X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
3026 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

The room was dirty, the bathroom small enough that you could do the shower staying seated in the wc! Two electricity sockets for six persons, dust everywhere, no personal locker in the room and no spaces for my clothes!!!! This hostel is simply rubbish!


69%

The girls in the night are very lovely. All the services are paid. Disgusting. Wifi paid. Lookers paid.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The rooms were spacious and clean. The only downside was that the internet was very expensive.


54%

It is a £10 hostel in Bayswater, you get what you pay for. Everything works but nothing is nice. Breakfast is jam on toast, cornflakes with warm milk and a choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. I'd call it a 'Minimal English Breakfast'; nothing continental about it. Worst: the other guests. A lot of slightly dodgy long term Bayswater residents (they move between hostels to dodge the max stay rules). Made me feel insecure and I'm a big British guy. Best: the staff, they seemed very nice.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed at the private rooms which was of a good value for money, very comfortable and safe. All facilities like TV, tea

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A free wifi and a decent stove in the kitchen would make that place even better.


60%

The very Noise air conditioning running up the building is ridiculous. Ear plugs are Needed. Why is the place so hot. A good thing to add, they give you Clean bedding.


71%

The atmosphere was poor, no room to socialize. However, the location was amazing: in front of the Hyde park, next to a underground station. Nothing else to complain, perfectly fine hostel.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

You were suppose to pay for internet, and they gave us passes for free. The kitchen was a wreck and needs a lot of work, but the dining area was nice. Breakfast was free and tasty!! A coin washer and dryer were available downstairs. Close to bus and subway terminals and across from a park. Had an excessively high deposit on room keys. Overall excellent experience!!!


40%

1.Expected it to be cramped up but they literally taking every ince to squeeze in people.2 Only one small window could open to get fresh air in the room wich results in a stinky stuffy room.3.Shower was broken either flaming water or ice cold.4.No cominial room.5 Did not expect much of breakfast but was even worse ended up only going once.6 Front desk staff appeared misrebal everytime I aprouces them with a question.Worst hostel out of a lot I've stayed in.Would not recomend ur dog to stay ther.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Too floor in rooms are way too hot! Needs sitcom or fans in rooms!!!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The second time I stayed later in the week the staff were really pleasant and was given a room away from the main road as I had requested. There were cockroaches in the bathrooms and not enough accessible sockets in the rooms. But cheap accommodation, good location so would stay again.


60%

Slidt. Fik værelse ud til en konstant kørende udsugning.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The staff wasn't that friendly. One regular bathroom for a 10 bed dorm is not enough. There was no climatization, so it got very uncomfortable in the dorm.


54%

Rooms stuffy


63%

breakfast was poor, and should include free Wi-fi.


54%

It's in a good spot, near the tube and buses, right across from Kensington Gardens but the hostel could use some upgrades, especially in security - there are only a handful of lockers all of which were full so that was disappointing. Not the worst place we've stayed but certainly no where near the best.


74%

The good points for this hostel : very good location, bus stop right at the door, clean, kitchen at your disposal, no curfew. Bad points: the lift isn't working most of the time, staff doesn't really know about what to see and the prices, noisy because of heating or cooling right outside the window of my room.


60%

poor value for money... staff was quite unpleasant, facilities were dilapidated, breakfast was bad

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Free wifi is a must thing to have in hostel. It is spure necessary. Also don't understand why kitchec have to be closded in midnight there is no point for that, what if I return from a day and would like to make eat some food after long day.


(1786 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback