X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2758 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

It is indeed a cheap place in any respect, it feels cheap and it taste cheap... no character whatsoever not to mention fun or meeting point for travellers. With its position at the gate of Hyde Park and the buzzing Bayswater and Notting Hill area it has all prerequisites to be great hostel yet it is rather the opposite. It is a place to sleep and forget about being there.Unfortunately this is the case with all the Arab owned hostels in the Bayswater area. Avoid them until they learn to respect


63%

Shower dangerous, no constant temperature, got very hot without warning. Lift not work and never is . Had to lug bags upto the 4th floor. Whole place needs slick of paint

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I found this place through a last-minute website, looking for a one-night stay for a spontaneous weekend in London. The location is central, good traffic connections, friendly staff, and in spite of being a hostel, it was surprisingly quiet! (I had a single "private" room to the back that even entitled me to a free basic cooked breakfast). The place is basic, but friendly and clean, with a good location, and for that price (compared with other London accommodations) it is a real bargain!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Having to pay wifi can't be real nowadays.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

having previously stayed at the bayswater thought it would good to stay again..unfortunately every time (and this was different time of the day also) I wanted a shower, the water was so cold! gutted...


80%

The staff was super nice and helpful! Free wifi would be great, but I guess for that price we can't complain.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Pros: The location is great as there is a bus stop and subway station right outside. Cons: I am new to backpacking but this was the worst hostel of our trip so far. It does not have that warm and fun atmosphere and the staff treats you like the amount of money your paying. One of them actually ripped me off and refused to give me key card deposit back, yes you have to pay for your room key and make your own bed. They also told us they don't wash the blankets. Would never go back

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good hostel, good breackfast and good location, problem? a couple of tiny cockroaches in our room, but nothing to worry about

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed in a single room. It was clean, the only problem was the shower not working properly. The location is ideal. Good value for money in London. Check out at 10am is a bit early.


46%

Located on a very busy street with loud cars and loud people outside 24/7, with windows that could not be closed. So we did not get any sleep.


77%

No powerpoint in the room - or if there were I couldn't see any. Helpful staff, crisp clean sheets. Rabbit-warren hallways and you can hear people using them and out on the street all night.


54%

Stayed here one night as a peninsula between couch-surfing. At £11 for a 12-dorm you don’t expect much, but there’s this real sad dinginess that pervades the place; the grubby concrete stairs that lead to a second ‘level’ on two floors, the way the shower spurts ungainly onto the glass, the sour staff serving breakfast, who deprived this wayfaring waif of a much-desired round of coffee before the breakfast session was even up, hurrying the cups and decency away simultaneously.


86%

Me and my girlfriend lived for 2 days in a 4-bed ensuite (=with own bathroom) room which I can recommend as it has optimal "privacy/price" ratio. The beds, the bathroom and the room itself were "basic" (no luxury, small room, beside two wardrobes no additional equipment), but seemed clean and were okay in general. Breakfast was included - toasts with jam or butter and drinks ("all-you-can-eat" style) - nothing special, but totally okay. The location is perfect, but noisy at night.


63%

Free wifi please and better breakfast


34%

Next time id prefer to sleep on the street. The staff was nice though.


63%

The bathroom is very small and in our room the roof had water leaking from the floor above. Very small military beds and no free wifi. Breakfast ordinary. Very but i won't go here again.


71%

I had to be waiting to take a shower or get off to the shower in the down floor , just one toilet for 19 persons, breakfast very current

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

My experience was quite mixed. What could have been better - elevator was broke - no payment by card - no free internet, instead needed to buy cards, but connection was too weak to use Skype - monotonous breakfast, some ham or bacon would have been nice - tiny private room Most of the staff was quite unfriendly and cold, except for the lovely Camilla at the front desk who did smile and seemed genuinely concerned with client satisfaction.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed in a private room and it was okay, looked clean!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, staff are nice and available 24/7, rooms are cleaned every day, beds are quite comfortable. Bad sides are: no free Wi-Fi, you have to pay for storage

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback