X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The River Hostel Reviews

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
636 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great value hostel in Valencia. The location is great because it is right in the center of the city and also very close to the City of Arts and Sciences. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Also nice and cool. The wifi works really well. Breakfast was disappointing but there are cheap options within the city. Nice common room area. Wish there were more events going on while I was there.


100%

The River Hostel was amazing! Everything you would need in a hostel was here, the amenities were very clean, the staff was really nice and the atmosphere was great as well! There was a kitchen to do your own cooking and a very nice common area.


63%

Not a bad hostel but nothing great. Aircon wasn't working and the rooms were awfully hot, made it really difficult to sleep. Lockers are really annoying to get into and very loud too. Not super social but that could have just been the days I was there. Worth the €11 but definitely not the best I've stayed at

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and we are sorry about the invonviniences that you had. We put AC upon request, because there are a lot of clients who doesn´t want. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

77%

Not very good air conditioning, ended up changing room because it was so hot and there was an epic snoring person. The staff let me change straight away, they were super nice about it too even though I was testy from no sleep. The other room was much better :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment and for mentioning our staff. :) We really appreciate it. We were glad that you liked your stay. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

77%

The hostel was oké, location was good and atmosphere was oké. Unfortunately the kitchen was not really clean and was really unequipped, the airco in the rooms only worked during a short period of the night. This was not really pleasant in the morning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment, you and your friends were very nice. Sorry about the kitchen issue, we were full booked, and a lot of people were cocking at the same time, so it was impossible to have full control. About AC, a lot of people claimed that it was too cold, so we had to turn it off at some point, but now, we also have fans in the room. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

Nice facilities in a great location (only 10-15 min walk to all the main attractions) but the air conditioning in our room didn't work the whole time I was there, so it was dreadfully humid! They did have clean shower facilities and a cool open common space for everyone to chill out in. The cheap 7eur full day bike rental was a great and convenient way to visit the beach and parks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for uour comment. We are sorry about AC inconvinience, we just had to turn off during the day (11-19h), because a lot of clients said to us it was very cold in their room. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

89%

I will definitely recomens this Hostel for everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment and your recommendations. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

71%

The location was good, next to the park! The airconditioning was also very nice and necessary. A minus was the bed, we had a double one but it was very hard and made a lot of noise if you turned, and there was only one very long pillow which we had to share.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that you had a nice stay. Sorry about bed inconvinience, if you had asked to change the room, we would proceed your request, Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

77%

As a solo traveler, I thought this was a great hostel. There were plenty of events available so you could get to know other people if you wanted. The bikes for hire were a lovely facility, as was having the walking tour guide collecting us from the hostel reception. It would have been nice to have been warned in advance of the fireworks the evening I stayed, and also about the fact that the hostel is very near a loud bar; I didn't get a lot of sleep at The River Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your stay and your comment. Sorry about the bar inconvinience, that bar is closed now and we have our own. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

80%

Spacious rooms with good size lockers. Private rooms are especially comfortable, but the bunk beds in shared rooms are quite hard to get in to. Good size kitchen and common room, with a bar that created a good atmosphere. Great location too, right in the centre of Valencia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. Sorry about inconvinice for the lockers, they are like that for safety reasons. And thank you for beind so kind, you and your 2 friends. Best regards, The River Hostel

91%

The hostel was spacious, clean and the staff were all very friendly. We couldn't believe the size of our room or how clean the showers, toilets and kitchen was. I would definitely stay there again and would happily recommend it to all my friends!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you so much for your comment and recommendations. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

74%

Bathroom Facilities were clean at the River hostel, and we had a nice 4 dorm room. The kitchen was never clean. Patrons didn't clean up after themselves which was disgusting. They really need to have the kitchen cleaned everyday. You may not get much sleep over the weekend, as it is very loud in the corridor so I would use earplugs. Hostel atmosphere wasn't really appealing to us this during our stay. The hostel is good value for money, and the Air con was great. The staff were nice too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment, and we are sorry about all inconviniences that you mentioned. We have now more people cleaning kitchen every day. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

86%

Ivan, the member of the staff was extremely communicative and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for mentioning staff member. :) Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

Great value for your money although you might find too much noise on the ground floor during nighttime.


100%

Very accommodating staff, wonderful location. Great place to stay in Valencia.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for being so nice guest. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

57%

One of our group arrived an hour before the rest of us at 12am, and wanted to check in to go to sleep. She was not allowed to do this until the whole party had arrived, which was very unaccomodating. The staff were unfriendly and the environment was hostile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you for your comment and excuse us for all inconviniences mentioned about group arrival. It was specific situation. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

91%

Nice hostel, very good location. You can not get any better for the money you pay. Just to recommend them to fix the problem whit the showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. The Shower problem is already solved, but thank you for advice. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

Very Great Hostel:) Is more like a Hotel:) I World rechnend ist always to everyond:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. And thank you and your friend for being so nice. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

100%

lovely place, nice staff and very clean bathroom also :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for everything that you said. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

80%

Good hostel, wifi worked well. No complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you have no complaints. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback