X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Strand Hotel Reviews

99 William St, Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
367 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Please have beds made for new arrivals.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is excellence. Trade off is quite noisy. No front desk, the bar staff do it. Some time bar customer will come up to hotel corridor. Make it a bit nasty


80%

Was worried about going to a hostel in Sydney after hearing so many horror stories from people, but have to say enjoyed myself and would be more than happy coming again. For traveling on a budget the strand hotel is great value for your money. Thanx guys

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The worst hostel we've ever visited. Beetles and used condoms under the beds! Just one bathroom for 30 people! I can't explain how much dirty it was! Noisy during the night and no common areas in the whole hostel. There's a nice pub downstairs with good food and average prices! I wouldn't suggest it!

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

I would stay here again! Needs attention: 1 hostel is clean apart the kitchen which has a disgusting fridge 2 The hand soap dispenser was empty in the shower but that doesn't really bother me too much. 3 can understand the need for the deposit for towels and kitchen utensils but it's quite frustrating. 4 The check out system is unfeasible, as you have to check out before 10am however the bar doesn't open 10am 5 This hostel needs a manager separate from the bar. The bar is really good though!


69%

Good,basic accommodation, fine for a short stay.


40%

One of the worst hostels I have stayed at. Very dirty.. washroom/shower was cleaned. The kitchen was gross and there were cochroaches all over the hostel. Very overpriced for such a dirty hostel.


51%

We stayed in a 10 bed dorm over New Years. We had stayed in hostels down the coast. On arrival the staff in the pub were helpful with check in and with advice abou New Years Eve, however the room was very dissapointed. The air conditioning didn't work and there was damaged equipment throughout the room. Te showers and toilets were poor and only 3 ladies throughout. Wouldn't cook in te kitchen very dirty. Positive was he location took 20 minutes to walk to centre. Very expensive for what we got!

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Close to everything. Nice place to meet people!!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The matress was surprisingly good. Everything else was average.


66%

actually, it is pretty good hostel. The worst part is the facilities in kitchen is quite poor and dirty and badly equipped. All other things seem good for example the room and bathroom.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

For the money that we spent at this hostel, it definitely was not worth it. It was extremely dirty, the kitchen facilities were disgusting and didn't work, and the people staying there were not considerate of others either. I would never stay at that hotel again and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in a 3 bed dorm which is of a good size it would be good if the room had a tv though. Mainly because apart from the rooftop and pub downstairs there is nowhere you can chill out. Washing machines could do with a good cleaning or replacing. Nice staff, food was bland only really excellent point is that it has a good location 10 mins to Kings Cross or in the other direction to the Centre. Good luck trying to connect to the WIFI it was a nightmare.


60%

To expsensive compared to what you get for your money. Holes in the walls, window dysfunctional and overall cleanliness not to be excited about. Toilets never smelled clean. Other than that, it was ALRIGHT.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Smelly and dirty kitchen that we did not feel comfortable to use. While we stayed here we tried preparing one meal, but the smell in the kitchen was just horrible. No common room expect the roof. This place was hot during the day and cold at night so never really nice to be. We did have good roommates and which made sleeping doable, however the beds where quite shaky.


49%

Wi-Fi didn't work during our entire stay (3 nights). Very filthy kitchens and even dirtier rooms

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The 6 bed room is definitely too small. I was unlucky finding 2 terribly untidy roommate, the room was like a warehouse full of stuff everywhere. In this mess, for sure, nobody cares about cleaning. an other problem was the restrooms: just one toilet per floor.




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback