X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2728 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Stayed here one night as a peninsula between couch-surfing. At £11 for a 12-dorm you don’t expect much, but there’s this real sad dinginess that pervades the place; the grubby concrete stairs that lead to a second ‘level’ on two floors, the way the shower spurts ungainly onto the glass, the sour staff serving breakfast, who deprived this wayfaring waif of a much-desired round of coffee before the breakfast session was even up, hurrying the cups and decency away simultaneously.


63%

Free wifi please and better breakfast


34%

Next time id prefer to sleep on the street. The staff was nice though.


63%

The bathroom is very small and in our room the roof had water leaking from the floor above. Very small military beds and no free wifi. Breakfast ordinary. Very but i won't go here again.


66%

My experience was quite mixed. What could have been better - elevator was broke - no payment by card - no free internet, instead needed to buy cards, but connection was too weak to use Skype - monotonous breakfast, some ham or bacon would have been nice - tiny private room Most of the staff was quite unfriendly and cold, except for the lovely Camilla at the front desk who did smile and seemed genuinely concerned with client satisfaction.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed in a private room and it was okay, looked clean!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, staff are nice and available 24/7, rooms are cleaned every day, beds are quite comfortable. Bad sides are: no free Wi-Fi, you have to pay for storage

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

nous étions deux dans une chambre de 6. la chambre était petite pour 6 personnes. l'état global de la chambre n'était pas parfait mais cela reste correcte par rapport au prix payé.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Standard breakfast which considering the price I paid was good enough. Have to pay for wifi which I thought was poor. Staff not the most helpful, not a very personal hostel. They're almost I've professional but overall good for the one night I stayed

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Fix the lift clean the communal area and sort out your staff! A lick of paint would go a long way! Take care of the place!

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Buenas calidad precio sobre todo porque era entresemana pero deberían limpiar más las escaleras y las habitaciones. las literas ya se han quedado muy viejas. Seguridad bien porque se entra con tarjeta pero en la habitación había personas mayores muy raras y con pinta de llevar tiempo ahí. te dan sábanas limpias pero el edredón-manta no te dan funda limpia y es muy poco higiénico, da asco tocarlo


69%

I had read really bad reviews about this hostel so I had very low expectations. But I must say it was better than I thought. I slept on the 2nd floor (life out of service) with the room facing the busy street. Yes it is quite noisy in the morning but I used my earplugs so slept like a baby and I used an eyemask. The toilet and shower in the room was always clean and there is free soap. The cleaner cleaned the room once a day. There are lockers in the room but you have to pay for it.


54%

Auberge très très bien placé pour le carnaval de Notting Hill, à 20m de la station Queensway, à 50m du quartier du carnaval piéton. Sinon, immeuble vétuste, les douches sont ou bouillantes ou gelées, parfois sans pression. Fourmis constaté dans une des sdb. Le lundi du carnaval il a plût toute la journée, le soir de l'eau coulait des murs et plafond, une grosse flaque au sol... Du coup vu qu'il pleut assez régulièrement à Londres évitez le dernier étage !

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Para mim o melhor do Hostel foi sua Localização! O pior do Hostel foi não fornecer WIFII Gratuita, voce tem que pagar 1 Pound por poucos minutos! O Café da manha é bom, mas todo o dia repete! Ambiente agradável, e os funcionários fazem a limpeza rigorosamente, mas parece que os funcionários não são bem pagos, pois são insatisfeitos com seu trabalho! Achei um bom Hostel! Passei um bom tempo aqui, no quarto para 20 Camas, então conheço bem o Hostel! Não é um hotel, é um HOSTEL, mas vale a pena!


74%

It was okay. The breakfast was nice and our room was clean. But then the ceiling started to leak because of the rain. That sucked.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Petit dejeuner et isolation a revoir

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

There were some mess with the bed I was gonna have, and a little more friendliness solving this problem would be nice.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Hôtel catastrophique J'étais seule à y dormir, et pour une fille seule c'est pas sécurisant du tout Cafards dans la chambre, papier toilette humide par terre, personnel pas du tout compréhensif, sal, odeur nauséabonde clientèle de clochards, drogués. La pire nuit de toute ma vie ce n'est pas adaptés pour des jeunes et des étrangers pour visiter la ville mais adaptés aux sans abris de Londres. Je comprends qu'ils cherchent un endroit pour dormir mais à ce moment là ne pas le proproser


63%

Es ist nun mal eins der billigeren Hostels in London. Daher weiß man was man zu erwarten hat. Die Mitarbeiter sind nett & hilfsbereit. Frühstüeck ist auch mit im Preis drin. Räumliche Trennung beim Frühstück für diejenigen die privates und shared room gebucht haben. Die Zimmer - naja. Schimmel im Bad - hatte kein Fenster. Bei den Betten dachten wir das die bald auseinander fallen. Matraze und Betwäsche waren sauber. Boden wurde gewischt bevor wir kamen - top. Warmes Zimmer.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We really enjoyed our stay in London at this hostel and wished we could stay longer! The location was great.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(204 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback