Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Strand Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
5.4

The hostel was incredibly unclean, the bathrooms had hair all over them, my sheets had makeup stains on them, the kitchen was absolutely disgusting. Whilst it was in a good location, I would not have stayed there if it wasn't for more than one night! It also advertised that it was newly renovated (September 2016) if that is so, they have obviously let this go very quickly, as the place was so dirty!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
3.1

Worst hostel ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
2.3

The staff were unfriendly and flippant, and the room and battrions were disgustingly dirty. You could improve the service by vacuuming the rooms, giving guests blankets that aren't stained with urine and cleaning the bathrooms to avoid rust on the bins and wet floors with hair all over them

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
7.4

Nice place to stay in Sydeny, close to Kings Cross and close to CBD. Nice atmosphere, with bar / restaurant downstairs and roof terrace. Service was good, helpful staff. Only negative thing: lock of the door was broken. Locks for the closets were provided for free, but still...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tthomps1226
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Mar 2017
6.0

My family got denied and kicked to the curb in the rain. I failed to see the line where it said no one under 18 allowed to stay in the rooms. Therefore I cannot rate this high or low.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.6

It was my first hostel I stayed in Sydney, It was not as bad as I had been told and I did not see any cockroach, everything was good. The hostel really closed to Hyde park so I could jog in the morning and came back to the hostel before I stared my trip. And the roof top was so nice but I did not spend much time there because of the rain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
3.7

don't usually write reviews but this place was the dirtiest me and my friends have ever stayed at! The kitchen was filthy and so was the outside communal area, which seemed to be full of guys smoking weed and wasting time. The room itself wasn't clean, full of rubbish under the bed and mucky mirrors. The fan only pushed around hot air and it basically became a sauna at night. The staff however were very nice and welcoming but the hostel was a let down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.0

Not enough bathrooms and not clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.3

I only stayed one night. The room wasn't ready when I arrived (the late afternoon). The bathroom on my floor was locked so I had to use the other floor's shower. Also the room was really hot. The location is fine, quite close to the King's cross station and the hostel wasn't too noisy. Quite many long-termers I think - the price was quite low which was a plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jan 2017
6.9

It was okay. It has a nice location - not too far from the centre. A few cockroaches and not a nice small in one of the bathrooms. The bedrooms are unbelievable hot. Wifi is only available on the ground floor and a tiny bit in the first floor, and it is not very fast. Overall it was okay - we didn't spend much time in the hostel anyway, the bathrooms were better than some places and some of the staff were very friendly :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.