Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
9.7

Overall it was great, just what I needed (wifi and meals). Good atmosphere. A bit dirty but not their fault (some guest leaving dishes and filthy shoes) but normal hostel life

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Perfect for some winter coziness. Thanks guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keiramahony6791
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Had a great stay at the Ritz's,staff were very helpful,would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxsa20179723
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Sweet place. Great location, was so easy to find a job around and overall very comfy with loads of free stuff. Extremely recommended. Danke guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.7

Easy location to get to from the airport with express bus, great access to cafes, the beach and bars within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff, like minded travelers to hang out and share experiences with! Cozy and laid back atmosphere. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the comments! Really appreciate your kind words and we are very happy to know you had a fantastic time here and you felt our staff took care of you. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Kind Regards from The Ritz Backpackers

11th Aug 2017
9.1

The Ritz was great! It's right in the centre of St Kilda, with several amazing cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. The average age of the other guests was around mid-to-late twenties when I was there, so it was a little more laid back than the rowdier younger hostels - but still lots of fun. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the vibe of the place of the hostel and its surroundings. Can't wait for your next visit :) Travel safe and regards from The Ritz Backpackers

  • NicoleRobo
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

I have stayed at The Ritz a number of times now, and have enjoyed each and every stay. The location of the hostel is perfect and the facilities are great. Definitely enjoy having free pancakes in the mornings! If I go back to Melbourne I will definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
5.4

very cold in general, needs heating for the winter time. Atmosphere not the best as most of the people staying there have been staying there for many weeks and are very cliquey so not ideal for people wanting to stay for a few nights, as not a nice surrounding for us. Staff are pretty vague and don't really care that much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Strange to hear that the place is cold: we have heating in all the rooms and common area. Our staff is one of our best assets, always with a smile on their faces and ready to help and the guests are like a big family where there is always room for more people. Your experience does not really sound like the Ritz so we invite you to come back and make sure this time you get to enjoy the cool vibe of the place. Kind Regards from Ritz Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

The Ritz was a great first place to stop on my East Coast trip. Staff were super friendly, beds pretty comfy, showers good, close walking distance to everything in St Kilda and tram to CBD on your doorstep! Free pancakes are a nice touch too :) would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for this perfect score! It was a pleasure having you here and our staff really appreciates your kind words. We wish you the best on your trip around Australia and we can't wait to see you again. Kind Regards from the Ritz Backpackers family :)

28th Jun 2017
10.0

I lived in the ritz when I first came to Australia last year. Returned a few times since - I've stayed in hostels in 25+ countries and the ritz has some of the friendliest, most welcoming staff I have encountered. They do their best to keep the hostel clean and I will most likely be back a fifth time. A big thanks to Emma and Sabrina for the past week, Max for welcoming me back each time and Mel for being so lovely every time I see her.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×