X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Tent Village Reviews

Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
463 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Had a wonderful time in the tent village! Met some great travelers staying at the site, enjoyed cooking at the grill, and woke up to the most beautiful views. There is happy hour from 5-6pm and you have access to the Balmer's hostel just up the road where there is a night club. Short walk to the train station which takes you up the mountains. Highly recommend! You have to buy linens for 3€ but they do provide a heavy blanket free of charge if you decide not to buy sheets.


91%

This was the best place we could have possibly stayed in Interlaken. Loved the atmosphere, there was always something to do- BBQ, hot tub, soccer, ping pong.... We were so fortunate to stay at such an enjoyable place. Definitely great value for the money. Staff was amazing, thank you Petr for all your help!

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Right across from a bus stop, it's a cool place- bunks in tents, shipping pallet couches and beer at the bar, hammocks, hot tub and pool. Pretty cool place, definitely the cheapest around.


89%

This place was great. It was the first hostel I've stayed at all trip where I've felt at home and a nice community vibe.


97%

Definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the environment was great. I wasn't a social butterfly that weekend, but I could definitely feel the friendly vibes from everyone there. There is a huge range of ages (4 year old girls to 60 year old grandmas), but it was a good experience. You could tell everyone there enjoyed it.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very few bad words to say about this place. Staff very friendly and helpful, will help to book activities such as adventure sports for you. Facilities good, location a tiny bit out of town but there are regular buses that come free with the hostel. Very happy with my time here.


74%

I really enjoyed tent village. What sold it for me was the atmosphere and the staff. I was not a fan of the rickety beds which shook and were difficult to get up. Still, if you realize that its more like camping, its good. People are very friendly and the bar area is cool. Tulia Andy and Peter were great! Loved Interlaken and would go back.


89%

Would definitely stay here again!! Amazing location a little far from center but great views and atmosphere. Tents did heat up during the day and beds were a bit squeaky but not bad. Lockers available to rent or use if you have your own lock. Staff was nice and helpful with information about exploring the towns and mountains. Meet some cool people and made great memories!


100%

This place is amazing. The tent village is the perfect was to see Interlaken. Hot tub, Swimming pool, Outdoor bar, all at the base of the mountains its amazing!! Really good place to meet other travellers as well, i arrived as a single traveller, on the first day met people and went hiking with them the next. Its a really good atmosphere and really really good value for money. Shout out to the Staff aswell they are amazing, Julia and Peter!! Thanks for an amazing stay!


97%

It was amazing, recommended place to stay.


74%

Stayed here for one night. Wifi sucked but everything else was fine. Beds were surprisingly comfy and there were plenty of toilets and showers. We would stay here again.


100%

Absolutely fantastic place and people! There is no other place with such gorgeous views and such a unique living situation. If you are going to Interlaken, you MUST stay at the tent village!


57%

The price for this hostel is a rip off for what you get. The buck beds are horrible, not security to leave stuff inside the tents.


77%

Cool place to stay. Feel like linens should be included in the price. Bed was really comfortable and bathrooms were clean.


63%

There was a private event on the night we stayed- not much of an atmosphere in the bar and we were warned 'not to eat their buffet' as we arrived and encouraged to go to the sister hostel instead. Some curious guests kept peeking in our tent. A warning about the private party would have been appreciated. The swimming pool/hot tub was dirty looking. One female member of staff was very friendly but the guy in charge was a bit short with the guests. Linen not included either.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

maybe I got unlucky, but both nights I stayed there, were groups taking over the common areas, not very social, especially a private party taking place there, the hostel is brilliant though,a jacuzzi with that view is really amazing. you obviously can't stay in the tent during the day in summer as it gets super hot. But it cools down very fast in the evenings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah....you were here on the 4th July.. we did have a group unfortunately and recommended all the other guests come and join the 4th July festivities at the main hostel to avoid the private party.Next time you come please mail me and I will be able to tell you if we have groups then or not :-)) Safe travels!

94%

I thought the tent village was very nice. The tents got cool at night and people were respectful and quiet. This is a good place to meet and interact with people, but the common area closes at 10 so you can still get good sleep!


86%

You can see great views from the tent village. It has a cozy atmosphere and you can easily spend an afternoon there.


89%

interesting hostel in a beautiful location. Really cheap for something in Switzerland, would recommend if you're on a tight budget! This is essentially on a camping ground so don't expect anything too crazy fancy but it's definitely a fun time


83%

The village has a picturesque location surrounded by the mountains, close to restaurants, close to the main hubs of several outdoor-adventure companies, and across the street from two grocery stores. Our private tent was a great deal price-wise, everything was very clean considering it is a tent village, and the communal areas create a fun/friendly atmosphere. They could use more and larger lockers, a larger communal refrigerator, and fans.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you had a good time, yes fans would have been helpful during the heat wave which we were not expecting! Thanksfully it has cooled down to our normal summer temperatures.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Interlaken Hostels

Please give us your feedback