X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Terrace Hostel Reviews

24-B 3rd Street West, 3a Calle Poniente #24-B, Antigua, Guatemala

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
200 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostels location is very nice. From the terrace you have a beautiful view at a vulcano. The staff is friendly but unfortunately i couldnt fresh up my spanish with them :P They all talk english. my friend and I were in a 4-bed dorm. was okay, a bit loud because on the mail floor. There is only one shower for one floor. you have to be fast ;) all in all a good hostel. i would go again!

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed at many hostels before and really enjoyed my time at the Terrace Hostel. Amazing view from the rooftop bar. Friendly owners and workers. Make sure to ask about a quiet room if you want less noise in your room the first floor is the best for that.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

No kitchen/kettle etc - for what it costs not great hostel. Banking purely on their terrace bar being busy to live up to reputation of lively place

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a pretty nice place. Great rooftop terrace (as would be expected), helpful staff that gave us suggestions on where to go and what to see, and a good location. Good for a starting spot for a night out in Antigua.


51%

The hostel had no water so it stank because toilets didn't flush people kept using them. Very noisy from bar above. We left and got a private room for cheaper not far away with a receptionist that actually cared.


54%

If you like to be in a party hostels, where you can smell the toilets in the afternoon and an unfrindly stuff, this is the right place to be. It is noisy in the night, so you need really good earplugs to sleep a litte bit. The stuff, except the very friendly guatemalan women, is not very friendly. Most of them are volunteers and drink a lot during the day. So you cannot count on them. The breakfast is very small and you have to pay for your tea or coffe. :(


97%

For me like for others, even those who stay in different hostels, as well as.numerous expats, the Terrace has become a home away from home.. It is a place where you feel instantly welcome and totally comfortable. The favored meeting place is the rooftop terrace which may be well populated to packed more often than not. The day begins with a very nice, included, breakfast. There is a reasonably priced laundry service, too. Great location next to the market. I highly recommend this hostel.


89%

This place is amazing, I have no complaints at all. Staff is very friendly and they are always willing to help you.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is probably the best hostel I've stayed in. The vibe is great, the bar is a great place to meet people and the staff are super friendly, really knowledgable and really helpful. I have nothing at all bad to say about the place. Excellent party hostel.


74%

This is really a party hostel and a great place to meet new people. Don't expect to be able to sleep before 22.30 (thats when the bar closes) because the noises from the bar are really loud. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who likes to party and want to make new friends. If you are looking for sleeping early and a quiet place, go somewere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for your feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Antigua!!

37%

All together a poor experience. Getting some sleep here is impossible due to the rooftop bar. Bad toilets and staff that is to busy drinking ( with exception of the nice guatemalan ladies that make you breakfast ). Don't let the high rating on several websites fool you, this is not the place to stay. Problems with bartaps that don't ad up and staff refusing to give you an itemised bill. Check the answers of the owner on bad reviews on Tripadvisor, you will get an idea of their customer service!


100%

I was a solo traveler - this was my first solo trip - and had a great, but short, stay at The Terrace. Everyone was incredibly friendly, and the deals at the bar were amazing. A perfect starting-off point for trips throughout Guatemala.

  • 27th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I heard from a few people to stay at the Terrace and I was confused why after one night. It wasn't very nice, it was very expensive for what it was, it said it had both free water and internet but had neither... and thats just mean. The thing that really got me was in the morning when I got my "free breakfast" but I had to buy a 10Q cup of coffee or something if I wanted a drink with it (because the free water was obviously out). The ladies that cook breakfast were the best part of the place.


100%

I love the terrace! Great people, chill environment, safe, clean and welcoming to everyone!

  • 26th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Get rid of bed bugs. Tell your staff of volunteers to act like they give a damn about guests.

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The Terrace Hostel is a easy walk to tour the city. Lots of shops and a big market.


77%

Good location, good terrace bar with always a good atmosphere with themed days and nights. Staff are young and friendly.


83%

Staff were very friendly and easy going. Several substantial choices available for free breakfast on the rooftop bar (incl eggs, toast, pancakes etc). Good location only a few blocks from the main plaza, plenty of tour agencies, convenience stores, markets and banks nearby. Plenty of areas to hangout with lounges, hammocks or tables. The room was on the smaller side (4 bed dorm), no lockers and the bathroom smelt bad. Would come back here when in Antigua again!


74%

The hostel was pleasent and a great place to stay for my first time in Antigua. They definately have the best "Happy Hour" ever! The Bar area is gorgeous with the view of Volcano's all around. The other great thing for me was the bar did not stay open to all hours of the night so sleep was possible even for it being a "party" hostel. A nice Breakfast with a smile in the morning also made it worth the stay!

  • 18th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely the best hostel in Antigua. If you have traveled enough, you know there is usually something lacking. The Terrace does not follow this trend. It is incredibly clean, safe, and has the best view in the city!!! The social atmosphere is top notch as well. Epic Monday night pub crawls!All of the staff are fun, friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. Brant, the owner, will make sure all your needs are met. I couldn't recommend the Terrace any more.If you go, tell Brant Kassie says hello.

  • 13th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(151 results)


View all Antigua Hostels

Please give us your feedback