X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The River Hostel Reviews

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
823 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location, other than how loud and awkward the under-bed storage units are (when I opened the lid I completely closed the person into their bottom bunk, and I also think I woke up the whole room when I had to pull it out screeching on the floor in the morning) it was a great experience, things were clean and comfortable


83%

Washrooms need to be cleaned more often Noise from cafeteria at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We will have it in mind. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Fantastic hostel! The staff and the facilities are excellent, always very clean (even the bathroom), the kitchen is well equipped, beautiful atmosphere and the location is perfect to reach all the sites even on foot! I stayed for two nights and it was a great experience! I highly recommend it!!! 10+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for high rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Very nice staff, and the location is perfect

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

Overall our stay was good. It was just the one night, so we really just slept at the hostel. We stayed in a private twin with shared bathroom. Room was very basic. Bathrooms were very nice and clean. Location was perfect walking distance to the Cathedral and old town of Valencia. What really got me about the hostel was that (after a bit of overcoming a language barrier) the staff went out of their way to track down a necklace I had left in the bathroom the night before.


51%

A very big hostel, always people, always crowded in the kitchen, the atmosphere unpersonel


89%

The hostel is very clean, comfortable, and a nice place to rest your head. I found the atmosphere to be a bit lacking, kind of hard to meet people traveling solo. Great kitchen and really amazing shower, hot water and super high pressure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. We are more than sure than if you come back again, you will have opportunity to meet new people. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

perfect hostel , Awesome rooms and bathrooms, amazing staff


69%

For what we actually paid we recieved a lot, because we didn't pay really much for the private room compared to other places. The showers and room were good and clean, though the toilets weren't always clean, but ofcourse that's more the fault of dirty guests than the hostel, you cant expect they inspect the toilets 24/7 ofcourse. Furthermore, the hostel had a friendly international staff. The atmosphere wasn't what we expected in the hostel, but that's just because it was very calm I'm sure

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and your review. You explained everything, so nothing much to add from our part. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

83%

Good hostel, however what concerns the atmosphere it's this kind of large, anonymous, sterile sort of place, rather than a super homely/friendly one. Depends on what you prefer, but overall I would recommend the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and recommendations. The atmosphere depends on the part of the year when you arrive. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

97%

Fantastic location, comfy beds, great kitchen facilities, super clean bathrooms, good community space, and free lockers! Perfect hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you so much for your comment, recommendation and high rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

74%

I had no problem with my stay until I heard about another guest's of food being robbed from the fridge. The morning after mine was robbed from the cupboard even though the bag was closed and had been there for a couple of days unaffected. I found my food bag misplaced and left open. Luckily I was returned some of the stolen goods on the same day, mysteriously placed above the storage box of my bed, though I'm not sure whether it's my old roommate, the thief or the hostel staff who did this.


89%

Friendly staff, good facilities, in a great location and great price

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Comfy bed, clean, good kitchen. But I had a weird experience with breakfast. Spanish speaking guy staff member was rude and ignored me, I asked for a cake thing, there was already a piece sliced. He cut it in half again and gave it to me. It was literally the width of 2 of my fingers (and I have small hands) not really worth €2 and not enough for breakfast. Self serve breakfast would be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and telling your experience. Sorry about the inconvenience about your breakfast, because normally people are happy with our cheap breakfast, but I promise that we are going to consider your comment. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

The hostel itself is very nice - clean rooms, comfortable workspace, good wifi, etc. It did take them a long time to allow us to check in despite the fact that we had a reservation (and once we finally got our keys, one bed still wasn't ready), but I believe the cleaning crew was just short-staffed the night we visited. Great location right in historic center of city. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment, As you might know, check in is from 14h, and we cannot promise you that you will be able to enter in your room before that time, despite your early arrival, because we are almost every day full booked, and housekeeping need it´s time to clean all rooms. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

A great hostel in a great location. Spacious, clean and plenty of hot water. Great value for money. Only negative was it said there were hair driers for hire and wgen I asked the only one there was needed an adaptor that they didn't have. Also there weren't any individual night lights . I arrived during the night and didn't want to disturb anyone by putting the room light on. It was a bit difficult making my bunk with the light off my mobile phone. But all in all a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for high rating. Sorry about the hair drier affair, the hostel was full booked, and we had a big group who were talking shower at the same time and than, they needed to dry their hair, so that's why that whole situation was like a collateral damage. From other side, we do provide bed lamps for 10 euros of deposit, and we give you back the money afterwords. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

83%

The staff is not so friendly and helpful comparing to the other hostels in this part of spain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you for your comment and high rating, despite you were not very happy with the treatment. Our staff has the fame to be the best one in Valencia, however, you could have required better service, and I am sure that my colleges would do their best. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

97%

Absolute best hostel I've stayed in in Europe, and I've stayed in 15 in 12 different cities. Wifi- amazing all over even in the rooms. Streamed Netflix no problem. Bathrooms-amazing privacy and the best shower I've had in 4 months in Europe. Cheap drinks at the bar, good people staying there(for the most part), and the kitchen was absolute top quality. Anybody could just walk in the front door which wasn't great but every bed has a huge locker with a lock they give you. BOOK HERE, trust me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Thank you SO much for your high rating and comment. We are proud to say that everything is just like you said. Every bed has a safety locker where you can store your things. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

94%

Top notch! Great atmosphere, super location and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and high rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

80%

This place is nice, clean and spacious. The cafe is convenient downstairs. There was a huge group of kids staying when I was there, which was a bit disappointing as there weren't really many fellow travellers around. It's fine for an overnight stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Thank you so much for your comment and things that you mentioned. Because of our excellent location and price, literally everybody wants to stay here, even kids, so we really hope that next time you will be able to meet up with more fellow travelers. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback