X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Riverhouse Backpackers Reviews

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1993 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very clean, great breakfast, very quaint, and great location!


91%

Great Hostel. Breakfast is excellent. Internet is fast. Clean and Tidy.


97%

Very clean hostel with great bathrooms and friendly staff. Lots of narrow stairs if you have lots of luggage but in an old building this can't be helped.


100%

This hostel was, by far, the best one we stayed at during our backpacking trip of Ireland and the UK. When it comes to Customer Service, the family that runs this business is incredible! They are so friendly and accommodating. The hostel also offers free desert nights (when we stayed there, it was apple pie) and dinner nights for 2 pounds/PP (great deal)! It's about a 4 minute walk from Cardiff Castle and the downtown area, so great location as well. Will definitely return!


100%

It was really nice and it was giving you happiness:)

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My first night staying here, the staff bought is all cheesecake for desert. What more can you ask for? It is a friendly, clean, comfortable hostel and I would definitely stay again.


97%

It was a great stay! Extremely nice atmosphere and staff :)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place! Only complaint is that there weren't really enough bathrooms/showers.


100%

This was easily the cleanest hostel I ever stayed in. Charlie, who runs it, is lovely, as is the very friendly resident cat. I had a stunning chicken curry for £1 at night, and the free breakfast was better in terms of choice than hotel breakfasts I have had in the past. I can recommend this place most warmly.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights whilst exploring Cardiff, and we can honestly say it is one of the best hostels in Europe! Charlie and Abi were very welcoming/helpful, and there is a homely atmosphere in the hostel. Usually during the evenings, they organize different events ( like cider night, etc) to bring together the guests at the hostel, which was really nice. The rooms/toilets were clean and modern and the kitchen has everything you need, if you decide to cook something yourself

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The day when me and my friend arrived, they were just going to have free chocolate cake at night so we had some, so lucky. The stuff there was amazing, always helpful. The facility was great, individual toilet and bathroom. The cleanness was perfect. Nice hostel wish we stayed a bit longer. Ah forgot to mention the cat there, lovely one.


97%

very satisfied with facilities, everything works well and it's clean.


86%

I can recommend this place. It is very nice. The staff is always smiling and helpful in every thing. The acommodation is really great.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place with nice people and nice atmosphere! The room was very clean and the breakfast delicious!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice. Like a home away from home atmosphere. Would be a good place to go to ease that homesickness feeling a bit.


89%

I've been in a lot of hostel in my life.. This was the best one!! good location, great atmosphere and lovely lovely staff:-) 110% reccomended ++++++++++


91%

Yet another smashing stay at the Riverhouse Backpackers, where a central location, extreme friendliness and cleanliness meet the best complimentary breakfast, traditional snacks, and £1 home-made dinners, all delivered with genuine Welsh hospitality by the sister and brother team of: Abby & Charlie.


100%

Good hostel

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A very pleasant place. Was treated like family. Also, breakfast was amazing, and I wish I had made it in time for the delicious sounding group dinner.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were amazing, hostel was extremely clean, free breakfast as well which was excellent value for money. Walking distance from the station and the city centre. Some of the rooms are a bit small but that's the only downside. Would definitely come back.


(76 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback