X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2617 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I saw some bad reviews for this hostel, but having tried it myself, it was fine. I liked how the rooms were all ensuite and showers were hot. I also met some other young backpackers who were more friendly than other hostels. The beds provide basic comfort for the price, and the breakfast is good with hot chocolate and squash provided, as well as tea and coffee. I would recommend this hostel as a temporary place for people to see London.


31%

Coming in the lobby looked clean and orderly. The receptionist was grumpy and just handed us our keys. He mentioned we had breakfast but all details were brief. He told us out room numbers and which door to us. We get into our room and it's dark and smells odd. The bunkbeds were cramped into a room and not cleaned for new guests. We had to guess which beds were open. There was no working light and random trash lying on the ground. I woke up feeling unsafe and gross. We didn't eat breakfast.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

free wifi would make hostel better

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite good hostel. Less worn down than other hostels, and definately cleaner. Stayed in a 20-bed mixed dorm with 2 bathrooms, and didn't experience much queing + had plenty of hot water for showering. Staff was nice enough, and the price for using the wifi seemed fair; 1£/hour. Connection was exellent. Breakfast was toast, jam and cornflakes, no worse than what I've had in a London hotel. Generally I had a good experience. Lacks a cosy common room though.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The staff behind the counter were rude and verbally aggressive, cockroaches were running around in the bathroom. Moldy showers and no lockers in the room


66%

Location was good. Can walk to harrods/oxford st/hyde park (all around 30-45mins). Hostel very stuffy when its hot. Rooms quite small. Have to pay for wifi and can only be used downstairs in reception.


74%

it was a very strategic place to stay in, very close to oxford street. There is a bus stop right outside the entrance of the hostel and the tube station is few meters away. The place is near Hyde Park as well. There are many cheap souvenir shops, cafes, restaurants, malls and supermarkets in the area. The hostel was quite good in almost all aspects except that the breakfast was poor and the shower was either very hot or very cold.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Hellow, I just like to comment,maybe it is not everyone have the sam need to me the breakfast it is the most important to have in the morning,for exc. if you have the frest fruits ,yogurt,or etc.,and i would be pay for it extra for the cost,it'll make my staying even fantastic;-)).

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Stayed for one night. Overall, stay was ok. Check-in was easy despite fairly late in the night. They keep safe in front of the reception. I think somewhat safer if travelling with very valuables. However, could be inconvenient, if you want store basic (laptop, wallet etc.). Room had only one power outlet behind a bed. So, if you don't get that bed, good luck with charging your phone. Bath was very small. I am less than medium frame and had difficulty reaching to shower that was very small.


40%

The atmosphere was really bad... It didn't look like a friendly place, more like a shelter for homeless people. The facilities and the breakfast were terrible... and also you have to pay for EVERY extra service like WIFI, towels, leaving your lugagge, etc, etc.


31%

Very poor value for money. We had to pay for basic facilities that should be included in the large price we payed, particularly wifi. The rooms and bathrooms desperately needed updating.


54%

Hot water not consistent. Place shabby. Windows stuck. Tap fittings should be replaced. Lift not working. Have to carry heavy suitcases up and down narrow stairs. Generally place a bit run down. However location excellent and staff friendly.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Really noisy and uncomfortable

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

When we were checking in the personel was not nice. In the day we were checking out there were diffrent people from the personel and they were really nice and helpfull. Other things were fine.


77%

It's a bit annoying that we do not have access to free lockers that we could use with our own padlocks. Also, the oven are not very effective.


57%

the lockers in the room are not there anymore !!! the only lockers available are in the lobby and you have to ask the reception to open it every time you want to use it this hostel is ok for a couple of days but not more, it is only "royal" by its name


86%

Was what you payed for, I would stay again. Shower pressure was a bit slow and no wifi. Really close to a tube stop and over the road from Hyde park, with plenty of shops around.


66%

Si no estás buscando gran cosa, este sitio no está mal. Adecuado para un viaje de dos o tres noches en el que lo principal sea no gastar mucho dinero. Lo malo es que hay que pagar dos libras por bulto y día si quieres dejar tu maleta en una taquilla; también pagas por toalla y por wifi. No hay cortinas (pero en casi ningún sitio de Londres hay...). Por la noche hacía algo de frío, así que mejor coge un buen pijama. Y a la ducha hay que pillarle el truquillo para no achicharrarte con el agua.


57%

You will have to pay for all Internet, washing facilities and lockers. You will not be able to use kitchen facilities if school groups visit. The main staff were not friendly in the slightest. However some of the girls on front reception were lovely when we checked out. Location is good and it is cheap if you stay in a large dorm. You get breakfast every morning which is good.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed in a 20 bed room and the line for the bathrooms could get pretty long in the mornings as there were only 2. The rooms were a bit dirty, but the beds were clean. We were given fresh sheets at check-in. Breakfast was toast, cereal, and coffee or tea, so nothing special. Great location though - right next to Hyde Park, Kensington Palace and gardens, and Queensway metro station.


(97 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback