X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Riverhouse Backpackers Reviews

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1970 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Had a great stay at the Riverhouse! Abi and Charlie are so lovely and helpful - always willing to lend a helping hand or give some great local tips. Also provided delicious treats most nights for all of the guests which was wonderful. The breakfast is phenomenal! So much choice and all delicious. Very clean, especially the bathrooms. Only small complaint would be the top bunks in the top dorms are dangerously close to the roof.


94%

Vey nice hostel. Very nice staff who are resdy to help give advices. The list of sighseejng and map being handed while check in ks very nice. Facilities are also good. Good value for money. Will stay again.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I've never seen such a clean hostel, it seems like someone was mopping the floor constantly! Really delicious free breakfast in a well appointed kitchen. Nice, new facilities, Super nice owners. Good wifi signal in rooms. Easy walk from Cardiff Central Station. Free cheesecake/curry/cake nights. They even have a cat! If you have to be in Cardiff for any reason, stay here.


91%

I loved staying here! Not just because the location is great, but the staff is so nice, the two owners are just the loveliest hosts! It was very much like a big family event, the Saturday night snacks and that everyone is very friendly. Also, very nice free breakfast every morning :)


94%

I loved how accommodating the staff was. They were very helpful, and very nice. The put together gatherings for the guests and had available games and movies for everyone to watch. Everything was very clean all the time and breakfast was completely unexpectedly good. I would recommend it without a doubt.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, great breakfast, very quaint, and great location!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Hostel. Breakfast is excellent. Internet is fast. Clean and Tidy.


97%

Very clean hostel with great bathrooms and friendly staff. Lots of narrow stairs if you have lots of luggage but in an old building this can't be helped.


100%

This hostel was, by far, the best one we stayed at during our backpacking trip of Ireland and the UK. When it comes to Customer Service, the family that runs this business is incredible! They are so friendly and accommodating. The hostel also offers free desert nights (when we stayed there, it was apple pie) and dinner nights for 2 pounds/PP (great deal)! It's about a 4 minute walk from Cardiff Castle and the downtown area, so great location as well. Will definitely return!


100%

It was really nice and it was giving you happiness:)

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My first night staying here, the staff bought is all cheesecake for desert. What more can you ask for? It is a friendly, clean, comfortable hostel and I would definitely stay again.


97%

It was a great stay! Extremely nice atmosphere and staff :)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place! Only complaint is that there weren't really enough bathrooms/showers.


100%

This was easily the cleanest hostel I ever stayed in. Charlie, who runs it, is lovely, as is the very friendly resident cat. I had a stunning chicken curry for £1 at night, and the free breakfast was better in terms of choice than hotel breakfasts I have had in the past. I can recommend this place most warmly.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights whilst exploring Cardiff, and we can honestly say it is one of the best hostels in Europe! Charlie and Abi were very welcoming/helpful, and there is a homely atmosphere in the hostel. Usually during the evenings, they organize different events ( like cider night, etc) to bring together the guests at the hostel, which was really nice. The rooms/toilets were clean and modern and the kitchen has everything you need, if you decide to cook something yourself

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The day when me and my friend arrived, they were just going to have free chocolate cake at night so we had some, so lucky. The stuff there was amazing, always helpful. The facility was great, individual toilet and bathroom. The cleanness was perfect. Nice hostel wish we stayed a bit longer. Ah forgot to mention the cat there, lovely one.


97%

very satisfied with facilities, everything works well and it's clean.


86%

I can recommend this place. It is very nice. The staff is always smiling and helpful in every thing. The acommodation is really great.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place with nice people and nice atmosphere! The room was very clean and the breakfast delicious!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice. Like a home away from home atmosphere. Would be a good place to go to ease that homesickness feeling a bit.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback