X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2784 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A great low cost stay in London.


80%

Pleasant enough, great location. Would go again :)

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

L'état de la chambre était déplorable, sale, pleine de poussière, très humide. Un des deux éclairages ne fonctionnait pas. Le verou de la salle de bain ne se fermait pas, de la crasse partout. Personnel peu agréable, petit déjeuner plus que moyen. A éviter !!!!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The lockers wasn't working, then we didn't have a safety place to left our baggage. The wifi is charged £1,00 per hour and it's not so good.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

l'ascenseur ne marche toujours pas , monter 4 étages avec une valise pleines merciii!!!!! surtout qu'il ne prévoit pas de le réparer.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

everthing is money. The internet was not free. Storeage was not free. towels were not free. The breakfast included only butter and bread. the elevator(lift) had been out of service since 7 days. If your height is over 180, the fittin on the bed is really difficult.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

They mention that the desk is open 24 hours and they ask you what time you'll be arriving when you create a booking, but in very small letters at the bottom of the page they tell you check in isn't until 11am. We chose this hostel because we thought we could check in at 7am when we got to London which would have made our stay a little nicer. They did however offer to store our bags for us until we checked in.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Bad things: no lockers in the rooms, really noisy rooms (the hotel is just placed closed to non-stop street), no bar, no wifi, the living room should be more attractive (not enough power outlets) Good things: price is correct, breakfast is good, location is perfect (10m from the tube station)


46%

It is indeed a cheap place in any respect, it feels cheap and it taste cheap... no character whatsoever not to mention fun or meeting point for travellers. With its position at the gate of Hyde Park and the buzzing Bayswater and Notting Hill area it has all prerequisites to be great hostel yet it is rather the opposite. It is a place to sleep and forget about being there.Unfortunately this is the case with all the Arab owned hostels in the Bayswater area. Avoid them until they learn to respect


94%

The best located hostel in London.


63%

Shower dangerous, no constant temperature, got very hot without warning. Lift not work and never is . Had to lug bags upto the 4th floor. Whole place needs slick of paint

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I found this place through a last-minute website, looking for a one-night stay for a spontaneous weekend in London. The location is central, good traffic connections, friendly staff, and in spite of being a hostel, it was surprisingly quiet! (I had a single "private" room to the back that even entitled me to a free basic cooked breakfast). The place is basic, but friendly and clean, with a good location, and for that price (compared with other London accommodations) it is a real bargain!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The location and price was probably the only good part of this hostel. If you wanted to pay with a card it was a 5% fee so heads up. We could check in at 11 but couldn't put our bags in the luggage area until 1 - and that was 5 pounds/day. You had to pay for the wifi which is unacceptable for a hostel in 2014. They don't make your beds or wash the comforters (so don't use those). In a 12 person dorm there were only 3 outlet stations, and only one of them worked. Dirty bathroom. Rude staff.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Kann das Hostel leider gar nicht empfehlen. Wir waren eine Gruppe von 8 Personen und wollten praktischerweise in einem 8-er Zimmer untergebracht werden. Bittete sogar explizit darum per Email. Die doch sehr unfreundliche Empfangsdame erklärte dass wir einzeln in 8-er Zimmern untergebracht werden. Bei betreten des Zimmers konnten wir es nicht fassen so ein verdrecktes und schimmliges Zimmer ist uns noch nie untergekommen. Wirklich unzumutbar.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Having to pay wifi can't be real nowadays.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

having previously stayed at the bayswater thought it would good to stay again..unfortunately every time (and this was different time of the day also) I wanted a shower, the water was so cold! gutted...


80%

The staff was super nice and helpful! Free wifi would be great, but I guess for that price we can't complain.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

everything was good apart from no wifi


43%

• The bathrooms are horrible, both in cleanliness as in functionality (the showers only give a sad dribble of water) • There are no comfortable common areas, only the breakfast room, which is very sterile • You have to pay extra for almost everything • The very expensive wifi has very poor connection quality • The rooms are stuffed with beds Overall, the Bayswater hostel seems to have optimized to let the maximum number of people survive on minimum cost and space.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Pros: The location is great as there is a bus stop and subway station right outside. Cons: I am new to backpacking but this was the worst hostel of our trip so far. It does not have that warm and fun atmosphere and the staff treats you like the amount of money your paying. One of them actually ripped me off and refused to give me key card deposit back, yes you have to pay for your room key and make your own bed. They also told us they don't wash the blankets. Would never go back

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(197 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback