X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1452 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel I've stayed at in South America

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Wonderful spot to meet fellow travelers. Central to most things in Quito. Excellent spot!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

the secret garden was one of my favorite hostels so far in South America, would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Quito! I didn't have the best sleep but that's pretty common in dorm rooms, I also blame the fact that there were fireworks going off all night/ early morning somewhere in the city. Overall great experience.


94%

No party. Me and friend just drinking andmet some ppl from other hostel. More chill than anything. Good breakfast for $$ in morning but nothing beats rum


89%

Excellent place!


83%

Loved the social atmosphere and the guys working upstairs were all very helpful. Did not appreciate the cleaning ladies coming into the room at 7am turning on the lights, talking very loudly while they made the one vacant bed. Felt that it was completely inappropriate.


94%

We loved everything about The Secret Garden

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A great location with a wonderful terrace view. If your looking for an active night, this is the place. The bathrooms were clean, however the ratio of people to bathrooms are small so expect not to take much time for yourself. Overall, a great experience.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The airport pickup made getting into Quito late super easy. We happened to be there when they were having a pub quiz night which was super fun. Great hostel

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I misunderstood their website about the fact that there were two Secret Gardens. Was it me or the presentation? Dunno. Anyways one is in Quito & another is in the national park. Have yet to be to the latter but the one in the old city was quite an experience! Great views, food, & laughs w/ everyone I met. Only bummer was there was no self use kitchen. Make a note for your budget. Great atmosphere ... I'll be back!


80%

There were lockers in the room you could put a lock on and lock your stuff in, but the room was never locked. I was in the yellow room which is right below the terrace where everyone eats and parties so it was very loud. Unless you're a partier I recommend requesting a different room. (Many of the tours from Quito to Cotopaxi or the market leave at 630am, so if you need to go to bed early for a tour also request a different room) Laundry across the street, and a great pizza place.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This place was great. The terrace was amazing, and such an incredible social atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend.


71%

Returned to the hostel on New Years Eve to find that a sign had been posted on the front door " New Years Eve Dinner - $15USD if you do not pay the $15 you cannot join us on The Terrace. Are you kidding me? $15USD is two days of food in Ecuador. This act sums up this hostel, basically an all Inclusive resort (buy everything from us hostel) for inexperienced travelers. Terrace is nice (if you are allowed up there...) But is located far from the bar/restaurant area.


57%

Lack of toilets and showers. More often than not the showers were cold - the two 'great' ones were still hit and miss. Expensive beer, almost double that of any other hostel I stayed at in Ecuador. Staff (official not volunteers)constantly trying to sell you add ons at an extortionate price. Food was over priced and of low quality. No ladders on the bunk beds. Staff come in without knocking to count the beds every night. Cleaners clean the rooms and bathrooms at peak times in the morning.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

If you want an American experience in Quito that is loud with a beautiful view stay here. Also someone was smoking in the indoor lounge when it wasn't allowed and the smell got into our room. Not enough bathrooms for the number of people staying there.


89%

Cool place to stay. Right next to old city and walkable to the nicest part of town. They are large enough to have hostel-approved (read: safe) taxis which will take you anywhere for a pre-arranged fare. There is a really nice patio and meals cooked to order, and it's a great place to meet people. The only downside is that it is very large and busy and any movement is kind of noisy (people coming in late at night you can hear every step). The patio also closes pretty early so no hostel parties.


89%

Really enjoyed our stay at the Secret Garden Quito. It has a very friendly and fun atmosphere, we stayed on Christmas night and they put on a beautiful Christmas dinner for everyone. The view from the bar/dining area on the top floor is amazing and the food was great. The room was comfortable but a little noisy since it was right under the bar area. Would have preferred to pay by credit card but no card facilities available.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel has an amazing terrace and some of the staff are very lovely, one thing I will say was my wallet was stolen from my room at 7am by a cleaner coming into the room unprompted, and it was then denied even though it was just my friends in the room and it was my bed the night before. Great hostel, just keep you possessions locked at all times.


100%

Great atmosphere, great staff and amazing food and view!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Cool place, love the roof top patio, really good dinners and breakfast.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback