X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1282 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

There was such a family atmosphere in the secret garden I instantly felt at home, the view for the bar is amazing and the staff so kind and helpful. Couldn't recommend this place more to people, best I have ever been looked after in a hostel!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff are all hungover volunteers and the manager is never around to talk to. I had to remind the staff a few times every time I ordered something. The best thing about this place is the view and they seem to think that they can charge anything for that but the most important thing about any hostel is service and this place has absolutely awful service. Can get better service elsewhere for a lower price and if you are that desperate to see the view then go there for a drink. Disappointing.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A nice place with a good thing going on! A little too pricey due to what you get!


66%

Cold showers 80% of the time. Unhelpful staff, woken up at 4am in the morning because the staff were to lazy to go back down for a key, when letting someone into the dorm. Very overrated hostel in general. On the positive side very social and a good atmosphere created by other travellers. Wouldn't recommend, must be better places to stay in Quito!


83%

This hostel isn't without issues, but I would (and did) come back. Pros: The view from the terrace is amazing! Family style dinners and a great variety of breakfast foods cooked to order. Travel agency downstairs. Cons: Terrible showers - despite what the signs claim, you get either hot water or good pressure. Never both. Terrace and all common areas close at 11 pm. Staff is friendly but don't suggest things to do in the city.


94%

An excellent place to stay in Quito. We stayed a week and were able to pick up Spanish lessons. It's a short walk to the sights of Old Town and a slightly longer available walk to New Town. The breakfast is great and they do a reasonably priced dinner option (with a free drink if booked before 10am!). The airport pick up was very smooth even though our flight was late. A place with a social balcony too, great to meet other travellers. The travel agents CarpeDM is also fab.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is a real gem - awesome communal areas, the fifth floor terrace is brilliant for meeting people over food and drinks with amazing views of the city. Highly recommend

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel and very friendly staff. The shower should be hotter.


63%

Mu room was the "new dorm" on the first floor and it didn't has keys. At day, the door of the hostel stay open. Because of that, some guys on my room were robed. Their money INSIDE THE LOCKER was taken. The thief just take cash, so TAKE CARE YOUR CASH THERE! The hostel asministration took a day to do something about it (just call the police) Another thing is that you can't cook there and the food and drinks on the hostel are expensive! Defenitely, PREPARE YOUR POCKET to stay there!!!!


77%

Tue aosphere really depends on who is coming to stay here but I felt really comfortable sitting and talking with others.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The Secret Garden Quito is a lovely gem for the weary traveler. I am saddened that I did not get to experience your other location in Cotopaxi, however your hospitality in Quito makes me want to ensure that my next visit to Ecuador includes a stopover there. Thank you for allowing me to have one last night of rest prior to my return home.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

The reception is 5 floors up, at the bar - awful system. Having to climb 5 floors to check in, then go back down to get bags and then back to, it's ridiculous! Staff were very average. Nothing special at all. Location is in old Quito, there's a good walking tour. But if you want restaurants and bars this is not the place to stay as you have to take cabs everywhere. Breakfast not included which makes the $12 seem like quite a lot... The bathrooms seem to always stink as well...


97%

Loved this hostel and the gorgeous views from the rooftop. Great company and so much fun hanging and going out with other travelers staying at Secret Garden. Walking distance to many sites. Very good restaurant and bar on rooftop as well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed and hot shower. Highly recommend this hostel for those visiting Quito!


91%

We enjoyed the company and friendliness of the voluntary staff! They made our stay memorable. Joe, Katie, Rueben and Anushka were great. The travel agency were helpful and friendly, and we had a great stay.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to meet people, and the rooftop bar/restaurant has a great view of the city. Having a travel agency on the ground floor is also very convenient!


54%

This hostal lives off of the CarpeDM's reputation. The rooms are small and very uncomfortable with a prison-like feel. It is very noisy and the bathrooms can get very dirty. On the plus side, there is hot water and they keep your luggages for free We definitely don't recommend it.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I had a great experience with the Secret Garden Quito however there are some improvements that could be made to make guests feel more secure and taken care of. It would be much safer if there were a locking front door which required guests to buzz in. As it is now anyone can walk in and out during the day and access rooms. When the hostel is full bathrooms should be cleaned multiple times a day. All bathrooms and showers should have locks and doors for safety purposes.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A solid hostel with great staff, food, atmosphere, location, beds and pretty much everything went well here . They're very well organized too. Keep up the good work guys!


89%

Great staff, great breakfast, and great location. The only problems are that almost anyone can walk in and out, no problem, and it is definitely more on the side of a party hostel. If you are trying to get sleep, this might not be the most relaxing hostel.


77%

Had a great time at secret garden and met some really cool people. The terrace is great! The staff however wasn't so great. Upon arriving it took me forever to even find the reception and once I did the guy showed me to my room and left without explaining where the bathrooms where, how anything worked, what time checkout was. I had to ask the others in my room and they said they dealt with the same thing when they got there. Besides that I really enjoyed the hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback