X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2876 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Personnel très agréable , emplacement de l hotel tres bien situe restaurants , metro. Cependant , propreté très legere , plus le flux /de la douche était tres faible donc je ne reviendrais plus dans ce hotel malgré le personnel agrable. De plus, il y a 2 types de clients les touristes et les travailleurs et nous avons été melangés la 1ere fois avec des travailleurs des pays de lest dune quarantaine d'année dans une chambre pas très agreable.


97%

Double En-suite. Wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. Clean room, clean sheets, clean bathroom. Tv, tea and coffee in the room refilled each day along fresh sheets. Very dated furniture but all functional. Rooms were quiet. And free quite nice breakfast! With a big plus of real scrambled eggs! Staff were friendly and really helpful. Dont know about the bad reviews but those days seem to be in the past. Would definitely recommend!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

please repair the windows!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in a twin room with ensuite. All very clean. Lovely crisp bedding and towels provided, basic toiletries in bathroom, Tea, Coffee and Kettle in room, extra milk provided by reception on request. Tv with freeview on wall in room. We had an excellent nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable, noise was minimal. The room itself had two windows overlooking Kensington gardens. Breakfast provided was great value, toast, cornflakes, sausages, beans, egg, selection of cheese and fruit

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Pas d'eau chaude dans la douche....

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The staff was very non cooperative. There was no wifi and they put some pcs in the reception area and charged £1.00 for 15 min use of Internet. Breakfast was horrible. I would like to request their staff to show a little courtesy and helpfulness. They even charged me £2.00 for my very small cabin bag for leaving with them for 2 hours after checkout. That was annoying.


51%

The staff was ok,but i wouldnt recomend the 20 people's room.I couldn't sleep well.the room had a strong smell,there's no free wifi and i don't think it worth the price.They put a lot of people together and don't care about quality,just money.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

j'étais dans une chambre pour 1 personne, mais elle devait faire moins de 5m² et j'avais tout juste la place de passer le long du lit. La fenêtre donnait sur une cours peu entretenu. Les murs de la chambre étaient plutôt sales. Je trouve que le rapport qualité prix est mauvais...

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Very disappointing stay here. Freezing cold water (or on the rare occasion boiling water) in the showers, complained and was told it was because I was on the 4th floor, so the rooms on that floor obviously don't ever get warm water... Found staff unpleasant, breakfast was the worst I have come across in a hostel. Had to pay £8 to store my luggage for a few hours which is a complete disgrace/rip off. Only positives are the location and that the rooms are quite big. Don't bother staying though.


43%

Extremely noisy, I didn't sleep at all. I left after one night. Bed is hard, toilet would barely flush. Bedding smelled. Told the staff about noisy neighbours and they promised to have a look, well, didn't notice any effect. When I explained why I checked out early, they actually giggled behind my back. Wasn't just that, walls are very thin, you hear every move from the floor above, doors only close with a bang, and that goes on throughout the night.


60%

The hostel is in a great location. The room itself was okay. We stayed in a private room. The shower was horrible: icecold or burning hot. There was no WiFi. We did have a TV and a waterboiler and coffee/tea stuff, but the waterboiler had to be put on the floor to reach the plug connection. The door couldn't be locked properly and the fire alarm sometimes randomly went off. We did sleep well however, and the location made up for quite a bit. Breakfast was just fine.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good location. Breakfast a bit basic - more types of jam please.


37%

Avoid. You'll regret staying.


71%

It was decent enough to stop over for the night.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel has a worse atmosphere than a prison. I would not recommend it to anybody. It's super run down and unpleasant. The only good thing is that it is fairly cheap and in a very good location. It's a pity because if it was refurbished it could be alright. Only stay there if you ''have'' to.


49%

They boast Wi-Fi in the hostel, but I was on the 4th (top) floor, which is not in range. The toilet was so close to the wall you nearly have to sit side-saddle on it. The shower had no hot water the first day. The second day the option was either burning hot or freezing cold. I tried for a looooong time to adjust the hot/cold ratio to get a bearable warm temperature, but nothing worked. The place it pretty run down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I love the private room with towel, kettle and shampoo though 2 morning out of hot water. Few steps from the Central line at Queensway underground and 5-min walk from Bayswater for Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Breakfast included. Free luggage storing on arrival but 2 pounds after check-out. Expected it is a serve-yourself hostel for such a great price and location. Some unqualified guests might knock your door at midnight then ran away. Guests, please behave.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Terrible noise all the time from something placed on the roof just outside the window . Room 202 should be for max for 2 persons not for 4!!!!!. It definitely needs redecorating. The English stuff was terribly rude and lazy. I had to wait 15 minutes to check in because the boy had to make a phone call while the other receptionist was very busy - she was eating. Only the Polish girl, who was the next day, was very helpful and kind. For breakfast colourful water which they call orange juic


77%

Ostello che consiglio a chi non ha troppe pretese ed ha spirito di adattamento . Io personalmente mi sono trovata bene, avevo una camera con 4 letti con bagno (era la 214). I letti sono comodi anche se cigolano un po', il bagno è ok con acqua calda e una bella doccia. Il riscaldamento nella stanza funziona bene e lo si può regolare. Nel periodo di permanenza ho cambiato ben 4 coppie di inquilini, ognuno si faceva i fatti suoi e non ci sono stati problemi. Non ci sono appendini ma ci si adatta.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Sofia221b
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Booked last minute, was the only available option with acceptable price/location. Stayed at single room. It really worth the price, doubtfully one can find ensuite room for that money in the centre of London. The room and bathroom were quite clean. Remote control didn't worked, but i wasn't too concern about tv. The most negative impression - they have only 1 hairdryer for the hotel and it was floating somewhere around. Though i was allowed to overstay for about an hour for free.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uzbekistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(181 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback