Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Secret Garden Quito

  • Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
7.7

I was torn between 3 stars and 4 stars. Basically, Secret Garden was fine. We had a private double room. Tasty food, ok staff. My main issue is that it was loud. They played music on the roof until 11:30 every night, and started again ~7:30am. It was too loud to have a comfortable conversation during dinner. It's great if you're in your late teens/early 20s and want to meet people to party with. I prefer a more chill environment. So I wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend to friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
10.0

The secret garden was an amazing hostel! The atmosphere is unbeatable- they have a beautiful rooftop terrace bar, an indoor hammock area. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and there is also a travel agency inside the hostel which was helpful in booking Galapagos tours. The hostel organized walking tours and pub crawls! The hostel is also at the bottom of the stairs to itchimbia park (great for sunset!). The location is walkable to the main plaza, about a 15 min walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

My wife and i stayed for 7 nights. We have travelled a lot and stayed in many different place but The Secret Garden ranks at the top. I cant say enough about the place. Location is perfect and the staff are so nice they go above and beyond. I would not stay anywhere else in Quito but here. Mike and Diana Reeve

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.1

Only stayed one night as a stop over between Cotopaxi and Galápagos Islands but had a great night. Really social hostel, tasty group dinner, good drinks offers at happy hour, lots of social areas. Comfy bed, good-ish wifi (a little slow), number codes on doors and lockers for valuables. I plan to stay here again when back in Quito.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

Overall, a very good hostel. The view from the rooftop terrace was incredible. There were plenty of places to relax and meet new people, and it has been one of the cleaner hostels I've stayed in. Two things to consider: first, it can get quite loud in the rooms in the evenings and noise travels easily throughout the building so definitely bring headphones or ear plugs. Second, while there are plenty of showers, toilets were limited at times. Overall, a good hostel choice in Quito!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

The only place to stay in Quito. This place offers good vibes, delicious food, great day trips and fantastic rooms. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm which was very well laid out. Roomy bunks, each with their own light and plug sockets. I did the Mindo day tour with the affiliated tour agency Carpe DM. I would definitely recommend this trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th May 2017
9.1

Such a great hostel - the rooftop bar is beautiful and has a great vibe. Everyone goes up there for happy hour and they've banned wifi so people are forced to talk which is great. I met some awesome people here as a result. The beds are comfy, showers are usually warm, the common room sofas are comfy. The travel agency downstairs is great. No kitchen usage is a bit of a shame but they do provide dinners for under $5. I've stayed here twice already and would again in a heartbeat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

We had such a great time here. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a tour agent downstairs to sort out all your trips. The dinners are delish and all served together in the evening so very social. The rooms are clean and showers hot. Every bed has a lamp and plug and also lockers for all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
10.0

I truly believe this is the best hostel in Quito if you are looking to meet a lot of young people. We spent tons of free time telling stories, drinking, and travelling with our new friends. Staff all speaks english and are super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Ecuador! Also, stay in their hostel in Cotopaxi, it was absolutely brilliant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.