Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The River Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
The River Hostel Located at Plaza de Temple, 6, , Valencia.
The River Hostel
Spain
Valencia Valencia 46003 Plaza de Temple, 6
88% 1026
39.4761529 -0.3706347
The River Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
8.9

This hostel is huge and has a lot of activities going on which is great. It also has a bar and does quite a bit of food which is cool. The negative would be that because of its size, it feels very impersonal. All the staff that work there just seem to be staff and aren't interested in getting to know the guests etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for your rating. We are indeed the biggest hostel in Valencia, but if you require special attention, our staff is more than pleased to assist you with whatever you need. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.6

Really clean,friendly hostel with a great atmosphere and location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thanks a lot for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time here. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

14th Jul 2016
7.4

Overall I thought it was a wonderful hostel with an atmosphere that is definitely hard to match. The place was well kept in regards to the cleaniness and facilities. The downside of it is the terrible security. Multiple people in the hostel were victims of theft including myself. Someone had picked the locks as the few others and myself chatted and found we all had locked our lockers. It definitely could have been worse for all of us regardless its not something you want to deal with.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for your rating. We are sorry about the problem that you had, but as you know, you could have put your things of value in the safety lockers that we provide for 2€ per day. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.7

We felt very comfortable staying here, there were a lot of facilities available, there's a large kitchen. The bar wasn't really stocked fully and the food available was very limited. The bathrooms also had very small doors which were quite uncomfortable to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and rating. You were here when we were full booked, and it is normal that everything im the bar was sold out. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

11th Jul 2016
6.6

I wasn't a huge fan of this hostel. The facilities and everything was nice enough. However the staff was not very knowledgeable about the activities, and I felt as though I was an inconvenience when I spoke to them or tried to order drinks at the bar. Not much of an atmosphere either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and for your rating. Sorry about the things you mentioned, normally our staff has a fame to be very nice in every sense. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

9th Jul 2016
9.1

The place was fine! Very clean bedrooms and adequate bathrooms. Small room for 12 beds in one room but you don't spend much time in the hostel, and with the curtains the privacy wasn't a problem. The kitchen was the only downside- overcrowded refrigerator with a lot of old food and dirty dishes everywhere but that's not really on the hostel. Super close to all the cool historical attractions, 30+ minute walk to the beach. I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. Sorry about issues that you mentioned, you were here when we were full booked, that´s why we were crowded. But we are glad that you had nice time. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Clean and nice hostel overall. The social atmosphere wasnt very great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment. Sorry about the social atmosphere, we hope that on your next visit it is going to be better. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.4

When you arrive at the hostel you think you are staying at a hotel! The view from our room was of a cute side street. The staff were so friendly, inviting and helpful! Great big room for a 6. Bathrooms are new and very clean. Great walking distance from old town. It's too bad we only stayed here for 1 night. It looked like a lot of people were making friends in the common area. Was really a great place and excellent price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and review. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

4th Jul 2016
9.4

I only stayed 1 night, so I didn't have time to appreciate all this hostel had to offer. but the location was definitely great and the showers were hot with great pressure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comment and rating. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Very welcoming staff and very helpful at answering questions and telling what to visit in Valencia. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is impeccable. The breakfeast is delicious and very complete (it has fruit!!). Highly recommend participating in the paella class. Location is perfect since it is at 1 min from the park and 5 min from the center by walk. Quiet place but option to participate in pub crawls! Highly recommend this place!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear client, Thank you very much for your commnet and for your recommendations. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.