X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1084 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great hostel that really took care of its travellers. The rooftop terrace is beautiful, and the hostel really went out of its way to make sure everyone felt welcome (including free maps, allowing you to use the wifi/lounge area even after you've checked out and offering great tour advice). As a first time solo traveller, I really appreciated the staff going out of their way to pair me up with fellow travellers who had made similar travel plans for the next day, which helped us save money!!

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

reception is at level 5 up tight winding stairs, may as well climb Cotopaxi, illogical. showers are not hot and terrible pressure. no real good lockers, had numerous people coming and going from our room to charge there phones because power was off in theirs and ddint get fixed over the 3 days we were there. hence security wasn't great. maroon5 and Bruno mars repeat during the day. wtf! manager must wear a red nose/crazy wig/white face the place is a circus. very nice view from the balcony.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most guests love our reception on our spectacular rooftop terrace, conveniently located next to our restaurant, bar, free tea/coffee, common area etc - we have no plans to change this. We employ a full time maintenance man - any fault, including electrics, is always fixed within a few hours. People do not come to The Secret Garden to steal. The security level of our lockers has never been a problem. Again, we will not be changing anything, but thanks for the suggestions.

69%

Overall a good hostel however we were never given a key to lock our room so security didn't feel great. The cleaner came in and cleaned our bathroom about 5 times a day. She would come in early in the morning and throughout which was v annoying being woken up and felt incredibly invasive. Excellent rooftop bar and views though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
All private rooms have keys for the door and a lockbox concreted into the wall. All dorms have at least one locker per bed. The Secret Garden is a very busy, popular hostel and we do have a number of staff responsible for inspecting and cleaning all parts of the hostel. Some bathrooms are cleaned 5 times a day, and some even more often, but no cleaners ever enter dorms between 8pm and 8am. We can only apologise if you found our cleaners disruptive.

89%

I had a great time! The staff all spoke english so it made my stay easier as I haven't quite got the spanish down yet.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Quito! It has the best staff and atmosphere with its amazing roof top terrace and bar. It was also in a great location. I think some people where concerned with security but if you just take your passports with you on day trips anyway this is a general backpacking rule of safety anyway. It's not a problem that there's no kitchen because the food offered is super nice and really cheap! Theres free tea, coffee and filtered water all day.


94%

Hot water a little unreliable otherwise an excellently run hostel and the approved taxi service is very reassuring. Very well located for Quito Old Town; however, Quito is so big no accommodation will be perfectly situated for all you want to see.


89%

Enjoyed my stay very much, loved the rooftop patio and all the great people!


89%

Great place with a fantastic view from the roof garden. Free tea and coffee available all day. Friendly and helpful staff members. A great choice if you stay in Quito.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

great vibes, friendly people & staff, awesome view of Quito and they upgraded our 3 person group to a private room for same cost as dorm! Thanks!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team - they love to hear that all their hard work is appreciated. It was a pleasure to offer you that free upgrade. We do our best to provide great value for money, and in fact we are now entering our third year of "price freeze" - it's been 2 years since our last price increases and we have no plans to increase prices in the near future - enjoy!!

69%

Good food, cool roof terrace. Unfortunately one of the staff/volunteer members put us off the place, she was quite rude.


83%

An excellent option for staying in Quito. The hostel offers helpful assistance in many things beyond the premises, from safe taxis at the front door to trips to the Otavalo market, Cotopaxi and beyond.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your kind words, and glad to hear you appreciated our taxis. We are the only hostel in Quito with our own private taxi rank - 12 safe, friendly, reliable drivers have all been vetted & approved by us. Our hostel is their base, and we control the taxis by radio from our terrace reception in order to provide the best possible service to our guests - glad you appreciated it - enjoy the rest of your travels :)

86%

Great location in the old town with a fantastic view from the bar upstairs. The in house travel agency is very handy if you are looking for info on things to do or organising trips. Biggest draw back was there was no kitchen which means you have to either order off the menu or eat out. There is no fridges (or at least we didn't see or were told there was any to use) so you can't store your own food. They do provide breakfast and dinner which is cheap enough.


