Hostelworld.com

The Strand Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.0
The Strand Hotel Located at 99 William St, Darlinghurst, Sydney.
The Strand Hotel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 99 William St, Darlinghurst
63% 499
-33.8747804 151.2163782
The Strand Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
6.6

Very average stay with English backpackers making the entire room their home so I was unable to find a shelf. They were friendly enough but at 4am an Irish backpacker came in exceedingly wasted and noisily put himself to bed, that's to be expected in this type of hostel. But at 5:30am his phones alarm repeatedly went off for a full half hour, the English girl lost it and started yelling at the Irish guy and he in return yelled at her. Not my idea of a peaceful sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
4.9

We were disappointed. The door to the hostel was constantly bolted open which meant anyone from the bar could come up. Our room was clean however the kitchen was horrendous, it was so dirty & there were coackroaches everywhere I didn't dare make anything, fridge was broken so had to store food in the bar fridge. Rooftop kitchen was closed & the wifi didn't work you had to go to the bar to use it.The bathrooms were alright. Not much communal space in the only open kitchen so zero atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2016
2.9

Absolute joke of a hostel. 4 showers in the whole hostel, and half the time some were unavailable because of work on them. Security non existent as the door was just left open and lockers could not be locked. No fan in the heat of mid summer so had to leave back window open in night onto the busy street below. Internet patchy at best, and very slow. Not even that great a location - 15 minutes uphill to any near station. Shame because Sydney is an amazing city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

Pay the extra couple dollars a night and stay someplace else. If you can deal with an unclean hostel and cockroaches, then "The Strand Hotel," will be fine. If you want someplace clean and bug free, then look around for someplace else. There are many other hostels in similar locations that may be a few dollars more a night, but I would recommend researching those. The bathrooms were very clean; however, the kitchen is extremely messy and the fridge in our room hadn't been cleaned out in ages.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
4.6

The worst hostel we've ever stayed at. It's cheap because it's disgusting; paint coming off the walls, cockroaches under the bed, blood stains all over the duvet & mattress. Kitchen is unclean & mouldy pots left on the windowsill. Bathrooms ok - only 2 toilets in the whole hostel, sanitary bin was overflowing, nowhere to hang towel. Wifi still doesn't work. 2 people came to view room & decided not to stay after seeing it (I would do the same). Hardly anyone was staying there. Complete s**tho

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
7.1

Good place for its location, accomodation wise is average to below average, cleanliness is bad. Stains on the carpet, trash hasn't been taken out when we checked in, common toilets are not to clean, but you get your money's value. Otherwise everything is average. Staff are great! helped us out to keep our luggage safe when we checked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
6.9

The rooms were fine just the kitchen and bathroom that let it down a bit. Friendly staff and good food downstairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Mar 2016
7.4

Great showers but the fan in our room wasn't great so we had a hot sleepless night. Great value for money though and in a good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
10.0

We stayed for 2 nights for Mardi Gras and could not have been more impressed with the facilities and location for the nightly rate. We will definitely be returning again and again to The Strand - new favourite!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
6.6

Good located hostel with 2 kitchens but just one bathroom for male and one for female. The Wlan is just working downstairs or in some rooms on the first floor. The little kitchen was dirty and the security could be better. Some doors are not really savety. The hostel has a rooftop with kitchen. The laundry is expensive. The staff was really nice and helped beside working in the bar downstairs. One of the cheapest hostels in Sydney. It´s alright!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.