X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The River Hostel Reviews

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
679 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I like the hostel's location and common room is really good too with a friendly staff.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A great and cheap place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Great location. The directions could be improved plus directions from the bus station would be good. Great value for money. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for high rating and for your comment. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

80%

Absolutely fine hostel , close everything, with a very good bus metro network. Reasonable breakfast options, and refreshments available 24/7. Would absolutely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your rieview and recommendations. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Great location, nice and big hang out area/bar and good staff! The dorm we stayed in was airy and and had good light and lockers, the aircon was nice at night and even though it was a weekend it was really calm at night on the floors with dorms/rooms. A good hostal, we recommend it!


77%

Great location, everything was really clean, new and modern. Common room was a great place to chill, bar and cafe area is too expensive for what you get, don´t bother. Rooms have air con and have fans which is great as the rooms were really cool- best nights sleep in ages. Locker system they have is stupid, they are cupboards under the bed some are broken. Can´t get into them properly. Good hostel overall. Don´t hire bikes from here, ours were unsafe and rubbish. Go elsewhere for better deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. Thank you for recommendations and for saying that your overall stay is good. About the bar that we have-it is the cheapest in the area. Bike rental is also the cheapest, and you get a locker with your bike, so it is quite safe. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

Everything was great except for the cleaniness of the locker room. A paella was left there throughout the night which was quite disturbing. Other than that everything was clean and perfect. Thank you!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and sorry about inconvinience that you mentioned. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

69%

All the normal things on paper were good . The customer service was frosty and unprofessional , everyone working there seemed reluctant to be enthusiastic about anything .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry about the impression that you had, because our staff tends to be the most friendliest in Valencia, but we appreciate your observation. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

Really good, only thing is they had aircon but it was never on

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We have the AC, we just put in upon the client´s request. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

83%

The "value for money" is the best quality of this hostel. We reserved a room for 12 people and we were in 12 so we thought we would have been all together but this was not. Anyway we enjoyed the night at the hostel.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you for your comment, and sorry about the situation when we had to split you in two different rooms, but it was the only optioned that we had, in ought that you don´t have to change the room every day, as we explained you. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

-Located about 25min walk from bus station -quiet hostel, not much interaction -pubcrawl is very fun and worth the money -common toilets have many cubicles and showers -6 bed room had just enough space -beds and pillows were comfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you had nice time and that you have so many things to recommend. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

94%

Great value hostel in Valencia. The location is great because it is right in the center of the city and also very close to the City of Arts and Sciences. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Also nice and cool. The wifi works really well. Breakfast was disappointing but there are cheap options within the city. Nice common room area. Wish there were more events going on while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you veru much for your comment and everything. We actually have 2 types of breakfast, and also Pub Crawl service during the weekend. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

All around good hostel. Great kitchen, good location, good wifi and helpful staff would recommend


83%

The staff here were so nice!! Had a blast at the pub crawl with them. Really nice hostel. Only complaint was the kitchen was dirty most of the time. Would recommend this hostel. Can't wait to stay here again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed all our services . Sorry about the kitchen issue, we have now more people working in the housekeeping, so that problem is resolved. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

The River Hostel was amazing! Everything you would need in a hostel was here, the amenities were very clean, the staff was really nice and the atmosphere was great as well! There was a kitchen to do your own cooking and a very nice common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that your overall stay was nice. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

63%

Not a bad hostel but nothing great. Aircon wasn't working and the rooms were awfully hot, made it really difficult to sleep. Lockers are really annoying to get into and very loud too. Not super social but that could have just been the days I was there. Worth the €11 but definitely not the best I've stayed at

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and we are sorry about the invonviniences that you had. We put AC upon request, because there are a lot of clients who doesn´t want. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

77%

Not very good air conditioning, ended up changing room because it was so hot and there was an epic snoring person. The staff let me change straight away, they were super nice about it too even though I was testy from no sleep. The other room was much better :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment and for mentioning our staff. :) We really appreciate it. We were glad that you liked your stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

77%

The hostel was oké, location was good and atmosphere was oké. Unfortunately the kitchen was not really clean and was really unequipped, the airco in the rooms only worked during a short period of the night. This was not really pleasant in the morning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment, you and your friends were very nice. Sorry about the kitchen issue, we were full booked, and a lot of people were cocking at the same time, so it was impossible to have full control. About AC, a lot of people claimed that it was too cold, so we had to turn it off at some point, but now, we also have fans in the room. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

Nice facilities in a great location (only 10-15 min walk to all the main attractions) but the air conditioning in our room didn't work the whole time I was there, so it was dreadfully humid! They did have clean shower facilities and a cool open common space for everyone to chill out in. The cheap 7eur full day bike rental was a great and convenient way to visit the beach and parks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for uour comment. We are sorry about AC inconvinience, we just had to turn off during the day (11-19h), because a lot of clients said to us it was very cold in their room. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

I will definitely recomens this Hostel for everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment and your recommendations. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(86 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback