Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The River House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 2389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 2389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
9.7

A very good stay! I would like to stay another day but my plan was fixed. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice clean hostel in a good location. Short walk from the bus terminal. There are a decent number of toilets and showers so you're never left waiting. Good free breakfast too. Only issues were the lack of atmosphere - as a solo traveller didn't meet anyone during my stay despite hanging out in common areas. I guess it's not peak season so was pretty quiet, but I think they could benefit from running nightly events to get people socialising, as there was none of that. Friendly staff though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice staff, cozy and clean rooms, very good breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! Amazing staff, breakfast was incredible and included. Perfect location as well, would definitely go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.7

The River House is a great hostel. Extremely cleaned, staff always up to help you. Amazing breakfast and really good shower - very important after a long day of sightseeing! Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
9.4

Must have been the best bathrooms & showers I've ever seen in a hostel. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good. Definitely the place to stay, if you are going to Cardiff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.7

I have been here many many times. I really can't fault it. The only minor complaint is the lack of hot water working at 6 in the morning. sometimes I need to leave early for work in Cardiff Bay and a nice hot shower would start me off much better than a freezing cold shower. Especially in the winter. But, everything else is supoib.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Very good location next to the train station and the city center. Comfortable bed. Rooms and facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The fitings and fixtures are pure class. Guests feel obliged to keep the place tidy since everything is so awesome. This lends to a great stay. Unfortunately, I had two terrrible nights sleep as one chap in the same dorm room snored especially loudly, but that is beyond the control of Hostel staff who are fanfastic. One of the staff even layed on tasty apple pie and ice cream to guests as an extra surprise treat one afternoon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Amazing facility. Staff are really friendly and atmosphere is relaxed. Nice breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.