X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1289 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Good wifi, helpful having travel agency in building. Great views. Excellent breakfast!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I LOVED the Secret Garden. The food was delicious, the staff were so nice and incredibly helpful, the taxi service is incredibly convenient, and the view from the restaurant/bar cannot be beat. It was so much fun to hang out and meet people I would never have talked to otherwise.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, clean and spacious rooms. Staff were incredibly friendly, professional and efficient. Quite social, they provide evening meals for those interested. Good efficient wifi.


94%

The dinners were great and there was a friendly atmosphere without being a party hostel.


94%

Wonderful view, great breakfast and dinner, best staff and guests...we'd love to come back.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We love the rooftop with amazing view over Old City of Quito. Food is excellent and very affordable. Would advice thuis place to others.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We started and ended our month-long trip to Ecuador at this hostel. Awesome place to meet other travellers when your new to the city/country. Delicious dinners, sweet rooms and wonderful location.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing view, friendly volunteers

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A lively and sociable place to stay, although not a party hostel. Quirky old colonial building (with lots of stairs!), the hostel has a great roof terrace with a bar/restaurant and awesome views of the city. Bathrooms were decent although sometimes needed mopping. Walking distance from the colonial centre and 5-10 mins on the bus from La Mariscal.


63%

This is the noisest hostel i have ever stayed at and when i told the guy at reception, the response i got was......... this is a hostel you should expect noise. If you dont want noise you should go to the Hilton.


97%

SG Quito was a fantastic experience. The staff look after you, and the company you meet are friendly and helpful. It truly is a traveler's paradise. I also went to SG Cotopaxi on the recommendation of many at SG Quito. The SG Cotopaxi is superb with an excellent setting surrounded by wildlife, animals, and mountains. There is no better getaway from the city. The two SG locations are run very well so that our trips were all smooth and enjoyable. Secret Garden sets the bar high and excels.


66%

Amazing view, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast available as well. Bar offered cheap drinks and an incredible view. Only complaint is the general loudness of some of the rooms, especially those underneath or near the bar - could do with some soundproofing.


86%

This hostel has a great location, right in the Central Historic District (Centro Historico) of Quito. Its rooftop terrace view to the city is simply breathtaking. The atmosphere is great on the terrace: featuring reception, bar/restaurant at night, breakfasts (not included) in the morning. The terrace is a perfect place for people to hang out, meet each other and chill with an amazing view. They provide dinner/breakfast services which are home cooked and delicious, even though a bit pricey.


91%

This Hostel has a great vibe to it. I really like that after 6pm they turn the wifi off at the bar so that the guests can interact together. We met some really cool people and instead of being on our phones, we had great chats with fellow travellers and got some good tips. The view from the bar is amazing and great eating dinner watching the sunset. The food they made was well worth the money, best Hostel food in a long time!


100%

Great place. Really friendly staff. Cheap and good breakfast available. Also reasonably priced and tasty dinners available, always a vegetarian option. Great view from top terrace. Loved it!


69%

Paul was great


94%

Good food, and great help with trips to the jungle and the Galapagos. Thnks!


97%

The rooftop restaurant / bar has great atmosphere and view of the city. The free breakfast is one of the best i have had at hostel. It is very close to old town. And they also have tourist company downstairs which is very convenient. The

Owner Comment (Hide)
CORRECTION - thanks for the lovely comments, but we need to clarify one point - we serve a great breakfast, at very reasonable prices, but it is not actually free :)

94%

The Secret Garden is awesome! It truly is in the best part of Quito, within walking distance to major tourist spots in Old Town. The staff is friendly and insanely helpful! They'll help you book taxis and tours, provide advice, and they love to interact with their guests. Also, highly convenient, dinner and breakfast are available for purchase at the hostel's balcony which has THE best view of Quito. A great place to stay! Clean rooms and facilities.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We spent our last night in country at SG. It was great because we could book our room online so we knew we had a place to stay once we arrived in Quito. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Other guests were also very social. Fun, upbeat atmosphere. However don't go there if you want to have a quite. Rooms are loud and people are coming and going all the time.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(96 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback