Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Riverhouse Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 2,308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 2,308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
The Riverhouse Backpackers Located at 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, , Cardiff.
The Riverhouse Backpackers
Wales
Cardiff CF11 6AN 59 Fitzhamon Embankment
95% 2308
51.4784829 -3.1855416
The Riverhouse Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • terrialford7972
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
9.7

The Riverhouse was one of the cleanest and quietest hostels I have ever stayed in. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and is family friendly. Excellent breakfast in the morning and very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.7

This is a very chill place. I think it is a great option for lone travelers or families. The rooms are quiet and the bathrooms are nice because they are 1 person at a time and there are plenty of them. It is located right near the train station and near the center of town. The included breakfast is large and is a great time to meet fellow travelers. The staff are extremely helpful and a great source of information about what to do in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

I had a lovely stay; the hostel had a 'homely' feel and looked like you could be staying in someone's home. Cleanliness was second to none and my bed was made for me in the morning! Cider night was a good way of meeting other guests. Great location by the river. Breakfast was free and the best I've had in ANY hostel. Would highly recommend and I look forward to staying here again. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location, lovely place, wonderful staff. My favorite aspects might have to be the fantastic, included breakfast and some of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hostel. Great stay and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.7

I like the location because it is away from the hussle of the main centre but it is just outside the premise that it is close enough to everything. 5 minute walk to Cardiff Castle and bus stop for St. Fagans. 10 minutes to the main shopping centres, market etc. 8 minutes to train station. The staff are very nice and kind as well. People who stay there are sensible people I believe so safety is not an issue. The all female dorm is a bit small but still appropriate for price. Clean toilets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel. 5 minute walk in either direction to the city - bars/restaurants/Cardiff Castle. Abi and Charlie are absolutely the nicest people ever. I had a slight mishap and Charlie could not have been more accomodating. Great rooms - clean and cozy. The kitchen was lovely. Would definitely stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Had a fabulous stay here! Most of Cardiff's points of interest were really close by, and the place was clean. The showers had warm water, and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast was also really great! Definitely got good value for what I paid. I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

This place was great. It was my first hostel stay ever and was very pleased. The staff was very wonderful and provided a lot of help for my stay in Cardiff. I highly recommend taking their free walking tour. The guide was amazing and offered a unique perspective on Cardiff. They offer free breakfast and the facilities are very clean. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.1

Only stayed the one night but it was clean & at a reasonable price so not much more I could ask for really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
6.3

Staff was not helpful when we were looking for activities to do during the day and the hostel had only one planned activity during our stay in the evening. The area was close enough to the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for your comments. You only stayed two nights and in those two nights you enjoyed our free cider and snack night and it seems you didn't even appreciate that. Charming ;) Enjoy the rest of your trip

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.