X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2733 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

My personal experience in the hostel was in general pretty ok, but I must add some comments.1- I was in a 4th floor and the lift was broken, so it was a bit annoying having to use the stairs after having walked for the whole day.2-someone stole the jacket, the towel and the flipflops of one of the girls in my room. She went downstairs to the reception but the staff was not very concerned about it and they didn't pay much attention or showed much interest. It was an unresolved mystery....

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Never again. Dirty, old, little little wc, stupid recepcionist.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It is a good place, but wi fi that is a elementary thing isn't free, it is very expensive


46%

The worst place I've been hostelded. A very bad atmosphere, dark, dirty, small rooms, old and really disgusting. The only good thing about this hostel is the location, there are 2 underground station.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Certainly there must be better cheap hostels in London than this one, however if you intend to stay just a few days, it might suit you anyway. It's a safe hostel as there are keycard control to get access to the rooms' area and to the rooms themselves, but no room lockers (only a few safes in the reception). This hostel is sort of well-located, in front of the Hyde Park, with some metro stations around and not so far from the hotspots. Breakfast is fairly convenient.


74%

It was a really nice place to stay considering how much you pay! The location is excellent!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

A budget hostel you get what you pay for. Rooms have little ventilation, and noisy machinery right outside the windows make getting a good nights sleep impossible. But its in an excellent location, right across from Kensington Palace.


74%

Amazing price, amazing location... what was bad, was air conditioning from restaurant in front of our window making quite big noise 24 hours a day, but still I must recommend this hostel.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Decent hostel by London standards, but the beds were really short and the traffic noise from the street all night quite disturbing... had to sleep with windows open so that nobody would suffocate.


37%

The room was dirty, the bathroom small enough that you could do the shower staying seated in the wc! Two electricity sockets for six persons, dust everywhere, no personal locker in the room and no spaces for my clothes!!!! This hostel is simply rubbish!


69%

The girls in the night are very lovely. All the services are paid. Disgusting. Wifi paid. Lookers paid.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The rooms were spacious and clean. The only downside was that the internet was very expensive.


54%

It is a £10 hostel in Bayswater, you get what you pay for. Everything works but nothing is nice. Breakfast is jam on toast, cornflakes with warm milk and a choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. I'd call it a 'Minimal English Breakfast'; nothing continental about it. Worst: the other guests. A lot of slightly dodgy long term Bayswater residents (they move between hostels to dodge the max stay rules). Made me feel insecure and I'm a big British guy. Best: the staff, they seemed very nice.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed at the private rooms which was of a good value for money, very comfortable and safe. All facilities like TV, tea

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A free wifi and a decent stove in the kitchen would make that place even better.


60%

The very Noise air conditioning running up the building is ridiculous. Ear plugs are Needed. Why is the place so hot. A good thing to add, they give you Clean bedding.


71%

The atmosphere was poor, no room to socialize. However, the location was amazing: in front of the Hyde park, next to a underground station. Nothing else to complain, perfectly fine hostel.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

You were suppose to pay for internet, and they gave us passes for free. The kitchen was a wreck and needs a lot of work, but the dining area was nice. Breakfast was free and tasty!! A coin washer and dryer were available downstairs. Close to bus and subway terminals and across from a park. Had an excessively high deposit on room keys. Overall excellent experience!!!


40%

1.Expected it to be cramped up but they literally taking every ince to squeeze in people.2 Only one small window could open to get fresh air in the room wich results in a stinky stuffy room.3.Shower was broken either flaming water or ice cold.4.No cominial room.5 Did not expect much of breakfast but was even worse ended up only going once.6 Front desk staff appeared misrebal everytime I aprouces them with a question.Worst hostel out of a lot I've stayed in.Would not recomend ur dog to stay ther.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Too floor in rooms are way too hot! Needs sitcom or fans in rooms!!!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(128 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback