Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Secret Garden Quito

  • Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 62 reviews
20th Aug 2017
9.1

Close to the old town but not right in the old town, there don't seem to be many restaurants nearby. That being said the hostel do a very good communal dinner which is good value and follows on from happy hour. Nice and clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
7.1

Good hostel overall, albeit in a dangerous neighborhood. Many incidents of robbery just outside the hostel as well as in the immediate area. I definitely don't feel safe walking around outside alone after dark there. Fortunately they offer good dinners for a good price, and the vibe of the hostel is very social. Staff is nice and helpful. Some dorms and beds could use some TLC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
8.6

He place is a must go to get a good vibe of the city at night in its rooftop bar. Outside the hostel, the area didn't feel so safe, but inside the hostel, it's a different experience, worth going. The staff is super helpful and nice. It feels like your traveling with family in their happy hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ronanmason5557
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Its hard to fault this hostel, which I consider the friendliest in South America. The rooftop bar is an amazing place to hang and meet fellow travellers over a beer. The food is also well priced and delicious. You really haven't been to Quito unless you;ve stayed at the Secret Garden Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

I had a wicked time staying here. Beds comfortable and shower was hot. The rooftop bar has the most incredible view especially at night time and nothing beats sitting on the hammock with a beer at night with some new friends. The staff were super friendly - Nadia was awesome. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.7

The Secret Garden was fantastic, great atmosphere, great cheap breakfast. The travel agency in the building was very helpful. We also went and stayed at their hostel in cotopaxi which was amazing and beautiful. Would definitely recommend to other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
3.7

So where to start...Myself and my partner ate from their restaurant, 6 hours later we were violently sick through the night. In the morning we asked to extend our check out time to allow us to recover and move on. With no mercy we were told we would have to pay 50% extra for late check out despite giving us food poisoning! The staff had no sympathy or remorse for us and weren't any help whatsoever. If you're looking for a "Gap Yar" wannabe hostel with no soul, you've found it!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Lovely social hostel! Good dinners and safe rooms. Sometimes no hot water but as expected for a hostel that big

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eilidhfgarrow3466
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome place. The views from the rooftop bar are just incredible. Food is great at a very reasonable price. Good atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff. The travel agents downstairs is also a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • guscassieacg4673
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.1

Excellent hand soap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.