X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
3167 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Bad street noise all night, no so street lights and the moon shine right into your face if you sleep next to a window. Cold shower only in morning. Staff says the guests are to blame too shower at same time! Avoid!


86%

Great staying, reasonable prices etc., however no free wifi., other things are fine.


66%

Shower is terrible, and so is the elevator - very unpredicdaple. Location is perfect, right next to Hyde Park and Queensway Underground. Breakfast was just enough to be average.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good place to stay for a few days

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Hi,I have been o in many hostel around the world this is the worst hostel in my life very rude staff,people long term residents in there are from north Africa, some people in there still everything specially Food. If you want complain them start to pick on for no reason.it's very strange hostel avoid avoid avoid the manager Amanda is just incompetent she doesn't know anything. I feel sorry about her. People don't go in there there are many hostel around ....


77%

Overall the hostel was okay. Good breakfast of toast and jam or cereal in the morning. You have to pay for wifi. The private rooms were quite small. Our room always smelled bad, even with the window open.


80%

I stayed here for one night and it was okay. It's good value for money; it's quite clean, there's a kitchen and they offer a free breakfast. The location is good with two underground stations near it and Hyde Park just across the street. There's an internet cafe on the ground floor. There's apparently no common room though, so this hostel is more like a place where you just come to sleep after you've spent all day exploring the city.


100%

We were really pleased with our stay, the staff were quick, efficient and pleasant, the room was definitely of a good standard considering what you pay (you'll pay a lot more for the same standard at a London hotel). It was super close to the tube (which was on the central line) so easy to get around.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Place to stay and very close to shops and utilities and some of the attractions of London (Hyde Park, South Kensington Museums)


69%

I stayed in a room with 20 people. There were only two bathrooms for us to share, but it didn't seem to cause too much of a problem- probably because I was always up early. I wouldn't suggest the group rooms if you want to be in the room much during the day. It was difficult to not disturb the other people in the evenings and mornings with squeaky everything. The beds are a bit short for anyone 6ft or taller. The breakfast was a bit sad, but expected for the price.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

This is the worst place I've stayed. Everything is old and dirty. The only good thing about this place is location.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

The staff acted as though they all hated their job. The facility was dirty, the beds were extremely close together. Ive stayed in a room with 18 people and it was not bad but this with 12 people was ridiculous. It was like sardines. If you dont have the room to make it comfortable dont force it! The bathroom was dirty, the garbage was always full and no one checked the beds to see if anyone checked out. At one point a worker came into our room at 10:45 and flipped the light on without warning


20%

Most disgusting hostel I've ever been to

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Wifi must be free and rooms must be cleaner.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

You get what you pay for. Good location, right next to two tube stations and Hyde Park. No wifi (you have to go down to Starbucks or McDonalds). The rooms were very hot. Staff came into the room in the middle of the night to kick some people out and then came back to strip the beds at about 1:30am, which was a bit weird. Pretty standard basic hostel experience for London really.


71%

Internet should be free and included, which was not the case. Lift is very slow, but at least working. Bathrooms are very small. Fee for luggage storage should be cheaper as well. Felt safe and location is perfect. Room was clean. Staff friendly.


60%

On the plus side it's very close to Queensway for Central Line and Bayswater for circ./dist. Directly opposite Hyde Park. Wifi is not free. Unless you know how to type "arp -a", "ifconfig", "sudo", "en1" and some numbers into a Linux Command Line and not in the order above. I chose to pay for the Wifi instead as I did not want to slow down those Skyping family overseas. Staff were great. Staff at other Hostel's have forgotten recently that they are not prison guards and we're not scum!


60%

Room was very small and beds were squeaky. Good location next to Hyde park and close to metro and bus lines.


34%

The hostel luckily for them is in a great location. The staff were all very rude and did not assist us or the other guests checking in at the same time. The room was very small and the shower was dirty. We stayed one night and would not return or recommend

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Good if: you prioritize location and easy access to public transportation. Not good if: you prefer a backpacking atmosphere. This is probably not the hostel faults, as it happens with most really large hostels. What could be improved: Poor breakfast for the shared rooms, wifi is expensive (pay per hour) and it is not included (was not even working at the time we were there), free lockers for everyone in the shared rooms. Since it is such a big place, it is impossible to feel your things are sa

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback