X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Riverhouse Backpackers Reviews

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1710 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms are just perfect. Another plus is the free breakfast with everything you can think of. I would definitely come back!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic friendly staff, delicious breakfast and awesome organised events!!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic little place just opposite the Millennium stadium. Great location, lovely staff, brilliant facilities, good suggestions of activities to do. Perhaps the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Simply Brilliant.


100%

Wonderful hostel - felt like staying in a real house. Great tv package, 1 pound dinners some nights, lovely kitchen and dining area, nice duvets. Abi and Charlie and wonderful and their tip sheet is a godsend. All in all a really great place to stay. Definitely would recommend.


100%

Loved this hostel! The service was great and helpful, the people were super friendly, and I loved that they did daily events like £1 pasta and garlic bread.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I was only there for two nights, but I have nothing but good things to say. The breakfast was so generous, the staff extremely helpful. Totally top notch.


54%

It`s not a bad hostel, but it doens`t worth all that money that is charged Breakfast is good, but they just have candys, not even a slice of ham or cheese Bedrooms are small and doesn`t have plugs for every guests Me and a friend did check out and come back later to catch our backpacks and wait a couple of hours till was the time of our bus to depart Surprisingly,Charlie and his adorable wife didn`t let us charge our phones or use nothing of hostel facilities So stingy Have a long way to go!


100%

SERIOUSLY, definitely the BEST hostel (out of the 15) I have ever stayed at. Everything was perfect, it felt just like being at home but even BETTER! Amazing location, staff were super friendly, free breakfast was the BEST I have ever seen at a hostel, amazing £1 dinner, very comfortable TV room with Sky channels. They also have the BEST bathrooms I have ever seen at a hostel! PERFECT.


100%

The riverhouse is great! Charlie and his wife are very very nice people. The atmosphere is really warm and curated. Excellent cleaning. I had very great time by the riverhouse. Vanessa Patassi

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The riverside hostel is really great. Excellent breakfast and the oweners a really helpful and friendly

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Location is right by the stadium and Cardiff Castle, which was very nice. Parking is not terribly close- down the street IF they have a guest parking permit. Otherwise good luck finding a spot. The breakfast was fantastastic, one of the best I've had. The staff were very nice as well. Only thing I wish could've been better was the weather, but not their fault :)


100%

Had a great stay at the hostel, walking distance to everything. Great kitchen facilities. Really nice staff and the atmosphere was great. Would defiantly recommend to others. They even kindly put in a female four dorm instead of a mixed six forno extra charge. Defiantly going back if I ever return

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is located in a quiet still central part of town. The staff is available 24 hours a day. The breakfast is very good. However, the "twin bed room" I slept in was as tiny as you can imagine! There was a bunk bed and a locker (very very small) and nothing else: no shelves, no hooks, no chairs.I mean, how difficult it is to guess that a guest may need to hook for a bag, or a coat? You would not need an internal designer, would you? The same happened in the bathrooms: not a single shelf!


97%

Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Easy to drive to and fab location for easy access everywhere. Lovely place to stay and staff. Cheap parking a bonus!

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

More like staying in a fancy b


97%

Loved the free Apple pie with whipped cream.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

best breakfast i´ve ever had. excellent facilities, staff are really nice, they have group dinners which really brings people together. GOOD JOB


91%

Pros: Clean, professional, attractive spaces, perfect location, great wifi and breakfast. Definitely a first-rate hostel. Cons: a bit crowded and cramped, the spaces are small (both dorms and common areas) and there are plenty of people. It's great for meeting people but be prepared to bump into others in the kitchen and awkwardly be in each other's way in the dorms.


97%

I thank everybody who works there. They were very nice... try to help you if you need it


100%

Every thing is perfect even the tissue in bathroom. Super warm super clean. The kitchen is the well equiped and its the best I have ever seen. Highly recommend this hostel. The best place to stay the best place to meet a super cool guy. XD


(76 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback