Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Student Hotel Amsterdam West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • graemeroux3465
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.4

We had an amazing stay at The Student Hotel! The staff were super helpful, and the place had an awesome vibe. Definitely value for money. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Excellent stay! Even though it was a little further out to the centre, it was easy to use the metro to get to the centre and easy to get a cab there and back being a maximum of €20. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast buffet at the hotel was a very good price and yummy! The room was very big and immaculate! Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

right next to a tram and metro! so although it's a little bit aways from the city center, you can easily hop on public transit and get there. love the ambience and gym. i stayed in a single room and it was great -- comfy bed in a decent-sized room. very happy with my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic experience from the moment we were handed a glass of Prosecco and a stroopwaffle on check-in, to the moment we left.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Excellent Hotel, good value for money, friendly staff and lots of facilities. Only small issue was the rental bikes had issues and we wasted time changing them several times but staff were always helpful. Location wise 10/15 tram ride into the center or a 25 minute cycle, which we were more than happy to do each day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.6

Great atmosphere and great staff! Lacking in facilities such as a kettle or a hair dryer. Little bit out of the city but for the price, it was manageable. The restaurant and bar were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent hotel, good price, free wifi, very secure, nice staff, lovely rooms with bathroom and kitchinette. Only drawback is that it is 15 minute tram out of the centre, but didn't bother us at all. Would highly recommend and will definitely be coming back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.0

The hotel is great for a couple of night's. It must be noted that the location isof a bit out of the way. Though this is made up for by the public transport in Amsterdam. If you want a relaxed place to stay then this is certainly it. The facilities are great and the staff are really nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Dec 2016
5.4

Okay location and decent rooms, but the manager at the desk was one of the most unpleasant people I've ever dealt with. Extremely snide with everything he says and makes everything seem like an extreme effort. Go somewhere else if you're looking for a place in Amsterdam

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.4

It's great for young people, but it's also great for family (actually I went with my mom) the installations are great, the rooms are big, clean and comfortable The hotel is not very close to all the main attractions but since Amsterdam is very small everything takes you like 20 minutes to get there Plus the hotel is literally in front the bus station and besides the metro

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.