X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The River Hostel Reviews

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff and very nice hostel!!


97%

The best hotel we've stayed at so far. The staff were so lovely and we met so many great people here. The beds are large and comfortable and the showers are amazing. 100% would stay again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great hostel to stay at in Valencia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and so lovely words. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

94%

Great facilities, the dorm was pretty and clean and I love big underneath the bed lockers. The bathroom was spacious, clean and the shower was great. I did not join the party but there was always a lot of people downstairs, the common areas were also pretty cool and they have bike rentals on site. Overall excellent value for money.


91%

One of the ladies at the check in desk wasn't very nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment. Sorry about inconvinince about our stuff, we really appologize. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

97%

This is a very nice hostel, everything is well organised, the room that I stayed was very spacious and it was clean, good beds, however, the shower rooms were a little odd, smells a lot and there are not enough hooks for you to put your stuff. Tried the walking tour they offer and it was amazing, the guide is a very friendly local guy called Paco, he will point you out great places to get traditional valencian food and drinks, which you really have to try. The hostel also offers Paella all day

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment and your tips for other costumers. We really appreciate that you pointed out certain things, just to let you know that we fixed bathroom issue and sorry for inconvinience. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Nice location. Breakfast was not worth 3 euros. Room was very nice, we enjoyed our stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you had enjoyable stay. We also had in offer a 2€ breakfast. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

80%

Really nice hostel with perfect location. You'll never be far from any of interesting sites Valencia has to offer. Only issue owners could deal with are the drains in shower rooms. Water doesn't drain very quickly so expect to stand in a pool by the time you're finished with your shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment. About the drains, we just had problem in one floor, but now it is resolved. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

This truly is an excellent hostel, the stuff were brilliant!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your high rate and your kind words. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

El staff fue muy amable y servicial. En espacial, Ivan. Siempre dispueso a responder mis preguntas. Excelente hostal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querido cliente, muchas gracias por tu comentario, y por palabras bonitas sobre el personal. :) Saludos cordiales, Iván The River Hostel

66%

Some people from the staff were impolite (almost rude), and although it's Valencia some of them hardly speak spanish.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Sorry about our staff problem, although it is very strange, because we have a fame to have one of the pollitest staff in Valencia. However if the problem occured, you could have told to another staff or out manager. Indeed, we have a lot of Interns who came to Spain to the the Internship, but they are always with somebody who has expirience, so from there come language bareer. Thanks for your comment, Ivan The River

83%

A nice relaxing stay in a great location to a very walk-able city. A very spacious, clean hostel.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad about your nice and relaxing stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Very clean, good amount of space in the bedrooms (which is very important when it comes to hostels), nice staff!

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably the best valued hostel I've ever been to. No issues at all and a great price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that you liked your stay and that you don´t have any regrests. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Great stay for many reasons, mainly: - Top location: less than 5 min walking distance to the city center, the old town of El Carmen, the main shopping area,... - State of the art building: how many hostels do you find at a century old palace?? - Staff friendliness: many star hotels should learn of the River's staff and its friendliness - Top price!: 8€ for a bed in a shared room with the above conditions...that's a deal!! Will come back for sure!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for everything that you said, Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

46%

This is apparently a hub for school trips, as there were no less than 5 separate (not together) buses full of children and preteens that showed up during my stay. Staff lets the kids run wild through the hostel screaming until way late, and beginning again at about 9am. No atmosphere to speak of. Doors to rooms don't lock automatically upon closing. Overbooks. Very smelly. Non working elevator. Location is good and staff were nice enough, but overall a very poor hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for what you said about the staff. We are sorry that it all happened in your stay and we hope that your next experience will be different. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Very nice hostel and a great location directly at the river park. In the rooms you have a lot of space but also in the whole hostel. Would definitely reccommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

The hostel is located in a beautiful building right in the old town of Valencia. The hostel is very clean and well decorated. The people there really seem to care about their facilities. The staff is nice and helpful but not annoying. Very good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and your nice words. We are glad that you had a nice stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

57%

Definitely would not stay here again. The staff was not helpful, there were not a lot of options for food near the hostel, the bar food & breakfast was very limited. When I got there the room & bathrooms were really dirty and there was no toilet paper in the bathrooms on my floor at all. Even after it was cleaned the next day the floor still seemed dirty and there was trash all around the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lauren, we are very sorry about issues that you mentioned, and your comment help us to improve the things that went wrong in your stay. Best regards. Ivan The River Hostel

77%

It's good to stay there. I just have some recommend on the Lockers.... It's not easy to use, especially when the two opposite bed owner wanna use at the same time.... and it's not ease to pull out and push in and open the cap, so if you change it with some fixed drawer will be good of course its need a lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment and for the hight raiting. And thanks for the suggestion about lockers, we will keep that in mind. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

60%

I normally pay about 15 for a night in a Spanish hostel so I assumed the 30 I paid here was because of the Fallas. I don't think it was worth it though. The staff was friendly but didn't seem to know a lot about the city. The beds bulged out towards the edges which wasn't comfortable and we had to put the linen on ourselves! The barfood was low quality and no breakfast included. Good location but overall not recommendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we are sorry that you had unpleasent stay with us.. During the Fallas in all hostels and hotels, price are higher. Although it might not seem, I promisse you that the staff knows enough about the city. It is very scandalous about the condoms in men´s toilet, noramaly it doesn´t use to happen. If you dispite everything decide to stay with us again, we promisse we will try to assist you as much as possible. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback