Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Secret Garden Quito

  • Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
The Secret Garden Quito Located at Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito.
The Secret Garden Quito
Ecuador
Quito Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas
87% 1621
-0.2190285 -78.5046099
The Secret Garden Quito
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

Nice location with a great view, rooms are smelly, no coomunal area at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andreaanjomshoaa5512
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
10.0

This is a fantastic hostel in a lovely location. Very clean, helpful staff and good atmosphere. My only critic is that the rooms had every squeaky floors so you could hear if anyone was up and moving around. Still, I felt it was a great price and I plan to stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.4

The hostel is big enough that there is a social atmosphere and also the rooms are separate from the shared terrace space so you can get good rest. The location is right at the north end of the historic center so you can access all of the iconic sites as well as bars and restaurants in new town. We had a double private, here was a security locker in the room, felt very safe at all times. Breakfast not included but VERY good price with bread, fruit, yogurt, coffee/tea. Loved it here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keithruffles
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

My experience at The Secret Garden was mixed, especially after I'd heard such great things about the place. I took a private room (not exactly cheap at $28) and was woken up at 7am by a member of staff chopping up and hammering nails into planks of wood right outside my door, which went on all morning. I'd arrived in the early hours after a long flight so this was annoying. And having the reception on the top floor is also irritating, especially when carrying heavy bags. Great views though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel in a perfect location. If you're in Quito, you must stay here. Cannot beat the price, views or amenities. Thank you, Secret Garden!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.9

Great place to stay. Excellent/amazing views from the rooftop bar. Breakfast not included in rate but was pretty cheap. Rooms are nice and showers were strong and hot. Staff friendly, very happy to help arrange a taxi to the bus stop, tours, and allowed us to store our bags all day on the day we checked out until 10pm when our bus was due to leave. Very handy! Only negative would be it was noisey on Friday night with people going to town. Would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
7.4

Mixed review as we were placed in a terrible room. There were no windows, the room smelled like mold and mildew and my husband got sick and ended up in the hospital with mold exposure. That being said the staff appeared very concerned about how to make the changes in air circulation and hopefully they do as the room we were in definitely should not be rented out. Our stay there was the first 3 days in Ecuador and in spite of the room we had a wonderful time in Quito.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Really loved the atmosphere in this place. They often switch off wifi in the bar area in the evening and offer dinner every night meaning loads of people are up on the beautiful terrace together eating and chatting. Lovely staff too and comfy beds. Few more bathrooms would be nice but not a huge problem and it's a little bit on the pricier side (especially since breakfast isn't included) but we thought it was worth it! Secret garden Cotopaxi is also our favourite ever hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel, roof terrace makes it. Great location for Centro Historico. Free walking tour was really good. Definitely recommend. Dinner and breakfast, though not included, also very good. 👍🏼

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.4

This hostel is great for meeting people - the rooftop has a cool view and fun vibe. My room however didn´t have a window and given all the backpackers and their shoes it was pretty smelly! The bathrooms also didn´t seem very clean. The meals are very overpriced - small portions and not particularly tasty (at least on the days I was there), there are some much better options nearby tho eating at the hostel is pretty convenient. Overall good for a short stay in Quito but I wouldn´t rave about it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.