Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Riverhouse Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 2,291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 2,291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
The Riverhouse Backpackers Located at 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, , Cardiff.
The Riverhouse Backpackers
Wales
Cardiff CF11 6AN 59 Fitzhamon Embankment
95% 2291
51.4784829 -3.1855416
The Riverhouse Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location, lovely place, wonderful staff. My favorite aspects might have to be the fantastic, included breakfast and some of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hostel. Great stay and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.7

I like the location because it is away from the hussle of the main centre but it is just outside the premise that it is close enough to everything. 5 minute walk to Cardiff Castle and bus stop for St. Fagans. 10 minutes to the main shopping centres, market etc. 8 minutes to train station. The staff are very nice and kind as well. People who stay there are sensible people I believe so safety is not an issue. The all female dorm is a bit small but still appropriate for price. Clean toilets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel. 5 minute walk in either direction to the city - bars/restaurants/Cardiff Castle. Abi and Charlie are absolutely the nicest people ever. I had a slight mishap and Charlie could not have been more accomodating. Great rooms - clean and cozy. The kitchen was lovely. Would definitely stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Had a fabulous stay here! Most of Cardiff's points of interest were really close by, and the place was clean. The showers had warm water, and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast was also really great! Definitely got good value for what I paid. I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

This place was great. It was my first hostel stay ever and was very pleased. The staff was very wonderful and provided a lot of help for my stay in Cardiff. I highly recommend taking their free walking tour. The guide was amazing and offered a unique perspective on Cardiff. They offer free breakfast and the facilities are very clean. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.1

Only stayed the one night but it was clean & at a reasonable price so not much more I could ask for really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
6.3

Staff was not helpful when we were looking for activities to do during the day and the hostel had only one planned activity during our stay in the evening. The area was close enough to the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for your comments. You only stayed two nights and in those two nights you enjoyed our free cider and snack night and it seems you didn't even appreciate that. Charming ;) Enjoy the rest of your trip

  • extraverse
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Abi and Charlie the hosts are only too happy to help on any occasion. Just the little things like someone bringing in my washing that I'd left out on the line because it was going to rain... The sort of touches you might get at home! The only minor criticism would be the old school room keys being a bit unwieldy, and the lack of plug sockets. Otherwise, awesome place, great location, and the best free hostel breakfast around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you have a good stay, we will keep this in mind for our refurbishment ;) Enjoy the rest of your trip

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.3

Clean, nice place. Very central. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice hostel with friendly staff. There was a cider tasting with a lovely atmosphere in the evening. The breakfast was a welcome cheering up after a sleepless night in a room with a loud snorer. A detail worth knowing is the surcharge of £1 for credit card payment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.