Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
The Silk Road Located at Dorsoduro 1420/E, , Venice.
The Silk Road
Italy
Venice 30123 Dorsoduro 1420/E
86% 390
45.4306088 12.3224544
The Silk Road
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2016
8.0

Rooms are very clean, and spacious! New linen and towels which was nice. Very good location, in a non touristy area of Venice which I appreciated a lot. About 20 min walk to st marks square, and 20 min to the main train station. Hostel is right on the water so you can hear it, and it can be loud in the morning with boats and people walking. For being quite expensive I expected the breakfast to be better, even just non prepackaged pastries would make a big difference. Rooms are too bright also.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
8.9

Had a great time in Venice while staying at this hostel. The place is clean, the view from my room was great and the free breakfast was nice. Also, Megan was super nice and even helped me out when I needed to print out my boarding pass for Ryan Air.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st May 2016
9.4

Alex the host was super friendly and hospitable. He gave me some great locations to explore in Venice and had a great sense of humour and was incredibly hospitable. Met some friendly people and explored venice with them, facilities were clean, secure and the Hostel is in a great quiet part of town. It is a bit of a walk to the middle of town but that's not the locations fault it was the masses of tourists fault.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
6.0

This is a maison d'hote, not a hostel, so you are in someone's home. The kitchen is only open for breakfast and between 6-11:30pm. We came back from a freezing walk and when we asked to boil some water to get warm we weren't allowed, and he told us to go out to bars if we wanted to drink - even though we said we were freezing! Not cool at all. You are only allowed to keep your luggage there until 3pm. There are no locks on the bedroom doors but a safe inside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.9

A very nice place to stay right on the water front nice big room the place was clean and tidy and staff were very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
8.3

The people running Silk Road are very nice, and the view from the room I was in was great. The facility was clean. But for my purposes, it was too far from anything worth going to (all the touristy things are about 30 minutes away, at least) and it was about 20 minutes from the train station -- carrying my bags up 10 or so bridges. Also, my bed wasn't very comfortable. It felt like a dorm room bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

excellent location, beautiful views from the room, nice staff and good atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.1

It's a small hostel. The 4 bed dorm was roomy and light and the beds comfortable. The kitchen a bit small, but breakfasts were simple and good. The location is excellent. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. There's no real common room to meet the other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Thank you! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Probably the best location in Venice. You're in a beautiful spot but you're not constantly overwhelmed with tourists outside of the building. Great food and the public boats are right next door. The actual bed and breakfasts is adorable, well maintained, and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The man (who's name escapes me) wrote down over 25 places to visit on our map. FYI the entrance is on the side, I could see how someone would miss it. 10/10 cannot recommend more highly!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.