Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
The Silk Road Located at Dorsoduro 1420/E, , Venice.
The Silk Road
Italy
Venice 30123 Dorsoduro 1420/E
86% 373
45.4306088 12.3224544
The Silk Road
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
6.0

This is a maison d'hote, not a hostel, so you are in someone's home. The kitchen is only open for breakfast and between 6-11:30pm. We came back from a freezing walk and when we asked to boil some water to get warm we weren't allowed, and he told us to go out to bars if we wanted to drink - even though we said we were freezing! Not cool at all. You are only allowed to keep your luggage there until 3pm. There are no locks on the bedroom doors but a safe inside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.1

It's a small hostel. The 4 bed dorm was roomy and light and the beds comfortable. The kitchen a bit small, but breakfasts were simple and good. The location is excellent. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. There's no real common room to meet the other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Thank you! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Probably the best location in Venice. You're in a beautiful spot but you're not constantly overwhelmed with tourists outside of the building. Great food and the public boats are right next door. The actual bed and breakfasts is adorable, well maintained, and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The man (who's name escapes me) wrote down over 25 places to visit on our map. FYI the entrance is on the side, I could see how someone would miss it. 10/10 cannot recommend more highly!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Great comfortable stay, great location with very helpful hosts! Only downsides are a lack of a communal area (there was a small area as you walked in but people didn't really hang out) and also no locks on bedroom doors. But other than that, it was perfect! Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.0

Very hard to get there, especially with a rolling suitcase. Used google maps to get there instead of the written directions. The owner carried up our bags and gave us a map. The room was very clean and had a nice view of the water. Not close to a lot of stuff but we walked around a lot. The bathroom was nice. The free breakfast was basic but good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
9.7

Venice is not a place for night life. If you want to see the island and stay in a perfect location with a beautiful view, this is the place. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.4

Really great place, very clean and tidy and the staff were great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Was a bit further from train station than I'd prefer, 20+ min walk, but not awful. Location is right on water; my room had a spectacular view and we could hear the crashing waves at night! Was located close to a grocery and a decent pizza joint. Only drawback is 1 bathroom was shared by 8 people so there was sometimes a wait in the morning. Free breakfast was solid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Mar 2016
10.0

By far one of the best hostels ive ever stayed in , think the hosts name is andy , and he went the extra mile and made me feel welcome, thankyou :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.