Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Secret Garden Quito Reviews

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1176 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


great vibes, friendly people & staff, awesome view of Quito and they upgraded our 3 person group to a private room for same cost as dorm! Thanks!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team - they love to hear that all their hard work is appreciated. It was a pleasure to offer you that free upgrade. We do our best to provide great value for money, and in fact we are now entering our third year of "price freeze" - it's been 2 years since our last price increases and we have no plans to increase prices in the near future - enjoy!!


Good food, cool roof terrace. Unfortunately one of the staff/volunteer members put us off the place, she was quite rude.


An excellent option for staying in Quito. The hostel offers helpful assistance in many things beyond the premises, from safe taxis at the front door to trips to the Otavalo market, Cotopaxi and beyond.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your kind words, and glad to hear you appreciated our taxis. We are the only hostel in Quito with our own private taxi rank - 12 safe, friendly, reliable drivers have all been vetted & approved by us. Our hostel is their base, and we control the taxis by radio from our terrace reception in order to provide the best possible service to our guests - glad you appreciated it - enjoy the rest of your travels :)


Great location in the old town with a fantastic view from the bar upstairs. The in house travel agency is very handy if you are looking for info on things to do or organising trips. Biggest draw back was there was no kitchen which means you have to either order off the menu or eat out. There is no fridges (or at least we didn't see or were told there was any to use) so you can't store your own food. They do provide breakfast and dinner which is cheap enough.


Great place to stay overall, but could have some minor tweaks to make it better. No locks on the dorm room doors (typical) but this might lead to issues during the day when anyone can walk into the hostel. No kitchen, but the food is reasonable priced - good breakfast. As other reviews say, the reception is oddly on the top floor. Perk - free filtered water. Great view from the bar. Very easy to socialise. Has a social aspect & is still easy to relax. Close to everything.


This hostel is good for atmosphere and meeting people. Great roof terrace where most people chill with superb views of Quito. Downsides: poor security, dirty rooms and bathrooms, bad value for a double, bad breakfast (you have to pay extra), no kitchen, rubbish uncomfortable beds, noisy, temperamental hot(lukewarm) water. Oh and their tours are super expensive for what you can do yourself for a few dollars.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Poor Security ?? - There are security cameras throughout the hostel. There are staff everywhere during the day and a guard at night. You were given the key to lock your room, and your room also had a safe lockbox concreted into the wall. Not sure how we can improve security but we're open to suggestions. The Secret Garden does not sell tours, but we offer loads of free info on public transport and free/cheap ways to do things. Our in-house travel agent, CarpeDM, is rated the best in Ecuador.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

This place might have the best view from a rooftop bar that I know in Quito. Beautiful scenery from the top where you can have many meals from the house. Plenty of accommodations and lots of rooms scattered through the house. It's a wonderful maze there. Highly recommended! Excellent staff! Thankful for their patience with my poor Spanish. They are also bilingual.


Great hostel! Especially good if you want to meet people! Stunning view, friendly staff and good food :) Bring a padlock for your locker!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - glad to hear that you loved The Secret Garden as much as most people do. And thanks also for sharing that good tip. We encourage all guests to travel with their own small padlock. We could provide padlocks for the lockers, but guests have told us they would nott like this. When you have your own padlock you can be sure that you are the only person with access to the key.


Great chilled out vibe, clean rooms. No key for the room though. And the chilled out vibe can be a little irritating if you are in a rush and the staff are taking their time. Make sure they know if you are in a hurry!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much - everyone loves the vibe of The Secret Garden, and our cleaning staff will be pleased to hear that all their hard work is appreciated - they do a great job keeping such a big, busy hostel looking great. Apologies that you were delayed at checkout - guests love being able to just "pay at the end" but we'll make more of an effort to inform guests that they can settle their bill anytime between 7am and 11pm to avoid queues at the 10.30 morning checkout time.


The only good thing about this place is the view from the rooftop bar. The "reception" is the bar itself and very chaotic, especially at night. The staff is too busy (or: Too lazy) to take proper care of the guests. I noticed there was never enough tea/milk/coffee (which was basically only dark hot water). Very small choice for breakfast and too expensive. A cleaner walked into our dorm at 8 in the morning and was quite loud so we were forced to get up. Would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree - our terrace is a very busy, popular place to hang out and meet other travellers. Most guests rate our 100% Arabica, hand-picked, organic coffee as excellent. Our breakfast menu includes tea, coffee, juice, fresh bread rolls, granola, yoghurt, fruit salad, pancakes, eggs scrambled boiled or fried, omelettes w cheese or ham, and more. eg a portion of French Toast costs $1, Bacon & 2 eggs $1.50. Unfortunately we would find it difficult to reduce prices or increase options - sorry!


The view from the terrace makes the stay worth it. Other bonuses are the in house travel agency, meal service and filtered water dispenser. Some rooms are loud, but nothing ear plugs can't solve. Excellent location for walking around old town, or a slightly longer walk through the parks to mariscal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending our free purified water dispenser - it's not just a great cost saver for guests, but also has a real positive impact on the environment. We do recycle plastic bottles - but not very many because thankfully most guests rinse and refill their water bottles many times over.


The Secret Garden Hostel is worthy of its title as the best in Ecuador for 2014. I'm a 77-year-old, vigorous, around-the-world hosteler and I found a wide range of ages here, seniors, backpackers & young families. This colorful environment is stacked into a five story building, with Reception/Dining/Patio space on the top floor where the view is stunning. However, there are a BUNCH of steep stairs to climb always and the hill outside is very steep too. Don't come if you have physical problems.


Reception should probably be on the ground floor!


Nice place to stay with a beautiful view. Breakfast and dinner delicious. A bit noisy sometimes because there is a 24h check in (people arrive in your dorm in the middle of the night).


Everything about Secret Garden Quito was fabulous! We had a great stay there and really enjoyed the hostel. I would absolutely recommend staying there to anyone!

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Comfortable beds. Good Cheap breakfast and dinner options. Wi-fi only in common areas. Travel desk which were helpful. I took the transfer from the airport and was collected by really nice lady who was waiting for me in arrivals.


Depending on the room you get and what you're looking for, this place can be good or awful. First time I stayed, I had a quiet room and found the hostel to be quite social and accommodating. Second time, I got a room right by the entrance with no windows and got woken up every hour of the night. After several days of hiking I was just wanting to chill this time, and they don't really cater to that in the evenings: loud music, crowded, busy. Not sure how this was rated the best hostel in Ecuador.


No security, the staff do very little to help the guests, the location is ok but you can find better, we shared a bathroom with 11 other people and it was never cleaned for our whole 3 nights stay (same toothpaste marks on the basin) cold showers for all 6 showers I had!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unsure about "no security" - The Secret Garden has 24 hour reception with night guards, security cameras, and lockers in every room and for every dorm bed, plus free safe storage and free locked baggage storage. We have a bathroom to guest ratio of 1:6 and the bathrooms are claened 3 times per day. Sorry to hear there were some things you didn't like but we note that you returned to the hostel and stayed on a number of different nights so it can't have been too bad. Thanks for your comments.


The place itself and staff are amazing. The downside are probably the price of the extras like breakfast, dinner and drinks. There is no possibility to bring your own food and drink or use the kitchen, which is not great for budget travellers. Also room prices are quite high compared to other hostels of the area of which I can not judge the facilities, though. I still had a great time here and if my budget allows, would definitely come back some day!


that view! great location and an amazing place to kick back at night looking over the city.

(858 results)

View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback