Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
The River Hostel Located at Plaza de Temple, 6, , Valencia.
The River Hostel
Spain
Valencia Valencia 46003 Plaza de Temple, 6
86% 1279
39.4761529 -0.3706347
The River Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Great facilities. This hostel has one of the best facilities I have seen buuuuut it is not great for a solo young traveler. It is not a great place to meet young people. Beds are good, Showers are good thought there is no much light in the room. Kitchen sometimes dirty but is not the hostel's fault. It is a great place to stay if you come with people. When I arrived they told to be careful of my things no to be stolen from the locker. That did scared me a little bit about security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

This hostel was perfect for what i needed. The staff were brilliant and so helpful! Any question i had they solved for me. The hostel has a bar top which was so cheap and was open alongside the reception for 24 hours. The common room is huge and has loads of places to sit. The kitchen had everything i needed and plenty of space to store my food. The location is perfect. The hostel i found was really clean, my only issue was that my sheets were stained. Overall i would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
6.9

At checkin the receptionist didn't gave us a map..didn't show us nothing and suggested nothing on what to do, where to go and where to eat. I think is absurd ask for 25euro (!!!!!) if you lost the key.. they organize activities every night (such Play station tournament!!!! WTF! seriously??? bad idea IMHO - or paella class, spanish class.. some are free, some you have to pay. Toilet ok and clean. I was in low season so not so much tourists around. 5 mins walking to the cathedral

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. Normally we give the map upon request, as well if you ask us, we are more than welcome to answer you to every question. From other side, a lot of clients do like FIFA tournament, it is one of ours most succesfull activities. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.6

Overall, definitely worth the money I paid for!! My favorite thing about this hostel is probably it's cleanliness. The bathrooms are really clean and have light switches for each stall (I love how they are so conscious about saving energy). I also appreciate how clean the beds are and that we are given a nice and spacious locker under our beds. They provide you a key for the locker for free :) The atmosphere was so-so-- it's pretty dead when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you have nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall, I liked my stay, especially since I only wanted to sleep in a quite place. The reception and cafeteria is on ground floor while living space is on upper floors, which keeps sounds away. Toilets and bathroom space was also clean and not crowded with people like I have seen in other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Everything went great! The location of the hostel is perfect as well as the staff and the atmosphere and the wifi works very well. The breakfast in not huge but fine and cheap! The 2nd morning we woke up and when we went downstairs we found a guide of the free walking tour and we decided to join them and something i really advice you to do! The tour was very interesting and we met a lot of nice people with who we later hanged out. Valencia is awesome and this hostel as well! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Dec 2016
9.7

Nice place to stay in Valencia. Good location, not far from the city center. Thanks to Ivan our stay in Valencia was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. :) Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
6.9

the whole hostel is a bit like a ghost house, like literally no one there I live in a 10 people dorm for three nights and the maximum people living in that same room were like 7, most of time the whole hostel is empty also the vibe was really bad, no pubcrawl(as the claimed in the ad) or any activity, and no one is actually communicating wit each other but it's clean and the bed was ok and the breakfast was ok moreover, it's cheap so, nothing to complain really

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you for your comment.. We do have Pub Crawl every Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, and other activities. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • katyensch9060
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
5th Dec 2016
7.1

I had a great time at this hostel, as it was such a good price for a cool place, great people and staff, really good cheap breakfast and good wifi on all levels. HOWEVER, literally moments after my arrival there was robbery - a guy lost everything while he was showering as he left his stuff unattentened, this really worried the rest of us and created a paranoid atmosphere immediately, there are lockers so if you use them it should be fine, tho I really question the overall security of the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. About the robbery: we inform the clients that they are suppossed to put always everything into safety lockers, or in safety boxes that we provide in the reception for 2€ per day. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

19th Nov 2016
7.7

some of staffs very rude, toilets and bathrooms usually smells bad, some of them broken and bite your bottom, be careful!! no activity for meeting people, very harsh rules for example if you lose your key you will be penalized 25 euro!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you for your comment. Our staff normally is very polite, as well as our bathrooms are clean (they are cleaned twice a day). We also do have a bar where you can meet a lot of people. And we explained you about our rules, that´s why almost nobody loses the key. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.