X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Riverhouse Backpackers Reviews

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1948 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great place! Only complaint is that there weren't really enough bathrooms/showers.


100%

This was easily the cleanest hostel I ever stayed in. Charlie, who runs it, is lovely, as is the very friendly resident cat. I had a stunning chicken curry for £1 at night, and the free breakfast was better in terms of choice than hotel breakfasts I have had in the past. I can recommend this place most warmly.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights whilst exploring Cardiff, and we can honestly say it is one of the best hostels in Europe! Charlie and Abi were very welcoming/helpful, and there is a homely atmosphere in the hostel. Usually during the evenings, they organize different events ( like cider night, etc) to bring together the guests at the hostel, which was really nice. The rooms/toilets were clean and modern and the kitchen has everything you need, if you decide to cook something yourself

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The day when me and my friend arrived, they were just going to have free chocolate cake at night so we had some, so lucky. The stuff there was amazing, always helpful. The facility was great, individual toilet and bathroom. The cleanness was perfect. Nice hostel wish we stayed a bit longer. Ah forgot to mention the cat there, lovely one.


97%

very satisfied with facilities, everything works well and it's clean.


86%

I can recommend this place. It is very nice. The staff is always smiling and helpful in every thing. The acommodation is really great.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place with nice people and nice atmosphere! The room was very clean and the breakfast delicious!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice. Like a home away from home atmosphere. Would be a good place to go to ease that homesickness feeling a bit.


89%

I've been in a lot of hostel in my life.. This was the best one!! good location, great atmosphere and lovely lovely staff:-) 110% reccomended ++++++++++

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Yet another smashing stay at the Riverhouse Backpackers, where a central location, extreme friendliness and cleanliness meet the best complimentary breakfast, traditional snacks, and £1 home-made dinners, all delivered with genuine Welsh hospitality by the sister and brother team of: Abby & Charlie.


100%

Good hostel

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A very pleasant place. Was treated like family. Also, breakfast was amazing, and I wish I had made it in time for the delicious sounding group dinner.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were amazing, hostel was extremely clean, free breakfast as well which was excellent value for money. Walking distance from the station and the city centre. Some of the rooms are a bit small but that's the only downside. Would definitely come back.


100%

Very familiar hostel, you feel like home.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Charlie and Abi are amazing hosts and you can tell that the siblings are the owners of the hostel. They make sure everything is enjoyable for everyone in the hostel. Every night there is some time of food being made or desert being served. There is definitely a love for chocolate at the hostel. The rooms are very clean but had one night on a bad mattress but they allowed me to switch beds. Well worth the money due to the location of the hostel (super close to the station and city center).


100%

Best hostel I've been in a while. Run by the owner who greats you and shows you around. Somedays you are invited for cakes on the house in the evening. Quiet atmosphere. A rich breakfast each morning from 7 till 10. Little cozy place. Very clean and secure.


94%

This was probably the best hostel I've stayed in staff, facility and location wise.


100%

The hostel was amazing. Especially loved the £1 dinners and free chocolate cake. Only suggestion would be that they get bath mats for the bathrooms. They don't like the bathroom floors to be wet but it's hard when you step out of a shower. So if they had bathmats on the floor it would be much easier.


97%

Fantastic hostel. Within walking distance to everything in Cardiff and to the bus to Cardiff Bay. Breakfast was awesome and the facilities were great. Loved my stay and would definitely come again.


100%

Lovely and friendly staff. Amazing location, really quick walk into town. Cardiff Arms Park & Millenium Stadium are right there. Great place to stay. The breakfast was good and facilities including both kitchen and bathroom were excellent. Nice lounge and dinning room and very clean rooms. I will definitely recommend it to friends and I will come back again! A+++++


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback