Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Tent Village

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
The Tent Village Located at Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken.
The Tent Village
Switzerland
Interlaken Bern 3800 Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken
85% 588
46.6733742 7.8659132
The Tent Village
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.1

Pleasantly surprised. Obviously you have to think about security differently, as you're in a tent, but we didn't have any problems. Noise was only an issue after 10 PM one night; otherwise it was a quiet comfortable sleep. Good atmosphere and a good place to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Great place to stay if you want to chill, such a relaxed atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and helpful, also great value for money. Cooking facilities are limited but there is a barbecue, microwave and toaster grill so you can make basic meals. Or you can go to balmers hostel restaurant for your meals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wonderful to see such a great review, happy you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Loved Tent Village! Beautiful location. Great tents and amenities! Would definitely recommend for people (old and young) to experience these basic accommodations in the breathtaking surroundings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! We are so pleased you really enjoyed your stay here, we look forward to welcoming you back some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.1

The Tent Village was my favourite hostel I've ever stayed at! It has such a unique setup in a beautiful location. You can enjoy the amazing mountain view while sitting in the hot tub! I was a solo traveller but made new friends right away thanks to the very social and friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend staying here if you want to be close to Interlaken yet feel surrounded by the beautiful Swiss countryside!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wonderful to hear you loved your stay and made friends with other travelers! Thanks for leaving such a great review!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.3

Good place to stay. Tents are ridiculously hot during the day but you will be out anyway. You can also use Balmers a short walk down to road for facilities and the bar. Also the staff give you a free bus pass.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love summers and camping!! Thanks for the review!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

AMAZING REVIEW!!!! YOU ROCK and we THANK YOU!!

15th Jul 2016
8.6

The hostel offers a lot of fun activities like hammocks, a slack line, hot tub, pool, and bubble ball games! Went during July, it was pretty cold at night, but they give you extra blankets. Bathrooms were relatively clean. Nice lounging area. Would recommend in the summer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.0

The tents are great for good weather, but when it rains, the water comes in through the window screens and it is very damp and cold. Our tent's Velcro was worn off so flaps and covers for the windows and doors did not work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, happy to hear you like it even thought the weather has not been very cooperative this summer so far...:-(

  • ebrookins
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.6

Cool spot, really cool setup with the tents and main common area/building. It's exactly what it says it is- a tent village! For the price ya can't complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, it makes us happy you appreciate our efforts!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.6

I truly loved our time at the Tent Village. The Alps are beyond beautiful, and you are surrounded by them in Interlaken. Only down sides to the Tent Village is that the security is not that great (not many lockers), but hey, they are tents after all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear you loved your stay at the Tent Village!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.