Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The River House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th May 2017
8.9

Not the best hostel I've ever stayed in but very good for the money. The beds didn't have plugs by each bunk, it's own light or a shelf to put water/phone. Breakfast had a large selection. Bathrooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

Nice, clean hostel with good facilities, cool location and friendly stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely, lovely place! :) I can only recommend! So, why not 10? Two things: The mattress was not so good and saggy and I couldn't get a towel, because I didn't have 10 GBP left for deposit... So I couldn't shower. Nothing else was accepted as a deposit for the towel :/ Both not horrible and the hostel is still great! And probably has the best hostel brekkie I have ever seen ;) (And I was in a few around the world!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.3

The River House is a great hostel located across the river from city centre. Hostel staff were all very nice and there were always cleaners making sure everything was up to par. Hostel breakfast is free and includes a wide variety of baked goods and morning drinks. Lockers in room are a bit small and can fit mainly your important items. There is no common room vibe- the kitchen is a very open space but each night was empty with few backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

I've had a great time there, I'd recommend this hostel to anyone. If you travel by car though you might want to look for a place offering parking lots since parking proved to be quite a pain in Cardiff, for me at least.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
10.0

I only stayed one night at The River House, but even in that short time it was perfectly clear why they have won so many awards! The facilities themselves are fairly typical of a small hostel, but what sets the River House apart is the owner Charlie, who couldn't be more pleasant to interact with. The hostel's bathrooms appeared to have been recently renovated which was nice, and the room I stayed in was spotlessly clean. Bonus points for excellent location as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.7

While I do not have a great amount of experience with hostels, past 10 days I've stayed in 6. This is the best one by far. Extremely well run, good staff, everything clean and in working order and a superb breakfast. The attention to details to make everyone feel at ease is something else. Great city; great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
6.6

Hostel was full of strange people on my staying... the hostel itself is good tho

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.1

The river house was a great hostel, very relaxed atmosphere, awesome breakfast every morning, good location close to everything in Cardiff. Not a party hostel but a nice comfortable one!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.9

Great place in a good location. Clean, quiet, relaxed atmosphere (NOT a party hostel). Breakfast is very nice. Staff are very friend and helpful. Rooms are very small but you can manage usually. Only downside: Top floor rooms are NOT suitable for bunk beds - the ceiling pokes out and you bang one of your limbs (or your head) on a regular basis. Be sure to ask NOT to be put into rooms 11 or 12 if you can.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.