X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Royal Bayswater Hostel Reviews

121 Bayswater Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
2930 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The fire alarm went off a couple of times during the night which was not very pleasant.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Matress were disastroysly thin and painful, shower were either ice cold or too hot. Plus Wi-Fi is available only if you pay for it, which is totally scandalous. I wil never ever come back to this hostel.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Staff are two faced , stab you in the back . Atmosphere aggressive , poor Management .


71%

Cheap and chherful, I just needed a place to rest my head after travelling to a concert, it was fine for my wishes. Breakfast was basic (eggs, orange juice, toast and marmalade, tea) but welcome before venturing onto the streets of London in January!


86%

Mi fanno sentire a casa, dovrebbero dare una password gratuita agli ospiti per l'accesso a internet, agli ospiti che sono presenti dai giorni precedenti per lavoro non dovrebbero aumentare il prezzo del soggiorno il venerdi.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

- Zimmer werden nicht gereinigt, sondern es werden lediglich das Bett gemacht und Mülleimer ausgeleert - Badezimmer sind alt, dreckig und schimmelig - der Aufzug wird wohl niemals wieder instand gesetzt - Personal und Atmosphäre sind einfach unterirdisch - die Lage ist jedoch super und man kann schnell an schönere Orte gelangen

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

O Funcionário que me recebeu foi muito mao humorado, me colocou em um quarto onde não cabia mais ninguém e quando fui comunicar, fez cara de carcasmo... A condição do quarto que estive era muito ruim!


86%

Staff are helpful and very friendly.


40%

After placing my clothes in the washing machine and realising it was not working properly I alerted staff who said it hadn't been working for the past 3 days. They were obviously too busy talking to each other and playing on their phones to be bothered to put out of order signs on the machines. So after my cloghes sat in water for 2 hours it took me a further 4 hours to dry them in the dryer. Destroying most of my clothes due to discoloured and shrinking in the dryer that was also not working.


66%

Good location and price, however there is no wifi, you have to pay for it. The break fast is very simple.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place to stay - even when your passed 50 years ;-)


71%

I only spent 1 night here and have been happy with the bed and the room. I had a wonderful sleep in a 4bed ensuite. The only problem was noise in the corridor walking,talking, slamming doors etc. but that calmed down after 1pm. Breakfast was basic yet alright. The place is run down around the edges but all in all a good deal. I would come back.


60%

The Hostel is okay if you don't want to do something else except sleep, shower and a cup of coffee or tea in the mornig. If you stay in a private room you get a nearly proper breakfest. The doorm guest get Toast and Jam. It's a cheap way to enjoy a short trip in London.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We were in room 303, 8bedroom, which is very small, just enough space to put the beds in it. Whenever somebody is in the bathroom, a vent makes a lot of noise. The heater was on maximum so it was very hot in the room and we couldn't turn it off. A mecanic came and fixed it, but it didn't help. So we opened the window at night, but then sometimes there was a lot of noise. (don't know where it came from) Overal it wasn't bad, since the location was great, breakfast was available and it was cheap!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Bem básico. Pra quem quer só um lugar pra dormir, o hostel serve. Por ser localizado perto de duas estações de metrô, o deslocamento pela cidade se torna fácil. O café da manhã é ruim.


51%

it was bad experience at Royal Bayswater Hotel,broken beds,broken toilet'no cleaning,electricity was shut down,,,aaahhh horrible stay

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Wi-Fi pago, boa localização próximo a duas estações de metro e vários mercados. Quarto apertado e banheiro dentro do quarto, ou seja, a limpeza depende dos demais hospedes. Elevador não funciona e muitas escadas. Café da manha é simples, com torradas, leite, café e cereais. Não há segurança para os pertences dentro dos quarto deviso à ausência de cofres. Bom devido ao baixo custo da hospedagem.


77%

Great location, nice staff, great value for money.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Shared a room with one tweeker and another guy who got kicked out of another room for refusing to shower for protracted periods. Room smelled so horrible that someone insisted on keeping the window open (in minus five temperature) all through the night and morning to air it out... and we kind of had to see his point. Bathroom completely vile - shower has black mold, which grew over the paste they tried to snuff it out with. Shower had only two modes, as some have mentioned: scalding; freezing.


80%

Recommande fortement cette auberge, personnel agréable, chambre propre en bon état, auberge calme. Très bon séjour

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback