X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Riverhouse Backpackers Reviews

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
2010 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I loved this hostel. Charli and Abi are so nice and knowledgeable. They have great suggestions for where to eat and what places to walk to. They have maps readily on hand and give great directions. The hostel is also a very homey place that I felt comfortable in.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The River House Backpackers is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is very friendly and are ready to answer any of your questions or give you advice. They also have free breakfast every morning and on most nights have some sort of treat and drinks for their guests. This place will make you feel right at home


97%

very nice place to stay...

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great stay at the hostel. It was an ideal place to get a good sleep after going out into Cardiff, and the chow in the morning was quite appetizing. Thanks the owners for keeping up a such fine establishment.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a lovely stay. Staff was very helpful, nice and friendly. Breakfast really surprised me, because there was so many options, that I wanted to try everything, yum! Also I spent all day in the city center on Saturday and when I came back in the evening there was a free cider and crisps in the kitchen (what the..? I mean it's not so usual in hostels, right?) Anyway, I Loved it! And people were just chatting there in such great atmosphere. Just a small details, but has a great value! Cheers!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for a really enjoyable stay in Cardiff. The hostel felt like a home--even if it was just for two days!-and I didn't want to leave! I really liked the dvd idea in the living room, and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hostel. Keep up the good work!


91%

Everything was amazing!! The best hostel in Cardiff

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay at the Riverhouse! Abi and Charlie are so lovely and helpful - always willing to lend a helping hand or give some great local tips. Also provided delicious treats most nights for all of the guests which was wonderful. The breakfast is phenomenal! So much choice and all delicious. Very clean, especially the bathrooms. Only small complaint would be the top bunks in the top dorms are dangerously close to the roof.


100%

The best hostel that I have ever tried! A very good staff, structure, breakfast, common room and price!! :)

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about this hostel was exceptionally good. The best I've stayed in.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place with amazing atmosphere, very nice and helpful owners. Mega point for breakfast included. Highly recommended place to stay in Cardiff.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Vey nice hostel. Very nice staff who are resdy to help give advices. The list of sighseejng and map being handed while check in ks very nice. Facilities are also good. Good value for money. Will stay again.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I've never seen such a clean hostel, it seems like someone was mopping the floor constantly! Really delicious free breakfast in a well appointed kitchen. Nice, new facilities, Super nice owners. Good wifi signal in rooms. Easy walk from Cardiff Central Station. Free cheesecake/curry/cake nights. They even have a cat! If you have to be in Cardiff for any reason, stay here.


91%

I loved staying here! Not just because the location is great, but the staff is so nice, the two owners are just the loveliest hosts! It was very much like a big family event, the Saturday night snacks and that everyone is very friendly. Also, very nice free breakfast every morning :)


94%

I loved how accommodating the staff was. They were very helpful, and very nice. The put together gatherings for the guests and had available games and movies for everyone to watch. Everything was very clean all the time and breakfast was completely unexpectedly good. I would recommend it without a doubt.


100%

Very clean, great breakfast, very quaint, and great location!


91%

Great Hostel. Breakfast is excellent. Internet is fast. Clean and Tidy.


97%

Very clean hostel with great bathrooms and friendly staff. Lots of narrow stairs if you have lots of luggage but in an old building this can't be helped.


100%

This hostel was, by far, the best one we stayed at during our backpacking trip of Ireland and the UK. When it comes to Customer Service, the family that runs this business is incredible! They are so friendly and accommodating. The hostel also offers free desert nights (when we stayed there, it was apple pie) and dinner nights for 2 pounds/PP (great deal)! It's about a 4 minute walk from Cardiff Castle and the downtown area, so great location as well. Will definitely return!


100%

It was really nice and it was giving you happiness:)

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(66 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback