X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The River Hostel Reviews

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
491 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Probably the best valued hostel I've ever been to. No issues at all and a great price.


100%

Great stay for many reasons, mainly: - Top location: less than 5 min walking distance to the city center, the old town of El Carmen, the main shopping area,... - State of the art building: how many hostels do you find at a century old palace?? - Staff friendliness: many star hotels should learn of the River's staff and its friendliness - Top price!: 8€ for a bed in a shared room with the above conditions...that's a deal!! Will come back for sure!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for everything that you said, Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

46%

This is apparently a hub for school trips, as there were no less than 5 separate (not together) buses full of children and preteens that showed up during my stay. Staff lets the kids run wild through the hostel screaming until way late, and beginning again at about 9am. No atmosphere to speak of. Doors to rooms don't lock automatically upon closing. Overbooks. Very smelly. Non working elevator. Location is good and staff were nice enough, but overall a very poor hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for what you said about the staff. We are sorry that it all happened in your stay and we hope that your next experience will be different. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Very nice hostel and a great location directly at the river park. In the rooms you have a lot of space but also in the whole hostel. Would definitely reccommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

The hostel is located in a beautiful building right in the old town of Valencia. The hostel is very clean and well decorated. The people there really seem to care about their facilities. The staff is nice and helpful but not annoying. Very good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and your nice words. We are glad that you had a nice stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

57%

Definitely would not stay here again. The staff was not helpful, there were not a lot of options for food near the hostel, the bar food & breakfast was very limited. When I got there the room & bathrooms were really dirty and there was no toilet paper in the bathrooms on my floor at all. Even after it was cleaned the next day the floor still seemed dirty and there was trash all around the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lauren, we are very sorry about issues that you mentioned, and your comment help us to improve the things that went wrong in your stay. Best regards. Ivan The River Hostel

77%

It's good to stay there. I just have some recommend on the Lockers.... It's not easy to use, especially when the two opposite bed owner wanna use at the same time.... and it's not ease to pull out and push in and open the cap, so if you change it with some fixed drawer will be good of course its need a lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and for the hight raiting. And thanks for the suggestion about lockers, we will keep that in mind. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

60%

I normally pay about 15 for a night in a Spanish hostel so I assumed the 30 I paid here was because of the Fallas. I don't think it was worth it though. The staff was friendly but didn't seem to know a lot about the city. The beds bulged out towards the edges which wasn't comfortable and we had to put the linen on ourselves! The barfood was low quality and no breakfast included. Good location but overall not recommendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we are sorry that you had unpleasent stay with us.. During the Fallas in all hostels and hotels, price are higher. Although it might not seem, I promisse you that the staff knows enough about the city. It is very scandalous about the condoms in men´s toilet, noramaly it doesn´t use to happen. If you dispite everything decide to stay with us again, we promisse we will try to assist you as much as possible. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

97%

I thought that this was a fantastic hostel and I would stay in it again. There was a great atmosphere and it was just minutes away by walk to the main squares in the city center. It was very well maintained, and the staff was nice! They would serve us tortilla at the bar at like 5am! Also, the beds were quite comfortable, and the big locker drawers under the beds made me feel safe about my things!


100%

The hostel has got a perfect location. And the bathrooms are really clean. PS. We love the sofa placed in the dining room, it's lovely and cozy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you find our hostel lovely and cozy, the same as sofas. :) Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Great location, a little crazy for Fallas, but lots of friendly young people and nice recommendations for things to do! Repitiría.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and for your nice words. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

83%

Great location and friendly staff. Only issues were that the men's bathroom on the second floor had two toilets out of service and there was no hand soap nor paper towels to dry hands (no air driers). They didn't seem to be cleaned one day either and one stall had no toilet paper. The showers were fine (enough and spacious), although it did smell a bit funky. If you can deal with this (bring your own soap/towels each time you go to the bathroom) or they fix it, then it's a good choice.


80%

Good things: Friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. Felt secure. Bad things: Lack of soap or towels in the toilets I used. Breakfast not included in the price and not much choice available. 10 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. Enjoyed my stay overall and would go back there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Matthew, thank you very much for your comment. Thank you for saying about our staff and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are sorry about inconvinience that you had, like soap issue or lack of the towelles, it might be because the occupation was full and in the moment when you were there, the situation ended up like a colateral demage. About the breakfast, we now had 2 options, full one and a simple one. Best regards, Ivan

83%

Nice hostel, really good helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

94%

The hostel is well located in Valencia, there are just few minutes to the next metro station. The staff was really friendly and helpful, one person could even speak german fluently. They gave us many important advises what we are able to do in the city. Teh atmosphere was really friendly and open.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and for valuing the multiply languages that our staff can speak. :) We hope to see you again. :) Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

This was already the second time we were staying in The River Hostel and again everything was just fine. We didn't have any problems with the reservations, the staff was friendly and helpful and for the money we paid the location and hostel is still unbeatable and I would still recommend the hostel to everybody planning to stay in Valencia for a few days. This time we were there with a rented car and were also really lucky to get one of the few free parking spaces right in front of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you again for your comment, we are glad that this time your stay was pleasent, as well. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Actually the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Met the most amazing people there, the staff were really kind and helpful, and best of all they had the sickest fusbal table for free there. Would suggest to anyone!


94%

Great place even extended our stay, staff are lovely. bathrooms an cleanliness drops when it gets busier tho just need to get a few more cleaners in. Great kitchen


97%

Overall, a pretty good hostel. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The directions for getting to the hostel were quite confusing, so I would suggest making sure you know where you are going etc., but once yo get there it's a pretty good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you had nice stay and that you find stuff friendly and helpful. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Great stay. Excellent facilities and really clean. Cleaners constantly keeping the shared spaces tidy. Location is walking distance to the city and right next to the main park through the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lance, thank you very much for your comment, and for telling everything the best about our hostel. We are glad that you had a nice stay. Best regards, Iván The River Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback