Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Secret Garden Quito

  • Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel is great, it's well run and has an amazing view of Old Town Quito from the roof terrace. I found the hostel to be social and friendly with a lot of English speaking solo travellers. The hostel itself is quite rustic in appearance but equally characterful. If you are someone who prefers to cook their own food rather than eat out, I understand that there are no cooking facilities here, however the hostel offers home cooked breakfast and dinner at a reasonable price $3-5.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
9.1

I liked this hostel. There are many bathrooms so even though the bathroom near my room wasn't always clean, it wasn't a problem because I could always find a clean bathroom. Definitely go to their Cotopaxi location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • howardjones88
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.0

Stunning view from the top floor roof bar over the city. Atmosphere is geared for being sociable. If you are a introvert, then best to give it a miss.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Love this place but wow too many stairs! CHeck in is alllll the way at the top and then you have to go alll the way back down. Was not fun with my 55liter backpack, surfboard and oversized carry on. Was not asked for help either. But i do love this place its really chill vibe. great location. I give it a 4/5. it would be 5/5 if they could figure out their reception sitiation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.9

We had dengue fever while we were here so couldn't make the most of the great atmosphere - but it has many other selling points! It is very clean and the security is great. Staff are lovely and the breakfast (not included) was yummy. Only downside for me was that the rooms were quite overpriced. It's a great hostel but there were a lot of free beds at times. This could possibly be fixed by lowering the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

The most beautiful Hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff and owner are wonderful, the food is comforting and hearty, the views are breath taking. There is no wifi which forces people to return to reality and spend quality time with one another! My favorite part of Ecuador this far! Also, do the Pasochoa trek :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.6

The roof top bar and the ability to meet people are the prime attractions. The building is run down and the tours on offer are wildly overpriced

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, location and walking tour! I booked 2 nights and ended up staying 8. There are so many day trips you can do and the atmosphere at the hostel is awesome. Cheap food at te hostel, next door and across te street. I just loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

The Secret Garden is a great, friendly and atmospheric hostel, very close to Quito's historic town centre. The room as are comfortable, the staff are lovely and the roof terrace is spectacular and a great way of first meeting the city over breakfast. I am going back to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Really an all around great hostel. There's a bar upstairs, but if you want some peace and quiet, it's readily available too. Very clean hostel, plenty of safes and lockboxes, great staff. The water and wifi have some inconsistencies, but it's certainly not a deal breaker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.