X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2854 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Very disappointing stay here. Freezing cold water (or on the rare occasion boiling water) in the showers, complained and was told it was because I was on the 4th floor, so the rooms on that floor obviously don't ever get warm water... Found staff unpleasant, breakfast was the worst I have come across in a hostel. Had to pay £8 to store my luggage for a few hours which is a complete disgrace/rip off. Only positives are the location and that the rooms are quite big. Don't bother staying though.


43%

Extremely noisy, I didn't sleep at all. I left after one night. Bed is hard, toilet would barely flush. Bedding smelled. Told the staff about noisy neighbours and they promised to have a look, well, didn't notice any effect. When I explained why I checked out early, they actually giggled behind my back. Wasn't just that, walls are very thin, you hear every move from the floor above, doors only close with a bang, and that goes on throughout the night.


77%

good location. Breakfast a bit basic - more types of jam please.


37%

Avoid. You'll regret staying.


71%

It was decent enough to stop over for the night.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel has a worse atmosphere than a prison. I would not recommend it to anybody. It's super run down and unpleasant. The only good thing is that it is fairly cheap and in a very good location. It's a pity because if it was refurbished it could be alright. Only stay there if you ''have'' to.


49%

They boast Wi-Fi in the hostel, but I was on the 4th (top) floor, which is not in range. The toilet was so close to the wall you nearly have to sit side-saddle on it. The shower had no hot water the first day. The second day the option was either burning hot or freezing cold. I tried for a looooong time to adjust the hot/cold ratio to get a bearable warm temperature, but nothing worked. The place it pretty run down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I love the private room with towel, kettle and shampoo though 2 morning out of hot water. Few steps from the Central line at Queensway underground and 5-min walk from Bayswater for Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Breakfast included. Free luggage storing on arrival but 2 pounds after check-out. Expected it is a serve-yourself hostel for such a great price and location. Some unqualified guests might knock your door at midnight then ran away. Guests, please behave.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Terrible noise all the time from something placed on the roof just outside the window . Room 202 should be for max for 2 persons not for 4!!!!!. It definitely needs redecorating. The English stuff was terribly rude and lazy. I had to wait 15 minutes to check in because the boy had to make a phone call while the other receptionist was very busy - she was eating. Only the Polish girl, who was the next day, was very helpful and kind. For breakfast colourful water which they call orange juic


66%

Booked last minute, was the only available option with acceptable price/location. Stayed at single room. It really worth the price, doubtfully one can find ensuite room for that money in the centre of London. The room and bathroom were quite clean. Remote control didn't worked, but i wasn't too concern about tv. The most negative impression - they have only 1 hairdryer for the hotel and it was floating somewhere around. Though i was allowed to overstay for about an hour for free.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uzbekistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The team of the hostel is kind and friendly, Amanda was nice and polite. The man doing the night shift was helpful with me and my brother. Location is perfect, the tube is so close. The building is a bit old, but I can't complain with anything as the room was clean and the stay was great. The price after all is definitely fair, compared with others options.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed for two days from 31 Oct 14-02 Nov 14.. Overall I'm satisfied with the hostel especially for their staff that are really friendly and always treat customer with a smile. Room is clean and tidy eventhough the bed sometimes smelly. About the toilet, it is clean and nicely taken care of by the hostel staff. It will be really good if the hostel can provide slippers for the customers inside the room to kept the room clean and prevent from any mold in the room. Thank you.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

For being in a 20 bed room, this hostel wasn't that cheap. There were two bathrooms that all 20 of us had to share, which wasn't a big deal except they smelled like mildew. The location was really great though so it was a completely average hostel since we were close to what we wanted to do and we didn't spend much time at the hostel anyway, You do have to pay for Wifi though, which is always a bummer.


66%

Breakfast was nice and i really appreciated that was for free. although luggage room and wi-fi you had to pay for which i thought a bit unfair. Just two lockers for the whole room so i had to leave my stuff on the floor. However it was a good place to stay considering what i paid. I would return back. Position was great.


57%

The location is great... that's all. The room smelt terrible (yes, this is the fault of the other people in the room - not the hostel's BUT there was only one tiny window that you had to climb on to somebody's bed to open). There were 2 power points to be shared by all 12 inhabitants of the room. Dead cockroach on the bathroom floor. Zero atmosphere! Didn't even bother with breakfast so I can't comment on that. It did the job - somewhere to sleep in a great location. That's it.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Private rooms are really tiny and quite expensive. Staff seemed uninterested in their guests.


74%

I don't think they should charge for use of a debit card. otherwise all was ok


69%

Breakfast for improvement: not much variety, one kind of jam, no hot chocolate or fruit, orange juice reconstituted ...

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty good for a hostel in London. Best location for the money.


83%

I enjoyed staying next to beautiful hyde park and running in it in the mornings. Hostel is a bit of a party one tho and I did find the humour in watching two french women have an argument at 2am. Good times.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(135 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback