X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1178 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Hot water a little unreliable otherwise an excellently run hostel and the approved taxi service is very reassuring. Very well located for Quito Old Town; however, Quito is so big no accommodation will be perfectly situated for all you want to see.


89%

Enjoyed my stay very much, loved the rooftop patio and all the great people!


89%

Great place with a fantastic view from the roof garden. Free tea and coffee available all day. Friendly and helpful staff members. A great choice if you stay in Quito.


97%

great vibes, friendly people & staff, awesome view of Quito and they upgraded our 3 person group to a private room for same cost as dorm! Thanks!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team - they love to hear that all their hard work is appreciated. It was a pleasure to offer you that free upgrade. We do our best to provide great value for money, and in fact we are now entering our third year of "price freeze" - it's been 2 years since our last price increases and we have no plans to increase prices in the near future - enjoy!!

69%

Good food, cool roof terrace. Unfortunately one of the staff/volunteer members put us off the place, she was quite rude.


83%

An excellent option for staying in Quito. The hostel offers helpful assistance in many things beyond the premises, from safe taxis at the front door to trips to the Otavalo market, Cotopaxi and beyond.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your kind words, and glad to hear you appreciated our taxis. We are the only hostel in Quito with our own private taxi rank - 12 safe, friendly, reliable drivers have all been vetted & approved by us. Our hostel is their base, and we control the taxis by radio from our terrace reception in order to provide the best possible service to our guests - glad you appreciated it - enjoy the rest of your travels :)

86%

Great location in the old town with a fantastic view from the bar upstairs. The in house travel agency is very handy if you are looking for info on things to do or organising trips. Biggest draw back was there was no kitchen which means you have to either order off the menu or eat out. There is no fridges (or at least we didn't see or were told there was any to use) so you can't store your own food. They do provide breakfast and dinner which is cheap enough.


86%

Great place to stay overall, but could have some minor tweaks to make it better. No locks on the dorm room doors (typical) but this might lead to issues during the day when anyone can walk into the hostel. No kitchen, but the food is reasonable priced - good breakfast. As other reviews say, the reception is oddly on the top floor. Perk - free filtered water. Great view from the bar. Very easy to socialise. Has a social aspect & is still easy to relax. Close to everything.


66%

This hostel is good for atmosphere and meeting people. Great roof terrace where most people chill with superb views of Quito. Downsides: poor security, dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad value for a double, bad breakfast (you have to pay extra), no kitchen, rubbish uncomfortable beds, noisy, temperamental hot(lukewarm) water. Oh and their tours are super expensive for what you can do yourself for a few dollars.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Poor Security ?? - There are security cameras throughout the hostel. There are staff everywhere during the day and a guard at night. You were given the key to lock your room, and your room also had a safe lockbox concreted into the wall. Not sure how we can improve security but we're open to suggestions. The Secret Garden does not sell tours, but we offer loads of free info on public transport and free/cheap ways to do things. Our in-house travel agent, CarpeDM, is rated the best in Ecuador.

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(69 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback