X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
3027 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

it was bad experience at Royal Bayswater Hotel,broken beds,broken toilet'no cleaning,electricity was shut down,,,aaahhh horrible stay

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, nice staff, great value for money.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Shared a room with one tweeker and another guy who got kicked out of another room for refusing to shower for protracted periods. Room smelled so horrible that someone insisted on keeping the window open (in minus five temperature) all through the night and morning to air it out... and we kind of had to see his point. Bathroom completely vile - shower has black mold, which grew over the paste they tried to snuff it out with. Shower had only two modes, as some have mentioned: scalding; freezing.


69%

There was not hot water in the shower and toilet flush was not working. The best thing was the location of this hostel as its very close to tube. Also they helped us to keep the luggage for 2£ for 24 hrs on 31st night.


74%

We stayed in the top floor and the lift was out of order so I myself had to haul all pieces of luggage up and down. Oddly enough, the heater made funny noises at night. An alarm sounded (sometimes) whilst taking a shower in hot temperatures; staff said it always happens so and suggested we should've kept toilet door open whilst taking a shower. Bed is rather comfortable. If you decide to pay balance due at reception counter and use your banking card, you'll be charged 5% extra.


69%

The room is a little bit too dark and the lock of the toilet fails


34%

A horrifying experience. My first time in London & bcos of this hostel, I don't ever want to go to London ever again! The toilet stinks so bad like 20 ppl just shitted before we arrived. And the flush doesn't work! The toilet light doesn't work! Hv to flush more than 10x for each use. NO FREE INTERNET PROVIDED. WE HV TO PAY? Isn't it the norm for every accommodation to provide free internet for the customers? Also, what's the point of asking arrival time if we hv to wait till room is available?

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

it is not just a hostel, it is a hotel as well, there's no lounge area, if you're by yourself and want to make friends it's not the best hostel to stay. Anyway, my bedroom was ok, no problems at all.


89%

Really nice staff and good location. I stayed in a 4bed room and it was really nice! The bathroom was really clean and the water was always hot in the morning, but it would get colder by the end of the day. Internet isn't free but it's only 1£ per hour. The breakfast wasn't that special but you can't ask for much, it's a hostel not a hotel. I would stay there again.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The shower in the room 407 doesn't work properly. It takes a while to get warm, and when it does, you can't control the temperature: it will burn or freeze you. That's the worst part of all, because everything you want after a long day walking is a relaxing shower.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I've been going there for years now because it is friendly and clean and the prices are just the lowest for the quality of the location !

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

i still had good time inthis hostel central good staff clean and very big kitchen


49%

Location is great and surprisingly the bed was comfortable to sleep on - but that's about it. The place is not clean, bathroom is not clean, bad and old décor everywhere, no care or attention is given to the up keep of this place. The internet pictures are deceiving and obviously very old. Poor standards throughout.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Double En-suite. Wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. Clean room, clean sheets, clean bathroom. Tv, tea and coffee in the room refilled each day along fresh sheets. Very dated furniture but all functional. Rooms were quiet. And free quite nice breakfast! With a big plus of real scrambled eggs! Staff were friendly and really helpful. Dont know about the bad reviews but those days seem to be in the past. Would definitely recommend!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

please repair the windows!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in a twin room with ensuite. All very clean. Lovely crisp bedding and towels provided, basic toiletries in bathroom, Tea, Coffee and Kettle in room, extra milk provided by reception on request. Tv with freeview on wall in room. We had an excellent nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable, noise was minimal. The room itself had two windows overlooking Kensington gardens. Breakfast provided was great value, toast, cornflakes, sausages, beans, egg, selection of cheese and fruit

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

The staff was very non cooperative. There was no wifi and they put some pcs in the reception area and charged £1.00 for 15 min use of Internet. Breakfast was horrible. I would like to request their staff to show a little courtesy and helpfulness. They even charged me £2.00 for my very small cabin bag for leaving with them for 2 hours after checkout. That was annoying.


51%

The staff was ok,but i wouldnt recomend the 20 people's room.I couldn't sleep well.the room had a strong smell,there's no free wifi and i don't think it worth the price.They put a lot of people together and don't care about quality,just money.


51%

Very disappointing stay here. Freezing cold water (or on the rare occasion boiling water) in the showers, complained and was told it was because I was on the 4th floor, so the rooms on that floor obviously don't ever get warm water... Found staff unpleasant, breakfast was the worst I have come across in a hostel. Had to pay £8 to store my luggage for a few hours which is a complete disgrace/rip off. Only positives are the location and that the rooms are quite big. Don't bother staying though.


43%

Extremely noisy, I didn't sleep at all. I left after one night. Bed is hard, toilet would barely flush. Bedding smelled. Told the staff about noisy neighbours and they promised to have a look, well, didn't notice any effect. When I explained why I checked out early, they actually giggled behind my back. Wasn't just that, walls are very thin, you hear every move from the floor above, doors only close with a bang, and that goes on throughout the night.


(76 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback