Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Riverhouse Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 2,335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 2,335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
The Riverhouse Backpackers Located at 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, , Cardiff.
The Riverhouse Backpackers
Wales
Cardiff CF11 6AN 59 Fitzhamon Embankment
95% 2335
51.4784829 -3.1855416
The Riverhouse Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.7

Not a bad hostel, but not one of the best ones either. Very small bed rooms / dorms (especially our twin room, but others apparently too) that pretty much have just enough space for the bunk beds. On the plus side, there's a well-equipped modern kitchen, free tea and coffee all day, an outdoor sitting area and a generous breakfast buffet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed my time at the hostel. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The location is great, within walking distance to the coaches and trains and city centre. And breakfast is delicious. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RoadTrippin
  • Moldova, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Hello. It was a plesure to stay here !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

I've stayed here a few times now, it is a great Hostel for meeting other guests with a large lounge/dining-room and a small cosy tv room. The staff are always welcoming and it is perfectly located, just a walk across the bridge into the centre of town. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean and spacious. Wifi is reliable and fast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent. Very friendly; felt like home away from home. Perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

This hostel was really good. The breakfast is probably the best I've ever had at a hostel and even had almond milk for those who can't have dairy like me. The staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, being only a few minutes walk to town. The only complaint would be that they say you can do laundry, however they don't have a dryer so not really practical to get washing done and dry in a short amount of time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Staff was amazing, breakfast delicious. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and the bunks moved a lot when one person moved, but I loved the kitchen and living room areas. Great location as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

A great little hostel. The facilities are top-notch. The kitchen is gorgeous and the dining area/patio are great spots (although the dining room is a bit cramped). It was almost like staying in a house. There are (very clean!) bathrooms and showers on every floor. Good vibes from most of the travellers. The hostel is right on the river, but about a 7/8-minute walk to the action. About 40 minutes to Cardiff Bay. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
9.7

Absolutely great and friendly staff, very welcoming and personable. Great location to local attractions, great facilities, great breakfast, and overall a wonderful staff. I'd recommend Riverhounds to anyone coming to visit Cardiff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.