Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The River House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 2,367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 2,367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
The River House Located at 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, , Cardiff.
The River House
Wales
Cardiff CF11 6AN 59 Fitzhamon Embankment
94% 2367
51.4784829 -3.1855416
The River House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Very good location next to the train station and the city center. Comfortable bed. Rooms and facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The fitings and fixtures are pure class. Guests feel obliged to keep the place tidy since everything is so awesome. This lends to a great stay. Unfortunately, I had two terrrible nights sleep as one chap in the same dorm room snored especially loudly, but that is beyond the control of Hostel staff who are fanfastic. One of the staff even layed on tasty apple pie and ice cream to guests as an extra surprise treat one afternoon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Only stayed one night. Everything was really good, just a bit of a lack of atmosphere. Great place for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

A wonderful hostel in a perfect location. Very friendly staff and all the facilities you need. Always clean and a really nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2016
9.4

Great location (central, but not too noisy), wonderfully clean and modern, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast and very cheerful, helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.4

They had a cat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent, homely and great value for money. This is the best hostel I've stayed in. I would highly recommend to everyone. I'm keen to try more hostels after having such a positive experience at this one. I was amazed at how much thought they've put into every aspect with their incredible free continental breakfast, tea and coffee all day, food nights, DVDs, books and great dining area ideal for quiet work or study during the day. The place is constantly being cleaned!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.7

Gorgeous homely hostel, lovely place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
10.0

I stayed through recommendation from a friend and quite gladly so. Facilities were all very clean, spacious bathrooms, well maintained kitchen and comfortable living areas. My bed was super comfortable and everyone I met was friendly. A substantial and delicious breakfast was provided at a time to suit anyone. It was lovely to be by the river, was also close to car parking and less than ten minutes walk from the Tramshed which is where the gig I attended was. Perfect location for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
9.1

Great place to stay, awsome location, really helpful and happy staff. Would stay again if I went back to cardiff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.