Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ikkeyvette
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
6.3

In my opinion, this is a typical Spanish hostel more for families, couples and businesspeople. When you are a solo traveller like me, you're looking for people to hang out with and I didn't feel that the guests were open for contact, there was no such atmosphere. Actually i winded up in other hostels at their bar. Also some staffmembers weren't really that friendly, or seem to enjoy working there. The plusses for me are the beds and the showers, they are amazing (to end with a good note ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Good beds with curtain and plenty of space. The atmosphere was really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating! We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

A really great hostel. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The rooms were bright and clean and the beds very comfortable. Plenty of showers, toilets and wash basins, so there was never any queuing at any time of day for the facilities. Would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and for the best rating! We are glad that you had nice time with us, and hope to see you soon. :) Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

7th Apr 2017
10.0

The location by El Rio park is excellent. This was my favorite part of valencia..I recommend azucar if you want to go salsa dancing. Good facilities pretty easy to meet people and the hostel does have a pub crawl too if you like to party with friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed in our hostel. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • lizziecox
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Such a nice hostel. Super clean, beds were amazing. Everything super organized. Huge kitchen, staff was nice. Amazing hot showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for the highest rating and for your review. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • hannahwilson9
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.3

Extremely loud, very busy kitchen. No atmosphere. Good beds and security in rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • klu04kli
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

Extremely clean, tidy and efficient; in a good location near all the main sights and the Turia river bed. For €3, the breakfast is excellent value and the personal lockers are big enough to store everything neatly and safely under your bed. This is probably the largest hostel I've ever stayed in and as such, it caters for some large tour groups, which can make the atmosphere seem a little impersonal. On the other hand, the fact that it has a bar makes it easy to meet other likeminded travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your rating and comment. Yes, this is indeed the biggest hoste in the whole Valencia, we are very proud to welcome you with up to 175 beds.. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

1st Apr 2017
4.3

Very dirt hostel. The rooms are ok. But all the bathoroms are so dirty (all the time, i spend 4 days). A couple of girls working as staff in the reception are a bit boring, you know, there are not happy there. The KITCHEN is terrible. I mean, it's a big kitchen, but you WON'T find anything, except 2 knifes (to share with alhostel), and a couple of plates. Nothing else. They have a small bar in the hostel, so, I think they are trying to push you to spend your cash there. Crazy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry that you had that impression, you could told it to the reception, and we would have assisted you, of course. We have all additional stuff in the bar (in the case that was missing something in the kitchen). Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • wanesaaa9055
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

It's a great hostel in a great location .Staff was very friendly and very clean hostel.They has some free walking tours and some other activities every day +pub crawl .Would go there bk again .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and for the best rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
6.0

The hostel is simple nothing too special. The hostel has a deficit of staff and terrible lighting. The bathrooms are always wet and smell dank. The location is fine. They charge for everything. Other than these few things its a decent hostel fine for a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment. We have enough people that works here, and your review surprises us, while we helped you with the parking, activities, and everything you wanted to know. We were also flexible with this reservation and we also let you pay separetely. Hope that in your next stay you will have different impression. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.