86%

Great place to stay overall, but could have some minor tweaks to make it better. No locks on the dorm room doors (typical) but this might lead to issues during the day when anyone can walk into the hostel. No kitchen, but the food is reasonable priced - good breakfast. As other reviews say, the reception is oddly on the top floor. Perk - free filtered water. Great view from the bar. Very easy to socialise. Has a social aspect & is still easy to relax. Close to everything.


66%

This hostel is good for atmosphere and meeting people. Great roof terrace where most people chill with superb views of Quito. Downsides: poor security, dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad value for a double, bad breakfast (you have to pay extra), no kitchen, rubbish uncomfortable beds, noisy, temperamental hot(lukewarm) water. Oh and their tours are super expensive for what you can do yourself for a few dollars.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Poor Security ?? - There are security cameras throughout the hostel. There are staff everywhere during the day and a guard at night. You were given the key to lock your room, and your room also had a safe lockbox concreted into the wall. Not sure how we can improve security but we're open to suggestions. The Secret Garden does not sell tours, but we offer loads of free info on public transport and free/cheap ways to do things. Our in-house travel agent, CarpeDM, is rated the best in Ecuador.

97%

Great hostel! Especially good if you want to meet people! Stunning view, friendly staff and good food :) Bring a padlock for your locker!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - glad to hear that you loved The Secret Garden as much as most people do. And thanks also for sharing that good tip. We encourage all guests to travel with their own small padlock. We could provide padlocks for the lockers, but guests have told us they would nott like this. When you have your own padlock you can be sure that you are the only person with access to the key.

74%

Great chilled out vibe, clean rooms. No key for the room though. And the chilled out vibe can be a little irritating if you are in a rush and the staff are taking their time. Make sure they know if you are in a hurry!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - everyone loves the vibe of The Secret Garden, and our cleaning staff will be pleased to hear that all their hard work is appreciated - they do a great job keeping such a big, busy hostel looking great. Apologies that you were delayed at checkout - guests love being able to just "pay at the end" but we'll make more of an effort to inform guests that they can settle their bill anytime between 7am and 11pm to avoid queues at the 10.30 morning checkout time.

57%

The only good thing about this place is the view from the rooftop bar. The "reception" is the bar itself and very chaotic, especially at night. The staff is too busy (or: Too lazy) to take proper care of the guests. I noticed there was never enough tea/milk/coffee (which was basically only dark hot water). Very small choice for breakfast and too expensive. A cleaner walked into our dorm at 8 in the morning and was quite loud so we were forced to get up. Would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree - our terrace is a very busy, popular place to hang out and meet other travellers. Most guests rate our 100% Arabica, hand-picked, organic coffee as excellent. Our breakfast menu includes tea, coffee, juice, fresh bread rolls, granola, yoghurt, fruit salad, pancakes, eggs scrambled boiled or fried, omelettes w cheese or ham, and more. eg a portion of French Toast costs $1, Bacon & 2 eggs $1.50. Unfortunately we would find it difficult to reduce prices or increase options - sorry!

86%

The view from the terrace makes the stay worth it. Other bonuses are the in house travel agency, meal service and filtered water dispenser. Some rooms are loud, but nothing ear plugs can't solve. Excellent location for walking around old town, or a slightly longer walk through the parks to mariscal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending our free purified water dispenser - it's not just a great cost saver for guests, but also has a real positive impact on the environment. We do recycle plastic bottles - but not very many because thankfully most guests rinse and refill their water bottles many times over.

100%

The Secret Garden Hostel is worthy of its title as the best in Ecuador for 2014. I'm a 77-year-old, vigorous, around-the-world hosteler and I found a wide range of ages here, seniors, backpackers & young families. This colorful environment is stacked into a five story building, with Reception/Dining/Patio space on the top floor where the view is stunning. However, there are a BUNCH of steep stairs to climb always and the hill outside is very steep too. Don't come if you have physical problems.


80%

Reception should probably be on the ground floor!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback