore, closed to the beach and Chapel St among others. Regards and see you soon! The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.7

Clean and pleasant but the people around were pretty unfriendly and tend to be quite clickey - not a great place for a few days stay but if that's not your concern, it's generally clean and safe!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the hostel in general. We do have a nice family vibe and we try our best for people to mingle with lots of activities: free pasta, movie night, free BBQ, wine and cheese night... You should come back and give it a try :) Looking forward to seeing you soon. Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.9

Not the most modern hostel but kept very well. The atmosphere is what makes the hostel so amazing. It's like one big family. You need to male the first step and than your more than welcome in the ritz family. Everyone (including staff) are so lovely Location is amazing cuz it's right next to public transportation and in walking distance to St. Kilda beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words. Happy to hear you felt part of our family during your stay and we made you feel at home. Let us know if you are coming back to town anytime soon. Cheers from The Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
4.9

A bit dirty, smelled like feet everywhere. Kitchen not too bad. Staff friendly but backpackers not so. Felt like we were interrupting a commune, as many were long term looking for jobs, lying in bed all day on phone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry to hear that the place did not meet your expectations, on the other hand glad to know the staff did. We are here to make the most of your stay so if you find some issues with the cleaning during your stay let us know since we do have several cleaning shifts during the day. Regarding the hostel vibe, we do have quite a lot of long term and they are quite easy going plus we do have daily activities going on for people to meet each other and socialise. Despite this we hope to be able to welcome you back another time. Kind Regards from The Ritz Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.