Hostelworld.com

The Riverhouse Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 2,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 2,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
The Riverhouse Backpackers Located at 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, , Cardiff.
The Riverhouse Backpackers
Wales
Cardiff CF11 6AN 59 Fitzhamon Embankment
96% 2278
51.4784829 -3.1855416
The Riverhouse Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.3

Clean, nice place. Very central. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice hostel with friendly staff. There was a cider tasting with a lovely atmosphere in the evening. The breakfast was a welcome cheering up after a sleepless night in a room with a loud snorer. A detail worth knowing is the surcharge of £1 for credit card payment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Riverhouse Backpackers is very well located, with excellent security and friendly staff. I stayed here for four pleasant nights, with one of the best pillows I've had at a hostel. The only major complaint I have is that the room I was in was unusually warm and humid compared to the rest of the hostel. I don't believe we had air con in our room, so the window stayed open all the time. Not a big complaint, but worth noting

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
10.0

A really lovely hostel in a super central location of Cardiff. Super close to both train and bus stations. The building itself has a great old feel with all facilities still being modern and clean. The BREAKFAST WAS AMAZING!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a homey atmosphere. The breakfast was great! However, I really missed some younger travellers and activities. The hostel did not organise any while I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
9.7

Not a party hostel; ideal for travelers who want a clean, calm, comfortable place to stay. Staff friendly, convenient location, great breakfast. Only one caution: some of the shower stalls are a bit tight for those of us who aren't petite. So double-check your bathroom facilities when using those! But overall, a great hostel- would totally stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel with a great location on the river and just minutes away from anything you need. While the common tv room was small, it was always a great place to socialize. The free breakfast is your basic cold affair but it's free. The room itself was large enough to have some space, although the lockers were simply too small for a medium sized backpack. Staff were wonderful and the bathrooms were plentiful. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joaovcardoso6309
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

Loved our stay at Riverhouse Backpackers! Great location, staff were amazing/helpful and rooms were perfect. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Brilliant, just brilliant. Hostel with confidence here. Breakfast buffet is lavish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
10.0

I loved my stay at the RiverHoise Backpackers! Upon arrival they adjusted my room so that I would get a bottom bunk with fewer roommates since I assume they had extra space. The staff were all lovely and helpful, next time I'm in Cardiff will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.